Mike Williams's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 25
6.7Avg. Review Rating

4
Black Panther (2005) #19

Aug 31, 2006

Overall, the issue only earns because of the inaccurate portrayal of Doom (hes much too intelligent to subscribe to the eugenics beliefs he espouses here) and the mind-numbingly bad ending. I hope the series regains the sharp writing from the first couple arcs and re-establishes the promise Black Panther holds, but I see little hope that the current tour with the newlyweds will permit this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain America (2004) #21

Sep 22, 2006

Brubakers vision for this book has elevated it to what I believe is the best series Marvels producing (yes, I know, bold words with Daredevil and Astonishing out there lets hear your arguments). This series nails who Captain America is and what he represents: all that is heroic and noble and human in a Marvel Universe being turned upside down by the chaotic Civil War. Thank you, Mr. Brubaker, for this.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Civil War #6

Jan 7, 2007

At this point, I just want this event to be over. I have no idea how its going to end in the next issue, though, frankly, I think its going to be a huge cheat some deus ex machina that keeps the sides that have formed at the end of this issue from fighting (because, honestly, the pro-registration side would clean the others clocks; its not even close). Just let it end, and lets get on to stories that dont treat their heroes, or their readers, as dummies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Civil War #7

Feb 25, 2007

Ill leave it to others to rail against specific plot points of the last issue: Caps cop-out, the question whether Thor is a clone or a cyborg, She-Hulks whining. Looking at the issue overall though, I have to conclude that the war delivers largely on Marvels promise for a knock-down, drag-out superhero fight, and DOES change the status quo among heroes in the Marvel Universe. How this plays out in the years to come is something to look forward to, if youre a Marvel fan. But Im going to try to keep my expectations down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Daredevil (1998) #90

Oct 30, 2006

While so many titles are focusing on the current Civil War, Daredevil offers a break (questions about the titles continuity remain because of this). Sure, the arc right now is probably not going to change the Marvel Universe or break the internet, but the bottom line is this: if youre not pulling Daredevil right now, youre missing out on some of the best stories Marvels putting out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Daredevil (1998) #91

Nov 30, 2006

So, while the issue is not all that important in the ongoing arc, I cant really say that I didnt enjoy reading it. If youre not pulling Daredevil regularly, you wont be wowed if you start now. But something tells me this is just the calm before the storm -- and the calm wont last long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Doctor Strange: The Oath #1

Oct 1, 2006

The first issue of a limited series cant be asked to do anything more than make the reader want to pick up the next one. This issue does that. Im looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Strange: The Oath #4

Feb 6, 2007

Of course, it is doubtful that Strange will be allowed to use this panacea to its full capacity, for a world without illness and death is no world at all. But I expect Wongs own cancer and his own oath to Dr. Strange to play a crucial role in the resolution to this tale, and Im looking forward to how Vaughan concludes this illuminating study of the good doctor.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Green Arrow (2001) #70

Jan 16, 2007

In the grand scheme of things, this issue is just setting up the reveal as to why the Red Hood is in town (other than to allow a Batman cameo). The next issue will tell more about the actual storyline of this arc and the (as of right now) obscure reasons why Todd might be interested in Speedy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Green Arrow (2001) #71

Feb 27, 2007

Ive previously commented on McDaniels art in a different review, so Ill just say I continue to enjoy his work and find it a nice fit for this title. In summary, this is an enjoyable storyline, and while Speedy has a minor role this time around, shes sure to be the focus in the next issue which wraps the arc up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Immortal Iron Fist #1

Dec 3, 2006

Everyone take note: Iron fist is finally moving up to the A-list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Immortal Iron Fist #2

Jan 1, 2007

Overall, this issue continues the quality work most readers have come to expect from Brubaker. His and Matt Fractions new series definitely is making a case for thinking 2007s going to be the year of Iron Fist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Man (2004) #13

Nov 20, 2006

So while this issue doesnt provide answers to Starks Civil War characterization, I dont think it was the intent of this issue to do so. I just hope the answers do eventually come, and that the explanation for Starks behavior actually allows his argument to be viewed a little more rationally by readers who are perplexed by his actions thus far. But thats going to be a tall order.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Iron Man: Director of S.H.I.E.L.D. #15

Mar 5, 2007

Because the story is largely told through Dugans point of view, theres a lot of talking in this issue. Because of this, de la Torres art is a bit limited to talking heads, though there are a couple splash pages that are impressive. But more importantly than wowing the reader with battle scenes in this new beginning (the book feels like a first issue), Dugans complaints do illustrate the marked difference between how things were done before, and how theyre being done now. Its a changing of the guard -- a change in the status quo -- and perfectly reflects one of the main goals of the Civil War event.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Iron Man: Hypervelocity #1

