Jessica Chaleff's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW Reviews: 29
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Adventure Time #61

Feb 4, 2017

If you're not accustomed to the randomness of Adventure Time, then this comic will certainly confuse you, but if you're a long standing fan like myself, this comic is another delightfully whimsical tale starring our favorite radical adventurer.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Time #62

Mar 8, 2017

An interesting competition in Ooo gives way to quite the cliffhanger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Adventure Time #63

Apr 5, 2017

Slow going, but the culprit will be revealed soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Adventure Time #64

May 2, 2017

I want to know who the culprit is already!!! But mad props for building suspense!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Adventure Time Comics #7

Jan 18, 2017

Needless to say, this is a must read for any Adventure Time fan. Or, alternatively, if you are intrigued by various cartooning styles like this reader is, this is for you too! The people at Kaboom! have once again brought forth an Adventure Time comic that encapsulates the oddness of the characters in the Land of Ooo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Count Crowley: Reluctant Midnight Monster Hunter #1

Oct 23, 2019

I was thrilled to see a classic style horror comic in the era of blood, gore, and just in-your-face slasher horror. I cannot wait to read the rest of this series" especially with Friar Fear (I hope this is an ongoing series with this guy; let's bring back creepy horror comic hosts!!).

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Who: The Eleventh Doctor: Year Three #5

May 10, 2017

A nice short adventure that involves the ever popular alien species, the Ood.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Doctor Who: The Road to the Thirteenth Doctor: The Eleventh Doctor #2

Aug 13, 2018

Never thought I'd say this, even with a Priest story, but I think I'm taking the verbal punches between Deathstroke and Batman in this one. They just get downright frigin dirty with each other and hold nothing back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Seventh Doctor #1

Jun 8, 2018

An excellent introduction to the Seventh Doctor in Titan Comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor: Holiday Special #1

Nov 19, 2019

The writing is fabulous. Another Doctor Who story that could be on the screen!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #7

Apr 30, 2019

All in all, despite my lack of Thirteenth Doctor knowledge, I quite enjoyed this comic issue of her adventures. I recommend this issue, as well as the Volume One of her adventures coming out sometime in May, where you can read all of her adventures at once, rather than one issue at a time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #1

Apr 12, 2017

A full Ten? Yes! The amazing art, and gripping cliff-hanger make for a fabulous start to Twelve's Third Year in comic form!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #3

May 10, 2017

It makes sense that veteran Doctor Who writer George Mann would be able to concoct an amazing story with fab cliffhangers!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Three #5

Jul 6, 2017

I hate cliffhangers! I love cliffhangers! Why Doctor, why?! Bill's debut was amazing, and it's about time she made it to the comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Two #15

Mar 21, 2017

A fitting conclusion to the Invasion of the Mindmorphs, filled with human emotion, amazing art, and the Doctor, well...being the Doctor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dying Is Easy #2

Jan 11, 2020

I didn't enjoy the story, and not enough was there to pique my interest. However, if you are more into comics for the art styles, then I recommend you taking a peak at this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gwen Stacy (2020) #1

Feb 12, 2020

Seeing the plight that Gwen Stacy is going through pre- Parker timeline makes me want to read more of her story. I see a strong female role-model brewing in this comic, and I want to see her story fleshed out more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
I Can Sell You a Body #1

Jan 1, 2020

There's psychic abilities, the mob, dwindling funds, and a reverse exorcism. An interesting mash-up that is well executed in this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lenore Vol. 3 #1

Jul 30, 2019

The art remains amazingly bizarre as it always has been. Mister Dirge hasn't lost his unique style of art, coloring, or writing. Everything remains as twisted and gorgeous as it has been, which makes me smile so much, I think I cracked my jaw. Lenore started out as a few comic strips, but it soon turned into bigger story lines, and this newest comic is of no exception. Setting up, again, a Time War, where after eating, er, something (no spoilers) the trio of Lenore, Pooty the Bounty Hunter, and Ragamuffin are transported throughout time. Where? I WON'T TELL YOU! STOP ASKING! But you can find out for yourself if you pick up this wonderfully bizarre comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Morbius (2019) #4

Feb 12, 2020

Fighting and action often make for an exciting issue, but this more heartfelt story driven issue was certainly a break from the action, and was beautiful to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rick and Morty #26

May 31, 2017

It's science fiction madness that you can't get enough of!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Snotgirl #7

Sep 19, 2017

For someone called SnotGirl there wasn't a lot of snot in this issue... call me crazy, I know. But there were certainly some snotty attitudes from these bloggers to make up for that! Can't wait to see where the Charlene arc takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Snotgirl #13

Mar 26, 2019

I was left confused in this issue, but that's partly my fault as this issue is midway through another plot line that I am behind on, but other than that, the Snotgirl series is as interesting and strong as ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Star Wars: Darth Vader (2017) #1

Feb 5, 2020

The use of flashbacks to Vader's past, and inputs of his own thoughts, make him seem like there is still a human left in there somewhere. I applaud the writers and artists of this comic. It sucks you in and leaves you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Stranger Things: Into the Fire #1

Jan 11, 2020

If you're a fan of the Stranger Things Universe, I recommend this comic. If you're only into Stranger Things for the core characters, I'd tell you to skip this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Trees: Three Fates #5

Jan 11, 2020

Don't do what I did and start in the middle of the tale! However, with that said, I do recommend this comic. It makes me want to read on. This is also the last issue in this series' Third Volume! So I would highly recommend seeking out the prior two volumes as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Web Of Venom: The Good Son #1

Jan 22, 2020

There's not much to say about this issue, as it feels like it ended as soon as it started. There is a lot of story and back story crammed into this one issue to try and set-up this story arc, so I hope the next issues aren't as crammed, and allow the story to flow smoother. Overall, I'm intrigued to see where this story goes. With the kids under the influence of their family's pasts, and struggling with their demons on their own, it'll be interesting to see whether they go, hero or villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Twins (2019) #11

Jan 22, 2020

I enjoy when not so serious characters finally get their day in the spotlight, and I quite liked this comic! Remember that whole period of time when Aquaman was the butt of everyone's joke, and he was a goofy character in all the cartoons? But now Jason Mamoa is Aquaman and we can't dothat anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men/Fantastic Four (2020) #1

Feb 5, 2020

I'm already invested in this storyline, and it's only issue one! I cannot wait for what the ensuing issues will bring!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More