Michael Wilson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 19
5.9Avg. Review Rating

7.0
100 Bullets #51

Jul 16, 2004

Azzarello is no longer distracted with Batman, so now this book is monthly again. This is probably one of the few jumping on points this series will ever have for new readers. Get in fast!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New X-Men #149

Dec 2, 2003

Youd be a fool not to buy this issue and see this story through to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New X-Men #151

Dec 4, 2003

What? I havent convinced you yet? Get up and go order this!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
New X-Men #152

Jan 27, 2004

X-Fans have to check this out. Despite what the critics are saying, there is a lot of interesting stuff going on in this story. Grant Morrisons three year run on New X-Men was easily the best since Chris Claremont was on Uncanny X-Men. No writer has been as original in the last thirteen years than Morrison. Though I will admit that Planet X was a disaster, I view this storyline as a perfect ending to this legendary run. Even the harshest critics have to admit that this is the best written X-Team book in the last three years. Marc Silvestris return is perfect for this storyline. While the artistic quality has suffered over the last three years, Silvestri brings back those electrifying pencils that made him famous in the first place, except hes better than ever. Just buy the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
New X-Men #155

Apr 8, 2004

Buy this 2-parter if only to segue into the big changes in next months X-Men: Reloaded overhauls. The team will be returning to its superhero costumes. Can you say X-Men: Regression?

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
New X-Men #156

Apr 30, 2004

Marvel has been pulling in more dough than DC for years because of the X-Men. The was a reason for that: Great writing (Chris Claremont when he was good) and great art (Marc Silvestri, Jim Lee, Whilce Portacio). Whats happened to the talent? The only reason X-Men books are still selling is because old time fans like me have this long-standing faith that things will get better some day, so they continue to buy. Things only got worse after 1997 and its the worst now that its ever been. If you are curious about reading X-books, dont. Go into the back stock at your local store and buy X-books from the 80s and 90s, Grant Morrisons New X-Men work, and old TPBs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher Max #9

Jul 16, 2004

Curious about the only successful MAX series since Alias? Want to know why its selling out everywhere? Pick it up. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Punisher Vol. 6 #35

Dec 2, 2003

If youre like me and you cant stand how he picks on his guest stars, then maybe this isnt for you. Regular Punisher fans wont like this story much because its not about the one man war on street crime. Its about making superheroes look stupid, except it isnt funny. Most will read it to see how this title will end.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Punisher Vol. 6 #37

Jan 20, 2004

I cant recommend this to anyone. If you like Garth Ennis, read some of his earlier issues because this storyline doesnt measure up. Your $2.99 is better spent on this months Punisher #1 under Marvel MAX.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret War #1

Feb 23, 2004

This is perfect. If you are new to Marvel, turned off by Marvel, or just never read Marvel, check this out see what youre missing. You wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Uncanny X-Men #437

Jan 20, 2004

I have fallen in love with Larrocas artwork and that is the only reason I will continue to spend $2.25 on this title. Joe Casey and Chuck Austen have in three years taken this title to a new low. There was a time when UXM embodied what was so great about the X-books in the first place, but that glory is gone. Though the art has been consistently good, the editorial team must produce a writer who will get UXM back on its feet.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Uncanny X-Men #442

Apr 8, 2004

There are going to be some changes pretty soon after this. Chris Claremont will take over this title, if the rumors are correct. Claremont hasnt been like what he was in his initial run on the X-Men, but anythings better than Austen.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Uncanny X-Men #443

Apr 30, 2004

If you buy this comic, you are supporting Chuck Austen. Thats all I have to say.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2002) #15

Dec 2, 2003

Buy this issue if only for continuity purposes. If you still want to know who Zero is, tough luck because I dont think Frank Tieri has any intention of revealing that.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine (2003) #9

Jan 20, 2004

This is definitely worth buying. Not a conventional X-book read, but I think fans of the title should be impressed by this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2003) #13

Apr 8, 2004

Im not sure whos taking up writing duties when Rucka leaves, but I think that if youre a fan of this guy then you should check this out. And the art is really good. Hopefully, if youre a Weapon X freak like me, then well get some of the answers weve been looking for.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine (2003) #14

Apr 30, 2004

Lets hope a couple of the old Weapon X issues are put to rest. Buy the book anyway, though. Wolverine is now too good to be an X-title and its now in Marvel Knights. That shows that it could be worth reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wolverine: The End #2

Jan 20, 2004

If you dont pay attention to possible continuity flaws, then you will enjoy this. Each issue seems too short and I cant wait to read the next one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wolverine: The End #3

Apr 8, 2004

Theres not much to say here. I have enjoyed reading this, but each issue is taking way to long to come out. If youre patient and have read Origin, then check this out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More