Kevin Hopson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekality Reviews: 16
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Fatale #7

Aug 14, 2012

Ed Brubaker spins a mysterious, thought-provoking tale that combines both horror and the occult, while Sean Phillips and Dave Stewart adequately portray the noir setting Fatale is best known for. I can see why this has been a highly-touted series, and I'd be inclined to pick up future issues as this second story arc continues to progress.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash Gordon: Zeitgeist #5

Jun 12, 2012

In the end, though, the story works, and we find Flash in yet another precarious situation leading into the next issue. As a writer and fan of science fiction, this series brings back great memories of my comic book reading days in the 80"s.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grimm Fairy Tales: Myths and Legends #19

Aug 22, 2012

This is a solid issue that acts as a great setup for the second half of the story arc. Though some of the dialogue felt a little tried at times, other parts were witty and original, making it an enjoyable read overall. The art matched the quality and mood of the writing, giving me a definite creep factor throughout, particularly at the beginning and the end. Speaking of which, this issue reaches its conclusion just as the crew is about to step foot in the abandoned house. As a result, there's no better cliffhanger leading into the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lord of the Jungle #7

Aug 28, 2012

This book is like a combination of Conan and Batman if that makes any sense. Tarzan is aseemingly simple and primitive man, but he possesses fighting skills and is willing to beat thesnot out of wrongdoers. I enjoyed Nelsons fresh take on the character, and the art is beautifullydone. The second part of this story will be concluded in the next issue, which is now a must readfor me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pathfinder #1

Aug 14, 2012

Jim Zub utilizes his fantasy background to pen a solid introductory story to this series. Readers will encounter bloody conflicts, drunken brawls, and even some fraternizing between the opposite sexes. Andrew Huerta's illustrations and Ross Campbell's colors jump out of the panels, successfully opening readers' eyes to the amazing Pathfinder world. Whether you're a Pathfinder geek or someone new to the material, this book is worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja: Atlantis Rises #1

Aug 8, 2012

Luke Lieberman writes an engaging tale, and the ending will likely leave the reader wanting more. The character details and eye-pleasing colors make for some beautiful art as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja: She-Devil With a Sword #68

Aug 28, 2012

This issue is a great jumping on point for new readers. Its reader-friendly not only in the sensethat youre brought up to speed at the beginning of the book, but its also the first part of a newstory arc. Trautmann writes a solid opening to this storyline, effectively drawing you in andbuilding anticipation for the next issue. The quality pencils and soft colors are easy on the eyes,too. In fact, there are some great action scenes in this book, and the panels flow nicely. Given allof these factors, there are plenty of reasons to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #13

Aug 21, 2012

Though Shredder is back from the dead, its nothing a good game of Twister wont solve for the turtles. However, Splinter finds himself isolated from the group, deep in thought over the recent change of events. In the meantime, Baxter Stockman, who is being held captive by Krang, stumbles on to something big, while an unexpected visitor at the turtles house pushes Raphael over the edge.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Crow: Death and Rebirth #2

Aug 14, 2012

John Shirley, novelist and co-screenwriter of the original movie, writes an action-packed issue filled with violence and multiple kills. Though the art is rough and muddled at times, the dark tone suits the character and setting appropriately. I'm sure the body count will continue to rise in the next issue, but " more importantly " I'm interested in seeing where the story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Thief of Thieves #7

Jul 30, 2012

It's difficult to disclose much without spoiling it for the reader, but the information that is brought to light in this issue will have you grinning at the end. Just like prior issues, the writing is both clever and thought-provoking, and the style of art " which can be dark and gritty at times " fits the mood perfectly. I've been onboard the Robert Kirkman train for a while now, and I don't see any reason to jump off at this stage. As long as he continues to entertain me in this manner, I'll be anxiously awaiting Conrad Paulson's next job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thun'da #1

Aug 8, 2012

There isn't much dialogue in this issue. Instead, captions and inner thoughts are repeated throughout the story in an attempt to drive home the protagonist's confused mental state. This is a situation where the art, which I happened to enjoy, advances the story more effectively than anything else. Overall, this was an intriguing debut issue, and it should grip readers enough to warrant checking out the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #7

Jul 26, 2012

This story was well written, and I particularly loved the ending, but the dialogue came across astoo human-like for robots. I also didn't care much for some of the art. It was difficult decipheringcertain panels and the colors were dull throughout. Considering the strength of the story, though,I still gave this issue four stars. You know the writer has done his or her job when you can't waitto read the next installment. I'm looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #8

Aug 21, 2012

Roberts resumes his witty and zany take on this B-list cast of characters, offering a combination of humorous dialogue and multiple plot lines to continuously keep the reader engaged. For every question he answers, a new one pops up in its place. Roberts has been peppering us with clues throughout the series, but I have a feeling theres a lot hes holding back. With the art beginning to grow on me and the storytelling clearly some of the best ever in the twenty-eight years of the franchise, I highly recommend picking up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #7

Jul 5, 2012

Writer John Barber does a good job of jumping in head first, providing necessary flashbacksalong the way and eventually progressing to the story's finale. Cahill's art and Lafuente's colorsboth suffice, but they leave something to be desired. I found the overall style a little too cartoonyfor my taste, which others might like, while the colors occasionally fell flat. Furthermore, theart lacks consistency.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #8

Aug 8, 2012

I had high hopes for this issue, but I was a little disappointed. Maybe this is due to my love for the other two series " More Than Meets the Eye and Regeneration One. Those books have raised the bar pretty high, so Robots in Disguise (RiD) is probably faltering from comparison. However, one thing that has always bothered me with RiD is the art. I'm just not digging it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wheel of Time #28

Jul 30, 2012

Surprisingly, the story engaged me from the very beginning and forced me to turn the pages in anticipation. Sometimes a simple and relatable storyline can pique a reader's interest much more than an intricately-woven tale, and The Wheel of Time is proof of that. The old-school art and vibrant colors definitely add to the allure of the book. I'm not a huge fan of fantasy, but this is a series I'll be keeping an eye on.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

2nd

April

March

More