Megan Prevost's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Daily Fandom Reviews: 20
9.2Avg. Review Rating

9.6
20XX #1

Dec 4, 2019

20XX #1 is packed with world-building, but not in an in your face kind of way. It is peppered with hints and comments that clue you into the world that you're reading about. It's so subtle that by the end of the issue you don't even realize how much you've learned about the world so far. By the second half, I was scrambling to get to the end. I wanted to know more about the story and more about Meria. Every new thing I learned seems to hold a new thing I wanted to know more about the inside of it. Laced with wonderful art, 20XX #1 is at the top of my comics to keep reading list. I wish the first issue had been longer, and I can't wait to learn more about the world that Keely and Luna have created together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
20XX #2

Jan 8, 2020

If you're a fan of more indie comics and sci-fi, you'll really like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
20XX #3

Feb 13, 2020

At this point, I feel like this section is probably pretty unnecessary because of how much I love this series, but we're going to talk about it anyways. Yes, you should read 20XX #3. You should read it because the characters are well thought out and dynamic. These relationships are complex and easily breakable (making for good drama later); there is incredible diversity and potential for even more. So yes, you should read 20XX #3. You should start at #1 and keep going because this series doesn't seem like it's going to hit a rough note. Stick around for this one. I'm going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Captain Marvel (2019) #13

Dec 16, 2019

Definitely. However, I highly recommend that you start at least from issue #12. If you can get the series from the beginning, do it. #12 is where this story's arc starts, so to be clued in, you should really start there. However, if you're on a budget, you could get away with starting on Captain Marvel #13. All you really need to know is that she kills Thor in #12 and you're golden.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Captain Marvel (2019) #14

Jan 30, 2020

Kelly Thompson is a phenomenal writer in everything that she does. She has a way of making each character's voice sound so unique and on point with the character's history. The way that she writes Thor is hilarious and perfect, and she is the only person I want to write Captain Marvel. The art is beautiful, especially with Captain Marvel's new costume and makeup. This four-part arc is so much fun and so entertaining, so you should definitely read it if you're a Captain Marvel fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deadpool (2019) #2

Jan 11, 2020

It's fairly good and captures the essence of Deadpool well, but it kind of reads all over the place and it can be quite messy. Maybe that's simply because Deadpool is all over the place. However, I will continue reading the series because I loved the first issue, and the second issue was still enjoyable. If you're a fan of Deadpool, you should definitely read this new installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Dr. Strange (2019) #1

Dec 29, 2019

Even with the negatives above, I would still say this is worth the read if you know what you're getting yourself into. It's interesting to think about what Strange's life is going to be like while balancing both jobs, but the magic side of things was always more interesting than the medical side. Written by Mark Waid and penciled by Kev Walker, Dr. Strange #1 falls a little short of my own expectations but is overall a well done first issue. Java Tartaglia colored the issue and VC's Cory Petit lettered it. If you're a big fan of Dr. Strange in general, or you're just curious about him as a character, maybe pick up this issue. Hopefully, the story gets more exciting from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Strange (2019) #2

Feb 2, 2020

It appears that the main arc of the series will center around Dr. Strange figuring out where these weapons come from. I wouldn't be surprised if more of these weapon-wielding villains came out of the woodwork. If you had asked me after the first issue if I would recommend this series, I probably would have given you a wishy-washy "sure, why not." Now I definitely would recommend this series. Sometimes the first issue of a comic isn't the best, and that was the case here. Hopefully, this series keeps getting better and better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Heartbeat #1

Nov 20, 2019

However, the characters and the plot are both fascinating enough that I didn't mind the slight messiness of the first issue. I want to know more. Heartbeat #1 was a solid first issue, and it definitely left me with questions. Hopefully, the series holds answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Heartbeat #2

Dec 18, 2019

If you're into strange horror, you would really like this. It definitely isn't your typical scary story, but it will make your skin crawl.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Heartbeat #3

Jan 22, 2020

If you're into books that are a little strange but have great character development and art, then this is definitely the book for you. However, start from the beginning. There are only three issues so far, so it won't take long to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Lumberjanes #68

Nov 27, 2019

The art is always adorable and fun to look at, and the writing is always quick and witty. If you're thinking about starting this series, I would wait and pick it up on #69, or pick up the volumes to get yourself caught up! Overall, you won't be disappointed in this series, and this issue was the perfect ending to the Freya storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Lumberjanes #69

Dec 18, 2019

If you're an action hero comic book reader, you probably won't enjoy this series. But, if you like easy to read stories with fun characters, you should pick this up. Maybe wait until the volume comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Lumberjanes OGN: The Shape of Friendship #2

Nov 21, 2019

Should You Buy Lumberjanes: The Shape Of Friendship? Maybe. If you're a big fan of the series, and you really love the characters, I would definitely tell you to go for it. If you've never read anything about the Lumberjanes, and you're looking for a place to start, I would advise against it. While the art is nice, and the writing is witty and intelligent, the Lumberjanes have much better stories in their comic series, which you should definitely read. Lumberjanes: The Shape of Friendship is an enjoyable read, but if you choose to skip it, you aren't missing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Star (2020) #1

Jan 11, 2020

There's a clear division between being bad and good. I can't wait to see her arc pan out and hopefully see more of her in the future. This is issue #1 of 5, but hopefully, that's not the end for Ripley Ryan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Steven Universe (2017) #35

Dec 11, 2019

If you're reading the series already, I would say go ahead and buy the issue. It's not essential reading, that we know of, but it's not boring either. It's fun to watch Bismuth add battle armor onto people's cars and to watch Greg freak out about it, but it's not anything you have to read to understand the story. That being said, it's also a good issue to start on. If you're new to the comic series, you could read this and understand what's happening. Overall, read it if you love Steven Universe and its characters, you won't be mad at it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Suicide Squad (2019) #1

Dec 22, 2019

Overall, it's a nicely crafted first issue that makes me interested to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The End: Captain America #1

Feb 7, 2020

She's been doing what she does for years and years, now she finally can stop. Her guilt about now being there when the event happened has been rounded out with this final move. So, yes, you should definitely read Captain Marvel: The End #1. You won't regret it. And if you're not reading Captain Marvel, you should do that too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
The Kill Lock #1

Dec 28, 2019

The most exciting part of the first issue is the potential. We don't get to learn a ton about the characters we're following, but we learn enough to be excited. There's so much potential for the series, and so many paths it could follow. It's almost alike to Saga (Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples) in a way that it sets up this enormous story that we don't get to see any of yet. It yearns to be explored and explained, and we just have to wait around and see what Ramondelli allows us to see. If you're a fan of science fiction and fantasy comics, like Sage, this is definitely something I recommend reading. With captivating art and a compelling story, you really can't go wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
The Kill Lock #2

Feb 2, 2020

Because it's a fantasy series, the beginning seems a little bit heavy with plot and explanations, but I find that to be true with a lot of fantasy comics. Even so, it's worth giving it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More