Kat Vergin's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekality Reviews: 56
7.8Avg. Review Rating

4
'68 Scars #3

Nov 28, 2012

This is one of the most bizarre comics Ive ever read. It shouldnt be, the premiseis relatively simple: a zombie ridden twist on the Vietnam war. And, yet, this book blewmy mind. For one, there are so many twisted stories within the story, my head wasspinning by the end of the book. Every couple of pages the story line jumps to adifferent perspective which, while fucking fascinating, is also frustratingly confusing. Itsa difcult book to read, especially if you know a lot about the Vietnam war.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
A Game of Thrones #9

Jul 9, 2012

This is one of those series I recommendcollecting as a whole. You dont want to miss a book in this one. In its entirety the seriessucks the reader in with all the exhibitionistic sex and the raw, ery passion of theknights, the wolves, the women, even the children. With blood splashed across onepage (weeee! blood!) and beautiful women sprawled out on the next (weeee! boobs!),

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Bedlam #7

Jun 5, 2013

My favorite thing about this book is that most of the people in it were dead before the last page. Is that wrong? Mmm, wrong feels good. This is a gem, my lovely readers. If youre on my level with this shit, meaning if you share my love of bloodshed, Bedlam and witticism (seriously, does anyone not like that?), youre gonna dig the fuck out of this book. Make yourself some tea (whiskey), put your feet up (take your pants off) and watch some smart-ass slaughter the sheep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bionic Man vs Bionic Woman #1

Jan 17, 2013

Shwhaaaaaat is going on? Kansas City Police Department gets completely KthefuckOd by some gnarly radioactive giant. Im already sold on this. Theres only onekind of man who could handle such an opponent. An indestructible man. An impervious man. A Detroiter. But if you cant nd a Detroiter, the next best thing would be a fucking bionic man. And lucky for us there happens to be a Bionic Man on every page of this book! Problem solved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Call of Wonderland #1

Jun 1, 2012

Whatever the reason Call ofWonderland hooked me. When our main character, Julie examines the journal of H.P.Lovecraft, the great horror/fantasy writer, strange things begin to happen almostimmediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Call of Wonderland #2

Jul 10, 2012

The only real assumptions that can be made in this story is that somehowJulie Sands and Salome Gray are connected. They had to meet. Sands found thebusiness card while reading Lovecrafts journal, and Gray informs Sands that she hasjust nished a piece inspired by Lovecraft.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Call of Wonderland #3

Aug 16, 2012

Kat's Rating: Hypoallergenic ink, a package of needles and a Wiccan spell book. Maybe youll get lucky.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Call of Wonderland #4

Sep 21, 2012

Kat's Star Rating: A deck of cards and an 18 year old blonde (shes 16) who like totally hasnever played strip poker (yes she has) and is like totally curious (shes a whore).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew: Secret Agent Poyo #1

Jul 11, 2012

Theres no telling what sort of mayhem this couldlead to. I have a few ideas about the shenanigans to come. I mean, what are a bunch ofchicks supposed to do when a huge bionic cock enters the picture?! Damn it I love thisjob.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dancer #3

Jul 9, 2012

I also must point out that the art is breathtaking. It is absolutely ideal for this kindof story. The inner turmoil of Alan, the strategically complicated mess the characters arein, can be felt just by looking at the images in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Debris #2

Aug 30, 2012

Kat's Rating: The energy it takes to walk to the recycle bin, which for some reason isALWAYS further away than the garbage can.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Epic Kill #7

Dec 6, 2012

Song Takahashi is still the baddest bitch. Theres a reason I love this book somuch.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eternal Descent #5

Jun 19, 2012

What do you do when the fabric of your world begins to unravel leaving the mass population at the mercy of beasts sprung forth from the depths of hell (Nickleback tickets?! They still sell those?!)? You do what any god-fearing, red blooded American would do"Trust that the broads with the big tits will x it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Eternal Descent #6

Aug 22, 2012

Kat's Rating: A pair of angel wings and combat boots. Dress for success, geeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Executive Assistant: Assassins #7

Jan 17, 2013

Chicks, man. Flowers, man. This comic is #Winning. What do you get when abunch of Executive Assistant Assassins, adorably named after owers, go after one oftheir own? The hottest cat ght Ive ever had the pleasure of depositing into my spankbank!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Glory #27

Jun 19, 2012

Although Glory is evil and awful and cruel and deadly, it appears shes ghtingthe good ght in this book. She seems to be defending those less ginormous anddangerous than herself. It seems she is allying herself with those who need an ally. Yes,thats the way it seems. So when you nally warm up to her, and forgive her for herimposing stature and her anger-management-decit-disorder that I have diagnosed herwith (berpbaderp, IM A DOCTOR!) the rug is pulled out from under you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Glory #28

Jul 16, 2012

By the time the battle is over, every member of the army opposing Glory is dead. There are more to come, however, Glory knows this. She suggests leaving the island, now that they can no longer hide there in secrecy. She also suggests building a force great enough to ght her rivals off. She wants to build the toughest, most unmerciful team she can. And that means nding the toughest, most unmerciful being she can nd. Wait til you see who it is! I have a feeling this series is about to get a whole lot more interesting (that means more blood! weee!)

