Kurt Taylor Lane's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 20
6.0Avg. Review Rating

4
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #581

Dec 23, 2008

In the back of this issue, the Amazing Spider-Mail touts the fact that Marvel has published 36 consecutive on time issues; an important business rule is forgotten here though: quality over quantity. I wouldn't mind waiting for better issues, and this week is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Avengers: The Initiative: Special #1

Nov 11, 2008

A one shot that feels like it missed the mark, especially with the four dollar price tag. Save your dough for next week releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #681

Nov 30, 2008

This run of Batman had a lot of positive momentum going into it, and while this issue wasnt completely dissatisfying, it wasnt a good way to end a great story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Cacophony #1

Nov 16, 2008

For someone who writes stories of less then average slackers achieving their dreams, Kevin Smith does wonders with a timeless comic book icon. My only gripe with this series is the length (i.e., its too short). If this initial issue is as good as the rest of the series, I can only hope for a well-done sequel series sometime in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Cacophony #2

Jan 4, 2009

After some disappointing endings for recent Batman story-arcs, Im predicting that Batman: Cacophony wont leave us flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman: Cacophony #3

Mar 12, 2009

My one real gripe with this series was the length. Only three issues? I mean, it did its job, it got in and out and left us with a more then decent Batman tale. Its not going to make for a great trade with only three issues, but maybe we can hope for a sequel. I believe Batman: Cacophony will stand the test of time as a well written Batman saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Black Lightning: Year One #1

Jan 11, 2009

Its possible that I had unrealistic standards for this book. After all, this was the first issue, and I dont feel its fair to completely judge the series based on just one chapter. I can wait until the next issue until I completely trash this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Detective Comics #850

Nov 27, 2008

While Paul Dini did wonders for several DC Comics animated series, this RIP chapter of Batman should do exactly that.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Green Arrow / Black Canary #15

Dec 15, 2008

Never read an issue of Green Arrow? This is the only case I would almost recommend this issue. Otherwise, we can be optimistic about this alleged New Era for Green Arrow next month or we can be realistic and pray for a painless death for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Green Arrow / Black Canary #16

Jan 19, 2009

After the whole Secret Invasion let down, I saw my fellow reviewers dismiss Bendis and all his Avenger titles. At the time, I though it was extremely petty to not at least give the series the benefit of doubt and try to stick with it. This months issue of Green Arrow/Black Canary was the 32-page foot in my mouth. Consider it dropped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Kick Drum Comix #2

Nov 3, 2008

Depending on the company, this year is the time of shape shifting aliens waging world on our beloved superheroes or a clan of gods meeting their demise at the hands of a distant monarch. Give your brain a well deserved vacation into a book where the end of the journey isnt as important as the ride along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Marvel Zombies Vol. 3 #3

Dec 2, 2008

I'll be the first to admit that I thought Marvel Zombies 2 was dull at times and lacked a great plot. So far so good with this current undertaking, but let's remember we've only got one more issue left. With the zombies only now invading Earth 616, what kind of grand finale can we expect?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
New Avengers #46

Oct 25, 2008

A great story arc for Marvel's Secret Invasion. If you're into the invasion or just a fan of villains, this book is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Punisher War Journal (2006) #25

Nov 27, 2008

Punisher is out of S.H.I.E.L.D. custody and all feels right with the world of the Skull Chest Slaughterer for now. With Rampage as a new antagonist for Frank, this book is starting to look up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Punisher War Journal (2006) Annual #1

Nov 13, 2008

Honestly, what more can I say than, "Frank Castle tripping?" Its not a story thats going to blow the roof off your imagination, but its not a bad little adventure. Think of it as Fear and Loathing with the Punisher. Buy the ticket and take the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Strange Adventures (2009) #1

Mar 8, 2009

If youre a fan of Jim Starlin, youve probably already bought this issue and more power to you, but Im not battering down the door or shattering the windows at my local comic store to get a hold of the second issue. If youre looking for a good space opera, theres always War of Kings or Shrapnel: Aristera Rising.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Sub-Mariner: The Depths #2

Oct 25, 2008

So far, not so good. Namor deserves a little more then this. The last modern story we got from him had Namor and his people relocating to Doom country. How about a little of that?

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Super Zombies #1

Mar 16, 2009

Final Words: I kept giving this book between one and one an a half bullets and I finally decided on two. The reason being that after re-reading the issue, you can see some of the hidden potential within the story. The dialogue isnt horrible and the plot has a few interesting parts. Sadly, with all the pacing problems and the fact the zombies look like bad '80s Steven King characters, I think the undead should have just stayed dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #60

Apr 23, 2009

Im not going to go on and on about this book anymore because if you are a fan of The Walking Dead, you know that this is possibly the best comic book being published today. If not, you are completely missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
War of Kings #1

Mar 3, 2009

Aside from a few issues here and there, I've been out of the Marvel loop. Besides catching up on some brilliant work from other publishers lately, I've been waiting for a good Marvel storyline to keep me busy for a while, and I think War of Kings is just what I needed.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More