Huck Talwar's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicWow!TV Reviews: 154
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #6

Aug 12, 2016

This is a great issue that takes us on a brand new journey with the two goofiest, coolest dudes in the Valiant Universe. I have so many questions, so I can't wait for part two of this story arc. There is a lot of mystery surrounding Armstrong at the moment, and I'm stoked to find out just what he's hiding"or what's hiding from him!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A&A: The Adventures of Archer and Armstrong #7

Sep 13, 2016

This issue progresses the straight up weird scenario of Archer and Armstrong being stuck in a circus with a bunch of Armstrong clones. It's definitely a must-read book for anyone keeping up with the series and/or fans of the series. It's enjoyable, but previous knowledge of past issues does help in understanding the storyline, so new readers probably won't like it as much as we who have been reading every issue as they are released. Nonetheless, this is a bizarre yet beautiful issue, and I can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Adventure Time #56

Sep 12, 2016

This is a great issue for any Adventure Time fan. It's the start of a great adventure, a long journey, and a lot of teamwork. Despite a focus on story instead of sequential art, this is a really fun story to read. Check it out at your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) this Wednesday, September 14th!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Adventure Time Comics #8

Feb 22, 2017

This is a really cute, short, and sweet story. It's pretty much all about Marshall, even though he barely talks the entire time. It's a great way to get a taste of the Adventure Time we all know and love, without delving really deep into an epic adventure. It's definitely worth the read, and is available at your local comic shop now!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Adventure Time: 2016 SpOooktacular #1

Sep 23, 2016

In each story, there is unique and imaginative content. From writing to artwork, the creative team on this book has done an amazing job putting together a truly spOooktacular piece of work for us to read. These stories are all loads of fun for all-ages (they aren't too scary), and make for an excellent read. Adventure Time fans, this is a must-read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Apr 27, 2017

For any and every horror, sci-fi, and Aliens fan, this issue is a must-read. It feels like this is going to be a really enthralling series, and I can't wait to see how the crew (or just the engineering officer) handles the Xenomorph(s). Stokoe has done a brilliant job on the premiere issue, and I'm already addicted. To check out this gem of a book for yourself, get out to your local comic shop and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #1.MU

Feb 6, 2017

Nonetheless, this is a good issue that adds a great deal of wonder to Monsters Unleashed. It is also a great way to see how the X-Men are doing in the fight against the Leviathons. We've got a strong team here with a smart, determined, and kind leader. Logan's legacy lives on!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Alters #1

Sep 14, 2016

The creative team has done a great job on the first issue of this series. This is a good start to Aftershock's own universe of superhero comics. The blunt and forcefulness of LGBTQ association is a little awkward, but I appreciate it nonetheless. After all, there should be a place for that discussion in mainstream comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #1

Mar 17, 2017

The ending of this issue is bound to catch your attention. It stands out from the rest of the issue in terms of content and artwork. But be warned: it is super graphic"really awesome and almost profound, but seriously graphic. This is a really enthralling read, but there's a lot more to pay attention to than just the story. The small details are what make this issue so perfect. Keep reading and keep up with all upcoming 27 issues. For any fan of horror, action, crime, and/or Gaiman himself, this is a must-read series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Angel City #1

Oct 7, 2016

This is a great issue to open up the series. True crime fanatics and crime genre readers alike will love this series. Not only is it fueled by the Black Dahlia Murder, but it explores concepts found in Hollywood crimes overall. Head to your local comic book shop and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animosity #2

Sep 16, 2016

This new series from Aftershock will definitely get you thinking. This almost post-apocalyptic story will either have you fearing animals or loving them. But either way, you're going to enjoy one awesome book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #11

Aug 29, 2016

This is a great issue that definitely mixes things up in the series. I'm not going to lie; I hope Archie and Betty get back together. At the very least, they deserve the chance to be friends (or at least not be so awkward around each other). I'm excited to see what happens next"and who the heck won the talent show?!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #12

Sep 21, 2016

This issue introduces a lot of drama into Riverdale, and takes our protagonist(s) on a journey they won't soon forget. For Archie fans, this is a must-read. Now that Betty and Archie are this close, who knows what could happen?!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #13

