LaNeysha Campbell's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 16
8.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Black Clover #21

May 10, 2020

Black Clover Vol. 21 is an enjoyable read and a fast-paced page-turner. Tabata's art and storytelling skills continue to impress me and hold my attention on every page. This volume does a good job of answering questions that long time fans might have had from the start of the series and takes the arc of this series into an interesting direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Flag #1

Apr 2, 2020

I honestly can't recommend Blue Flag Vol. 1 enough, especially for other hopeless romantics like. It is a refreshing take on the teenage love triangle trope. The creator does a great job of giving the characters and story depth. I guarantee by the end of volume one you will be hooked and ready for the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #12

Apr 22, 2020

Overall, while this volume doesn't have as much action as the previous one, it is a welcomed change of pace that allows more focus on the main protagonist and the opportunity to learn more about other characters. I found the plot in this volume to have an interesting story and ends on a cliffhanger that has me eager to pick up the next volume. Accompanied by beautiful artwork and character designs, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu No Yaiba Vol. 12 is a manga you do not want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #14

Jun 20, 2020

Overall, Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba,Volume 14is packed with a lot of action and the Koyoharu's arctic skills does an amazing job of capturing and conveying it all very beautifully. While there is a lot going on in some parts, if you like getting more insight into otherDemon Slayercharacters then you will want to pick this volume up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba #15

Jul 13, 2020

Overall, Demon Slayer: Kimestsu no Yaiba, Vol. 15is a great read and is definitely worth picking up. Koyoharu Gotouge does an amazing job with the art and story in this volume. Volume 15 sets up the calm before the approaching storm that is sure to come in the volumes to follow. I can't wait to see where story goes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Stone #12

Jul 2, 2020

Overall, Dr. STONE Volume 12 is a great read and I highly recommend picking it up. If you are a fan of action-adventure or science fiction then this is a manga series worth checking out. This is a manga that just keeps getting better and better as it continues. The author and illustrator,Inagaki and Boichi, make a terrific storytelling duo whose work complements one another perfectly. Lastly, Volume 12 has some great payoff for longtime fans that are eager to learn more about the overarching mystery of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Elfen Lied: Omnibus #3

Jan 6, 2020

Overall, I understand that this series is regarded as a classic by so many, but to me, it just feels like a discombobulated mess. The more I progress further through this series, I'm finding it harder to keep an interest in it because the main plot feels disconnected and confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Eromanga Sensei #3

Jul 20, 2019

Overall, besides some of the character designs and the little bits of character growth, there's not much else I liked about Eromanga Sensei. I'd be more interested if it focuses more on where Sagiri's progress with becoming less reclusive and integrating back into society goes, but I get the sense that, that part of the story plays a minor role overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jujutsu Kaisen #4

May 22, 2020

Jujutsu Kaisen Vol. 4 is well-worth the read. If you are looking for a new manga that you can jump into relatively easy, then I recommend this one. The series is still just starting off, but the artwork is great and the story is interesting. And while it doesn't exactly break the mold of the Shonen hero trope, it does give a refreshing take on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Komi Can't Communicate #6

Apr 3, 2020

Komi Can't Communicate Volume 6 is a tremendous romantic comedy manga is an adorable and unique story about friendship and overcoming one's anxiety. I like that the creator introduces other characters that share similar issues with communicating like the main character because it gives the audience another perspective on social anxiety.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Komi Can't Communicate #7

May 26, 2020

Overall, Komi Can't Communicate Volume 7is a great manga with a wholesome story about friendship and making connections, whether they be with family or friends. This volume was an enjoyable read and the art is simply beautiful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mob Psycho 100 #3

Jul 27, 2019

Overall, I recommend checking Mob Psycho 100 Volume #3 out. While at first glance, the art may not grab your attention, it does have its place in the story. And while the overall tone of the manga is humor, it does have some deeper touching moments that make you appreciate the characters a bit more. I also recommend this if you are looking for a new refreshing manga to read that's a little different too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Seraph of the End #19

Jul 1, 2020

Overall, Seraph of the End Volume 19 I recommend picking it up if you enjoy action-adventure and science-fiction. However, I will say if you are new to the series it is best to start from the very beginning. You are definitely getting your money' worth with this volume and it has a high re-read value. Paired with beautiful illustrations and deeper story reveals that keeps you enthralled until the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Banks #1

Dec 22, 2019

Overall, I highly recommend grabbing The Banks it's a great graphic novel that also makes a refreshing addition to the heist genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Promised Neverland #15

May 17, 2020

If you are a fan of the anime or completely new to the series, then I highly recommend you start reading this series from the beginning because the story just keeps getting better and better as it goes on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Yona of the Dawn #24

May 23, 2020

Overall, Yona of the Dawn, Vol. 24 has continues to tell a quality story through well developed characters and impressive artwork. If you are looking for manga with strong heroine with great character development, then I can't recommend this one enough. The are is immersive and the creator does an awesome job of blending different asian cultures together to give the world more depth. This is simply one of the best Shoujo manga I have ever read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More