Jan 15, 2007

Where this series goes and what it has to offer Iron Man fans remains to be seen, which, I suppose, is the whole point of a limited series. Still, the first issue doesnt seem to offer much in the way of original story-telling, and thats a weakness in any book. The second issue should tell a lot about the direction of this series, and whether it will be worth it to keep picking it up. Well see.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Mighty Avengers #1

Mar 4, 2007

I suppose most of the talk about this issue will be about the female Ultron that makes her appearance at the end of the issue, but right now the only reason Ultron is female appears to be titillation, emphasis on the tit. Chos artwork is fantastic, as usual, but unless Bendis has a damn good reason for making Ultron into a Battlestar Galactica-type Cylon, its nothing but a cheap marketing ploy, much like the entire concept the Mighty Avengers seems to be. Well see if Bendis proves me wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Moon Knight (2006) #5

Sep 22, 2006

Overall, there are several comics out this week that are far more worthy of your three bucks. But, as I said, Finchs art makes the book a solid buy despite the agonizingly slow-developing plot. The arts only going to take this series so far, though; Huston has to get the Moon Knight back in the fight for real at some point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ms. Marvel (2006) #8

Nov 2, 2006

I have, however, enjoyed the development of the relationship between Simon Williams and Carol, though I am anxious to see her back on her own now that the crossover event is winding down. Theres been a little too much dependence on guest stars; I want to see Danvers get back to the task of recognizing she belongs with the A-list heroes. And despite the seemingly Civil War 180 stance, with Reeds writing, this has the chance to be an A-list book.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ms. Marvel (2006) #10

Jan 2, 2007

Ultimately, fans of the character will probably be disappointed with the lack of real resolution in this arc, so only those who are collecting the title will find it worthwhile to grab. These same fans recognize that Danvers cant become the hero she knows resides within her without coming to terms with her past. Its too bad Reed didnt allow her to take a small step toward doing just that with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New Avengers #28

Mar 23, 2007

Once a few more of these blanks start getting filled in as to how this squad formed, this book will be able to move away from being viewed as merely an anti-registration team to an Avengers lineup ready to add its own chapters to the Earths Mightiest Heroes mythos. Im looking forward to a long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimate Power #1

Oct 8, 2006

With the events of Ultimate Galactus just finishing up earlier this year, and with the truly epic story taking place in the Ultimates, this first issue of Ultimate Power just doesnt measure up. Who knows? Perhaps something of consequence will come of this series, but I dont know that I care enough to stick with it to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #478

Sep 12, 2006

X-fans should be excited about this series. Brubaker combines some familiar faces with some new ones, maintaining a respect for the past while showing promise in adding its own addition to the X-Men mythos. While Whedons Astonishing series still sits atop the X-heap, Brubakers team stands at a not-too-distant second.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (1963) #479

Oct 19, 2006

In the end, this issue does not one-up any of the previous issues of this arc, but its certainly not a bad read. Brubaker, through Korvuss character, muddies the outcome of this arc a bit, as Korvuss power could play a role in whether Vulcans revenge comes to fruition. Heres hoping were not waiting too long to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine (2003) #50

Jan 21, 2007

Loebs story is just starting up, so its difficult to evaluate right now. As far as characterization, Loeb nails it. Wolverines narration is grim and honest (though I thought Logan could have used the word raped rather than the euphemism he does when recounting the familiar story of Sabretooths murder of Silver Fox), while Sabretooth is suitably arrogant toward the runt. In other words, this issue gives us exactly what weve come to expect from a Wolverine/Sabretooth fight, so how Loeb will make this storyline his own remains to be seen. The lupine dreams do suggest somethings going to be added to the Wolverine mythos, but whether that one thing Sabretooth alludes to actually exists is Loebs (and Marvels) dilemma. Deep down I fear the end of the arc is only going to leave more questions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Zombie #1

Sep 17, 2006

And that hopefully is what keeps me from ranking this first issue higher: while Raicht and Hotz offer up the beginnings of a solid zombie tale, thats all it is: solid. There is nothing in the first issue that zombie enthusiasts havent seen before (somebodys neck being bit in half? Been there, done that), and the conspiratorial-tone about the origin of the undead is a bit too familiar. Heck, even the kidnapping plot is similar to From Dusk Til Dawn, just trade the vampires for zombies. What distinguishes one zombie tale from the next are the twists and turns the writer includes, not allowing the readers to know what to expect in the next frame (which include the methods of dispatching the living and the dead). The first issue establishes the overwhelming odds the living face; to truly be memorable, the rest of the series needs to crank it up a notch and get creative with the death we expect. I believe Raicht and Hotz are up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More