Shaun Barbour's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 21
8.9Avg. Review Rating

9.5
American Gods: Shadows #4

Jun 9, 2017

All-in-all P. Craig Russell does a great job at scripting the comics and presents a well thought layout of panels to tell the story in comic form. I would definitely recommend this series to anyone wanting an introduction to American Gods, or that just don't have the time to read a full novel. Another masterwork for Neil Gaiman, I am sure will having you asking your local comic store for back issues and counting down the days to the next issue release date.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bonehead #1

Dec 23, 2017

I would definitely recommend this premier title from Top Cow, and will be looking to try and jump on the next issue in the series for sure!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Bubba Ho-Tep and the Cosmic Blood-Suckers #1

May 15, 2018

This may mature to be a slow build to greatness, but based on my initial assessment of this title I may pass on the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Cannibal #8

Oct 14, 2017

If you are looking for a deep story, with emotion, and multiple characters that you will end up caring about and rooting for, then this is a definite pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Curse Words #8

Sep 10, 2017

The seasoned writing skills of this team shine bright in the dialogue of this issue. Fast paced with a quirky edge to it, you may find yourself reading the issue multiple times just to get all the quips.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dungeons & Dragons: Frost Giant's Fury #3

Jun 20, 2017

Sometimes the stories in comics fail to really pick up the proper speed with setup and really engaging the reader. If you have read issues 1 and 2 there is enough here for you to still want to pick up the next issue, but not enough to hold a new adventurer.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Go West #3

May 13, 2018

I definitely recommend checking out exactly what this epic story has in store for yourself as I can only do so much justice to its quality.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Killer Instinct #1

Sep 10, 2017

There is a great introduction and the structure to the story is concise and shows great potential for the future issues. Ian Edginton knows the recipe for a successful story. Killer Instinct really provides a much richer environment for the world it takes place in than the quick glimpses provided in the video games.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Killer Instinct #4

Jan 3, 2018

For me, I feel like the series is finally starting to pick up momentum. I felt like the past two issues really let me down from what initially had me in raves for issue #1. I am not willing to let this series go, as I feel it has a lot of potential, but that cannot go without saying that I feel it could've been driven with a better formatting for back stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pathfinder: Runescars #1

May 16, 2017

Immediately upon starting this issue I was slammed with action that drew me in immediately, as I am a huge fan of a fight sequence! As the reader progresses through each encounter there is a nice balance of humor and bravado that is easily associated with each character. It definitely earned a couple chuckles from me as it progressed just to be snapped back to attention during this issue. This issue took me through a quick set of events and before I knew it I was at the last page left wanting more. I had to double check I was indeed at the end as the last panel definitely left me where I want to fast forward to the next release. If I had to say that there were any real drawbacks or negative marks it would lie, for me, with the feeling that a couple encounters were unresolved. With that being said, it is the first issue and the introduction to the story and the characters was welcomed as I will be waiting to see what is in store for the next issue .

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pathfinder: Runescars #3

Jul 31, 2017

I truly recommend picking up the other issues of Pathfinder Runescars as I have enjoyed each issue. So far there has been no unnecessary filler panels or questions that go unduly answered. Epic battles, witty one-liners, and characters that truly are unique from each other are all parts of this series are the reason I am chomping at the bit for the next installment of Pathfinder Runescars. If I could score the book any higher I would.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Puppet Master: Curtain Call #2

Dec 10, 2017

A solid recommendation from me as a must have for any horror comic fan I suggest picking up both issue #1 and #2 as it is possibly one of the best titles I have read this year!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ravina the Witch? #1

Jun 8, 2017

I REALLY wanted to like this book as the artwork is different and engaging. The stylized pictures are cute and full of little things that catch the eye. I found myself looking more at the artwork than actually reading the story to be honest. For me this would be a pass on this title. Like I said before, if the adult content were to be taken out I would definitely scoop it up to read to my daughter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swordquest #1

Jun 25, 2017

I definitely found myself pulling more out of this book than I had originally anticipated and love the direction it is going. Definitely worth picking up! Now"if you'll kindly excuse me I have a few cartridges I need to dust off and an old AV cable to find.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tank Girl: World War Tank Girl #3

Jun 26, 2017

I was absolutely in love with the style choice for the comic design and artistic delivery as well. I tip my glass to this dynamic team that kicks this mini-series in the bollocks and takes no prisoners.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #4

Jul 1, 2017

Pick up the series and sink your teeth into this grisly tale for which, once you start it, there is no turning back.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dresden Files: Dog Men #5

Oct 14, 2017

I know I said it before, but I will say it again. I love this franchise. I love this book. I love everything about this genre. Dresden Files: Dog Men is doing it all right as far as I can tell. The mix of magic, action, humor, and horror is hard to resist. I definitely suggest picking up the full line of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files: Dog Men as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Evil Within (2017) #1

Sep 9, 2017

Starting out I found The Evil Within to be a little bit disorienting. If you are unfamiliar with the game you may struggle to catch up to what is actually going on. If you have, though, it comes together pretty quickly. There is a lot of information going on within these pages, and the delivery style is informative, and somehow avoids coming across as cluttering the pages. Ryan O'sullivan does well to capture the mood and run icy fingers down the back of one's brain as the details start to emerge from the darkness and make you stare into the deformed face of a gripping tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
The Hard Place #1

Aug 30, 2017

A hard hitting, high-octane comic with a compassionate protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Vampirella (2017) #5

Aug 13, 2017

The writing styles of Paul Cornell are well thought-out through the panels of this installment of our favorite blood sucking female. My only wish is that there was a more constructive way to have taken care of the colorful language than just redacting it. The redaction format of the obvious verbiage became a distraction as it is a solid box in a more loosely formatted comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wynonna Earp: Season Zero #2

Aug 12, 2017

Overall, Wynonna Earp Season Zero #2 picks up the pace from the first issue and shows no signs of slowing down. A definite win for those familiar and unfamiliar with the characters alike. Held in high regard by myself as a perfect brew of action and heart, this should be picked up by anyone that's ready to experience the danger within these pages as only a gunslinger can deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More