Roy Buckingham's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Kabooooom Reviews: 28
8.7Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Batman (2016) #50

Jul 4, 2018

Batman #50 is modern day snake oil in the form of a comic book. All the beauty in the preceding pages was sullied and rendered emotionally worthless by the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Last Knight on Earth #1

May 29, 2019

Snyder's script drags in some places, such as when Tank Girl Wonder Woman delivers a heavy exposition dump. Capullo's artwork looks good, apart from the unnaturally unpleasant Amethyst cave. Still, the premise and execution are interesting enough to make me curious about the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Cat (2019) #1

Jun 9, 2019

If you are a fan of Felicia Hardy and her exploits, you will not be disappointed by this book. And if you've never heard of the Black Cat, this isn't a bad way to be introduced.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Captain Marvel (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

Those who do not know Carol's character will get a crash course on why she is one of the most powerful and respected super heroes in the Marvel Universe, while veteran Carol Corps members will get more of what they love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cursed Comics Cavalcade #1

Oct 10, 2018

All in all, there is a lot here to entertain you if you are looking for a fun, scary twist on your favorite DC Comics heroes this Halloween. I hope we get a sequel next year, maybe this time incorporating the villains as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2018) #4

Sep 5, 2018

In the end, this issue was a door of opportunity that opened the way for future fun and craziness and, for once, came off as a true breath of fresh air.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deadpool (2018) #13

Jun 9, 2019

This is everything a Deadpool comic should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool: Assassin #1

Jun 13, 2018

Maybe something will happen in later issues that will prove me wrong and make me reconsider whether or not this series is a must-read. Either way, if I miss an issue, I will not fret. Still, it is worth a look at if you are a Deadpool fan. Just don't expect anything too deep.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eternity Girl #1

Mar 15, 2018

A trippy, dark vision that explores PTSD in a twisted way as well as how some people cannot handle power. It is worth a peek.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #3

Mar 9, 2018

Who knew that one of the best looks at LGBTQ history and also a jolting look at an ugly part of our nation's past that should never happen again could come from a comic book about a pink lion with a flair for dramatics who writes plays like "The Heart Is A Kennel of Lies"?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #4

Apr 4, 2018

With only two issues left to go in this series, do yourself a favor and pick it up. Just be emotionally ready for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles #5

May 2, 2018

Mark Russell has written one of the most compelling and important comics in recent memory " not only the LGBTQ but for anyone who has ever fought for equality in their lives of in the face of any kind of bigotry or censorship.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #1

Jan 13, 2018

This one is gonna stay on my radar for a while, and I hope other horror fans " even the ones who don't usually read comics " will feel the same way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #3

Mar 22, 2018

Ice Cream Man is easily on its way to become my favorite new comic book series of 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #5

Jul 18, 2018

The mystery deepens with every passing issue and so does my interest in this comic. It has gotten to the point where I fear I'm addicted because getting it once a month is not enough. Not only is the storytelling phenomenal, but the artwork is grisly yet beautiful, drawing you deep into this nightmarish world. A must-read for all horror fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #6

Aug 15, 2018

In the most emotionally impactful issue to date, W. Maxwell Prince shows a man asking for a three dip cone and how each flavor represents a certain path he can take depending on how he walks away from the ice cream truck.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #9

Jan 31, 2019

What I will say is that the amazing artwork and creepy storytelling from earlier issues is still present, and in some cases, even creepier than before. While this revelation could have backfired, it only adds to the terror. This Image Comics' offering remains one of the best horror comics in years.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ice Cream Man #12

May 8, 2019

An odd mix of space opera, Silent Running and 2001: A Space Odyssey, the last remaining human is seen on what seems like an impossible mission. A cautionary tale of where we possibly may be heading and what our future could become, while teasing us more about The Ice Cream man's true purpose in the universe. This book is uniquely memorable and unsettling, in all the right ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Injustice Vs. Masters of the Universe #1

Jul 18, 2018

I wanted to like this book more than I did. The idea was so unique I wanted to get behind it. Unfortunately, while the basic idea is interesting, this first issue was a hot mess that left my brain and eyes reeling.Maybe things will improve in later issues, but I feel that not even The Power of Grayskull could helpSeeley and Williams save this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mystery Science Theater 3000 #1

Sep 11, 2018

If you are not a fan of the show or have never seen it, you may not enjoy this comic. Still, it is a load of fun. The jokes fly by rapidly and are very well written. My personal favorite involved Totino's Pizza Rolls and Kinga's efforts to work product placement into the story. If you are a fan of the show, I suggest giving it a look-over.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Symbiote Spider-Man #2

May 8, 2019

Not only do we get to re-explore this time of Peter Parker's life when alien technology gave him a boost (at a price), but we get to dive deeper into the psychology of Mysterio and why he does what he does. This is what I love the most so far about this title. A perfect blend of action, the snarky humor we love from Spidey and some unexpected pathos from the main villain. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Ruff & Reddy Show #4

Jan 25, 2018

It's cynical yet darkly hilarious. The story is great, but the artwork is jarring and unsettling. While this fits the tone of the story, it is still harsh on the eyes. Still, this series is worth a look for the story alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #1

Jun 14, 2018

The Weatherman #1 grabbed my attention from the very first page and now holds it completely. I'm looking forward to the future issues immensely.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman: Vol. 2 #1

Jun 26, 2019

Based on this first issue, The Weatherman Vol. 2, much like the first volume, is going to be a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #2

Jul 18, 2018

As in the first issue, the action scenes feel like they come alive through artwork that honestly I would not mind having framed on my walls. And just like the first issue, the story here ends on a massive cliffhanger that, like the old 1930's movie serials like Flash Gordon, leaves you hanging in such suspense that you must return for the next installment to see what happens next. To me, that is a sign of masterful storytelling and I recommend this book without hesitation.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Weatherman #3

Aug 15, 2018

I seriously cannot get enough of this title, and you really need to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Thor (2018) #1

Jun 13, 2018

There was nothing in this issue that made me want to urgently run to the comic shop and get the next issue. However, the story teased for Thor #5 (yup, talk about a mega future tease) with what appears to be a Cyberpunk Mr Miyagi Wolverine may be interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Twins (2019) #2

Mar 13, 2019

The jokes fly fast in their introduction, as does the rest of the issue. Giving the Wonder Twins some personality beyond the cheerfully earnest ones they had in the 1970's has made these characters honestly engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More