Shannon Ledene's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 17
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Man: Revolution #1

Nov 14, 2016

This is a solid piece of the overall revolution tapestry and I'm VERY happy that Action Man has made it to the game board at last.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Animosity #1

Sep 25, 2016

Overall, if the animal uprising is your thing, If post-apocalyptic is your thing, and if a touching tale of road trips are your thing, make THIS comic your thing too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Betty & Veronica (2016) #1

Jul 23, 2016

As with most if not all the Archie titles.. i'll be back for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #3

Feb 10, 2017

The artwork on the mini has been top notch though. From minute facial expressions detailing doubt, to grand glorious battles between factions, the artwork is amazingly detailed and adds a lot to keeping the reader engaged.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
M.A.S.K.: Mobile Armored Strike Kommand: Revolution #1

Sep 27, 2016

Overall; this is an excellent jumping on point and I really want to see how they modernize it to make it contemporary.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Micronauts: Revolution #1

Sep 27, 2016

Overall, this is an extra issue of Micronauts for the most part and, while fine, I wish Bunn had done more with it than that last page to tie it in. Pick it up, but also ask your friends to catch you up on what's going on in Micronauts first. Or, check out our full review of the first 6 issues here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Revolution #1

Sep 21, 2016

Itell you now tho, the real breakout character WILL be Action Man. Just you watch.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Revolution #2

Oct 4, 2016

This round goes firmly to the M.A.S.K team while Optimus Prime wins round 1 against Rom. I can't wait until the Micronauts and Action Man show up to further add chaos to this already over-boiling pot of anarchy. This may all end in tears, but not for the reader who should be enjoying the heck out of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Revolution #3

Oct 12, 2016

Overall, you can tell that this was kind of lull in the action to get most of the players on the board (save Action Man), but it's still a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Revolution #4

Nov 14, 2016

Fico Ossio is (as always) astounding, especially with all the moving parts he has to deal with here. Not a lot of artists can do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spell On Wheels #1

Sep 25, 2016

Megan Levens conveys more a cartoonish vibe without going "Full Toon" that works with the tone of the book. It's going to be interesting to see how she conveys things like a full on mystical battle, but so far so good. Women are killing it in comics nowadays.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #1

Dec 15, 2015

Overall..I could do without the callbacks to Star Trek (unless they fit into the story) and the characters could have used a little more of a diverse feel then I got off of them initially but this is a solid read and there's the potential of a good mystery, an intriguing follow up and decent artwork makes this a good way to spend time in the new star trek universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Star Trek: Starfleet Academy #2

Jan 12, 2016

All in all: It's my fervent hope that the story picks up and that we don't spend ALL next issue floating between flashbacks and just getting OUT to the site of where the main thrust of the story is taking us. I kinda want us to move a little faster then that. This is a cute little time waster, but i wouldn't hold out much hope that it will remain on my pull list after the initial storyline unless something changes and this becomes a LOT more interesting then it currently is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #57

Sep 27, 2016

Art wise: Tramontano proves again that women are killing it in the industry. Killer robots are hard to draw due to their great detail, and massive amounts of robots with massive distinct details are even harder. so, hats off to Tramontano and other transformer artists who can do that. It really has the feel of an epic movie in comic form. kudos to Tramontano.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Transformers: Revolution #1

Nov 14, 2016

Griffith is an unknown quantity to me but I have to say that he did a great job with the visuals of the book. It read like the comic version of "White House Down".

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Transformers: Till All Are One - Revolution #1

Nov 14, 2016

All in all, this is a must buy if you want some pieces filled in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Weird Love #1

Oct 10, 2016

Weird Love is something that, after you read it and despite yourself, you will think about and remember. We all have an inner romantic.. and sometimes it's weird.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More