LaNeysha Campbell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 47
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Black Clover #21

May 10, 2020

Black Clover Vol. 21 is an enjoyable read and a fast-paced page-turner. Tabata's art and storytelling skills continue to impress me and hold my attention on every page. This volume does a good job of answering questions that long time fans might have had from the start of the series and takes the arc of this series into an interesting direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Clover #23

Oct 26, 2020

Black Clover, Volume 23 is a great read and I highly recommend picking it up. As usual the mangaka, Yki Tabata delivers beautiful artwork and a great story to carry the story onto the next big arc. While slightly light on the actionVolume 23 is full of some great comedic moments. In some way this volume felt like it was an end to an era for the series, however, that doesn't mean the series is anywhere near ending. This volume's ending hints there are more adventures and excitement instore forBlack Clover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Clover #24

Dec 29, 2020

Black Clover Volume 24 overall feels like a shift for the series. The time skip re-introduces the main characters, sets up the scale of power they've attained, and sets the stage for what challenges are to come from the new villains in this current arc. I am very eager to see where Yki Tabata takes the story and the other themes they can explore in this new arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Blue Exorcist #24

Jul 19, 2020

Overall, I highly recommend picking up Blue Exorcist Vol. 24. This volume shows off Kazue Katos range and artistic skills when it comes to illustrations. The story continues to get better and better as it provides more depth and insight into characters and plot alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #1

Apr 2, 2020

I honestly can't recommend Blue Flag Vol. 1 enough, especially for other hopeless romantics like. It is a refreshing take on the teenage love triangle trope. The creator does a great job of giving the characters and story depth. I guarantee by the end of volume one you will be hooked and ready for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #3

Jul 29, 2020

Overall Blue Flag, Volume 3 will hit you in the gut with so many emotions. The mangaka knows how to convey the character's powerful emotions through storytelling and art. KAITO does a phenomenal job with this volume from the art to the story. This manga continues to be a great series. KAITO knows how to craft and tell a story about romance in a way that feels authentic from beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #4

Sep 25, 2020

Overall, Blue Flag, Vol. 4 is another great read and I can't recommend it enough. KAITO continues to tell an amazing story about romance, drama, and more in this volume. From the artwork and writing to the themes and characters Blue Flag, Vol. 4 is a superb manga that tells a message of self-love and acceptance that many people can appreciate.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #5

Dec 6, 2020

This volume is a great example of what makes Blue Flagan amazing coming of age story. Blue Flag Volume 5 has captivating storytelling, beautiful l storytelling, and it touches on real-life issues and topics in a genuine way.This volume also introduces some new challenges and changes to relationship dynamics that I am eager to explore more in the next volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #6

Feb 6, 2021

Overall, Blue Flag Volume 6 is beautiful, heartbreaking, and poignant all at the same time and in the best of ways. So many things happened is in this volume, from decisions about college, confessions of love, discussions about acceptance, and so much more. This volume felt like a huge payoff from everything that has been building up since the beginning of the series.Volume 6 truly is the turning point of the entire series. There is no going back to how things were after this volume, and that just makes me so eager to see where the story will go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #7

Apr 5, 2021

Overall, Blue Flag Volume 7 is a perfect example of why this is a great series. I continue to highly recommend this series as beautifully authentic and one of the best-told coming-of-age stories I have ever read in a manga. From the hard-hitting and authentic conversations to the beautiful art that sets the tone and emotions, the series continues to touch and build upon issues.This volume is packed with so many feelings and it does a tremendous job of setting things up for the next and final installment as the series approaches its end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #12

Apr 22, 2020

Overall, while this volume doesn't have as much action as the previous one, it is a welcomed change of pace that allows more focus on the main protagonist and the opportunity to learn more about other characters. I found the plot in this volume to have an interesting story and ends on a cliffhanger that has me eager to pick up the next volume. Accompanied by beautiful artwork and character designs, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba Vol. 12 is a manga you do not want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #14

Jun 20, 2020

Overall, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba,Volume 14is packed with a lot of action and the Koyoharu's arctic skills does an amazing job of capturing and conveying it all very beautifully. While there is a lot going on in some parts, if you like getting more insight into otherDemon Slayercharacters then you will want to pick this volume up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #15

