Marx Pyle's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 32
7.2Avg. Review Rating

8
Abe Sapien: The Drowning #3

Mar 29, 2008

Theres nothing fishy here buy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel: After the Fall #5

Mar 24, 2008

Overall, this is a great limited series that needs a little more support in the art department and needs to continue after After the Fall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Angel: After the Fall #9

Jun 23, 2008

The beginning of a new direction that makes the series truly feel worthy to be called Season 6. If you are a Buffy / Angel fan, then you have to sink your teeth into this issue. Now if IDW and Dark Horse could just work out a crossover...

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Angel: After the Fall #10

Jul 10, 2008

All Angel fans need to check this quickly improving series out. Did I mention that it's considered official canon?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
B.P.R.D.: War on Frogs #1

Jun 16, 2008

If you are already a big Hellboy / B.P.R.D. fan, then hop on over to your comic book shop and pick it up. If you are new to the series, then avoid this book and first pick-up earlier books in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cable (2008) #4

Jun 3, 2008

This explosive book is a must for Cable fans, readers wanting to know what the heck happened to that baby from Messiah Complex, or those who dig Road Warrior type stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Countdown to Final Crisis #5

Mar 31, 2008

If you are a Jack Kirby fan who loved Kamandi and always wondered how that darn Great Disaster happened, then you may just love this issue. Otherwise, Im not sure if its worth picking up. I think the last four issues will go a long way in deciding whether Countdown to Final Crisis was a success or an actual countdown to a crisis in storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Death of the New Gods #6

Feb 22, 2008

If you are not a fan of the New Gods, then you can probably pass on this one. Actually, I take that back sort of. This event ties into Countdown to Final Crisis, so it may be important for those die-hard DC fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Death of the New Gods #8

Apr 27, 2008

It is sad to see the New Gods die, especially when it happens this way. If you want to fully understand the demise of Darkseid, then you have to check this book out. But don't be surprised if you yell, "No! It can't end like this!"

View Issue       View Full Review
8
End League #3

May 26, 2008

A dark and epic story that has me hooked. Things look hopeless in this bleak setting, but just like the heroes in this book I can't give up on seeing what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Firebreather #2

Aug 22, 2008

With Cartoon Network planning to make an animated movie based on Firebreather, this book is hot. Now is a good time to try it out if you haven't yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gotham Underground #6

Mar 20, 2008

Overall this is a great book that has the grittiness that I love to see from Batman and his insane collection of villains.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Gotham Underground #7

Apr 21, 2008

This is an excellent issue in an excellent miniseries. If you are a fan of any of the Batman villains, then skipping this issue would be a crime.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Gotham Underground #8

May 19, 2008

This mini-series is a must have for those Batman fans who love the villains just as much as the heroes. This issue isn't on par with the others, but is a necessary chapter in a criminally well written mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hack/Slash #12

Jun 20, 2008

If Joss Whedon and Wes Craven had a baby, it would be called Hack / Slash. If you love '80s and '90s slasher horror, then this book and the whole freaking series is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League of America (2006) #22

Jun 22, 2008

Potentially one of the stronger issues in the series with a return to a character driven story that started this whole run, but unless McDuffie throws in a surprise or two next issue, it will quickly become one of the most predictable story arcs to date. Like a tornado, this story could go in either direction leading to a happy ending or a terrible disaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Last Defenders #2

Apr 15, 2008

Last Defenders is a tough book to get a handle on. By the time the mini-series is over you'll either love it or hate it. Right now I'm enjoying the ride, but I have no idea where it stops.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Loaded Bible #3

Mar 3, 2008

Okay, so this series wont win over some Christians. But I feel that is done in a tasteful way (sort of) and is a uniquely entertaining series. Okay, its a story with cursing, partial nudity and gory violence with Jesus (actually his clone) as the main character, but somehow Seeley pulls it off. I'm looking forward to what surprises Seeley has in store for us in Book Two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Locke & Key #3

Apr 11, 2008

Reflect on what you really want from a good comic book before you pass this one up. Do you want a disturbingly genius mix of terror, humor and drama? Then this book is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Outsiders (2007) #6

Apr 21, 2008

This is an excellent relaunch that I highly recommend. I didn't expect much from this series when I first heard about it, but it has successfully completed its mission in keeping me hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pilot Season: Genius #1

Jun 23, 2008

Genius is not for everyone and just might offend some, but it is a unique blend of inner city violence with a creative twist. What appears at first to be senseless gratuitous violence hides a story filled with social commentary. The question is, will it have what it takes to win the Pilot Season 2008 fight?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pilot Season: Lady Pendragon #1

Jun 16, 2008

A truly magical and epic setting with a rich history. I'm curious where it may go from here, but we'll have to wait to see what fate has in store for this pilot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Pilot Season: Twilight Guardian #1

May 26, 2008

An interesting and very different take on a superhero in the real world. Either Hickman played it too subtly or this book may be too real for most readers to stick with. Only more issues can answer that question, but we'll have to wait for the vote tally to see if there will ever be another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Salvation Run #5

Mar 17, 2008

This is a mini-series that has so much potential, but so far seems like a pointless mix of Secret Wars meets Planet Hulk. Let's hope the next issue can give salvation to this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Salvation Run #6

Apr 21, 2008

If you have always wanted to see a Joker vs. Lex Luthor fight, then you will probably want to check this issue out. Otherwise, I'm not sure if it is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Trek: Assignment Earth #1

May 25, 2008

Fun. Yup, that about sums it up. A pleasant surprise from a spin-off that's 40 years overdo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Star Trek: Assignment Earth #2

Jun 12, 2008

Another excellent and fun book from John Byrne about the TV spin-off that almost happened.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad: Raise the Flag #7

Mar 20, 2008

My only real complaint is that this mini-series only has one more issue to go. Come on DC, lets keep this title alive and make it an ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Twelve #6

Jun 10, 2008

A well-written series that explores the dark flaws in twelve characters from a different and also flawed time in our history.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Titans (2008) #1

Apr 13, 2008

Are you a fan of the Wolfman/Perez New Teen Titans line-up? Then you will probably kick yourself for not trying this book out. Otherwise you may want to wait and see where things go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimates 3 #4

Jul 1, 2008

Does the phrase jump the shark mean anything to you? Because if this were season three of a TV show, that is exactly what I would be saying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncle Sam and the Freedom Fighters #7

Mar 31, 2008

This is a high quality book that often is overlooked. You may need to read the first miniseries to fully appreciate this one, but it is worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More