Lonnie's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek-O-Rama Reviews: 27
6.9Avg. Review Rating

6.0
American Gods: The Moment of the Storm #1

Apr 10, 2019

I was looking forward to some Sandman vibe and I kinda got that in that the script is gleefully full of imagery. The story is painted around us as readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Archie (2015) #704

May 15, 2019

Even though I don't dig YA stuff, Achie is an interesting read with echoes of sneaky plot twists ahead. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dellec (2018) #4

Jan 23, 2019

This is a buy if you are invested in the story but a miss if you are not.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor #5

Apr 23, 2019

If you love Jodi Whittaker's Doctor this is a 3 of 5 stars. But if you are not, these comics deserve a 2 of 5 and are not a buy, continuing Titan's thin performance in the Doctor Who brand.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dragonsblood #2

May 29, 2019

Art-wise, this is crisp commercial looking work by Muhr and Araujo. Maybe just a tad too polished. It's okay to look lived-in as Dragonsblood invokes a little bit of nostalgia for World of Warcraft. Even the battlegrounds appear idyllic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fathom (2019) #1

Jun 25, 2019

I like Fathom better than most takes on Aquaman. Even with its flaws, Fathom remains above average and this issue is more enjoyable than past issues I have read. I don't know if this is a must read but it is a fun summer read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Fearscape #1

Mar 5, 2019

I'm overpowered by this comic on the story alone. If this issue doesn't hook you please let me know why in the comments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fearscape #2

Apr 2, 2019

O'Sullivan's script is poetic, broken clay, and we are poised for just a little more self destruction before the sculpting begins in Mutti's sharply self-contrasting art over (and sometimes under) Popov's painted panels. And you rarely notice the letters, although the black background still seems distracting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fearscape #3

May 1, 2019

This is a buy for anyone that savors word or art and a blessing to those who appreciate both.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I. Joe: Sierra Muerte #1

Feb 20, 2019

This is a nostalgia-only buy. Get it if you love the Joes at your local comic shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Gretel #1

Mar 28, 2019

There's good to be found, there's weaker. This series is five issues long. I think we can give them some grace and see what comes. I remain on the fence with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infinite Dark #5

Apr 24, 2019

The art is nice and returns to the style and settings that are familiar to the reader. Colors are sublime and muted, totally appropriate for this psychological thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's Labyrinth: Under The Spell #1

Dec 4, 2018

While I find details to cry over, I'm calling it a hopeful buy. Completely recommended for any audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Klaus: Klaus and the Crying Snowman #1

Dec 31, 2018

Klaus is as cool as Thor used to be! This is a buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Little Girl #4

Mar 6, 2019

It is told well in four issues, but has two flaws that hurt it. First, the utter contrivance that resolves the story. I won't spoil it but it doesn't even fit the foreshadowing. Second, the tired cliche of the failed pastor plus the overdone pseudo Christian cult figure. They're in SO many horror stories, I wanted just a notch more originality. In defense of Pat Shand, this is not blasphemous or off putting. Just low hanging fruit. It is well written, however, I think it remains a buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Newbury & Hobbes: The Undying #4

Feb 27, 2019

While the art of Dan Boultwood is completely mismatched to the story, using his animated characterizations and friendly drawing style makes this strange world very inviting and easily entered. Grim scenes are downplayed and readable by any age. An inspired choice by Titan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
No One Left To Fight #1

Jun 26, 2019

Brass tax, the setup could be way stronger and that is the biggest failing. But who is buying fight manga for story, right? Maybe issue #2 will be a must-have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Project: Superpowers (2018) #5

Jan 8, 2019

Sergio's art is nice and high-end. Ulises' colors are good without being obnoxious. Rob's writing has me but none of it will matter if the next issue is not killer in the conclusion of the 6-issue arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punk Mambo #1

Apr 25, 2019

This comic is plainly a female John Constantine. Chain smoking, British, and deep into voodoo. And that might be my only complaint. Set in the American south, I haven't seen much originality, yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Sonja (2017): Holiday Special #1

Dec 11, 2018

For the beaver hunters, I will rate it up on the art, down I on the story, down on the not-holiday. Just not much value in this book other than the reprint. And beavers. Happy Life Day.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rick and Morty Presents: Jerry #1

Mar 20, 2019

Ryan Ferrier writes perfectly uncomfortable scenes balanced with disturbing and sublime dark humor. The only word you need to know is "man-eating pimple." Is a man-eating pimple funny to you? Drawn by CJ Cannon? Oh, heck, yes!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ronin Island #1

Mar 13, 2019

. Greg Pak writes a 1950's American values speech that leaves me puzzled. The social structure is mythical, the equality between classes and sexes is utopian. Frankly, the reader is asked to set aside most known history to slide into the fable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Freeze #1

Dec 18, 2018

My Gut here reminds me of Youngbloods. With that in mind I am hopeful for a grand tale of action and supporting cast. The McGuffin is great but not enough to carry a tale by itself. Issue #2 is going to have to deliver on that promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Freeze #2

Jan 23, 2019

I still like it but I'm not looking for another Walking Dead story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Girl In The Bay #1

Feb 13, 2019

The production values are high(not a pun). Do I feel the need to read the next issue? Yes. This is a miniseries so grab it fast.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #23

Jan 30, 2019

If you're already into X-O, this is a buy! If not, start at the beginning as I am going to do. There isn't anything else to spoil or dwell on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Zodiac (2019) #1

Feb 26, 2019

I enjoyed the read and so far plan to read the whole arc. I think this is a safe buy for any comic reader into vigilantes.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More