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Grimm Fairy Tales #75

Jul 17, 2012

This book goes from zero to sixty and spirals into a hot mess. Its incredible! It denitely builds the stage for the upcoming book. You cant read this one and not crave the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Godstorm #2

Nov 28, 2012

When Venus convinces Julian to join forces with her, there isnt anyone oranything that can stand in their way. This should be interesting, because its so sexy andsexy, because its so interesting. Kinda like Zooey Deschanel in the early 2000s.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Wonderland #1

Jul 17, 2012

As we all know, you cant outrun madness. It sinks into your cells and sucks you back into Wonderland the second you think youre safe. Or at least thats what weve learned from all of the other Wonderland based series (serieses? how do you pluralize series? Some writer I am!) from Grimm Fairy Tales (Grimm Fairy Tales: causing overly-imaginative people to lose sleep since 2005!). Just the same, Calie takes Violet to a "safe house" of sorts, in the hopes of guring out a way to escape the pull of Wonderland forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hack/Slash #17

Jul 5, 2012

In conclusion, this is one of the most messed up comics Ive ever read. It hasEVERYTHING! As your doctor I recommend all 17 issues, enhanced by any sort ofmind altering substance you can make in your own bathtub. Happy reading, you sickF@$#ing geeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jennifer Blood #13

Jun 4, 2012

Imagine the snarky wit ofPruitt mixed symbiotically with the ruthless blood lust of Jennifer! Sure, it may just be adream, but its my dream! Im keeping my ngers crossed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jennifer Blood #14

Jul 9, 2012

The protagonist has been destroyed. Anyone with balls may experience perinealcramping while reading this comic. I am all kinds of bummed out about this discovery.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Jennifer Blood #17

Sep 21, 2012

Kat's Star Rating: The morning after pill. You dont wanna serve 18-years to life with a crazybroad, do you?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jennifer Blood Annual #1

Jul 17, 2012

So Sam ends up dead and mangled. Disgured. And that still isnt the creepiest part of this book. Could there be a genetic predisposition, one that has affected all these brothers, that turns men into monsters? Could this murderous gene be passed down, say to sons or daughters of these sick bastards? (Im hinting at things, guys, pick it up!) This is one of Kat Vergins must reads! Have I ever steered you nerds wrong?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jupiter's Legacy #2

Jun 27, 2013

There are a number of drinking games just waiting to be made out of this comic. Id give you guys some ideas, but its so hard to type, considering how hammered I am right now. All I can say is someone had a brilliant design when they created this comic. Its everything consumers want in entertainment brought to probably the most fanatical branch of entertainment consumers. Pure genius. We raise our drinks to Legacy, or as I affectionately call this new series, The Kanye West of Comic Books. Hows that mainstream cake taste, geeks?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mind the Gap #2

Jun 26, 2012

The book really is fascinating, and the way it is written is super interactive for ultimate readerenjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Mind the Gap #11

Jun 20, 2013

McCann locks us in the old fashioned way, nothing but suspense. Endless questions. We have to get the next book, in the hopes that itll end the intellectual frustration caused by this one. Well played, dude.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Morning Glories #20

Jul 5, 2012

Overall the book seems interesting, if youreinto mysteries (And in the age of CSI and Law & Order, who isnt?). I would suggest,however, that you start with the rst issue and work your way up from there. Otherwiseyoull end up as lost as I am (Sorry mom. For everything).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Morning Glories #21

Aug 30, 2012

Kat's Rating: Any object that can cause enough blunt force trauma to your frontal lobes to completely deplete you of your conscience. Kill everything, babies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Prophet #26

Jun 26, 2012

The book in and of itself was awesome, I just wish I knew a little bit moreabout what was going on. I denitely recommend getting this book, but I alsorecommend grabbing a few back issues as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Queen Sonja #31

Aug 22, 2012

Star rating: A bottle of ipecac and a re extinguisher. Save yourselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Revival #1

Jul 9, 2012

Letme just say this, regardless of whether or not the rapture has come to Wausau, I cansee that there will be a great deal of pressure placed on the ethics, faith, and courage ofOfcer Cypress in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Revival #2

Aug 16, 2012

Star rating: A six pack of Miller Genuine Draft and a shotgun (Alcohol and rearms go together like peanut butter and jelly!)

