Lyla Saudi's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 35
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Cryptocracy #1

Jun 13, 2016

This story has a unique take on your traditional sci-fi and government conspiracy stories. Although a little heavy with the information in the beginning it was not overwhelming. I enjoyed all the twists, loveable characters and fantastic artwork. It made every page fun and exciting to read. Van Jensen and Pete Woods have a winner on their hands here with a great start to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cryptocracy #2

Jul 31, 2016

The first issue for me was the star of this series but that is not to say that this issue is bad. I enjoyed it and can't wait to know what happens next. I would recommend getting your hands on a copy. There is a great story unfolding here and I for one need to know what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Cryptocracy #3

Sep 2, 2016

I am really enjoying the story development and direction so far. Although the first issue was still the stand out for me, I would say grab yourself a copy of Cryptocracy #3because after seeing the cliffhanger, I can't wait to find out whatwill happen next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cryptocracy #4

Oct 1, 2016

This is a series that aims to push your imagination. Just when you think you have one question answered another one pops up to take its place. It is turning into a great series that doesnt initially give too much away but at the same time gives you plenty to take in especially with a big twist and the end that I didnt see coming and neither will you if you do not grab yourself a copy of Cryptocracy #4! Out now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Cryptocracy #5

Nov 3, 2016

This issue has knocked it out of the park for me and I would have to say that Cryptocracy #5 is my favourite of the series. You definitely will not be disappointed with this one, it is truly a must read. So stop waiting and order your copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cryptocracy #6

Nov 30, 2016

Cryptocracy continues to be an enjoyable series to read with fantastic twists and surprising turns along the way. Each issue centers around a different element or character of the overall story, adding nicely to the story depth, while complimenting the excitement of what each issue brings to the table. Hitting the stands on November 30th, get your hands on it today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Inside #1

Dec 17, 2016

Dead Inside #1 will hit the stores on December 21st, 2016. It is a very intriguing and enjoyable issue to read especially if you are a lover of crime thrillers. The jail setting is perfect for fans looking for a story which merges Law and Order and American Crime Story. So dont miss out! Go and pre-order your copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Inside #2

Jan 24, 2017

This is only the second issue of the series but I am already fascinated with the plot and cant wait to find out what happens next. It definitely has my attention and if you liked the previous issue or are a fan of crime/mysteries then this will not disappoint!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Dead Inside #3

Feb 20, 2017

This series as grown on me and I am really looking forward to finding out what happens next and how Detective Caruso is going to handle the death of someone she knows. Will it make her stronger? Will it make her weaker? Only time (and the next issue) will tell!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Inside #4

Mar 19, 2017

This has been a great issue to build up to the finale. It is a shame that is it only a miniseries but what it has delivered so far has been intense, full of head scratching and suspense and with only one issue left to go I am very keen to see how the story will wrap up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dead Inside #5

May 17, 2017

The final issue provides a fitting finale to a miniseries which was enjoyable throughout. A strong story and well written twists support Detective Carusos character development which is the highlight of this series. The artwork is a hero throughout and helps draw you into this murky world into which Caruso tries to shine a ray of light.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Made Men #1

Sep 11, 2017

I enjoyed the Frankenstein twist, Juttes secretive character, and how the cliffhanger at the end explains the main title of the story. Hopefully the next issue fills in the missing story gaps because overall it has been a great start to the series and I look forward to reading more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Snotgirl #1

Aug 10, 2016

OMalley and Hung are a great collaborative team that has produced something unexpected and different. Snotgirl will have no issues being a stand out from other comics and I am very keen to know how the story develops in the next issue. It definitely has my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 29, 2016

It is a good start to the five part mini-series that has a lot to do with girl power. I am interested to see how the story will develop and where their road tripping adventures will take them. I would recommend picking up a copy because it is fun, light hearted and easy to read.So why not give it a go?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spell On Wheels #2

Nov 16, 2016

With only three issues left, this story has a lot of potential and I cant wait to see the journey that Kate Leth has in store for the series. Spell on Wheels #2 is out now so go and grab your copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spell On Wheels #3

Dec 20, 2016

I like where this series is heading, taking on a darker magical vibe while maintaining the adventurous and high spirited feel of the three best friends road tripping. Spell on Wheels #3 is available on the 21st of December so dont miss out and pre-order your copy today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spell On Wheels #4

Jan 24, 2017

Spell on Wheels #4 may be the most supernaturally influenced issue of the series but doesnt distract away from the fun and quirky plotline. Available on January the 25th, it is a cute and enjoyable issue that finally gives us more answers that we (and the witches) have been waiting for!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Spell On Wheels #5

