Paul T. Semones's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 20
5.7Avg. Review Rating

4
Advent Rising: Rock the Planet #1

Oct 25, 2005

Jemas said in an interview a few months back (attached to the advance preview copy I received) that 360ep decided to release their inaugural product as a double-length packaging of issues #1 and #2 because they thought their plan to release variant covers just wasnt cool enough. Um, well, I think the real reason was that issue #1 alone wasnt cool enough. Guess what? Neither is issue #2. Tasty as tap water.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Legends of the Dark Knight #212

Nov 28, 2006

For more of Paul's commentary, reviews and publishing statistics, visit The

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Battle Pope #3

Oct 25, 2005

Me? Im going to go pray for cleansing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Black Panther (2005) #8

Oct 3, 2005

The issue ends a bit on the goofy side, with the villain ready to dismember the buxom heroine after gassing yes, gassing her and her teammates. But for the first time in quite a few months, I actually care about seeing how this X-crew gets out of another fine mess. Unfortunately, Ill have to suffer through X-Men #176 before I get to enjoy what promises to be a far more engaging final chapter to Wild Kingdom in Black Panther #9.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Fantastic Four (1998) #540

Oct 9, 2006

Of course, this matter is not necessarily Straczynskis fault; blame Millar for thinking it made sense to portray American law this way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
G.I. Joe: America's Elite #17

Nov 23, 2006

For more of Pauls commentary, reviews and publishing statistics, visit The Comic Glutton.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hawkman (2002) #45

Oct 14, 2005

I feel like I just finished off a perfectly cooked steak.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Hawkman (2002) #46

Nov 11, 2005

Grey and Palmiotti are orders of magnitude better comicsmiths than this issue suggests. Pity the sola Marvela drones who might have thought this to be a jumping on point. They wont be back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
House Of M #8

Nov 8, 2005

When my faith in the X-Men mythos was at its lowest ebb, Bendis has made me care again. I cant wait to read what happens next. My heart is full.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Iron Ghost #4

Oct 25, 2005

Dont wait for the trade on this one. Support such original, engaging, meaningful work.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Marvel Knights Spider-Man #19

Oct 26, 2005

Well, at least theres fully 24 pages of ads to pick up the slack. Will Marvel please fire the person responsible?

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Marvel Knights Spider-Man #20

Nov 18, 2005

When the comic industry ultimately dissolves in the mists of history and all accounts are one day settled, this issue will be nothing but chaff blowing away in the wind. Utterly, unforgivably pointless. And it didnt have to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
New X-Men (2004) #27

Jun 20, 2006

Im thinking of leaving something now, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
OMAC #1

Jul 10, 2006

The last panel of the issue certainly suggested hes got some interesting plans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Sensational Spider-Man #27

Jun 19, 2006

All in all, a quite fun magazine the past few months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Squadron Supreme (2006) #6

Aug 14, 2006

As long as Im not insulted by poor logic, Ill keep reading Squadron Supreme, and appreciating the opportunity to explore a political position other than my own through this great medium of the comic book. I hope Straczynski doesnt let me down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Team Zero #6

May 30, 2006

Dont let the low sales numbers fool you. Team Zero displays the modern comic craft at its finest. Next time I see Chuck Dixon and Doug Mahnke together in the cover credits, Im buying the book. Man, think of what these guys could have done for that Marvel flop telling the true stories of G.I.s in Iraq last year.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
X-Men (2004) #175

Oct 3, 2005

The issue gets one bullet because, well, I know Ive read worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
X-Men (2004) #176

Oct 24, 2005

Im so pissed I could break the Internet in half.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
X-Men: Phoenix - Warsong #4

Dec 21, 2006

For more of Pauls reviews, commentary and publishing statistics, visit The Comic Glutton.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

September

More