Shawn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Revolution Reviews: 15
6.9Avg. Review Rating

8
All-New Booster Gold #4

Nov 19, 2007

I've read all four issues to date, and have enjoyed them all. If, as a comic reader, you don't take the genre too seriously and can enjoy a light hearted comic with a sense of adventure and a hero who isn't the coolest guy around, but can roll with the punches, Booster Gold will be worth reading and buying. Its a welcome bit of variety when compared to the tone and content of other comics in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Birds of Prey (1998) #98

Sep 21, 2006

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Black Dawn #1

May 4, 2009

Black Dawn is one of the better, truly "independent" (in my definition, that does not include Image, Boom, Dark Horse and their like) comics I have read. The story and art show that the creators have developed and practiced their craft, and put considerable time and effort into the production of this comic. If apocalyptic, anarchic stories are to your liking, this is good, original work in that vein.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Checkmate #6

Sep 21, 2006

I'm still in, and I enjoyed the issue. I just want more Checkmate in my Checkmate. Overall, I want the comic to move faster.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Detective Comics #841

Feb 19, 2008

Satisfying single issue story with all of the classic elements of Batman. Nothing groudbreaking, but solid episodic work done well.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Green Lantern Corps #20

Jan 14, 2008

Better than before, but still a little ways away from "necessary" to anyone other than a completist. Overall good work, but not enough meat on the bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nightwing (1996) #140

Jan 14, 2008

This team has made Nightwing a character that is very easy for the reader to relate to. It remains to be seen where the title is going, and if it can develop into some thing more than a poor man's Batman, but this is a solid first issue, and recommended. This team does have the potential to make the Nightwing comic do what Nightwing did to Batman years ago, stand on its own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nightwing (1996) Annual #2

Apr 22, 2007

Just what the doctor ordered. Fan favorite characters, and a story that gets to develop them. Keep an eye on the creative team here, they are all doing solid work wherever they are placed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Secret Six #4

Sep 28, 2006

The longer this series goes on, the more I like it. I'm hoping the Mad Hatter isn't a permanent addition to the group (I'm rooting for the title to go monthly) but this title is working on all cylinders. Excellent storytelling in both the art and the writing. I'm completely invested in the title. I was so curious to find out what came next that I read this issue before Justice League of America this week. Only 52 came before it. Lots of questions to answer in the next two issues, and I'm looking forward to them both.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Smuggling Spirits #1

Feb 26, 2009

SMUGGLING SPIRITS: BOOK ONE

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Supergirl & The Legion of Super-Heroes #22

Sep 29, 2006

In Rokk's synopsis and review of this very issue, he says : Ok Tenzil, now you can post your review where you point out all the positives

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teen Titans (2003) #45

Apr 12, 2007

A good read, and a comic that is on my pull list. The story and the characterization keep me coming back. The pacing is a little slow, but this is the third part of a 4 issue story, if it is going to drag anywhere, it is in this issue. The previous Titans story arc put the pieces back on the board, this one will definitely move them around a bit

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Teen Titans (2003) #54

Dec 30, 2007

Fans of the Titans, and of the DCU in general should enjoy this issue. Not a good jumping on point, but for previous Titans readers, not a bad place to catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Toy Story #0

Dec 16, 2009

Summary: Toy Story #0 is a good start to the line, keeping the feel of the movie while situating the story for a serialized, open ended format. Toy Story #0 is a light and fun read. This issue offers a chance to visit some fan favorite characters again. I highly recommend Toy Story #0 to fans of the Toy Story movies as well as younger readers in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
X-Men: First Class #1

Sep 21, 2006

The story, most importantly the characterization, is fun and right on target. This would be a great comic for someone who has seen the X-Men in movies or cartoons. I'm on board for the rest.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

1st

March

More