Sam McTernan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 22
9.1Avg. Review Rating

8
Suicide Squad: Black Files #3

Jan 10, 2019

For me its a privilege to read Mike Barr ‘s take on Katana's struggles on the other side of The Soultaker. I can wait to see how the rest of the arc fleshes this out. However the real winner for me is Suicide Squad Black and El Diablo's progression as a leader, its very refreshing to see a different squad and get a better look at lesser used DC characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Suicide Squad: Black Files #4

Feb 8, 2019

I loved this issue. The art flowed well between the two stories, the writing was on par with the action. The only issue I would have is that this the first time that both story line's has been about the main Suicide Squad. Both of which have very clearly placed the squad in positions that mean that events do not take place at a similar time and I think this may confuse many readers. Although that a no point has anyone said that the events in either story do take place concurrently, I think that in the previous issues it felt like they could have. All in all I still think this doesn't detract from a great series and one I cant wait to see how pans out in the last two issues of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Suicide Squad: Black Files #5

Mar 8, 2019

The other thing that bugged me is that Killer Croc is in full on berserk mode in the Katana run, but is kindly asking his squad members for help in the other story. It's too different a take to be in a shared issue and just highlights the differences more to me. I'm looking forward to the last issue, as I cant wait to see the finale of both arcs. I just hope that they both get to finish on a high note.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Suicide Squad: Black Files #6

Apr 5, 2019

Going forward I can only hope that the powers that be at DC keep Suicide Squad Black as a main feature. It has heaps of potential and deserves much more than just this limited run.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #26

Jan 25, 2019

It's a brilliant read, the art is gorgeous and the colors align beautifully. As a new reader I can't wait to read more. As a batman fan, thank you for making me feel excited again! I am looking forward to seeing how the creative team guide the repercussions of this issue and the implications this will have on the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #27

Feb 21, 2019

I'm excited for what lies ahead and now more so, after the excellent Deathstroke teaser ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #28

Mar 20, 2019

The team of Glass and Chang is fast becoming the new powerhouse of DC. The art is stunning, as always, and Bernard's ability to draw anyone from DC's roster highlights what a talent he is. Coupled with excellent writing from Adam (and Deathstroke writer, Priest, who co-wrote this incredible issue), we are in for a real treat moving forward. The crossover has begun and I am excited.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #29

Apr 19, 2019

I loved this issue, but I genuinely love every issue. We have the expected great writing matched up with Bernard's amazing art. We don't have as much action this month, which may put some off, but honestly the dialogue between characters is extremely important and will shape the future of the Teen Titans. There is some action, it's actually formed as part of the brilliant cliffhanger. I wont spoil this for you, but it's great and will genuinely be a joy to read the outcome!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #30

May 17, 2019

Teen Titans #30 is a wonderful conclusion to the Terminus Agenda arc. It closes up the Deathstroke threat, exposes the team to danger from within and begins the next exciting arc. Personally I can't wait to see how the team deal with this. Beautiful art blended with great color and Adam Glass' continued excellence with storytelling means the winning streak continues… and long may that be the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #31

Jun 19, 2019

My only concern is that I think the team may not survive this one emotionally. They're going to have dig deep and re-establish some trust if they have chance against Lobo. All in all I loved Teen Titans #31. It had great writing and brilliantly art from Bernard Chang and Marcelo Maiolo. This great creative team has given us another winner.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #32

Jul 19, 2019

Teen Titans #32 is an overall winner. Action and emotion are blended excellently, as always. I honestly feel that, with all comics, it's good to mix things up every so often with the creative team, however I don't want to see these guys go anywhere. The creative team combo is as great as the teens they're writing and drawing about.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #33

Aug 22, 2019

Overall, as usual, I cant fault anything, asides from maybe how much Adam is playing with my emotions. I genuinely love this series and the creative forces behind, keep up the great work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #34

Sep 19, 2019

All in all the team are continuing the phenomenal work that they've become known for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #35

Oct 17, 2019

Glass is the master of twists and turns. His ability to keep shocking is masterful and entirely unpredictable. I always assume it can't get better, and then it does. Usually the month long wait for your next comic book fix is too long, but with Teen Titans by Adam Glass, you kind of need it to process everything. Chang and Maiolo's art delivers as usual, and the great visuals go hand in hand with the intense storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #36

Nov 22, 2019

I love this series, it's constantly challenging itself to become more shocking, bold, artistic and ultimately believable. The art is consistent and represents all the facets of Glass's writing perfectly. Teen Titans #36 was a great issue, and it left us with an almighty cliff hanger! I cant spoil it, but next month we'll be treated to massive reveal.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #37

Dec 20, 2019

All in all Teen Titans #37 is another sterling example of Glass's ability to continue to weave a complex and intricate tale of deception, misery and shocking twists. Couple this with Chang's bold, reliable artwork and we have another winner. And of course we also get another almighty twist that surely rivals that of Roundhouse's deceit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #38

Jan 17, 2020

As usual the team end the issue leaving you wanting more and I, for one, can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #39

Feb 20, 2020

My only issue going ahead is can it keep up this level of quality? It's no easy task to keep putting out work like this. I certainly hope the team can keep delivering.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #40

Mar 20, 2020

Teen Titans #40 was as spectacular a comic-book as you could ever hope for. I loved every panel. When it ended all I wanted was to keep reading. For so much intensity and action it ends so quickly, which is always the sign of a good read, for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2016) #41

May 26, 2020

I can't fault Teen Titans #41 at all really. My one criticism was maybe only a personal one, due to the slight similarities to another title, but then again, no plot is entirely unique these days anyway. I'd recommend brushing up on back issues as after such a gap, it's a heavy plot to get lost in, if you don't remember much from #40. As usual though it's this series consistency that's the real winner. Great writing and art, as always.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #42

Jun 28, 2020

In conclusion, Teen Titans #42 was a brilliant start for the Thomson/Fernandez collaboration. The art is phenomenal and brings a whole new depth to the characters. My love of all things Batman is rewarded in a big way, as the issues continue, hopefully we'll see more flashbacks of the brilliant, dearly departed Alfred, and we'll just have to read to see what else the team has in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

Feb 1, 2019

Overall I enjoyed this issue. Adams writing is great, I'm enjoying what he's doing with the group and actually look forward to seeing how this continues to progress. Hi-Fi's coloring is stunning, Kid Flash and D'Jinn are great example's of this. I preferred the writing in “Robin vs Robin” but liked the art better in “Joy to the World”, but I didn't dislike either story and found the annual enjoyable overall.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More