Ruston Fritcher's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 22
7.8Avg. Review Rating

6
Bloodshot: Salvation #11

Jul 13, 2018

This chapter in the Salvation story has an engaging story, however, the art is a real step back from previous chapters. There are some missed opportunities when it comes to character development. This issue clues you into questions raised at the beginning of the series and gets us where we need to go for the next issue but is not enough for me to recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Bloodshot: Salvation #12

Aug 11, 2018

The Salvation series ends with a satisfying but underwhelming conclusion. There is an interesting story here, but the team lost focus. The ending confuses the book's message and does an average job trying to tell that message. The change in management halfway through the series might have derailed the strong momentum started at the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Champions (2016) #21

Jul 3, 2018

We are given a team-up of Alpha Flight and Champions that is a lot of old-school fun leading to a good conclusion to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Champions (2016) #23

Aug 11, 2018

Jim Zub dives further into the character of Viv Vision and Sam Alexander when they are forced to face their fears at the hands of the Man-thing. The issue is a lot of fun and drama mixed with a young adult feel. The team behind Champions has a steady rhythm, and I would definitely recommend reading them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Champions (2016) #25

Oct 9, 2018

The Champions take on a whole new persona when they enter into Weirdworld in search of Nova and Wasp. The adventure is fun and adds a few surprise cameos. This issue is the first issue to a new arc and works as a great starting point. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Domino (2018) #7

Oct 13, 2018

Domino and her team of girls are so charming and fun to watch that this has become one of my favorite X books. There is an interesting comment on female hero sexualization that might not be intentional. Either way that comment had me reading this book multiple times. I would check it out and see for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Domino (2018) Annual #1

Oct 3, 2018

The Domino annual has its ups and downs. The action is handled very well all throughout the book. The more emotional moments lacked some of what they needed to hit hard. Overall this is a fun book with optimistic and positive messages that make it worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Extermination (2018) #3

Oct 3, 2018

Very few questions are answered in this chapter but the threat of the villains gets stronger. Ahab is becoming a more menacing presence. Nathan Summers is an interesting time cop. The art is just as strong as when the team worked on Avengers No Surrender. This issue gets a recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Infinity Countdown #4

Jun 6, 2018

Infinity Countdown #4 does a good job of continuing the story of the Guardians attempts to protect the Infinity Stones. It has some questionable art but still does the job.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Infinity Countdown #5

Jul 24, 2018

There is a nice story here but I think Duggan lost his way when he expanded the scope. Trying to find where this takes place with the connected monthly series will lead to a headache. The story will give you plenty to look forward too. The art tells the story nicely and makes the Soul World look terrifying. I think it was an improvement over the last issue. The flaws in this issue just prove that bigger is not always better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Infinity Wars (2018) #2

Aug 16, 2018

Part two of the Infinity Wars saga gives the readers more action and mystery. There is a nice setup for issues going forward. The art does not always fit the story being told, but it does always look good. This is a pretty good chapter to the story, and you should enjoy it enough to want to be invested in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Marvel Two-In-One (2017) #6

Jun 6, 2018

This story did a great job of capturing that science fiction family feel of the Fantastic Four. It was a thrill to read with plenty of fun and surprises. It has some of the strongest art you will find in the pages of Marvel. I would definitely recommend it. This is especially so if you are missing the Fantastic family.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #31

Jul 3, 2018

This issue provides a great look at who the character of Kamala Khan is. Fun cameos and premise make this a nice read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Ms. Marvel (2015) #32

Jul 13, 2018

G. Willow Wilson provides a lot of comedy in a story resembling a classic Spider-Man tale. The early relationship of science-minded Bruno and hero Kamala returns. The art makes the characters and Jersey City look great. This is an issue I would highly recommend if you just want a comic that will brighten your day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Ms. Marvel (2015) #35

Oct 13, 2018

The battle between the Shocker and Ms. Marvel ends with a more action-heavy issue that is very enjoyable. The cameo from Singularity does not amount to much, but other cameos worked. Nico Leon does such a great job of balancing action and slower moments. Even without having read the previous issues to this arc I can recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Shadowman (2018) #4

Jun 21, 2018

This issue starts a new story arc that is a good place to jump into the series. The story is very simple but it gives you a strong feeling of the characters and what the Shadowman is all about. The art can be a little distracting at times but does a good job of making the world look good. Give this one a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Shadowman (2018) #5

Jul 24, 2018

This issue has some great reveals in the past of Jack Boniface's family line. The setting and subject fit a variation on Shadoman very well. This book is done terrifically but did not feel like a must-read. If you are a fan of Shadowman this will be a satisfying issue. If you are not you might feel a bit lost and underwhelmed. You will want to give this one a pass if you are not committed to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Thor (2018) #1

Jun 15, 2018

Thor continues the fantasy excitement that Jason Aaron has been building. It is a fun start to a new series that should be promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Thor (2018) #4

Aug 16, 2018

The war for Hel is far more delightful then you would expect. I enjoyed the issue even though it has its flaws. Thanos is a bit too comedic for my taste. There is not a lot of comedy thrown in when I thought the focus should be on the drama. I still enjoyed the Hel out of this issue and would recommend you check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Thor (2018) #5

Sep 20, 2018

This issue is little more than a fight between Logan and Thor. It is worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Weapon H #8

Oct 9, 2018

When it comes to Weapon H I expected a bit more action and craziness. Although there is a lack of action the interactions of Clay and his family made up for it. The guest stars are fun and help a simple story feel a lot of fun. There is enough here to keep you interested but not enough that you are missing out if you skip this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

Jun 1, 2018

X-Men: Red is one of the strongest X titles and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

More