Neutral Grey's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Glasgow Comic Page Reviews: 16
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.7
Circuit-Breaker #3

Jun 23, 2016

All in all, Circuit Breaker is a fun read. It's silly and lighthearted and the drawings, while sometimes juvenile, match that silliness perfectly. It's an interesting blend of Western and Japanese pop that I hope proves a success. I enjoyed this short read very much… Much more than I though I would when starting on issue #1, that's for sure. I'd encourage anyone who wants a comic that's not all doom and gloom to give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Eden's Fall #1

Aug 31, 2016

I enjoyed Eden's Fall. For a first issue it establishes all it needs to establish while presenting an interesting setting and all while not demanding the reader know much about crossover titles to “get” the picture.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Eden's Fall #2

Sep 28, 2016

It's a bit early in this series to say whether or not I think the series will be good as a whole. But Eden's Fall #2 was a solid issue and a great foundation to build more story on. I hope and expect future issues will match and exceed the events of issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Eden's Fall #3

Nov 2, 2016

Eden's Fall might intimidate some readers considering it's a crossover run of three titles and only has three issues of its own. However, I assure you it works as its own brief and shocking story. I would recommend it if you're looking for something short and powerful to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Empty Zone #8

May 27, 2016

All in all, Empty Zone #8 is another good entry in a very promising comic series. I love Hank's sense of humor. I love Corrine's ability to get things done. I love their slightly goofy “buddy cop” chemistry. I love the oddball feeling of the world. This issue didn't stand out among the other issues as being excellent in comparison to the status quo of the series but it wasn't mediocre either. This is a case where being “status quo” isn't really bad. I look forward to more of what Empty Zone has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Midnight of the Soul #1

Jun 9, 2016

Midnight of the Soul is a decent start to a series. The artwork is decent: it does its job conveying the story but doesn't stand out as an amazing beacon. The story is decent enough and does enough to have me interested in what happens next. But all in all, that's the best I feel I can give. Just a "decent."

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Midnight of the Soul #3

Aug 4, 2016

All in all, Midnight of the Soul #3 is pretty standard for the limited series so it doesn't stand out compared to previous entries. It's not bad but it's not exactly new or exciting either. It has made me curious to see how the story will play out, though, and that's pretty good. There are a lot of stories that fail to even make readers invest their curiosity.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Midnight of the Soul #4

Sep 7, 2016

I have to admit, I'm looking forward to seeing how everything will play out in the final issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Midnight of the Soul #5

Oct 5, 2016

Midnight of the Soul closes with an “okay” issue to an “okay” series that almost never made me think more than “that was okay.”

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Monstress #8

Nov 30, 2016

All in all, Monstress #8 was a bit of a lull but still a good read. I'll happily continue to recommend this comic to anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
She Wolf #1

Jun 24, 2016

All in all, She-Wolf is an interesting narrative that presents a surrealist horror story. The story does a great job of disorienting you with the protagonist. Gabby is both sympathetic and yet a mystery just like the rest of the story. Confusion as an element of storytelling only pays off when you finally begin to wind it together in my opinion, though, andnoexplanations will be found in issue #1. Such a lack of explanation is in She-Wolf that by the end you'll wonder if any of it happened at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Snotgirl #3

Sep 28, 2016

If you can stomach youth slang and initialisms then I think you should pick this comic up. I know Snotgirl sounds unusual but I'd recommend it to any comic fan, especially ones looking to break out of the superhero or secret organization boxes. With the series only three issues in, it's a perfect time to try it and see if it's for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Snotgirl #4

Nov 23, 2016

All in all, Snotgirl #4 isn't as good as its predecessors but it's not bad either. It's just not up to the quirky fun standard I've already come to expect from Lottie Person's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Snotgirl #5

Dec 28, 2016

Part of me is highly curious and wants to know where this is going. Another part of me thinks this comic would be better if it cut the mystery shtick altogether and just stuck with the deconstruction of the vapid self-absorbed internet celebrity lifestyle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Violent Love #1

Nov 9, 2016

All in all, I actually really like this comic. It's quite a great first issue. If you're an Image fan, a sucker for tragedy, like some romance every now and again, or maybe all three, I think Violent Love may be a story you want to give attention to.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Violent Love #2

Dec 7, 2016

This issue was good in its storytelling push. It's good to pace a story at the appropriate speed. The only problem is that comics have so few pages to work with for individual issues and issues like this these are by themselves are lackluster. They're necessary and it's almost unfair, but reviewing the issue itself requires one to look at the content of solely this component. This particular issue of Violent Love was just honestly a little boring compared to its predecessor. It was largely just talking; and some of that talking didn't really seem to want to lead anywhere.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

4th

February

January

More