Jul 13, 2020

Overall, Demon Slayer: Kimestsu no Yaiba, Vol. 15is a great read and is definitely worth picking up. Koyoharu Gotouge does an amazing job with the art and story in this volume. Volume 15 sets up the calm before the approaching storm that is sure to come in the volumes to follow. I can't wait to see where story goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #16

Aug 25, 2020

Overall, Demon Slayer: Kimestsu no Yaiba, Vol.16 is a manga you do not want to miss out on and Ican not recommend it enough. Koyoharu Gotouge continues to deliver a great story with thought-provoking art, superb dialogue, and well-thought-out characters throughout. This volume sets into motion what will be the final battle between the Demon Slayer Corps and Muzan, leaving readers eager to see what will happen in the next volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #17

Sep 19, 2020

Overall, I can't recommendDemon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Volume 17 enough. The action and intensity kick it up a notch from where things were left off at the end of Volume 16. Koyoharu Gotouge's awesome talent for capturing fluid motions and intensity in action scenes shines in this volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #18

Oct 24, 2020

OverallDemon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba, Volume 18is another must-read. Koyoharu Gotouge continues to deliver a quality story with great characters and amazingly imaginative artwork. I remain impressed by their ability to right heartwrenching backstories that humanize villains, while also not absolving them of their sins.And as every volume comes out the intensity of the arc continues to build up and leaves me excited to see what will happen next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #19

Dec 1, 2020

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Volume 19,continues to bring an action-packed story and great insight into the characters along the way. Accompanied with panel after panel of beautiful illustrations and well-paced story, the mangaka KoyoharuGotouge continues to impress me every volume. I highly recommend picking this volume up because the story just seems to keep getting better and better as it goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #20

Feb 9, 2021

Overall, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba, Volume 20 is heart wrenching, intense, and you won't want to put the manga down until the last page. Koyoharu Gotouge continues to build upon the suspense and tension in every chapter of Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba, Volume 20.This volume kills it when it comes to the storytelling

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #21

Apr 4, 2021

Overall, Demon Slayer Volume 21 is worth the read. The mangaka sets the tone of this volume within the first few pages to let the readers know that there will be casualties. I loved the horrific imagery of the villain's new design. There are some especially gruesome and graphic scenes throughout the volume to illustrate the severity of the situation that Tanjiro and his comrades have to face. Lastly, I am excited to see what comes next in Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba, Volume 22now that it seems Nezuko is finally going to join the final batter too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Stone #12

Jul 2, 2020

Overall, Dr. STONE Volume 12 is a great read and I highly recommend picking it up. If you are a fan of action-adventure or science fiction then this is a manga series worth checking out. This is a manga that just keeps getting better and better as it continues. The author and illustrator,Inagaki and Boichi, make a terrific storytelling duo whose work complements one another perfectly. Lastly, Volume 12 has some great payoff for longtime fans that are eager to learn more about the overarching mystery of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Dr. Stone #14

Oct 27, 2020

If you are a fan of science-fiction and adventure then you do not want to missout onDr. STONE, Volume 14.The mangakas, Boichi and Riichiro Inagaki continue to deliver a great story volume after volume. Additionally, this ...arc is a great example of the manga's world-building and how the series continues to deliver the message of resiliency. Full of awesome illustrations, a great story, and more I highly recommend picking upDr. Stone, Volume 14.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Stone #15

Feb 9, 2021

Overall, Dr. STONE, Volume 15might just be one of the most exciting volumes in the series to date. This volume brings theTreasure Island Arcto a tremendous climax that ends with a jaw-dropping cliffhanger. This volume is accompanied by great character moments, suspense storytelling, more of Boichi's intense artwork, and intriguing reveals that give answers, but also leave you with more questions than before. I honestly can not recommend this manga enough, it is well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dragon Ball Super #12

Feb 26, 2021

Overall Dragon Ball Super Volume 12 is a great read and can not recommend it enough. I think people who are curious to see how the Dragon Ball Super series continues after the anime's completion would definitely find this manga to be very interesting. Dragon Ball Super, Volume 12 also has some major reveals that continue to expand the world-building in the franchise. Akira Toriyama and Toyotarou make a great storytelling duo. And while the formula of the saga doesn't differentiate too much from Toriyama's storytelling formula it does present some new and exciting challenges that Goku and his friends work to overcome. I look forward to seeing where things go in the next volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Elfen Lied: Omnibus #3

