Travis Anderson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Word Of The Nerd Reviews: 16
8.7Avg. Review Rating

3.4
Aquila #1

Feb 16, 2015

Aquila is a less exciting Kratos who is only interesting because of the historical and legendaryfigures involved in his story. His only trait that individualizes himfrom other buff warriors is that he is Eqyptian or African-the issue wasn't that clear-but that is not enough to make him compelling. It is underwhelming, heavy with exposition, and not nearly pretty enough to keep you invested. If you enjoy Roman myths than you might get some enjoyment out of this, but I'm not going to let it devour any more of my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #1

Dec 12, 2014

I am a feminist and this spoke to me. It made me squirm at the male douche-baggery and cheer at the female badassery. Kelly Sue Deconnick either writes with a King Midas pen, is one of the few remaining wizards in the world, or, most likely, is just that damn good because Bitch Planet is yet another amazing series with her name on the cover.If you have been waiting for the last great comic of 2014, here it is. Now be compliant and go buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Bitch Planet #3

Feb 23, 2015

Penny Rolle is a badass and she will not stop being a badass. I'm glad Kelly is showing us the origins of these ladies and I can't wait to see what brought the other women to Bitch Planet. That being said, I have no doubt each one is going to break my heart a little bit more. Until then, I eagerly await the next issue to see what Megaton is all about. Hopefully, it has a lot more of Penny kicking some much deserved, sexist ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Feathers #1

Jan 9, 2015

Pick this up if you have kids or if you happen to like fantasy with a dose of fairy tale. It oozes style, looks great, and pulls you into a world that's as mysterious as it is fun. BOOM! has got a winner in this all-ages fantasy. Grab it before it starts flying off the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Feathers #2

Feb 6, 2015

Feathers continues to be an adventure-filled romp that isn't afraid to change up its visual dynamic. Issue two adds more backstory, growing character dynamics, and gives us more of its primary theme: the strength and power of friendship. Fun for the whole fantasy-loving family, you should get your talons into this one as soon as you can!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Feathers #3

Mar 6, 2015

The Maze and the City are coming to a head with Poe, Bianca, and R caught in the middle. The only way to find out what happens to these three unlikely friends is to start reading and get sucked in to this world that fuses Hellboy-like visuals with a Dickens-type tale. I assure you, it is well worth a fight with your fatherin order toget the cashto buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
John Carter: Warlord of Mars #1

Nov 9, 2014

John Carter: Warlord of Mars #1 sets up readers to enjoy a type of story that's been dormant since the pulp era. It aims to be a swashbuckling romp that takes place in a fantastical alien world filled to the brim with stunning beauties, gruesome monsters, and honest to goodness heroics. If Ron Marz didn't have to waste time rushing us through the titular characters back story, it could even be entertaining enough to keep me invested for future books. Sadly, I don't think I see myself taking a trip back to Mars anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #1

Feb 11, 2015

Lady Killer is a comic for every comic book fan out there that also happens to love Mad Men and pin-up photography. I just happen to encompassthat demographic, but if you just want a kick-ass book filled with assassinations, sexy ladies, and art to drool over than this is a series you should be picking up right now. Dark Horse never ceases to impress me and I will eagerly await issue three with a Manhatten in one hand and a Newport in the other.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer #3

Mar 6, 2015

Stop not reading Lady Killer and read Lady Killer. Its' leading lady is a beauty packing bullets, its' art is phenomenal, and its plot is ridiculously engrossing. Do yourself a favor and get into this series. Now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rat Queens: Braga #1

Jan 16, 2015

This Braga focused special was an enjoyable book that gave us greater insight into a fan favorite character you can't help but like. I appreciate what Kurtis is doing with her and the direction he's gone in, I just wish we got more in terms of the "reveal" and less of the overused rpg backstory. Rat Queens fans better pick this up, fantasy fans better be reading Rat Queens, and anyone else better start. Rats Queens Special: Braga #1 isn't a place to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Autumnlands #1

Nov 9, 2014

Fantasy lovers rejoice, for we can now add Tooth & Claw to our growing collection of comics in our favorite genre. Once this is collected I will be sure to set it immediately beside my Mouse Guard hardcovers, and Rat Queens paperbacks. At the moment, though, I will wait for the next issue as impatiently as a wolf lying in wait for its next meal. I too look forward to digging my teeth (and claws) into the rest of this feast of a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Autumnlands #2

Dec 5, 2014

Issue two of Tooth and Claw built upon the tragedy in issue one, showcasing the skill and power available to the sorcerers that brought about their city's destruction, but quickly reminds the audience that there are those who hate them and they are quite capable of slaughtering mages with ease. We gain an answer to last issue's cliff hanger, yet walk away with more questions regarding the Champion and what their role in the story will ultimately be. There was great action, subtle plot building, and it was gorgeous to look at the whole way through. This series is definitely sinking its claws in deep.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Autumnlands #3

Jan 23, 2015

This book is filled with great moments that help give a larger sense of the world created and show off the characters. I am genuinely excited every time an issue comes out because this is what a comic book is meant to be. If you have not started this series yet, do it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
The Autumnlands #4

Feb 23, 2015

Issue four of The Autumnlands: Tooth and Claw is another great read that builds off of the last issue while still giving you time to breathe. It feels a little static with any action being shown through flashback thus stripping it of its spontaneity, but to compensate we are given a deeper look at each of the antagonists overall goals. It definitely entices the reader to check out what's to come and I anxiously await the parley between Seven-Scars and the Champion next issue. Here's hoping Goodfoot isn't as safe as she assumes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wytches #3

Dec 19, 2014

I was not as impressed with this issue as the first two. It felt like a halt in the action, incredibly abrupt. I liked that we learned additional information regarding the woman at the end of issue two, but there was not enough given that made me feel it was worth pausing Sail's story. However, seeing her parent's reaction to her being gone and what she has written in her diary about what's been going on was a nice glimpse into the family as a whole that I really enjoyed. All in all, not my favorite issue and I hope things ramp up soon, but I'd be lying if I said this one did not keep my interest piqued.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Wytches #4

Feb 6, 2015

With two issues left in the series, I'm glad we got to delve furtherinto character relationships before the climatic appearance of the wytches. If I could brew a potion that could pour out the rest of this series I would be delighted, but since alchemy isn't my strong suit I'll just have to wait like everybody else!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More