Paul Nolan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek Sushi, The Comic Addiction Reviews: 17
7.7Avg. Review Rating

7.5
Aliens: Fire and Stone #1

Sep 21, 2014

What's here is good. Building on the franchise with extrapolation on events, but accessible to those who may not have dabbled within the series before. Keeping well within what Alien is known for. So if you have a hankering for survival horror, this will satisfy you're craving.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Blackcross #1

Mar 2, 2015

If the remaining parts of this 6 part series read as well as the first this could be a series that attains the prestige of Busieks and Ross' Marvels. Though on this issue my one complaint is the abruptness of its ending which left me questioning if the review copy was missing pages, and for that reason I must slightly downgrade the book from a perfect rating. Though that said, grab this from the comic shelf, all signs point to it being one hell of a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Butterfly #1

Sep 22, 2014

Reading Butterfly #1 led me to realize I sometimes don't give comics the time they deserve. I read it once and I took it in. I read it a second time and I understood the depth to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cold Space #1

Apr 14, 2010

The unexpected shift in scenery is quite a jolt, but then we're introduced to a rash of characters. While their motivation is obvious (all of them are scavengers) it's their posturing that gets confusing. It's hard to tell how many opposing sides that are being dealt with, two? Three? More? Character interactions along the way don't help and I'm left scratching my head.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkstar and the Winter Guard #1

Jun 6, 2010

The Mix of the cast is good: Red Guardian is a very regimented leader, Ursa Major is very Introspective, Crimson Dynamo can so easily get completely distracted by tech and Darkstar is not sure she can live up to her predecessors. Not the most original traits, by any shot, but their Russianness does come across well, to give a zesty twist to the book. Add in a nice little Agents of Atlas guest spot, and you get interaction helps accentuate the character even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Effigy #1

Jan 28, 2015

There is no way you could describe the comic book ‘Effigy' of being roughly made. You certainly won't want to burn it either. It one of those books you'll probably want to digest a few more times before the next issue hits too, just to soak in the atmosphere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Enter the Heroic Age #1

May 21, 2010

Jeff Parker's second story relaunches THUNDERBOLTS (again). Yes DC used the same idea back in Suicide Squad, but who cares? The theme brings excellent conflict, a chance of redemption and this short story makes Luke Cage really shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
I, Zombie #1

May 11, 2010

Michael Allred's art (yes he's normally known as Mike, but he is credited as Michael in this issue) in partnership with his wife Laura on colors bring out their usual clean and not over-busy style to make the artwork really shine but the whole package is not enough to make me buy next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Incorruptible #5

Apr 28, 2010

Incorruptible is easily at a "jump onboard" point and definitely worth a look for people wanting to invest in a hero book without having to keep track with a huge universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
IXth Generation #1

Jan 7, 2015

IXth Generation is a grand amalgamation of sci-fi and heroics, ideology and adventure, and best of all, its accessible. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League: Generation Lost #1

May 17, 2010

Lopresti is his usual steadfast self over Giffen's art breakdowns. His male and female figures show heroic poise, but always in realistic proportions, and his ability to capitalize on subtle nuances in facial muscles make him one of the best in the business when portraying expressions.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Q2: The Return Of Quantum and Woody #1

Oct 19, 2014

In my view, we've now got the best of Both worlds. If the comics continue like this, the more Quantum and Woody, the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Reyn #1

Jan 24, 2015

All in all Reyn is off to a fair start. Though not perfect, there is always space for comics that the likes of Sojourn once took. And aren't the unlikely characters that fall into heroics rather than look for it always the best?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Secret Identities #1

Feb 18, 2015

Does Secret Identities do enough to differentiate itself from the crowd? Yes, it brings a new dynamic to team super-heroics, and really questions the edge of morality. This ones well worth the $3.50 entrance fee.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shawdowhawk Vol.2 #1

May 7, 2010

His former modus operandi is put well into question this issue. A former "Victim" of Shadowhawk has used litigation to win a massive payout for his crippling injuries, and what does money buy in a super-hero world? An exo-suit that not only fully enables a paraplegic, but gives him bursts of speed, strength and a blast power known as the "Kill Switch". The fight excellently shines a light on both Johnstone's state of mind and whether or not a place, ten years from his original time, is a place he can mentally survive in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Hood #3

Apr 21, 2015

Michael Gaydos art, coated with Kelly Fitzpatrick's hues, exudes grit and grime. A permanent duskiness amplifies the atmosphere of the comic. It's a hand in glove fit for Swierczyskis words, and the final package we're presented with is a perfect example of modern pulp fiction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Evil Within #1

Oct 9, 2014

Rest of the series ordered, Game pre-ordered. This world could rival the Resident Evil and Silent Hill franchises…

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More