Oct 19, 2016

Waid continues his insanely entertaining remake of Archie with this issue. I was wondering when supporting characters would come into play, and I'm stoked that they finally are. Riverdale is about to get a lot more interesting, so make sure to stick around and see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Archie (2015) #14

Nov 22, 2016

Any Archie fan is going to love this issue. Mark Waid has been doing an amazing job with the new Archie series, despite having to work alongside so many different artists. The storyline is linear, smooth, and understandable. Not only is his writing style easily readable, but it's fun and entertaining, too. There are jokes thrown around here and there, and it really fits not only the signature laughs that Archie always has, but Waid's script as well. This is an issue that flips Archie's world upside down, so you don't want to miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #17

Feb 17, 2017

The creative team on this issue has done an amazing job pushing the story forward in a fun, entertaining, and classic Archie style. A must have for any Archie fan, issue #17 is a great read. Head over to your local comic shop and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie (2015) #17

Feb 17, 2017

The creative team on this issue has done an amazing job pushing the story forward in a fun, entertaining, and classic Archie style. A must have for any Archie fan, issue #17 is a great read. Head over to your local comic shop and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Archie (2015) #18

Mar 21, 2017

The creative team has done an awesome job with this issue, and it's a great one to add to the series. While it doesn't show all too much, it's a nice update on each character before the meat of the new story arc. If you're even moderately an Archie fan, this is definitely an issue to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archie Meets Ramones (One Shot) #1

Oct 5, 2016

This is a great one-shot from Archie, so you don't need to have any prior knowledge of the ongoing series to understand the storyline. Any fans of the franchise are going to love this issue. It does utilize stereotypes about punk rock as a genre of music and a subculture, but only to clearly get the message across. This story is just a ton of nostalgia, what with the Ramones, Archie and his gang, and the inclusion of CBGB. I fully recommend this issue to anyone looking for a good, lighthearted read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #1.MU

Jan 27, 2017

Monsters Unleashed is an event that has been well-hyped and highly anticipated. Although this issue had a few problems here and there, it still tells a great story, and is a great read for any Marvel fan"especially those who have been looking forward to this event. Head over to your local comic shop, give this issue a read, and let us know what you think either here or on some of our other social media sites: Facebook and Twitter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Baltimore: The Red Kingdom #1

Feb 3, 2017

Head to your local comic book shop and give this gem a read, then let us know what you think!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bedtime Stories for Impressionable Children #1

Feb 23, 2017

Overall, this is a great book to start the series. This issue has a ton of creepiness and eerie tones. I do wish the stories were longer, but that's pretty much the only thing wrong with the book. Horror fans are going to love this and even some impressionable children. Read with caution!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Betty Boop #1

Sep 28, 2016

This is a fantastic read for anyone who grew up with Betty Boop. You can't get this kind of nostalgia just anywhere and it is well worth the read. For those younger readers who don't know Betty Boop that well, now is your chance to become a fan. This issue is a great start to what I expect will be an insanely entertaining series. Betty Boop is back, and better than ever. This issue comes out on October 5th, so make sure to head to your local comic book shop and give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Betty Boop #3

Dec 16, 2016

Betty Boop fans, I implore you, pick up this book and give it a read. The outlandish plots and fluid character interaction make for an entertaining story and a beautiful walk down memory lane with a classic character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Betty Boop #4

Feb 10, 2017

The plot, though, is perfect. It's just crazy enough to be believable in a world like Betty's. Paired with Lagace's whimsically creepy illustrations, the story is told in a fun and exciting manner that is sure to entertain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Blood Blister #1

Feb 2, 2017

This issue doesn't hold the kind of storyline we're used to seeing these days. Fans of mainstream comics probably won't find much pleasure in reading this series, at least not with the first issue, but fans of alternative comics might. Horror fiends and political junkies, this might just be for you. It's a strange mix of themes that surprisingly mix really well together; this is definitely a title that will stand out on the shelf. I'm hoping for more depth as the series goes on, but for now, I'm pretty satisfied with the premiere issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bob's Burgers (2015) #15

