The Walking Dead #34

Writer: Robert Kirkman Artist: Charlie Adlard Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: February 28, 2007 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 10
7.0Critic Rating
8.8User Rating

Safe for now... but for HOW LONG... and at what cost?

  • 8.0
    Eye On Comics - Don MacPherson Feb 4, 2007

    The previous issue of this series garnered a fair amount of negative reaction, as many readers didn't care for an extended and gruesome torture scene. Personally, I thought it was a natural extension of the plotlines we've seen so far and the overall theme of personal survival versus the maintenance of social order and ethics, a theme that's been integral to this series overall. With this issue, Kirkman wisely brings the story down to a more grounded and personal level, giving the readers a break from the nastiness of the previous episode. Still, he doesn't ignore what happened either; Michonne's story arc within the larger group now shifts from a mysterious tone to a grave, suspicious one. There's also plenty of zombie-killing action in this issue, which also serves as a catharsis and welcome change of pace after all of the human-on-human violence that came in the last story arc. Adlard's art is strong and a little detailed in tone than we've seen before, and he handles the action in Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comics Bulletin - Ariel Carmona Jr. Feb 5, 2007

    After a less than stellar effort last month, The Walking Dead returns with a strong rebound issue. Despite the fact the cover by Adlard and Rathburn is a bit misleading, this was a fun read which is what I have come to expect from this title. I also appreciate the fact Rathburn is turning some very cool back covers instead of giving us another advertisement. A reader in the letters column says that The Walking Dead is treating some of the reoccuring characters as sacred cows, immune to death and tragedy. This issue proves that may not be the case. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Villain Nov 1, 2016

    This issue is mostly about the groups journey back to the prison. However the reveal at the end of the comic just blew me away. It wasn't anything I was ever expecting. I feel that they may have to find some way to reverse it but I'm still interested. There is a rare back story here as well form some characters that we haven't seen in dozens of issues.

  • 9.0
    Fulcrum Feb 1, 2019

    After plunging us into the most utter depths of darkness in the last issue, this most recent Walking Dead installment brings a little much needed light into the mix. Seeing Morgan again was a nice surprise, and there was something very touching about his interaction with his son Duane. In a world where all the civilized trappings of society have been callously ripped away, there is a certain charm in one man still making an attempt to pay homage to Christmas. Some traditions do not die so easily even in the zombie apocalypse, nor should they. It’s these tiny, quiet moments such as the one where Duane loses himself in the simple joy of playing his new Gameboy that are like precious shards of gold that occasionally rise out of the dreary mu more

  • 10
    Killumgood Oct 29, 2016

  • 10
    mrethandunne Aug 9, 2021

  • 9.5
    Green Goblin May 11, 2021

  • 8.5
    comicgeniuz Dec 20, 2016

  • 8.5
    Josecab79 Apr 29, 2019

  • 8.0
    Ardash Jun 5, 2021

  • 8.0
    teenspirit Nov 2, 2021

  • 7.0
    Mister Bungle Mar 2, 2016

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More