Louie Hlad's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Beat Reviews: 17
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aquaman (2016) #32

Jan 17, 2018

Aquaman is the kind of book that rewards you if you stick around for a while. It always is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bombshells: United #6

Nov 15, 2017

Honestly, I don't care if it's going anywhere important. I'm just glad this book exists. The world needs hopeful, uplifting stories right now and the Bombshells remind us, no matter what, to remain united.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damage #1

Jan 17, 2018

As an introduction, this issue does its job. I'm listening. The trick now is to keep my attention and build a character who is more than just a big guy who smashes things. But, you know, have him smash a whole lot of stuff along the way, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC House of Horror (One Shot) #1

Oct 25, 2017

DC has published Halloween holiday specials before but I don't remember them ever being this dark, this unsettling, or this satisfying. If you enjoy the twisted and macabre, Black Canary's scenes alone make this book worth the purchase price. Happy Halloween!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doomsday Clock #8

Dec 5, 2018

Doomsday Clock is one of the smartest commentaries on the modern world around. Period. It's at times subtle, and then a slap in the face. In 1986, this story changed the comics landscape. If we are listening, it could now change ours. Will it? Who knows. We see what we want to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #49

Jun 27, 2018

The Flash is a book that feels both new and familiar in the most strange and direct of ways

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2018) #2

Dec 5, 2018

As you'd expect from Grant Morrison, each issue of The Green Lantern is jam-packed and intelligent, infinitely re-readable. Liam Sharp is the perfect collaborator for this series, lending an otherworldly feel to the environment that's been missing for some time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #35

Dec 27, 2017

The current story is called "Twilight of the Guardians." And so far it has delivered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

Don't sleep on this new Hawkman book. I think we're in for a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mera: Queen of Atlantis #5

Jun 27, 2018

We're almost at the end of Mera's solo miniseries, and things are getting pretty intense.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mister Miracle #12

Nov 14, 2018

This last issue doesn't offer any answers. Only possibilities. We're all dreaming the next world and we always will be. Mister Miracle still hears the voice whispering darkness into his ear, and he can still choose whether to listen to it or not. Scott is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #50

Oct 3, 2018

As he's done before, Dick Grayson is leaving behind his old life and becoming something new. We hurt for him. We support him. And we can't wait to see who our dear friend will be next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing: The New Order #3

Oct 25, 2017

This series is the comic book art form at its finest and a perfect use for Dick Grayson. He's the only one who could make it work.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dreaming (2018) #2

Oct 3, 2018

This is the stuff of our dreams and nightmares, after all, and it's a story that is meant to be told.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Immortal Men #3

Jun 13, 2018

I think this book was mishandled from the beginning. It came out four months late and for all the Jim Lee hype, he only contributed to part of the first issue. I hope I'm in the minority and people are really digging it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Trinity (2016) #15

Nov 15, 2017

Trinity isn't holding my attention and I feel I can safely stop paying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #58

Nov 14, 2018

Wonder Woman has always been a book about war and about peace. This first entry promises to keep those themes front and center as Diana rushes into battle to protect the innocent in her role as both warrior and diplomat.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More