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Revival #12

Jul 25, 2013

One thing I can tell you, I think shit is about to get a whole lot weirder in Wisconsin. Throw a little more blood on it and well have a good old fashioned Kat Vergin After School Special. Read on, geeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Robyn Hood #3

Nov 28, 2012

Those of you who have read my previous reviews know that I dig the fuck out oftough broads. And Ive seen my share of tough broads (mostly when passing reectivesurfaces. OH! Hows my COCKiness taste, nerds?), but Robyn Hood is in a league allher own. For the most part, the heroines we usually come in contact with in books havealways been heroines, but Robyn is different. Robyn has been a victim. Theres nothingso strikingly badass as a broad who has been knocked down, getting back up"Andthen destroying shit.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Saga #6

Aug 16, 2012

Kat's Rating: Enough bondage rope to turn my whole room into a spider web

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Satellite Sam #1

Jul 17, 2013

This book is reminiscent of Black Kiss, but its actually a bit tamer which I can fucks with because its also much more realistic and the realism totally makes up for the mildness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Shadowman (2012) #2

Dec 6, 2012

Jack Boniface is the Shadowman. Unfortunately he has no clue what that meansand didnt even know he was the Shadowman until the abettors, Alyssa and Dox,inform him of this fact.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Bionic Man #9

Jun 4, 2012

Howmuch epic can you t into one book? Read it and nd out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dream Merchant #2

Jun 12, 2013

Love the art in this book. Mostly neutral earth tones, but sliced wide open by ashes of neon pink and red always coinciding with the anticipation of danger. Badass. It feels like Edmondson and Novosadov are just cracking our skulls open and running their ngers over the grooves in our temporal lobes. I feel like by the sixth issue of this Im going to be completely mindfucked. Get the hazmat suits, babies, clean ups gonna be a bitch.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Legend of Luther Strode #1

Dec 6, 2012

WHAAAAAAAAAAAA?!?! I just found my new favorite comic! This book isoutrageous!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Ninjettes #4

May 16, 2012

Overall, the book does what it is supposed to do; The reader is amused, and primed for the next issue. Way to keep us coming back, Dynamite. Well played.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vampirella #17

May 23, 2012

Make sure you check this issue out, and try not to let the suspense kill you before the next issue is released.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Vampirella #18

Jun 13, 2012

The comic leaves us with a cliff-hanger andthe suspense of it is driving me up the wall (Patience: one of the many virtues I lack.See also: modesty, pacism, self-control)! I will be making inappropriate collages of ourfavorite bloodsucking babe while I impatiently await the next book in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Vampirella #19

Jul 18, 2012

What is this power Dracula has absorbed into himself? He makes allusions to the discovery of previously unknown forces. He proves his new abilities by turning one of Vampirellas allies into one of his own mindless minions. It is obvious that Vampirella and her allies cannot defeat Dracula. But what of it? Maybe he isnt there for a ght".And if not a ght, what is it Dracula wants? This book gave me the tingles (Im a bad, bad girl). Read the book, maybe you can get some shivers too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Vampirella #21

Aug 22, 2012

Kat's Rating: A squirt gun lled with holy water and enough shamelessness to wear no more than a scarf strategically placed over your juicy bits. Go hunt some demons, my sexy little bloodsuckers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Vampirella #23

Oct 1, 2012

Kat'sRating: A kiddie pool lled with jell-o. Weve all got a war raging inside of us. Letsget that frustration out the good old fashioned way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vampirella: The Red Room #2

Jul 5, 2012

When Vampirella, with the help of her friend Shooter, realizes her escape theresno stopping her. The two of them ee, taking down whoever gets in their way. Ever hadthat moment where youre in deep shit and you somehow worm your way out of it torealize youre in a new place that is just as bad as whatever you escaped from?Welcome to the nal page of this book. Will the madness ever end? I f*@$#ing hopenot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Vampirella: The Red Room #3

Sep 21, 2012

Kat's Star Rating: My personal recipe for wyrm blood: 4 oz Gatorade, 4 oz Red Bull, 2 ozJameson Whiskey, a pinch of crystal meth, ice. Stir and serve. Drink up, hellions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Warlord of Mars #19

Jul 5, 2012

This series is a must-read (Unless yourheartless. Or lack other, more sensitive, organs.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Warriors of Mars #3

Jun 13, 2012

Im excited to see more of Princess Dejah running naked throughthe pages of the next book (p.s. you dont even need a reason to do this, just keepdoing it) and to nd out more about Gullivar Jones and why hes wanted so badly in theThither kingdom.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wheel of Time #25

May 23, 2012

There is one page where you are looking into the city of Caemlyn and one character just says, "Wow." My sentiments exactly. There is such a novel feel to it, its the comic book that belongs out on your coffee table. The only criticism I could even muster is that the dialogue gets a bit cryptic, and for a reader who is unfamiliar with theseries it could understandably be frustrating. Still, stylistically this book takes the cake.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Wheel of Time #26

Jun 5, 2012

Once again the storybook art propels the plot line,however the really stunning images we saw in the last issue continue to outshine the artin this issue. They pull off suspense just perfectly in these books, making us wait for thebig nish. Makes me wish I had some patience.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wheel of Time #27

Jul 5, 2012

The twist at the end, that you and I both know I cant tellyou about, really sucks the reader into the series. It ensures everyone will be waitingimpatiently for the next book in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Whispers #3

Jun 26, 2012

Theres a ne line between a book that requires me to be intelligent and a book thatmakes me feel like a f@$#ing idiot. This book walked that line perfectly.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More