Robert Taylor's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 9
6.1Avg. Review Rating

10
Adventures of Superman (1987) #632

Sep 22, 2004

Another note; this plays perfectly off of last weeks Lana-filled Action Comics issue, and serves as a great jumping on point. Pelletier's artwork is beautiful as usual, in fact I would be pushing very hard for him to get a permanent gig in the DCU if he hadn't just gotten onboard She-Hulk.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Batman: Gotham Knights #1

Sep 22, 2004

Again, Batman does a Spoiler and acts like an idiot all the way through. And again, characters go on and on about worthless information and characters we could care less about. Yawn.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Daredevil (1998) #64

Sep 22, 2004

A fairly good ending to what has been a less-than-extraordinary storyarc. Murdock's desperate attempts to reach the police and Widow's antics in the shower were fun, but the arc should have only been three parts; four is a bit much. And that cover is such a blatant Jennifer Garner/Alias pose rip-off it's not even funny.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Fantastic Four (1998) #518

Sep 23, 2004

Something was off with Weiringo this issue; not as much detail as I normally expect. It may have been the inking, but everything seemed a tad rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2002) #32

Sep 23, 2004

Bennett's art is great, just as good if not better than Sook. Pick this up for a great jumping-on point and some great hints of things to come from the new art team when they go monthly in December.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Identity Crisis #4

Sep 25, 2004

What we have here is the illusion of events being meaningful when in fact in two years time they will be completely forgotten. This completely killed my high after reading Hawkman, and I cannot forgive that.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
JLA: Secret Files and Origins 2004 #1

Sep 23, 2004

Why the heck are they calling it Secret Files and Origins 2004 if the book is supposed to be about origins and look at the past? The title completely cancels itself out! But to the insides; the JLE story was trash like the maxiseries (how can the Flash be in two places and in two costumes at once), but the Busiek prequel is a nice starter for the (hopefully) goodness to come. NOT worth five bucks, however.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strange (2004) #1

Sep 23, 2004

I know jack about Doctor Strange, so I can't comment on the controversy that Straczynski is "ruining" his origin. What I read was witty, fun and engaging, I understood the characters and their motivations and want to read more. Peterson and Ponsor also turn in the best work of their respective careers, my mouth dropped at how gorgeous it was. Worthy of your three and a half bucks for the art alone, the great story is just a bonus.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Ultimate Nightmare #2

Sep 25, 2004

I'm really pissed about this book on several levels. Firstly how it was marketed as one miniseries until the first issue was published, only THEN did we learn it was the first miniseries in a trilogy (sharp readers will remember my complaints about the slow pacing). That is completely unfair to readers. Secondly, thus far it is much ado about nothing. The characters talk, talk some more, and keep blabbing before the promise of some big reveal at the end which will probably be held off because the characters will make small talk next issue all issue. Then there is Trevor Hairsine, one of Marvel's Young Guns. After Quesada made such a point of noting how Steve McNiven's art is original in style, I feel a bit cheated that he also chose such a blatant rip-off of Bryan Hitch. Same crazy amounts of detail, the characters look just like Hitch's characters, the panel layouts are in his style. Let's face it; if you picked this up and didn't know who was drawing it, you would probably say Bryan

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More