Jan 6, 2020

Overall, I understand that this series is regarded as a classic by so many, but to me, it just feels like a discombobulated mess. The more I progress further through this series, I'm finding it harder to keep an interest in it because the main plot feels disconnected and confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Eromanga Sensei #3

Jul 20, 2019

Overall, besides some of the character designs and the little bits of character growth, there's not much else I liked about Eromanga Sensei. I'd be more interested if it focuses more on where Sagiri's progress with becoming less reclusive and integrating back into society goes, but I get the sense that, that part of the story plays a minor role overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jujutsu Kaisen #4

May 22, 2020

Jujutsu Kaisen Vol. 4 is well-worth the read. If you are looking for a new manga that you can jump into relatively easy, then I recommend this one. The series is still just starting off, but the artwork is great and the story is interesting. And while it doesn't exactly break the mold of the Shonen hero trope, it does give a refreshing take on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Komi Can't Communicate #6

Apr 3, 2020

Komi Can't Communicate Volume 6 is a tremendous romantic comedy manga is an adorable and unique story about friendship and overcoming one's anxiety. I like that the creator introduces other characters that share similar issues with communicating like the main character because it gives the audience another perspective on social anxiety.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Komi Can't Communicate #7

May 26, 2020

Overall, Komi Can't Communicate Volume 7is a great manga with a wholesome story about friendship and making connections, whether they be with family or friends. This volume was an enjoyable read and the art is simply beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Komi Can't Communicate #8

Jul 28, 2020

Overall, I can't recommend picking upKomi Cant Communicate, Vol. 8enough. It's a great romantic comedy that tells a genuine story about friendship first and romance second, and I mean that in the best of ways. If you are looking for a great light and funny romantic comedy then I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Komi Can't Communicate #9

Sep 27, 2020

Overall,Komi Can't Communicate, Volume 9 is a great read and if you really enjoy romantic-comedies then you will be pleased with this volume. Additionally, this volume highlights other budding romances besides the main characters' that keep the story fresh and interesting. Tomohito Oda continues to impress me with their abilities to illustrate non-verbal scenes that still moves the story along seamlessly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Komi Can't Communicate #10

Dec 4, 2020

Komi Can't Communicate, Volume 10marks a full-circle moment for the heroine of the series while also opening a new chapter of her life. Komi steps into the role of helping other characters overcome their fears of making friends. I'm hoping that in the volumes to come we can see more of Komi stepping into this new role of helping others make friends. The mangaka's artwork continues to impress me with how adaptable it is to fit the mood and emotions as needed. Additionally, as the series continues I hope the mangaka will do a chapter focused on Najimi and give more insight into that character beyond them being the comedic relief. I can recommend picking this series up enough, especially now that drama looks like it going to pick up as a love triangle starts to form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Komi Can't Communicate #11

Feb 1, 2021

Overall, Komi Can't Communicate, Volume 11is a fun, light read. Komi and Tadano finally get some more quality alone time together. I appreciate that the mangaka doesn't rush these characters into a romantic relationship right away. I think the pace that Tomohito Oda has set for their friendship is perfect as-as at this moment. However, as some characters start to become a part of the main cast. I look forward to seeing where that will take secondary romantic plot of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Komi Can't Communicate #12

Apr 10, 2021

Komi Cant Communicate Volume 12 is a fun read if you are looking for a light and wholesome plot. Additionally, I appreciate how they organized the panels in this volume to make it easier to follow along with the dialogue when multiple characters talked at once. Lastly, I applaud the mangaka for always showing how social anxiety and communication disorders can look differently for everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mob Psycho 100 #3

Jul 27, 2019

Overall, I recommend checking Mob Psycho 100 Volume #3 out. While at first glance, the art may not grab your attention, it does have its place in the story. And while the overall tone of the manga is humor, it does have some deeper touching moments that make you appreciate the characters a bit more. I also recommend this if you are looking for a new refreshing manga to read that's a little different too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
One Piece #96