Feb 11, 2017

Spell on Wheels continues to offer a great teen girl power story in Issue #5. If you are a fan of this light hearted and fun series then pre-order your issue today so that you do not miss out on the major twist that concludes the girls cross-country adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dark Horse Book of Horror #1

Aug 13, 2017

A perfect blend of all sorts of horrifying short stories underneath one terrifying cover!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Throwaways #5

Feb 21, 2017

This issue isnt on my list of favourites for the series but the overall storyline is interesting and I especially want to know more about the sinister plans that Dr. Ostrander has in mind for this group of throwaways.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Throwaways #6

Mar 19, 2017

I feel like the series has hit a hump with this issue and I hope that the next one will push it over. Overall it is a little underwhelming with a predictable ending but I would still say that it is worth a read as you find out a bit more about the ULTRA Program and Alices connection to Deans father.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Throwaways #7

Apr 25, 2017

I am a fan of Throwaways #7 as it hasn't been as predictable as the previous issues. The twist at the end defiantly raised my eyebrow and I am keen to find out what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Violent Love #1

Nov 19, 2016

Violent Love #1 would be a shame to miss out on. Full of action, suspense and intrigue this is a fantastic start to the series and I cannot wait for the second issue to come out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Violent Love #2

Dec 20, 2016

Violent Love #2 is shaping up to be a fantastic comic book series and this is only the second issue! I cant wait to see how the story develops and neither should you. The engagement with the characters, dark story and need to know what will happen are enthralling. It is available now in both print and digital editions so dont miss out on getting your copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Violent Love #3

Jan 22, 2017

This issue may have felt a bit rushed with the action and low on the story telling but Violent Love is a great series that will keep you wanting more. Because I know I do! Available in stores now, hurry and get yourself a copy because this story is about to reach a whole new level of crazy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Violent Love #4

Feb 25, 2017

I mentioned before that Violent Love is on my list of favourite comics, and this issue hasnt let me down. I am enjoying the injection of new characters and story development and cant wait to see where it will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Weird Detective #1

Jun 5, 2016

This issue is a great start to the series. Even though I found the pace a bit slow to begin with it was definitely an enjoyable read. I cant wait to get my hands on the next issue so I can find out more about Greenes senses and who or what is behind these bizarre crimes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Weird Detective #2

Jul 21, 2016

Issue #2 may not have had the same level of excitement as issue #1 but there is a great storyline here with so much more yet to be explored and developed. With only three issues left to this five-part miniseries, I am interested to see where it goes and would recommend picking up a copy for yourself to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Weird Detective #3

Sep 8, 2016

Espionage (more like house snooping and google searches), murder, monsters, a sarcastic pet cat (still my favourite) and an explosion of fireworks, this issue has it all and is the stand out for me in this series so far. So hurry up and find all of that loose pocket change because this is one issue you dont want to miss out on!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weird Detective #4

Sep 23, 2016

I would buy each issue just for the few panels showcasing Greenes sarcastic pet cat who is definitely a small but lovablestandout character for me. In saying that, this fourth instalment of the mini-series is exciting to read as you discover more about who Greene is and why he is trying to save his people as a human detective! Its dark, its weird, its great!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weird Detective #5

Oct 27, 2016

I am both sad and happy that the series has wrapped up. Happy because it was enjoyable and fun to read, and sad because it is over (and I wanted more of the sarcastic pet cat). If you have been a fan of the previous issues then this one wont let you down, it is a great finale to the series. So go out and pick up your copy today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Z Nation #1

Apr 14, 2017

I am excited about this series and I cant wait to find out what happens in the next issue. If you are a fan of all things zombie related then I would definitely suggest picking this up. Because of the way the story is composed, it is just as applicable to fans or those new to the Syfy TV series in which the story is set.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Z Nation #2

May 17, 2017

More character development will turn this six part mini series into a really interesting story. With great art and good writing twists and turns, this issue will keep you engaged. It neatly pays more attention to the bad guys (which are great) rather than the zombies, so that the zombie theme isnt overdone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Z Nation #3

Jun 22, 2017

It is half way through the miniseries and I feel it is time to make the reader understand why they should be invested in the main characters. I love the action, the zombies, the enemies, but I feel there are a few elements missing (including the tug on the heart strings) that are needed to push this series to the next level.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Z Nation #4

Jul 19, 2017

This issue presents fast moving zombie action and definitely features Z Nations signature blend of horror, humour, and heart. And with only two issues left to conclude this miniseries, I have no idea how it is going to end, but I am looking forward to finding out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More