Mia Faller's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 16
7.7Avg. Review Rating

10
Abigail and the Snowman #1

Jan 2, 2015

Colorful, warm natured and funny characters make Abigail and the Snowman #1 a worthwhile read. While unique, the story's plot has a fun Lilo and Stitch meets Men in Black feel to it. The artwork gives a combination of soft lines and beautiful colors, adding to the story's playful nature. Abigail and the Snowman #1 is available for pre-order here. This issue is the first in a four-part series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Abigail and the Snowman #2

Jan 29, 2015

Overall, I found this to be a fun followup to Abigail and the Snowman #1. We see that Abigail is resourceful, and that while Claude is a gentle giant, he isn't afraid to stand up to the bad guys. The final panels of this issue give us a wonderful sense of curiosity and help promote the idea that perhaps Claude is not the only mythical creature wandering around.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Critter (2015) #1

Jul 9, 2015

While I enjoy the overall idea of Critter and the time-space continuum ideas presented in this issue, I'm not confident enough in Cassia's representation to suggest that this is worth picking up the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.6
Dark Corridor #1

Aug 7, 2015

While the artistic style is not my favorite, I did enjoy the lettering choices and placement. The story flowed well without feeling disjointed or interrupted by dialogue. Despite my history of enjoying Italian mob films, I'm hesitant to suggest picking up the next copy of this potential series, though there is potential for a wealth of character development and plot advancements. While I enjoy continuing story lines and multiple points of view, this initial issue didn't wow me. While there's always the potential for this to develop into a dense, scrawling series likeTwisted Darkthat gives you plenty to chew on, I'm not hopeful at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Dead Squad: Ayala Tal (One-Shot) #1

Jun 26, 2015

This issue ends with a few questions unanswered, but leaves plenty of anticipation to see how Ayala will solve her problems and find a place she can truly feel useful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ei8ht #1

Feb 20, 2015

I'm interested to see where this story will lead and to learn more about the people of The Meld in future issues of EI8HT .

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Help Us! Great Warrior #1

Feb 13, 2015

While I wasn't previously aware of Flores' web comic prior to reading this issue, I'm itching to learn more about these characters. Help Us! Great Warrior #1 ends on a bit of a cliffhanger, so I'm excited to see where the Great Warrior goes next. This is a great read for anyone who wants a fast paced, cheeky cast of characters with plenty of attitude and humor to go around.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Holy F*ck #1

Jan 22, 2015

In future issues, I'm hoping to see some more background for some of these characters, particularly Saint Maria.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
ICE Critical Mass #1

Dec 26, 2014

I.C.E. Critical Mass #1 is a fast paced adventure that promises plenty of suspense with just enough intrigue to keep you reaching for the next issue. This series is ideal for cop-drama and gangster film fans alike. The four-part series continues in I.C.E. Critical Mass #2, available now via publisher 12 Gauge Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Lady Killer 2 #1

Aug 4, 2016

While there are a few loose ends to tie up, this issue holds nothing back. Despite being a bit foreign for newcomers, Ladykiller 2 appears to be a series worth following.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Midnight Society: The Black Lake #1

Jun 12, 2015

The story ends a bit abruptly. It would have been nice to see another scene with Dr. Kaycee or even Major Finn, though I suppose those will be exposed in the next issue. While some of the panel layouts and onomatopoeia presentation can be distracting, the overall artwork, colors and story are entertaining. For an initial issue,Midnight Society and the Black Lake #1was entertaining and interesting enough to pick up the next installment in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mulan: Revelations #1

Jun 26, 2015

Mythology and technology buffs will enjoy this fast paced, sci-fi heavy issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.6
Swords of Sorrow: Dejah Thoris & Irene Adler #1

Jun 19, 2015

While the blend of historical eras, fantasy worlds, famous fictional character and memorable new characters was entertaining, this story was a bit lacking for me. I felt the pacing could have been better, though perhaps later issues will give more explanation for the link between these two separate worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Little Mermaid #1

Feb 27, 2015

Whether you're a fan of the Disney classic or not, if you enjoy stories with a darker edge, Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: The Little Mermaid #1 is a comic worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
The Witcher: Fox Children #2

May 11, 2015

Faster paced and more in depth than the first issue, this continuation in the five part Witcher series was a fun read. Seeing the Vulpess and learning more about her own abilities along with learning that Geralt has some things up his sleeve kept the pages turning quickly. Janessa and other characters have enough mystery behind them to keep me interested in continuing the story in the next issue. It's easy to see where the comics are a springboard from the popular Witcher video games. The third Witcher game, titled Witcher III: Wild Hunt will be released on May 19th, 2015.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Twisted Dark #4

Dec 30, 2015

This series may not be light hearted, yet it does not paint a negative view of the world. Twisted Dark, Volume 4 allows us to see disturbing subjects in an expressive and carefully balanced light. Ethics and personal choices are always met with realistic outcomes. Despite knowing that sometimes bad things just happen, this volume of Twisted Dark reminds us that understanding (and responding) to why people walk down the wrong path will help us prevent others from making the same mistakes. Instead of providing a hero, Twisted Dark Volume 4 suggests that the reader's understanding may be enough to make the world change for the better.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

1st

November

More