Shaun's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nation Of Nerds Reviews: 11
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #5

Mar 22, 2017

This series continues to impress, never a dull moment here. Robots punching things, alternate dimensions, and time travel what else could you want in a comic!? With so many questions being answered in the last issue, they were left to focus much more on the raw action here. So warning spoilers are ahead, as I will break down what happens in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #6

Apr 26, 2017

Well, we have the conclusion of our first arc and I gotta say, I can't help but wonder what Gerard Way was on while writing this series so far. This series will straight up alter your mind. If you haven't read any of the 6 in this series this is not the place to start. You can't miss anything while reading these. I also gotta say Nick Derington did a fantastic job with the artwork in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern / Space Ghost Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

With Hal Jordan and Space Ghost fighting and then inevitably teaming up, who doesn't want to see Chip in space? Match that with some amazing art and this is an all around good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mother Panic #4

Mar 8, 2017

Being part 1 obviously a lot of information still, hasn't been revealed in this particular story. This feel like it is leaning more towards the roots of Violet Page, what molded her to become the furious badass that shit has become. If you enjoy the darker side of Gotham, you will enjoy Mother Panic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 23, 2017

A lot happens here, with some good and some bad. Again we are left with a lot of unanswered questions. Hopefully, they will all be brought into the light in future releases.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #6

Apr 26, 2017

All in all, this was a great issue. I would still like to know more about Otis and his rats and how Rebecca can talk to them. Including how that all could tie in. However, I am sure we will get those answers eventually.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

In Teen Titans #6 Beast boy invites a local news reporter, Bonnie Chung to come shine some light on Teen Titan Tower and interview the team. Within minutes she is Kidnapped by someone or something. Due to that, it's up to our Teen Titans to spring into action and find her. A great introduction to the characters we know and love.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

Aqualad has risen and he has become a Teen Titan, well kinda. While Kingshark, Black Jack, and a mysterious third have other plans for the Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

Titans Annual #1 has a lot going on, with a Mentors vs Protege's theme throughout the comic. Along with an isolation, horror movie feel substituting in superhero's/villains of course. Plus throw in some good old fashioned battles and we have a little bit of something for everyone here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

Before we even get into the story lets talk about the artwork. I love it, it's very simplistic, dark, water color design is an absolutely perfect fit for the tone of this comic. Not to mention the fact that Fawkes is not only writing this comic, he is also the artists and colorist. That's impressive all by itself, yet it also explains why the art here is so cohesive with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

This is a very sophisticated comic for what it is. Each page is like walking through a pitch black house with a dim flashlight, full of sex, violence, and music. We can only see where the flashlight is pointed and have to piece it all together, hopefully, that is left to the readers. All in al it's very well executed and I can't wait to read more!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More