Josh Davenport's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Legion Reviews: 18
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #28

Aug 28, 2019

Spencer does a great job of catching you up to what's happening and telling the story in an easy enough way where you can pick up what's going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016): Secret Files #2

Jul 31, 2019

"Batman: Secret Files" issue 2 is one that every Batman fan should pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman vs. Ra's Al Ghul (2019) #1

Sep 4, 2019

I'll likely keep reading to see how the story unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Broken Bear #1

Sep 25, 2019

This is a story that could easily find itself adapted into a film or television series one day, and I hope it's one that finds a following.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #1012

Sep 25, 2019

Overall this was a good issue that will hopefully lead to a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fantastic Four (2018) #14

Sep 4, 2019

This issue has convinced me to give Slott's run with the Fantastic Four a read through and I'm very excited to see what's to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #15

Aug 14, 2019

Definitely pick this issue up, even if you haven't read an issue of Venditti'srun yet. It's worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #16

Sep 11, 2019

Every character that Venditti has touched in this run has been elevated because of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #17

Oct 9, 2019

I have good faith in the team and I'll follow them in whatever direction they take this character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
History of the Marvel Universe (2019) #2

Aug 21, 2019

a must read for fans of Marvel Comics, old and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Martian Manhunter (2018) #7

Jul 24, 2019

This issue maintains the quality of the series so far and is worth reading for any fanof Martian Manhunter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Martian Manhunter (2018) #8

Aug 28, 2019

Steve Orlando's tale of the Martian Manhunter continues in issue 8, with a quieter issue of backstory for Diane Meade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2019) #1

Sep 18, 2019

J.J. Abrams and his son Henry Abrams have teamed up to deliver to the world a very personal Spider-Man story

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Batman: Knightfall #1

Oct 16, 2019

Overall, the issue was very good and I'd like to see more from this universe, but I'm not sure that we'll get to. I'm definitely interested in the future of this line, especially with writers like Scott Snyder at the helm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE: Smackdown #1

Oct 2, 2019

It's a great time to be a fan of wrestling and this story is a fun one to read to get you excited for Friday.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Year of the Villain: Sinestro #1

Aug 7, 2019

one of the best descriptors of Sinestro's point of view as a character that I've read and it might give us some insight into Sinestro's role in Lex Luthor's Legion of Doom.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Year of the Villain: Lex Luthor #1

Sep 18, 2019

This issue is a fun one that examines Lex Luthor as a character and it's one that shows us all the different possibilities for how someone like him could turn out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Year of the Villain: Black Mask #1

Aug 21, 2019

Because of the events that take place and the way that it ends, Taylor presents everything in a way that makes Black Mask seem like an important piece of the larger puzzle.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More