Sep 16, 2016

This is a really creative and imaginative story that any Bob's Burger's fan will enjoy. I do wish Tina and Louise had a bigger part in this issue, though. I understand it's Gene's issue, but when I think of the Belchers, I don't think of just one. Otherwise, this is a great issue that showcases Gene's musical talents as well as the silly nature of Bob's Burgers overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bob's Burgers (2015) #16

Sep 29, 2016

This issue is a perfect example of the imaginative stories that Bob's Burgers exhibits. The comic book series is a bit less realistic than the TV show, but it extends the storyline to places we would never imagine. This is most definitely a must-read for any and all Bob's Burgers fans. You can pick it up on October 12 from your local comic book shop!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Boo: The World's Cutest Dog #1

Sep 14, 2016

What a great start to an amazing all ages comic! For any dog lovers and readers who are looking for a really lighthearted read to pass the time, this issue is for you. Head over to your local comic shop (comicshoplocator.com) and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Briggs Land #1

Aug 22, 2016

This is an amazing issue to start off the series. Wood's writing is enthralling beyond belief, and there's so much more to think about than just the storyline. The values that some characters hold are so warped and irrational. As of now, all I can hope is that Isaac and Grace are alive and well. For anyone into sociology, anthropology, politics, and a damn good story, you can't miss out on this!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Briggs Land #2

Sep 19, 2016

I haven't seen a creative team work more in sync with each other than this in a while. Each character has flaws, and we are reminded of them constantly. Briggs Land is a place where nearly anything can happen, so I'm at the edge of my seat waiting to see how Grace handles her new land and even what she has done in her past to make her capable of this. This series is definitely worth the read for anyone who enjoys a dramatic story with a lot of depth and characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Briggs Land #4

Nov 23, 2016

Clearly, the creative team has done its job. This series gets more and more interesting with every issue. Not only that, but I get more on edge every time I read this series. Yeah, I feel for the people in the comic, but it reminds me more of what real life is like, and any book that can evoke that kind of fear has been written almost too well. I fully and wholeheartedly recommend this book to any and every adult that can handle some offensive profanity and violence. Trust me; this is well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 11 #1

Nov 29, 2016

Any Buffy fan is going to be stoked about this new series, Season 11, and a new story arc of awesomeness! To fans of the TV show, this series is going to help you get the Buffy fix you've been craving for years. New readers are going to understand this issue just as easily as veteran readers of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I'm excited for you guys to check this series out. From writing to artwork and everything in between"shading, lettering, coloring, etc."this issue is the perfect start to the series. Get pumped and head out to your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) to pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 11 #4

Feb 20, 2017

This book poses a great question: When Buffy is already a target for the confined, how much worse can things get when she's their authority figure? We'll have to wait and find out, but I have a feeling she's going to have to deal with a lot more than just a few brawls here and there. Buffy fans, get to your local comic book shop and read this issue so you can prepare for what's coming in March!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cannibal #1

Oct 6, 2016

I'm looking forward to seeing how this series pans out. Right now, we don't have many established relationships with these characters, so I'm not as interested as I could be. However, conscious human flesh eaters make a better topic than the normal brain-eating zombie that has been the fad for quite some time now. This is a great addition to Image's lineup of books, and it's well worth the read for any horror fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #1

Oct 20, 2016

Young Animal is still a fairly new imprint under the DC Comics umbrella. The entire purpose of an imprint is to push the limit, start something new, and expand on a label that has profound energy with limitless creativity, passion, and drive"while still keeping one foot in the company that started it all (in this case, DC Comics). If Way and Rivera can bring Doom Patrol's energy and solid structure to Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye, this is going to be one amazing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #1

Oct 13, 2016

Powell and Buscema make an excellent creative team. The humor and horror are perfectly balanced, and it reads really well. If you've read The Goon and like that style of writing, you're going to love this miniseries. Dark Horse has been putting out some really interesting books lately, and this is no exception, so head to your local comic book shop and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #2

Nov 16, 2016

For a dark humorous book, look no further. Horror and comedy readers alike will love this series. It incorporates so many writing techniques and crosses genres to create one seriously entertaining story. The creative team has done an amazing job with this issue, and I couldn't recommend it more, especially to Eric Powell fans out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #3

