Kyle's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 8
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Darkhold (2021): Iron Man #1

Oct 11, 2021

It does raise the question "what is the point?" and sadly it does make the other tie-in's skippable reads as you could quite easily just pick up the books for the characters you actually enjoy. However I implore you to give this issue a chance as you are definitely in for a Halloween treat.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2016) #1044

Oct 28, 2021

My only issue is the overuse of Editorial notes. There seems to be constant reminders of previous plot points and which issues readers should go back and check out. For a book that's pretty much half way through a cross-over event it's hardly a jumping on point for new readers and you're almost guaranteed those reading this issue are already invested in Fear State.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
My Date With Monsters #1

Nov 13, 2021

The book has it all. From the scientific experiments in the name of weaponizing dreams going wrong, kick-ass sword fights, the military, the yakuza, a lovable monster who devours nightmares and a somewhat comical dating/romance twist it really delivers what is one of the most original and unique horror comics of 2021.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Night of the Ghoul #1

Oct 25, 2021

Night of the Ghoul is the perfect monster mystery horror that uses recognizable elements of all the best horror movies set in a hospital environment. Occasionally it becomes a little steeped in text (as a lot of Snyder's work does) but I can forgive this as it makes sense due to the majority of panels being scenes featuring just two characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
Phenom X #1

Nov 10, 2021

I will say as a white male I probably shouldn't speak too much on the comics immense diversity, but I will reiterate that representation matters and if this is something you personally have been needing from a comic then perhaps give this one a shot-- but don't set your hopes too high.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Provenance of Secrets #1

Nov 13, 2021

A brilliant debut issue that ticks all the boxes nicely. Provenance of Secrets delivers the perfect balance of crime mystery and visceral thrilling horror that is surely only going to explode with more terrors as the series progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wasted Space #25

Nov 20, 2021

Wasted Space will live on in memory as one of the greatest Sci-Fi comics/Space operas of the decade if not all time. It is certainly one of my all time favourite books and if you haven't read a single issue before today then I envy you for the journey you're about to embark upon for the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
White Ash: Season Two #1

Dec 4, 2021

If you haven't had the joy of reading White Ash Season 1 I highly recommend picking up the trade which is available in stores now. If you're a fan of magic, dwarves and Elves andhunky boys this book is for you. This was definitely worth the wait and I can't wait to see what happens next for Aleck and Lillian.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

5th

September

More