Tyson Jones's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 12
7.0Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Assassin's Creed #10

Jul 26, 2016

There's really not much to say. This book was literally half good, half bad. Maybe it's the material? Maybe Charlotte is lacking something Aquila carries in spades? Either way, I can't say I'm looking forward to Charlotte's continued adventures. Both women will play a role in this book moving forward, but considering one has already lived her life, the main character (Charlotte) is typically going to be the focus, and that's just not an appealing thought that would keep me reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2014) #20

Jul 28, 2016

This is the kind of series I would recommend if you're ready for a new take on Deathstroke. If you want an honest to goodnessanti-hero Deathstroke, this series did it. It expanded on his character in ways that haven't been touched on before and that's what really got me into this series and what can probably get some of you out there interested to.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 11, 2016

At the end of the day, this book is off to a solid start. The art and the story look like they'll be very engaging going forward and if you're looking to learn more about the man behind the mask, this looks like the book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #3

Jul 22, 2016

Overall, fabulous art can't make up for somewhat dated characterization and uninspired villains. The questions that we asked have been answered and they didn't really live up to Percy's hope that this would be Green Arrows' "Court of Owls." This arc will likely be remembered for bringing Oliver Queens' characterization back to the days of pre-Flashpoint, amazing art, and little else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

The key takeaway from this book is really the writing and the artwork. Benjamin Percy has had a lot of people talking about this story, and for good reason. It's playing with the environment and character of Oliver Queen in both familiar and new ways and a lot of the ideas are working. It's the supporting cast that needs work, but I have faith in Percy in this regard and I look forward to seeing where Team Arrow goes through this arc and beyond.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

The ending also works in a really emotional way, and I'm not going to spoil that, but if you're a Green Arrow fan"new or old"you gotta check this book out!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

All things considered, Green Arrow #6 does a fantastic job of moving things forward for the most part. The lack of Oliver and continuation of his story hurt the book a bit, but made up for it by telling me a story I am eagerly looking forward to seeing through.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Aug 15, 2016

In summation, this is a book a lot of people probably weren't looking at, but even if you've read Red Hood/Arsenal and the original Outlaws series, this is a book worth at least checking out. The potential for an amazing series is quite shocking.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

I do look forward to seeing how Bizzaro is characterized, once he joins our heroes. Red Hood and Artemis have proven to be equal parts edgy and fun. Where Bizzaro fits in that frame will be interesting to see, but his words about his version of Bizzaro have me looking forward to the completion of the Dark Trinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #3

Jul 22, 2016

This issue put a lot on my plate as a reader, but it's like Jell-O: always room for more apocalyptic, jiggly goodness. For a property that usually gives you a group of best friends to instead be present you with this haphazardly thrown-together group of people who at mostly tolerating each other at this point has been fun. The relationships that fans are familiar with are hinted at, but also in the process of developing which makes this a fun read whether you're an old or new fan to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sonic Universe #88

Aug 15, 2016

Never read the series before, but honestly, I feel this was a solid place to hop on. The art was very well done, by Jim Amash, and Ian Flynn provided perfectly in-character dialogue. Which feels weird to say because I already feel like I know the characters so well!Point being, I had no issues with the writing here. The little tidbits included at the end were really just the icing on the cake. Loved this book and can't wait for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad: War Crimes Special #1

Aug 31, 2016

As a one-shot, War Crimes does a solid job of getting across who these people are and what they do, as well as the consequences and ideologies behind their actions. This is something I think worth handing to a newer fan of the series like myself especially if you're not keen on digging through older Ostrander Suicide Squad stories. But if they like this, it feels like a good gateway to more Squad adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More