Tim Board's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Hawkworld Reviews: 10
9.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Hawkman (2018) #1

Jun 16, 2018

The last few years have been a bit rough for Hawkfans and we've had our share of disappointments. Those disappointments kept me from having honest expectations as the series began. I realize now that I was subconsciously guarded against being let down again. But Venditti and Hitch's Hawkman has given me the freedom to hope for something really great. Hawkman and Hawkgirl have been given a chance to become major players in the DC Universe again. Snyder and Venditti are setting up the new Hawkworld for us to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #2

Jul 12, 2018

This series is fun! Hawkman has always been a character with so much potential and we have a writer is not afraid to do what he wants with the character. Everything about Hawkman has been put on the table; his origins, his background, his powers, his costume, Hawkgirl, etc. Venditti isn't going to reveal everything all at once about Hawkman. It's coming one piece at a time and it's going to be a blast. The flight continues!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #3

Aug 10, 2018

Ladies and Gents, we are in for quite a ride with this new Hawkman. Venditti is going to let Hawkman fly in every sense of the word. So strap on those harnesses and get ready for a great adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #4

Sep 14, 2018

There have been many Hawkman series over the years, but as a long time fan, it feels like Hawkman has finally been given the character, the abilities, the supporting cast and the art to reach his full potential. Venditti and Hitch have gone above and beyond many expectations for the comic, and I cannot wait for the flight ahead. Wings out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #5

Oct 12, 2018

The issue was a big leap forward in the current story, but this issue's most lasting impression was the friendship of two heroes. With all the fighting going on between heroes in the comics and movies lately, it was a breath of fresh air to see Hawkman and Carter as we remembered them to be; two heroes who love each other as brothers, and who will always continue their friendship no matter how many years have passed. May we all have a friendship like that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #6

Nov 15, 2018

The first five issues were fun, but this issue really took off. It had its moments of humor, desperation, panic, revelation and another farewell. After you finish reading, you are left with one thought; Venditti and Hitch have made comics truly fun again. This comic is a must for any fan of the superhero genre of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #7

Dec 12, 2018

Hawkman has been defined in several ways. He is about flight, exploration, discovery, and reincarnation. I have always thought that his story is about order. Here is a hero who desperately wants to find the answers to his life and get his life, his existence, and his soul back in order. And we now have a new definition of Hawkman; redemption. With this new origin and meaning, Hawkman is soaring higher than he ever has before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #8

Jan 17, 2019

This issue made me want to follow Hawkman on his journey, to see how he is going to defeat the threat of death and hopelessness in front of him and find that hope. I want to find out how he finds a way to soar. And I know he will. Because he is Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hawkman (2018) #9

Feb 13, 2019

This issue didn't really move the story ahead too far, and we will have to wait to see what solution Hawkman comes up with. But with Venditti's writing and Hitch and company's art, it's going to be a wild, shocking and soaring ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkman (2018) #10

Mar 14, 2019

Tell your friends. Tell your neighbors. Tell your comic book store. This is a superhero comic book that should be read by every comic book fan on the planet. This is a Hawkman that we have never seen before. And I would hate for them to miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More