Raissa Devereux's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: SciFiPulse Reviews: 22
9.6Avg. Review Rating

9.7
Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor #5

Sep 30, 2016

Titan Comics have done the Fourth Doctor proud on every level. I look forward to the next limited series with "my doctor."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
MULP: The Sceptre of the Sun #4

Aug 31, 2017

Mulp:Sceptre of the Sun #4 will be getting its US & Worldwide release via DIAMOND on November, 15th 2017, and is now available to pre-order via the Diamond Code: SEP171705.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Penny Dreadful #4

Oct 1, 2016

All in all, the issue alternates between serviceable and sublime heading into the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Penny Dreadful #5

Oct 24, 2016

The final issue was anticlimactic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Penny Dreadful: The Awakening #1

Mar 27, 2017

Jesus Hervas‘ art was marvelous throughout. However, I loved the unapologetic Egyptian Gothic sequence within Belial's tomb and Belial's awakening rampage, because there's a mummy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Penny Dreadful: The Awakening #2

May 1, 2017

Jesus Hervas‘ art captured the various story beats perfectly. I really loved the panels depicting Belial hurling himself through the window, followed by our intrepid heroes. I also applauded the sequences depicting the internal battle in hypnotized Ethan's mind. My favorite panels, though, were in the flashback to Ancient Egypt. As with the introduction of Belial's tomb in the first issue, I appreciated that Hervas committed, giving fans exactly what they expected to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Penny Dreadful: The Awakening #3

Jun 5, 2017

The art by Jesus Hervas and coloring by Jason Wordie were superb throughout. I was particularly impressed by the single panel depicting Amunet on page 17 and the panels depicting Belial and Amunet on page 19. Hervas and Wordie turned the night and the sunrise into the perfect foils for the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Penny Dreadful: The Awakening #4

Jul 4, 2017

With this issue, I was left wanting more in both good and bad ways. I'm looking forward to seeing how this comics strengths and weaknesses are addressed in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Shadow (2017) #1

Jul 31, 2017

In short, while issue #1 is a solid start, Spurrier should be careful going forward. Otherwise, his POV character Mary could turn into an insufferably self-aware exposition machine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Torchwood #2

Oct 18, 2016

So far, I don't feel as connected to this iteration of Torchwood as I do to the Big Finish audios. I hope that changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood #3

Nov 24, 2016

Torchwood: World Without End #3 vast improvement over the previous issue. The characters weren't just killing time with exposition. Readers got actual mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood #4

Dec 14, 2016

With Torchwood: World Without End #4, John Barrowman and Carole Barrowman do an excellent job of wrapping up the first arc. Looking back, these first four issues have all been a giant exposition dump. I'm okay with that given what the Barrowmans have actually set up. I'm glad readers finally get a glimpse of the bigger picture in regards to Sir James, Lady Karina, and the Navigators.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Torchwood (2017) #1

Jan 30, 2017

Artist Neil Edwards was a marvelous addition to the team. He rendered the characters and environments perfectly. My favorite sequences were the fight scene between Jack and John and the antagonists shenanigans in the Arctic Circle. Indeed, the Arctic Circle base and the entrance to it could have been an homage to Thunderbirds. The Hood would have been proud!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Torchwood (2017) #2

Mar 7, 2017

While not as thrilling as previous installments, Torchwood: Station Zero #2 did leave me wanting more and formulating theories until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood (2017) #3

Apr 11, 2017

Torchwood: Station Zero #3 was the strongest issue to date. My only quibble is with Titan's official synopsis for this installment as seen above. In their efforts to obscure plot elements in this chapter, the PR team referenced characters who don't physically appear in the issue. Hopefully, Titan can figure out a more effective synopsis strategy going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood (2017) #4

May 8, 2017

I do have two questions heading into Volume Three. First, what will happen to any new hybrid Vervoids? Second, will the true nature of The Committee be discussed in the comic or left strictly for the Big Finish audios. Whatever the answers, I look forward to the next arc in this Torchwood saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Nov 29, 2016

All in all, it was a great start. I hope Jaime gets to visit Paradise Island before the story concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #2

Jan 28, 2017

The first two installments of Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman were almost everything I've wanted as a fan of both shows. The only missing element is Max the Bionic Dog " the only other male Diana would fall in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 8, 2017

I mentioned in my previous review that Max, The Bionic Dog, was the only missing character. Writer Andy Mangels gave Max his entrance in Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman #3. It was love at first sight for him and Diana, and now, the duo will be a trio going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #4

May 9, 2017

There were two awesome character beats between Jaime and Diana, moreover. The first was when Jaime acknowledged that the two women had three Steves between them. The second was when Jaime questioned the Amazons belief in the ancient gods and Diana lyrically conveyed their world view, concluding ""Our very lives are stories, for others to tell when we're not here to tell them ourselves."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #5

Jun 21, 2017

With all that, Mangels didn't make it easy for our heroines. They were greatly overmatched, and it will likely take a heavy sacrifice to end the fray in the final chapter. Is it July yet?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #6

Sep 15, 2017

As ever, Judit Tondora's art was perfect. The single panel on page 5 encapsulated her efforts. It was a tableau lyrically entitled "Different Flowers From The Same Garden." It depicted Diana and Jaime in their full Amazonian garb leaping together above the fierce battle for Paradise Island. They had become the sisters fans always knew them to be.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More