Ross Haralson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 20
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Comics (1938) #893

Oct 3, 2010

My complaints regarding the story itself, however, are almost completely washed away by Silvas heavily stylized and gorgeous artwork. While I was tempted to dock Action Comics #893 a full bullet due to the treatment of Chloe Sullivan, Silvas exemplary performance easily justifies a more forgiving approach. I look forward to more from this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventures of Superman (1987) #521

Dec 5, 2010

All in all, this is essentially a transitional issue of Adventure Comics, rather than one that will be remembered years from now on its merit as a single-issue story, but the issue certainly offers everything that comic books should have: a likeable cast, strong characterization and larger-than-life heroics. Not to mention fantastic artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Alan Moore's Neonomicon #1

Jul 25, 2010

* In the world of Hellboy, for instance, Mike Mignolas title character has often suggested that Lovecraft based his writing on personal experiences and knowledge. Similarly, 2009s The Strange Adventures of H.P Lovecraft saw the authors nightmares given life at the earliest stages of his career.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #630

May 7, 2010

Was Amazing Spider-Man #630 fun? Absolutely. If youre a fan of either Spider-Man or Chris Bachalo there are far worse ways to spend your $2.99 this week. Just dont pick up this issue expecting anything you havent seen several times before, even if it does look and sound a little better than you might remember.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Avengers Prime #1

Jun 6, 2010

I have no doubt that Avengers fans have already purchased this book and, like myself, they will stay on board for the remainder of this series no matter their opinion of this opening chapter. However, new readers who are interested in the Heroic Age would be better served finding an alternate entry point into the Marvel universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
B.P.R.D.: King of Fear #5

May 13, 2010

This was not my favorite issue of B.P.R.D. Its definitely a cut above most other comics on the stands--it is a Mignolaverse book after all--but King of Fear #5 ultimately fails to offer a completely satisfying conclusion to the War on Frogs cycle. Neither poorly written nor poorly drawn, the conclusion to King of Fear seems nonetheless handicapped by virtue of its inclusion in the ongoing industry-wide effort to continuously and artificially inject perfect jumping-on points into otherwise cohesive and engaging serials.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman #700

Jun 13, 2010

For the Morrison devout and for followers of Batman (and/or any of its sister titles--particularly Batman and Robin), this issue is a no-brainer; anyone else, though, would be best served picking up something else. Heres hoping that DC puts in a stronger effort for the remaining two members of its trinity, both of whom have milestone anniversary releases coming later this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin #16

Nov 7, 2010

All in all, Morrisons work with these characters will stand the test of time as some of the most consistently engaging Batman material ever published, and Batman and Robin #16 functions splendidly in its dual role as both the conclusion of one era and the birth of another.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Fantastic Four (1998) #583

Sep 26, 2010

With the strength of this creative team and the overall quality of this issue, Fantastic Four has once again moved to the top of my reading list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Locke & Key: Crown of Shadows #5

May 3, 2010

While I cant promise this comic would be engaging to new readers (anyone interested in this series should start with the Welcome to Lovecraft collection, available in both hardcover and trade paperback format), Crown of Shadows #5 is another excellent entry in the smart and entertaining Locke and Key saga.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Morning Glories #2

Sep 19, 2010

The content of the issue certainly justifies the price, and I have no doubt that Morning Glories will continue dazzling readers for many months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
New Avengers (2010) #1

Jun 18, 2010

In short, fans of the Avengers and/or particular members of the cast will find plenty to like in New Avengers. It may not break any new ground for the genre, but what it offers is solid writing and art from beginning to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Prince of Power #1

May 21, 2010

Please buy this book. My hope is that fans of Incredible Hercules and adventuresome newcomers such as myself can partner to make this new series, which undoubtedly heralds an iHerc relaunch accompanied by a well-deserved #1 issue of its own, a resounding success. If Prince of Power is indicative of the quality we can expect from Marvel following the dawn of this Heroic Age, I for one look forward to being spoiled every Wednesday.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
S.H.I.E.L.D. #3

Aug 10, 2010

Existing fans have already purchased S.H.I.E.L.D. #3, but I recommend that newcomers make a point to purchase this issue while the series plot remains relatively accessible. Second printings are still available for both the debut issue and its follow-up, however, so there is simply no excuse to continue avoiding this series; I can honestly think of very few titles that are more deserving of your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Secret Avengers #1

May 28, 2010

I imagine this book will sell well regardless of critical reception, so let me instead speak to the handful of fans disillusioned with Brubakers former attempt at a team book who may need convincing. The future may be uncertain, but this issue is a clear winner. Set aside your presuppositions and give Secret Avengers an opportunity to impress; I expect you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Spider-Man: Fever #2

May 7, 2010

Brendan McCarthys efforts have paid off: His labors have yielded a comic series that perfectly evokes the magic and pioneering attitude of its '60s progenitors. Spider-Man: Fever is certainly not for everyone, but for the right audience--which, I would argue, refers to anyone willing to invest an above-average level of time and thought into their comic book reading--this title offers more than enough value to justify the asking price.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stumptown #3

Apr 29, 2010

Do yourself a favor and give Stumptown a try. Matthew Southworth is a revelation and Rucka fans disappointed at the writers decision to leave mainstream comic work behind (for now) should be extremely pleased with this excellent reminder of all that he has to offer in the creator owned arena.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Force (2010) #1

Oct 8, 2010

Altogether, this issue is an excellent debut for Uncanny X-Force, and the strength of this issue should offer more than enough justification to buyers wary of adding yet another X-title to their pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wonder Woman (2006) #602

Aug 29, 2010

Few, if any legitimate complaints might be leveled against the current creative direction of Wonder Woman. The script is as engaging as it is mysterious and the art team provides striking visuals from beginning to end; theres simply no excuse to spend your comic book money elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Zatanna #1

May 23, 2010

The creative freedom that Dini is afforded through the books independence hints at a very bright future for the title, as does the strength of the art. Publishers need to see that there is a market for efforts like Zatanna, which function as something more than just another title starring Batman or Wolverine, so make sure you pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More