Dec 21, 2016

This is a great miniseries that has elements for all audiences: humor, horror, drama, action, everything! Eric Powell and Stephanie Buscema make an incredibly effective creative team. Head out to your local comic book shop and read up on this series before the concluding issue comes out soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: The Accused #1

Aug 12, 2016

This is an amazing addition to Civil War II. It includes revered characters and heroes in situations that we haven't really seen them in before. I haven't disclosed what the verdict is, so you'll have to see for yourself whether or not Barton walks a free man. Make sure to pick up this issue from your local comic book shop (which can be found with the Comic Shop Locator Service). Enjoy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Civil War II: The Fallen #1

Aug 23, 2016

Regardless of whether you're a Hulk fan or not, this issue is one that can't be passed up. The death of Bruce Banner is one of the biggest events in Marvel nowadays, and will not be forgotten any time soon. With that, I'll warn you to be ready for some intense emotions, relatable reactions, and a damn good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Feb 1, 2017

Marvel is showing the darkness that lies ahead, and the heroes that fell out of heroism. Will they be able to fight their way back?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: Ulysses #1

Aug 29, 2016

The creative team has done a fantastic job on this issue, and it can only lead to more brilliance. Karnak and Ulysses have a lot of work to do, and I can't wait to see their dynamic as they take it on together.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Souls #4

Aug 30, 2016

Despite a few small inconsistencies, this issue is a great way to close out the series and complete Fira's quest. This series has also been a good way to branch Dark Souls into a different medium. For any fans of the game, I recommend checking this series out. Otherwise, it's a great read if you like really big, dramatic storylines. The creative team has put in a lot of effort on this series, and it shows.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Souls: Legends of the Flame #1

Sep 26, 2016

This is a great issue for anyone who is into really dramatic stories as well as all things horror. I'll definitely be keeping up with this series, and I fully recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story. Head over to your local comic book shop, and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Tales from the Vokesverse #1

Sep 27, 2016

This is a great collection of stories that brings back the classic type of writing that defined horror comics. For any and all horror fans, this is a must-read book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Comics: Bombshells Annual #1

Sep 6, 2016

For Batgirl fans, Suicide Squad fans, and comic lovers alike, this is a great read for you. Be sure to pick it up at your local comic book shop (use comicshoplocator.com if you're having trouble finding one) and let us know what you think!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Inside #1

Dec 22, 2016

Crime fans who like a bit of a darker story, head out to your local comic book shop and pick this issue up; you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Death of X #1

Oct 12, 2016

This issue could be the start of something HUGE. I have no idea where Lemire and Soule are going to take this miniseries, but I can't wait to find out. This is the perfect book for any Marvel fan who likes a dramatic story with a lot of action and superpowers. I'm actually not the biggest fan of superpower-driven stories, but I will definitely be keeping up with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Die Kitty Die! #2

Nov 22, 2016

This is a series that pushes the boundaries of reality but still has enough relatability to keep us interested. This is a great read for adults and teenagers (it's rated "T"). It has a fun writing style, serious themes, hilarious characters, and lighthearted artwork. Any Archie fan or Dan Parent fan is going to love this series, so head over to your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #1.MU

Feb 16, 2017

This isn't a necessary addition to the Monsters Unleashed event, nor does it show Doctor Strange's true capabilities, but this is a good issue overall. The Leviathons are seemingly unbeatable, but they can't take over the Marvel Universe"or can they? Keep reading the event's issues to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 15, 2016

I am beyond happy that there is a book from DC that doesn't fall directly in with its "popular" line of books. This series has a very clear and defined tone, voice, and theme. Fans that have read Gerard Way's previous work and those who aren't really into superheroes are going to adore this series. Having grown up with this writer, reading his words and listening to his music, I can honestly say that Way never disappoints, and he is always original. For an amazing read, pick up Doom Patrol at your local comic book shop and let us know what you think!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eclipse #1

Sep 9, 2016

This issue is the start to what I imagine will be a really interesting series. I'm left with tons of questions and a mind full of possibilities. I have no idea where Kaplan is going to take the series from here, but I do know that from this one issue alone, I'm already hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elektra (2017) #1

