Pauly D's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pop Culture Uncovered Reviews: 37
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Astronauts in Trouble #2

Jul 15, 2015

I find Astronauts in Trouble to be a throwback to a different time, not only to the era of the Cold War but to the post 9/11 American in which this iteration was first created. With a great publisher like Image now backing him, Larry Young will reach the moon and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #1

Nov 2, 2016

I am glad to have new BSG tales to devour, and while this pilot issue wasn't everything that I wanted, I am confident that future issues will bring the series into focus and will entertain for months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Magick #5

Feb 24, 2016

Black Magickis an excellent addition to the Image line of titles and while some have commented on the speed of building the plot, I find the pace perfect for my taste. Another excellent issue in an excellent series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodthirsty #3

Dec 2, 2015

If you are not picking up independent titles, I encourage you to do so. Titan Comics, like so many other small distributors, has artists creating magic on paper. The BloodThirsty series is a perfect example of the high quality of work that is done outside the juggernauts of Marvel and DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cryptocracy #1

Jun 22, 2016

Van Jensen brings a high level of skill to the writing of this pilot issue, deftly building a folklore that is mystic and easy to understand simultaneously. I love the work on the content of the title, but I can't express enough gratitude when a writer provides to the reader a prologue explaining what the heck families and circles mean, coupled with an epilogue that dives deeper into the backstory. Wood's art is well defines but I actually enjoy the most on the panels with the alien life and hybrids. The colors pop and made me feel like I was playing a video game and this was a cut scene. Issue 1 is a wrap and the issue leaves you curious to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cryptocracy #3

Aug 29, 2016

Van Jensen continues this epic tale with excellent pacing, but without much subtlety. This title is an in your face adventure and does not apologize for it. While this creates a page turning romp, it sometimes leaves gaps in the area of character development. Pete Woods art style is glossy and attractive, givingyou the feeling of watching a cut-scene from a video game. It is in a harmonious union with Jensen's storytelling style. The pacing is so quick, the reader can digest the pages in mere moments, leaving you ready for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cryptocracy #4

Sep 28, 2016

Jensen and Woods continue their excellent narrative, mixing human, animal, and lore into a modern tale of deceitand intrigue. The story is fast paced (in past issues almost too quick), but the backstory in #4 really elevated a great story to excellent status. Woods's art pushes the story along, but he really got to show off his chops with the attention to detail given to the mythical creatures of The Preserve. This, for me, was the best issue of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: Four Doctors #1

Aug 26, 2015

In anticipation of the new season of Doctor Who in September, this limited weekly series is the perfect outlet to satisfy your appetite until the premiere and to enjoy seeing our old friends for another adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gold Key Alliance #1

Mar 30, 2016

For classic comic fans, GoldKey: Allianceis a long awaited treat. Hester lays down the groundwork for the quintuplet of characters nicely without spoiling how these four unite. Brent Peeples, who has done work for Image and Valiant, excels in his craftwithin this title. He uses classic superhero art styles from the 60's and merges them with modern flair. His attention to detail is keen and flawless. Bringing these characters together into one publication is sure to be an action packed ride that will bring both a sense of nostalgia to old school readers and thrills to the current generation as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Head Lopper #1

Sep 9, 2015

MacLean is both innovative and respectful of the past with his excellent kick-starter from 2013. Head Lopper brings the best of old Nordic legends, Game of Thrones style politics and blends it with an action film. The tongue in cheek humor from Agatha is ruckus and the art work sublime. The reader wins with this first double sized edition, the only downside being that this is a quarterly release I am thrilled that this title will gain a broader audience through Image Comics so that Andrew MacLean can garner the attention he deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellblazer: Rebirth #1

Jul 20, 2016

Simon Oliver comes out guns blazing, with a tight, concentrated debut for the iconic character. The plot line is a quirky little slice of Hellblazer heaven that is a complete page turner. I am not the biggest DC fan, but this title is a hit. Moritat lends his considerable talents to the artwork: the lines are raw and complex at the same time. You can almost see the thin layer of the veil between the land of the living and that of the beyond in every panel. I'm very pleased with this reboot of Hellblazer and I look forward to the adventures to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Horizon #1

Jul 13, 2016

Image (Skybound) is constantly on the cutting edge of story telling, and Horizoncontinues that trend. While this issue is a classic build up story, it builds a foundation of endless possibilities.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Horizon #2

Aug 17, 2016

Brandon Thomas is gaining speed with Horizon, creating a fascinating dystopian landscape that, while familiar within literature in recent years, is told from the perspective of the alien as victim, which makes it wholly unique. I am in love with Juan Gedeon's art style. His lines, tones, and shadows have such a sharp edge to them, I swear they could cut you by looking at them. It is a raw style that conveys the apocalyptic landscape perfectly and coupled with Frank Martin's colors, the book is a nightmare of conflict that you can't look away from.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Independence Day #1

