Jarred A. Lujn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bookcase Reviews: 32
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9
Alienated #1

Feb 11, 2020

Alienated #1 is a stellar first issue that launches a story overflowing with heart. In an era that often repeats ideas for the sake nostalgia and an easy buck, it is refreshing to read something that feels familiar yet wholly new. I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Artemis and the Assassin #1

Mar 17, 2020

While we dont get the full blown pulpy time travelling spy plot just yet, Artemis and the Assassin #1 offers up a set of characters that are as exciting, mysterious, and fun as the world they inhibit. There is a ton of promise here and a team that is completely capable of executing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Berserker Unbound #1

Aug 6, 2019

Berserker Unbound #1 is great fun. It packs unique, bombastic artwork and a plot that is certainly Lemire-esque. The book hooks you, keeps you, and sets up a great seriesthats a damn good first outing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Berserker Unbound #2

Sep 4, 2019

Berserker Unbound #2 is a sophomore issue that succeeds by fueling the mystery of how the Mongrel King will resolve his problem, chugging steadily along with its characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bleed Them Dry #1

May 27, 2020

This issue is a slow burn, but it does what all new #1s should: leaves you wanting more. Each page raises the stakes (vampire pun intended), and its cleary going to have so much to offer in a big way, potentially shaking up the vampire genre. Jump on this one at the start, because its something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Canopus #1

Feb 18, 2020

Canopus is the definition of psychological thriller. It grabs you from the start and does not let go. Not only is this book going to keep you on edge from page to page, but youll likely find yourself immediately looking forward to the next issue. This one is going to be something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Crowded #12

Mar 24, 2020

Crowded continues to be a fun buddy comedy anchored by two strong main characters. A lot of big changes are coming, and this issue does a solid job of closing out this arc and setting us up for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dead Day #1

May 11, 2020

Dead Day #1 is about as strong a debut as you could ask for. It gives enough to feel invested while having some incredibly strong hooks. A fresh, new take on zombies blended with great character work has me excited for #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Disaster Inc. #1

May 8, 2020

Theres enough mystery, character interest, and potential frights in Disaster Inc. #1 to have me hooked for a second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gideon Falls #16

Aug 13, 2019

The final panel of this issue is one of the most terrifying panels in the series so far. The next issue is coming, of course, and at this point with Gideon Falls, all you can do is hold on for the rideand hope to walk away certain.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Godkillers #1

Feb 18, 2020

This book has tremendous promise. Between an exciting premise, a solid back half, and a talented art team, Im thinking we have something to look forward to in the issues to come. But this debut stumbles and catches itself a bit late in the game.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heathen #9

Feb 25, 2020

Heathen is still some damn good comics. A lot has changed from when we first left off with Aydis on this journey, but the greatness of the book has remained the same. The end is nigh for Heathen, and this issue is a great start to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hundred Wolves #1

Mar 24, 2020

This is one of my favorite Vault Comics #1s ever. This may be one of my favorite #1s of any publisher ever. Listen, its good. Just go buy it when it eventually gets to us...and then talk to me about the flashback scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
James Bond (2019) #2

Jan 14, 2020

In James Bond #2, a talented creative team continues to deliver on this storys big promise, using the character of Keyes to create an excellent tension of style and motivations with James Bond.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
James Bond (2019) #3

Feb 11, 2020

This new James Bond comic maintains its place as one of my favorite books from month to month. If you havent grabbed this yet, you are denying yourself an excellent piece of the James Bond content web.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
No One Left To Fight #3

Sep 4, 2019

Ultimately, there still feels like a lot to wrap up in the last two issues. Part of me is sincerely dreading the end because I dont quite feel ready to leave this world just yetso heres hoping we get more No One Left to Fight.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
No One Left To Fight #5

Nov 5, 2019

If this is the last issue of No One Left to Fight theres no shame in it because this is one hell of a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #1

Aug 13, 2019

Gillen and Mora have something very, very special on their hands and I am absolutely dying to already read issue two. Do yourself a favor and put this on your pull list IMMEDIATELY.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Once & Future #2

Sep 17, 2019

Once and Future #2 is as good as the first issue that came before it. The hype is very real on this book and very, very justified.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Once & Future #6

Jan 21, 2020

A fantastic end to this books first arc, the entire creative team is at its best in this issue, playing on the Arthurian legend, excellent character dynamics, and sheer Englishness that have driven this book from the start.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Pandemica #1

Sep 10, 2019

As far as a first issue, Pandemica #1 excels. It can be a little dialogue heavy, but theres a BIG web to spin here. There are several moving parts between the conspiracy and character relationships, plus a really dramatic ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Protector #1

Jan 28, 2020

I think the premise of this book and the well-constructed art team is enough to earn a second issue pick up from me, but I certainly would have liked to know more about who our story is following from the outset.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Relics of Youth #1

Sep 26, 2019

Relics of Youth #1 is a solid debut. The mysteries in this story are only increasing in both volume and difficulty, and we have a set of interesting characters who are in for a hell of a time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Relics of Youth #4

Jan 8, 2020

This first arc leaves us with a lot of mysteries and a big set up for the future. Relics may be flying under the radar, but this comic has so far only glimpsed the wealth of potential it has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sera and the Royal Stars #2

Aug 28, 2019

Sera and the Royal Stars #2 sets up a lot for our heroine going forward. With a continued streak of unique, beautiful artwork and a protagonist you cant help but root for, this chapter will have you excited for whats next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
She Said Destroy #3

Jul 30, 2019

From the fusing of genres to the plot to the powerful artwork, Im not sure what else you can ask for from comics. If Vault is looking for another ongoing series, they dont need to look much further than She Said Destroy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Butcher of Paris #2

Jan 7, 2020

This book is something very special. Theres so much here so different than most comics. The art team is really pushing the boundaries, and Phillips is crafting something so poignant. Theres a lot of reasons to pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Necromancer's Map #1

Aug 27, 2019

After this first issue, youll likely want to go ahead and read the previous series because between Bethany and the Foggards and the complex questions brought on early, youll not want to miss the world this creative team has built.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Undiscovered Country #3

Jan 15, 2020

Undiscovered Country continues to earn its momentum and build into a unique story. This third issue is, perhaps, the chapter that really elevates Undiscovered Country from a good comic to a great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Vagrant Queen: A Planet Called Doom #1

Jan 28, 2020

Vagrant Queen is back and moving ahead with the same Elida we love, the same high level of art that we have come to expect, and a brand new adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Vagrant Queen: A Planet Called Doom #2

Feb 25, 2020

This second issue succeeds in getting its hooks into readers even further. A Planet Called Doom is one of the freshest approaches to sci-fi since its predecessor, and there is a lot to be on the lookout for with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Vagrant Queen: A Planet Called Doom #3

Mar 17, 2020

Vagrant Queen: A Planet Called Doom #3 gives us some great action sequences, but it also brings some major heat with the character moments. Its a big payoff issue that continues to propel a solid comic forward.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More