Feb 28, 2017

Although Elektra makes a very stealthy move, she really doesn't seem all to ninja-esque, as she's pretty out in the open. This is an interesting way to change up her character, but I'm not too sure what kind of series it'll make for. Either way, I'm stoked for more. Elektra can't seem to leave her old life behind, so there is bound to be action going forward. Keep reading to see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Enchanted Tiki Room #1

Oct 18, 2016

So far, this series has started out as more of a joke than anything. The script is funny and, even when it tries to be serious, it doesn't come across too much as that. However, the lighthearted script leaves a very likable tone throughout the story. It's funny, ironic, hyperbolic, and a great read for anyone and everyone. I do hope things get more serious, as there is really no solid plot, but for now, this presents a good introductory issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether #1

Nov 22, 2016

Anyone who likes fantasy should enjoy this series. Honestly, I'm more of a science than magic person myself, so I find Boone's views on life really interesting. I must say, my favorite part of this issue was the flashback when Boone was explaining about explanation. This is a really interesting character that I am already rooting for. I don't know what he's doing with his life after this murder case, but I want him to succeed. In any case, I have no doubt that he will. For a thoughtful read with themes bigger than just what is on the page, this book is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Extraordinary X-Men Annual #1

Sep 27, 2016

This is a great issue that showcases the X-Men in all their selfless glory. With a creative team this imaginative, this one-shot was bound to be a success!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Foolkiller (2016) #1

Nov 4, 2016

I'm not too sure what to expect, but I'm excited to see how Bemis is going to follow this up. This is a series that will be a great read for all Marvel fans, but mostly those who are looking for something new. Bemis' sophisticated writing style along with Talajic's expressive artistry creates the perfect book!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Fwendly Fwuit: Winter Wonders #1

Oct 24, 2016

This is a really cute all-ages story. It's a little hard to read because of the way the characters talk, but you get used to it about halfway through the book. Aesthetically, Lam doesn't let us down. There is always something exciting to look at, which holds our attention really well. There's a lot of movement in this issue, which keeps the story progressing at a steady, comfortable pace. For anyone who wants a good, fun, lighthearted read, look no further.The comic is available to buy from illustrator Lam's shop HERE!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Generation Zero #1

Aug 31, 2016

I'm most looking forward to meeting all of Generation Zero. I want to learn what they're like, how they operate, what made them quit the killing game, and how they're going to help Keisha solve this mystery. It's only issue #1 and I'm already hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Giant Days #18

Sep 7, 2016

This issue effectively tied up a lot of loose ends. Now that the first year is over, I'm beyond excited to see where Allison takes this group of ragtag students next. Wherever they go, I will happily follow. To read this insanely entertaining series, head over to your local comic book shop and give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Giant Days #19

Oct 4, 2016

For any Giant Days fan, you're going to love this issue. You don't really have to be keeping up with the series so far to understand it, but it helps. What I'm more looking forward to is the start of the girls' second year at college. Keep reading to see what mayhem waits at school!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Giant Days #21

Dec 8, 2016

Giant Days in itself is a really enjoyable series, what with the relatability and likeable characters. This issue stands out a bit because of the circumstances that the girls are forced to handle. It is definitely worth the read, so head out to your local comic book shop, do yourself a favor, and pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #23

Feb 8, 2017

Giant Days has grown to be one of my favorite comic book series out these days. Not only is it funny, but it's relatable. Our trio of protagonists isn't made of special people to the world. Susan, Esther, and Daisy are normal kids just trying to grow up without getting in too much trouble or hurting themselves. This truly is one of the greatest series I've read, solely because of the relief I feel when I read about these girls and think, "Huh, I'm not the only one like that." If you haven't read any of this series yet, what are you waiting for? Make a trip to your local comic shop and get hip!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Glitterbomb #1