Apr 4, 2021

Overall, One Piece, Volume 96 is well worth the read, and highly recommend picking it up. If you pick it up be sure to read the book or digital version on a device with a bigger screen. The mangaka writing does a great job of giving depth and growth to Oden's character. It provides long-time fans a glimpse at Gol D. Roger in action, in a way we have not seen in the series before. Lastly the volume ends on a thrilling note, leaving me eager to see what is to come in the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
One Piece: Aces Story #2

Oct 2, 2020

Overall, One Piece: Aces Story Vol. 2 is a must-read, whether you are a long-time fan or newcomer to the One Piece franchise. Tatsuya Hamazaki's writing paints a great and descriptive setting for the story to be told and their storytelling mode allows readers to get more insight into the character's inner thoughts and motivations. This light novel series fits in perfectly with the source material while telling a never before seen story of Ace's adventures as a rookie pirate in the New World.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Seraph of the End #19

Jul 1, 2020

Overall, Seraph of the End Volume 19 I recommend picking it up if you enjoy action-adventure and science-fiction. However, I will say if you are new to the series it is best to start from the very beginning. You are definitely getting your money' worth with this volume and it has a high re-read value. Paired with beautiful illustrations and deeper story reveals that keeps you enthralled until the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Banks #1

Dec 22, 2019

Overall, I highly recommend grabbing The Banks it's a great graphic novel that also makes a refreshing addition to the heist genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Promised Neverland #15

May 17, 2020

If you are a fan of the anime or completely new to the series, then I highly recommend you start reading this series from the beginning because the story just keeps getting better and better as it goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Promised Neverland #16

Jul 27, 2020

This volume is full of beautiful mind-bending illustrations. The Promised Neverland Volume 16 also provides some great insight into the main plot that will interest long-time fans about the origin of the main conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Promised Neverland #17

Oct 25, 2020

Overall, I highly recommend picking up The Promised Neverland, Volume 17. This volume is full of some of the beautifully grotesque illustrations, that I have ever seen throughout the entire series. The story continues to heat up in every chapter from the intense battles to the ever-evolving story and character motivations clashing and opposing one another. Best of all, the mangaka keeps the story interesting by not revealing too much too soon, which leaves me eager to read the next volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Promised Neverland #18

Jan 9, 2021

The Promised Neverland, Volume 18, might be my favorite installation of the series to date. This volume has so many things that first intrigued me about the series. The dark and macabre art style, the amazing writing that highlights various themes, tells a captivating story. I can not recommend checking out this volume enough. As it concludes one arc, it also ushers in a new and slightly more challenging one that will leave you eager to pick up the next volume.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Promised Neverland #19

Apr 24, 2021

The Promised Neverland Volume 19 was a little be of a letdown story-wise. I cant say I loved the pacing of this volume as it feels a bit rushed as the series approaches its end. The build-up and suspense for this arcs conflict villain just felt like it was lacking compared to the previous arcs. However, the plot twist was a great touch that felt fitting and there are still some mysteries left to be revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Way of Shao #1

Aug 29, 2020

Overall, while the premise ofThe Way of Shao Volume 1 initially grabbed my attention, after reading it, I just don't think this is a manga for me. The premise is interesting as it blends action, martial arts, and music together, but I think that hurts it. The first volume feels more like an extended one-shot than a full volume story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Undead Messiah #3

Aug 28, 2020

Overall, Undead Messiah, Volume 3 is a fantastic horror manga that fans of the zombie apocalypse genre will really enjoy. Gin Zarbo's amazing art skills help to tell a great thriller with eye-catching action scenes. Granted the final battle towards the end of the end falls a little flat, but I will say the manga overall is still worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Yona of the Dawn #24

May 23, 2020

Overall, Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 24 has continues to tell a quality story through well developed characters and impressive artwork. If you are looking for manga with strong heroine with great character development, then I can't recommend this one enough. The are is immersive and the creator does an awesome job of blending different asian cultures together to give the world more depth. This is simply one of the best Shoujo manga I have ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Yona of the Dawn #25

Aug 2, 2020

Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 25 is a great read and I highly recommend picking it up.This is a manga that is consistently good through and through! From the story and characters to the art. It just keeps getting better and better as the series goes on. The Kusanagi continually delivers a great manga that makes me appreciate the series and look forward to the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More