Rainbow Red Panda's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Following The Nerd Reviews: 24
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Accelerators #2

Aug 1, 2013

Blue Juice made a great decision by picking up this title. For a book that has not really had much publicity it has been doing exceptionally well. It is available to order at all comic stores and you can also get it digitally delivered if you prefer to read your comics on an electronic device. I would recommend picking up an actual copy though, I have read the second issue both digitally and in paper form and I think the comic form is by far superior. This is a title I would recommend to anyone. It has so many different layers and so many directions it can go, and regardless of which direction they choose it can only lead to good things!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Accelerators #3

Sep 19, 2013

This is definitely my favorite “indie series” that's out right now. The concept is amazing and the artwork is spot on. Just when I think I know what they are going to do, they do something completely different which will definitely keep you interested cover to cover. If you aren't reading this series, you should be. And if you are reading it you should be telling everyone you know that they need to read it too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Accelerators #4

Dec 1, 2013

The story was extremely solid as well. Sometimes throwing a back story into a comic can make things confusing, and when dealing with time travel even more confusion can happen. However Porto has yet to ever confuse me (and I can sometimes be easily confused), and instead continues to keep my interest. I knew these three characters would be reunited and I can't wait to see what they do next!! - See more at: http://www.followingthenerd.com/comics/comic-review-ftn-reviews-the-accelerators-4-2/#sthash.UAPx2gsr.dpuf

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Accelerators #5

Feb 20, 2014

This is truly a unique series that deserves way more attention than it's getting. If you've read it make your friends read it, then have them make their friends read it. If you picked up the first issue and didn't like it, give it another shot. It's too good to miss out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
All-New X-Men #15

Aug 13, 2013

It will be interesting to see what happens with this title in its next issue. Much like I missed Humberto Ramos when he took a break from Superior Spider-Man, I'm hoping (and I mean really HOPING) that the original art team comes back, or they at least find a new team whose style better suits this type of comic. If not I may not be able to read much more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Arena #13

Aug 15, 2013

I think this is a comic many can enjoy. It's easy to understand for a new comic reader, yet has characters a comic junkie would enjoy. The writing style makes it appealing to both teenagers and older comic readers alike. And with the diversity in characters males and females both have a reason to stay interested. I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
B.P.R.D.: Vampire #5

Aug 13, 2013

Readers will eventually have answers to these questions, but it does appear we will have to be a little patient, as no continuing comics are in the works…yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Blood Brothers #1

Aug 16, 2013

The drawing themselves aren't super detailed, which I like and I could almost see this as a show on Comedy Central or Adult Swim instead of a comic. It would transition well (hint, hint.), though it is a first issue though so I won't get ahead of myself. But I'm excited to see what is to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bounce #4

Aug 22, 2013

Image is definitely giving Marvel and DC a run for their money. In the next couple years I can easily see Image titles being on top of the comic world. So start reading now so you don't miss out on something epic later.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool Kills Deadpool #4

Nov 1, 2013

It was a fantastic ending to a series I really enjoyed getting each month. It will truly be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Deadpool vs. Carnage #1

Apr 11, 2014

This new chapter in the Deadpool Universe is a must read for all Deadpool and Carnage fans! It has all the humor, action and innuendos of a typical Deadpool story, with the added bonus of Carnage and even a reference to Kat Dennings! So go pick it up now!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Death Sentence #1

Oct 11, 2013

With 3 very different main characters; an amazing writer in Monty Nero and the artistic talent of Mike Dowling, there is something for everyone to love. So go out, buy this comic and spread the love around… But remember to use protection. (Bags and boards people, this is a comic book review!!)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Detective Comics (2011) #23.1

Sep 6, 2013

If all of the villains month one shots are this impressive, I wonder what crazy idea DC will come up with next to take all of our money. Whatever it is I hope other publishers don't get any ideas, my wallet can't handle this for long!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Night of the Living Deadpool #1

Feb 1, 2014

I have told many friends that the only way you won't like this title is if you hate zombie parodies. While many parts of this comic are distinctly Deadpool some parts are eerily similar to Robert Kirkman's comic, The Walking Dead and other zombie comics. But if anyone can do a parody and make it their own it's Deadpool. From cover to cover there isn't a boring moment in the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Powerpuff Girls #8

Apr 18, 2014

This was one of the few "superhero" comics I have read where everyone really did end up happy in the end. The villains lost the battle but still had fun, didn't turn against each other and will more than likely plan the same "Monster Day" holiday next year. Derek Charm does an excellent job with this series, the characters personalities are spot on the artwork is true to the show and it's a fun book that also teaches its reader things while entertaining them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Revival #13

Aug 22, 2013

Image definitely picked a winner with this series. Tim Seeley and Mike Norton are proving to be an unstoppable force in the comic world. Will anyone step up to try and take down this dynamic duo? Somehow I doubt it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Revival #15

Dec 2, 2013

This book gets better and better and I can't wait to see what happens next. In a world full of zombie everything, it's nice to see a different take of the undead. 4.5 out of 5 nerds

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Savage Wolverine #9

Oct 4, 2013

This comic is definitely worth checking out if you haven't already. This particular issue isn't jam packed with action, but I see big things in its future. I can't wait for the next issue to see if any of my predictions are accurate!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Superior Spider-Man #22

Dec 2, 2013

This issue truly has something for everyone. There is no reason you shouldn't be reading it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Extinction Parade #3

Oct 18, 2013

The artwork is solid, though every once and awhile I wish there was some daylight. Being a vampire story though I don't see that happening anytime soon. Using a studio instead of a single individual for coloring can sometimes lead to major differences from issue to issue, but you don't see it in this title. (Yet anyway) The only thing I personally would change in the art of this issue is the newly turned policeman zombie. He's slobbering all over himself and that to me isn't very zombie like. Besides that everything is great!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Occultist #1

Oct 11, 2013

I would highly recommend this series to my friends; it has a little something for everyone and can be enjoyed by a wide spectrum of age groups. Dark Horse as another hit on their hands!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Occultist #2

Dec 2, 2013

My favorite part of this issue is how Tim and Mike manage to bring in another Dark Horse title (X) into the Occultist. While I don't think X has anything to do with this series, it was nice to see a plug for it up on a television screen in the early pages, not everyone probably caught it, but I did (they can't fool me!)This title is unlike anything else Dark Horse has out right now. I would love to see it be a continuing series and not just 5 issues, but I guess I can't have everything. (I can dream though!!) 4 out of 5 nerds

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Walking Dead #124

Apr 3, 2014

This issue was definitely a progression issue. It had a good bit of action, but it's the knowledge that was learned by the members of the Hilltop that is the key component. Negan is still oblivious to what is actually going on around him, and while he has manpower, I think his plan will unravel in upcoming issues. I can't wait to get to the end of this arc to see what happens. I know some beloved characters will probably be leaving us soon and while that makes me sad, it's all for the greater story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Young Avengers (2013) #10

Sep 27, 2013

The artwork is always one of the best parts of this comic in my opinion. The colors are the perfect balance of dark and bright, which is good for a comic about young people. And the artwork itself is relaxed but still had the edge it's grown up avengers titles has. This is the perfect comic for someone just getting into marvel and/or wants to learn about the Avengers without being thrown into the craziness of all the main titles.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More