James Connolly's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 13
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Amazing Spider-Man #700.1

Dec 6, 2013

This first entry to "Frost" feels not so much like a superhero book, but an exploration of Peter Parker's life and routine that is very appropriately set in winter. If there is a definitive moment that captures the difference between Peter Parker and his Otto Octavious counterpart over in Superior it's the warm moment he shares with Aunt May as she comforts him through his exhaustion. Though we see very limited web-slinging and not a single part of Spider-Man's famed rouges, The Amazing Spider-Man hits all the right beats if you've been missing Peter Parker. If for nothing else it further made me realize that in the fantasy world of comics, where we live vicariously through these characters that we know and love, that you don't know what you've got until it's gone and that the week after Thanksgiving, though it isn't much, I'm thankful to have a little bit of Peter Parker on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Indestructible Hulk #15

Nov 25, 2013

The writing is genuinely funny and Kim Jacinto's ability to capture the fast paced smashery with a bright cartoony style is perfectly fitting. In a Marvel Universe riddled with time travel and multiple universe jumping Indestructible Hulk does it in the best and most fun way possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Indestructible Hulk #16

Dec 4, 2013

Indestructible Hulk feels more like a book like Avenging Spider-Man, or Savage Wolverine where the mini arcs, are starting to lack the depth of the long game that Waid pulls off in Daredevil. All complaints aside, there is definitely a lot of fun to be had here and anytime there is “shashing” involved sandwiched some great Bruce Banner moments and S.H.I.E.L.D Director Hill getting pissed off I'm on board for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key Alpha #2

Dec 17, 2013

Locke and Key: Alpha #2 is a master course in how to close out a story and how to end a comic. Locke and Key as a whole is an achievement in comics and story telling in general. Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez have completed their masterpiece. This book stands with anything that Alan Moore, Frank Miller, or any of the legends of this medium have done throughout the rich history of comic books. Locke and Key will live on to be spoken of in the same regard as Watchmen and The Dark Knight Returns. If you are a fan of comic books, horror, or dramatic story telling in general you owe it to yourself to read this series. Like I've mentioned in my “Comic's Ambassadors” article Locke and Key is a work that transcends beyond comics and that non-fans can pick up and connect with in a big way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nova (2013) #11

Dec 17, 2013

Nova's artwork throughout the series has been top notch and Paco Medina's gorgeous pencils continue that trend here, David Curiel's color work and use of light source give it a big cosmic scope even in a overall grounded issue. It's very possible that Sam Alexander is Marvel's next Peter Parker proving that the relate-able high school student turned super hero formula is as viable in 2013 as it was in the silver age of comics. Though it's a slightly slower paced entry into the series Nova number 11 is still an interesting and entertaining piece of the overall tale of Sam Alexander and his adventures with his new found powers. I'd definitely recommend it as a non-Avengers, non-X-men, and easily accessible comic to any reader looking to get their fix of cosmic fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Saga #16

Dec 3, 2013

If you haven't read Saga yet go pick up the trade paperbacks and catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Saga #17

Jan 8, 2014

Saga is a beautiful work of story telling and is an absolute accomplishment in comic books. 17 issues later, I'm as interested and captivated as ever and it feels like there's so much more to the story ahead that it could go 100 issues. It's hard to imagine there are comic book readers out there without Saga in their lives. I suggest that everyone clears out a permanent space in their pull list for this book, you wont regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Savage Wolverine #11

Nov 15, 2013

The quick story telling and light dialogue of this book continue to do great service to anyone looking for a Wolverine fix in the same way books like Avenging Spider-Man have done elsewhere in the Marvel U. The stand alone arcs are great for those who don't want to invest in the rest of the X-universe. Issue 11 of Savage Wolverine ties Jock's work up into a neat little package and leaves an interesting point for the books next team to either expand on or start fresh from.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Wolverine #12

Dec 3, 2013

There are also some great character moments between Kitty Pride and the students of the Jean Grey School who have a fun guest appearance in this issue that helps break up the seriousness that ensues on Wolverine's “hunt” for the poachers. Things toward the end of the issue set the tone of something bigger at play and make for an interesting first issue on the forthcoming story. Overall Savage Wolverine continues to be a great place for a good, fun story without the monotony of the current Marvel continuity. Just as Avenging Spider-Man carved out a space in the Marvel Universe for one of it's most popular heroes Savage Wolverine does so for another. In my opinion is one of the best places to read event free, tie in free stories in short bursts that remind us that not all comics have to be heavy and overlapping with deep, high stakes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Savage Wolverine #14

Jan 10, 2014

To sum it up, Savage Wolverine #14.Now Wrath #1 isn't a ground breaking new story, however it is a good start to an interesting story that stands alone from the piles and piles of X-books that Marvel puts out every week. The writing here is good, but the painted style of the art steal the show and are definitely worth the price of admission.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Sex Criminals #3

Nov 25, 2013

Sex Criminals is quickly climbing to the top of my read pile and stands out as one of, if not the most unique, and adult comics on stands today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Swamp Thing (2011) #26

Dec 5, 2013

After Snyder's departure, I was worried about the future of the quality and longevity of Swamp Thing in the New 52. Now, seven issues into Charles Soule's run my doubts have subsided and I'm excited and hopeful that DC will keep this book around for as long as there are stories to tell. Month in and month out Swamp Thing is consistently my favorite book put out by DC proper and one of my favorite ongoing comics period.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
The Other Dead #3

Nov 15, 2013

The Other Dead is far from boring and is very fast paced but at 3 issues deep is falling shy of being compelling enough to really hook me and make me feel invested in this story. If you want a gorgeous, action packed, quick read The Other Dead is a good place to find it. Beyond that, I'd look elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More