Mar 23, 2016

This is a limited run series that will end once the film debuts in theaters. If you are a fan of the original film and are looking forward to the sequel, I encourage you to pick this title up. It will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jackpot #1

Apr 12, 2016

Ray Fawkes brings the action fast and furious toJackpot #1,deftly introducing the players while setting up a great jumping off point for a story-line while laying the groundwork for future issues with the mystery council. He is an award winning and nominated creator of such titles as One Soul, The People Inside,and hisPossessionsseries and it is obvious to see why he has garnered such acclaim. Marco Failla and Stefani Rennee are excellent artist, known for their work for DC Comics among others and they bring an almost frantic style to the pilot issue, with dramatic lines and blasts of color. It is all in all a solid premiere and another interesting title for AfterShock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Metaphase #1

Jun 17, 2015

Chip Reece writes this origin story from experience, as his own son Ollie was born with Down syndrome. Metaphase is a great example of how anyone can rise to the challenge of life and not allow disabilities to define them. And while certain aspects of the storyline could be tighter, I applaud the overall narrative as being both touching and action packed. Kelly Williams' art work is excellent, pulling from his horror genre background to produce truly maniacal power from the villains but reverts to a softer touch when dealing with Ollie and his wish to be super.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mystery Girl #1

Nov 25, 2015

Paul Tobin is a master storyteller and Mystery Girl will only add to his mythos. He paces the debut issue with a smart exhibit of Trines powers while getting a sense of her fun, flirty, yet steely personality which lets the reader engage with the character instantaneously. The bigger picture and the conflict are set up with ease and will cause anticipation for #2s release in 2016. Alberto Alburquerque and Marissa Louise do a masterful job with the art and colors with a high attention to detail and perfect use of contrasting shades and colors. Dark Horse has another solid title on their hands and I applaud the creators on their efforts.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #4

Jun 23, 2015

Ninjak #4 is a departure from the main narrative but a very welcome one. The story of Rokus birth is fully engrossing and nicely sets up the cliff hanger of a battle between Roku and Ninjak. Writer Matt Kindt has created an excellent adventure and the team of Ryp, Mann, Mann and Sauvage create stunning art. As an added Lost Files reveal, we also learn a small nugget of Kannons back story as well. I dont mean to gush but this reviewer cant find much fault with Ninjak #4

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ninjak #5

Jul 28, 2015

If you are not familiar with the Ninjak series I highly recommend you take a trip to your local comic shop and pick up all 5. It is the kind of book you will enjoy reading repeatedly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Plastic #1

Apr 19, 2017

Writer Doug Wagner has created a gonzo storyline that is as interesting as it is disturbing. Victor seems to the reader to be a strange but honorable figure, that is until you realize that he is willing to maim and kill to protect an inanimate object. Inanimate to you and me, but very real to the unhinged Victor. Daniel Hillyard's art and Laura Martin's use of color bring this odd tale to life, with vivid lines and perfectly balanced colors. Victor reminds me of The Joker without the makeup, but no less an obsessive persona. This should be an interesting title to keep note of.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Power Cubed #1

Aug 27, 2015

The only negative for me is that Power Cubed is a limited 4 part series because issue #1 left this reviewer thirsty for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rivers of London: Night Witches #1

Mar 16, 2016

Authors Ben Aaronovitch & Andrew Cartmel have penned an interesting debut issue, but in a way the story feels a bit convoluted and rushed " as if they wanted to push as many plot points into the first stanza as possible. I have faith that future installments will run smoother and more focused, based on Aaronovitch's previous work. Artist Lee Sullivan does a nice job, drawing realistic landscape backdrops thataccentuate the characters effectively. A decent start to which I know will be an exciting series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Squarriors #1

May 29, 2015

I cant wait to dive back into the world of Squarriors when issue #3 is released in June. In the meantime I will reread the first two installments again and read anything that I can find that Ashley Witter draws.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Squarriors: Summer #1

Jun 15, 2016

Squarriors: Summer #1 is a fun read in the best vein of the dystopiangenre. I am excited to get my hands on the remaining 3 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek #51

Nov 18, 2015

Star Trek: 5 Year Mission Live Part 2 leaves the reader with an effective cliffhanger, I look forward to the conclusion of the story in Part 3 and hope the author leaves some aspects open-ended in order to revisit the Mirror Universe again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #1

Dec 16, 2015

Even though Starfleet Academy is a limited run title, if future issues continue to be done right, the possibilities for a larger shoot off with these characters are endless.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Strange Attractors #2

Jul 5, 2016

While this issue can drag a bit, I have full confidence in Charles Soule to deliver exciting and satisfying future issues in the Strange Attractors series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Blacklist #1

Jul 22, 2015

As a fan of the series, being able to read the thoughts of the players was a real treat. The medium of comics allows for little nuances that you don't get watching filmed programming. Phillips has down a wonderful job creating an original story and I am looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Dresden Files: Down Town #4

