Matt Ampersand's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Weekly Crisis Reviews: 11
8.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Atomic Robo #1

May 2, 2009

The Atomic Robo story, which showcases all that is great about the book in eight short pages, is the only reason to pick up this book and more than makes up for the two other lackluster stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin #1

Nov 11, 2009

Persepolis is a great autobiographical book that should be in everyone's bookshelf. It will make you laugh, maybe cry, and it's sincerity will definitely open your eyes and your heart. I cannot praise or recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Doctor Who: Room with A Deja View #1

Jul 21, 2009

The only thing stopping me from giving this a "Must Read" is the fact that I have no point of reference to compare this with other Dr. Who comics. Maybe this is all standard fare in the franchise, but from the point of view of a newcomer, this was a very entertaining exercise in comicstyle science fiction and a very clever take on the perception of time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Nation X: X-Factor #1

Jan 10, 2010

A doneinone tale that was enjoyable, and a great sampler to give to other readers so they can get a feel of what Peter David's XFactor is like. The character interactions are great and spoton.This could have gone into Buy It or Must Read territory if it wasn't for the uneven art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
S.H.I.E.L.D. #1

Apr 12, 2010

One of the best books to come out in a long time, S.H.I.E.L.D. is awe inspiring in it's scope and ambition. The creative team offers an incredibly good looking and smart book. Buy it, read it, put it down, think about it, and read it again, you will not be disappointed. I cannot recommend it enough, it has plenty to love and much to offer for all kinds of readers. The wait for the next issue of S.H.I.E.L.D. is going to be an incredibly long one, as it looks like the book is going to be shipping bimonthly, but that leaves more time for me to concoct speculation and mad theories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Sif #1

Apr 26, 2010

The creative team works well together, and while an ongoing series may be unreasonable, I would love to see a mini series centering around Sif, or maybe as a complimentary back up tale to the Thor title. There were a few missteps, but this is still a great book. The world of Asgard in the Marvel universe is as vibrant as it has ever been, and this Sif oneshot is a fine addition to the mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Incal #1

Jan 5, 2010

Come in for the pretty artwork, crazy ideas and immense universe, and make sure to stay all the way to the end. The Incal, as a body of work is fantastic, but as a story it becomes too bogged down by it's scope. As an historical piece, it is a very interesting work of fiction, but as a story, it's not as strong as it could have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Last Days of American Crime #1

Dec 22, 2009

It is an interesting concept that doesn't get weighed down by it's own ideas, instead it just concentrates on crafting an interesting heist drama, and developing morbid characters that interact with each other in unpredictable ways. Remender and Tocchini may very well have a hit in the making here, and I wouldn't be surprised to see it adapted into other media.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Last Days of American Crime #2

Apr 27, 2010

Still really good, although I noticed a dip in the quality of the art. In hindsight, I probably should have given the first issue a Must Read, as it grabbed me more than this one. That being said, this issue is still a nice and complex tale of despicable people, backstabbing, sex, and crime building up to the big heist. I'm really looking forward to the final part; this issue kept me interested all the way through and has me eagerly expecting the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Stuff of Legend #1

Jul 29, 2009

This is a delightful and creative book, probably very different from what you usually read. Imagine if you were reading Fables while listening to the Toy Story soundtrack, and you might get close to what this book is like. I know I am going to track down a copy of this, and you should definitely give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Stuff of Legend #2

Oct 20, 2009

If I had to use one word to describe this book, it would be perfect. The harmony that the creators bring to this book makes it sing in every level. The only complaint I could possibly make is that now I must wait until 2010 for the next issue of The Stuff of Legend. Get this issue, and the previous ones, and the ones to come, you will not regret it at all.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

September

More