May 6, 2015

Dresden's escapades are always top notch and a great read from start to finish. Mixing detective drama with the supernatural is brilliant and works on every level.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Fix #1

Apr 6, 2016

Spencer and Artist Steve Lieber have created the perfect crime noir comic, with no protagonist but an extremely charismatic anti-hero in Roy. Spencer deftly mixes hardcore action with laugh out loud humor that make the pages fly through your fingertips. The backstory to Roy's current lifestyle is so fluid and makes so much sense, I stopped to wonder, why didn't I think of that? Mac is nothing but a fat party animal who doesn't even bother to change the gaudy floral shirt that he wore to the robbery of the nursing home while investigating the same crime. We are also treated in the center of the story to one of the most epically disturbing bar conversations that a comic has ever produced.The Fix #1is a fantastic pilot issue which already has me wishing for a premium cable/Netflix series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Great Divide #1

Sep 7, 2016

Fisher has created an interesting world that begs the question, how do we survive without physical interaction? Something as simple as a handshake, a bump of the shoulders on the subway, a million interactions that we do not even give a second thought to on a daily basis are now a death sentence in Fisher's future. It is a fascinating concept and I am interested to see where the story takes us. Adam Markiewicz (Trench Coat Samurai) brings a raw quality to the landscape, which fits in perfectly with the storytelling. He uses harsh lines and bleak backdrops to convey the somberness of the situations while expertly conveying the emotions of the players in the tale. The market is over-saturated with dystopian stories, butThe Great Dividehas a unique caveat that should make it stand out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Sixth Gun: Valley of Death #1

Jun 3, 2015

The Sixth Gun series has always been a fascinating contrast of historical settings coupled with the supernatural. Brian Hurtts story in this first issue starts off perfectly, building a gripping drama and leaving us with a breathtaking cliffhanger. The one only critique I would garner is that I was confused at first with the flashbacks but everything clicked on my second viewing. A.C. Zamudios art is top notch as usual and the muted style of color used by Ryan Hill invokes the feeling of what a prequel should be. The Sixth Gun: Valley of Death will take you on a wild ride of ghosts, gods and the world of Native Americans and Oni Press has another hit on their hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #155

Jun 2, 2016

The Walking Deadcontinues to be excellently written and drawn with plot lines that are action packed, thought provoking, and terrifying. Kirkman is a master of character development, even when we think we know the players by heart. Rick's personality ebbs and flows throughout the years between being the standard barer of the moral high ground and being downright cold and ruthless. Negan is a straight-up Jedi when it comes to using his oratory gifts to feel out weaknesses in others and then manipulating those soft spots to his advantage. He is the ultimate survivor. Adlard never lets up with the artwork, delivering spectacular panels every issue. Every form of media suffers from fatigue when it is a long running medium but there appear to be no chinks in the armor ofThe Walking Dead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #160

Nov 2, 2016

The Walking Dead #160is absolutely packed with story-line and action, with Kirkmanbringing a lot of the loose threads to bear while deftly setting up a possible next phase with the rebellious Saviors. Adlard continues his sixteen panel pages, which help bring the action together, especially during plot transition periods. There is never a chink in his armor as far as the art goes, it continues to be sublime. This was an exciting issue of the long standing book, which shows zero sign of slowing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Walking Dead #161

Dec 7, 2016

#161 is an action packed issue, every panel is geared to highlight the horrors of war. From the legion of mowed down Whisperers to the undead to the Hilltop residents struck down, Kirkman and Adlard continue the story with heart and conviction. It is satisfying to see that even though the group has endured so much, Carl still takes care of his own, Eugene steps up with a midnight ammo run, and the woman warrior Lydia comes into her element. It is also exhilarating that the plot keeps the central story going to it's apex, while building the framework for the next series. One more part of the Whisperer War to go!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Walking Dead #169

Jul 5, 2017

Per usual, Kirkman has expertly planned out the story for the next series of adventures and what this issue lacks in action in makes up for in depth. The dynamic of the leader against the wall is an intriguing one and it will be fascinating to see how Rick deals with this conflict without his trusted wife by his side. Buckle your seat belts boys and girls, it's going to be a bumpy ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #1

Aug 25, 2016

Mignola and Roberson have created a new series for Sir Edward Grey that is simply put, cool. I always love a good zombie tale, especially a period piece. TheWitchfinderbrand has always been steeped in the supernatural just like it's parent source material, Hellboy,and the writing tandem set the tone for this and future issues flawlessly. Stenbeck's art and Madsen's colors are perfectly muted to convey not only the aura of the past but the dingy feel of the subject matter, as if we are venturing into something that conveys the filth of resurrection of the dead and the dark magic needed to achieve such a feat. This series is only a 5 parter, butI am sure that it will satisfy those who choose to enjoy, fans of Hellboy or not.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More