Sep 8, 2016

This is a really great issue to start off the series. It generates enough curiosity that we want to stay and see what happens. I have a lot of questions about Farrah as well as whatever underwater"thing (for lack of a better word)"gave her the abilities she now has to live with. I am also a bit confused as to the title of the series. Hopefully it's related in some way or another. Although there is a lot to wonder about, I have no doubt that we'll get answers soon enough. For suspense/horror fans, this series is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godshaper #1

Apr 17, 2017

This is a great issue to read if you're into fantasy. The environment has some relatable elements to it, but the storyline is mostly set in a world that lets us escape our own. I'm really excited to see where Ennay and Bud end up, because their journey gets a lot more serious at the end of this issue. Intrigued? If so, head over to your local comic shop (comicshoplocator.com) and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grand Passion #1

Nov 21, 2016

This is the start to what I expect will be a series no less than enthralling. The creative team on this story has done a great job thus far, and I can't wait to see what they've got in store for us. As of now, yeah, Mabel wants to kill Mac, but I'm really rooting for their nonexistent relationship. We'll just have to keep reading to see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hadrian's Wall #1

Sep 20, 2016

This is a really great issue to start the series. Our protagonist is an unreliable narrator who I'm sure will give us a story to enjoy. Higgins and Siegel write Simon's character with a great deal of carefulness and depth. This is definitely a series that any sci-fi fan will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #15

Aug 11, 2016

This series gets better and better with every issue. At this point, I'm on the edge of my seat, because the entire fate of Harrow County is hanging by a thread. This entire series is true horror. This stuff isn't simply slasher or monster or any clich horror genre like that. This is sophisticated horror, disturbing and poignant, and is well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #16

Sep 19, 2016

This is one of the best horror series I've ever read. It goes beyond the typical horror stereotypes, and brings a deeper, more sophisticated kind of terror to the audience. This is definitely a series for all horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #22

Apr 17, 2017

This isn't a series for any old horror fan. But for those who want a little something extra to think about, a bit more than just a kill on a page, this is the way to go. I am more and more impressed with this series with every issue, and the creative team could not be doing a better job of orchestrating such a fine story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkeye (2016) #1

Dec 29, 2016

This new Hawkeye doesn't quite have the reputation that Clint has (for the most part, that's a good thing, seeing as most everyone wants to give Clint a swift punch in the face), but she's on her way to becoming"at least"an effective PI. Marvel fans, Hawkeye fans, Avengers fans, head out to your local comic book shop and give this a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #1

Sep 22, 2016

Judging by the last page of this issue, we're in for some real fun. Any Mignola and/or Hellboy fan is going to love the precision with which this issue has been orchestrated. I am beyond impressed with the story thus far, and I'm already at the edge of my seat! You can pick this issue up at your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) to start reading up on Hellboy's latest mission!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 - Ghost Moon #2

Apr 17, 2017

This is a great story for any Hellboy fans. We know how his story started, and we know his fame. But what about the events that happened in between? This series shows us just that. Hellboy working his way up to the iconic name he now has. For horror fans everywhere, this is a must-read, so head out to your local comic shop and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy: Into The Silent Sea #1

Apr 24, 2017

This is a book for every Hellboy fan out there. For an epic adventure with a horror twist and some crime thrown in, look no further. Mignola and his team couldn't have done a better job with this book, and I am beyond stoked that it comes in a hardcover format. So, what the heck are you still doing here? Get to your local comic shop and pick up a copy for your own library today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hillbilly #3

Oct 3, 2016

This is an amazing issue and a read fit for anyone who is interested in the surreal. I'd say the artwork jumps out more than anything, and it's almost a fantastical world that Powell guides us through with Rondel. I fully recommend this issue to anyone even moderately interested in this innovative blend of genres and elements.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hook Jaw #1

Dec 21, 2016

If you're a fan of the Jaws franchise, you're going to love this series. Elements of danger, adventure, action, violence, and drama are all present. Sharks, pirates, the CIA, marine biologists"what more could you ask for?!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
House of Penance #6

Sep 20, 2016

This miniseries has been quite a ride. Watching Sarah through this lengthened mental breakdown is both sad and satisfying, now that she is finally with her family. I've thought of a lot of different concepts while reading this series. Mental illness, loss of a loved one, being haunted by your past, paranormal encounters, gun control, and so much more. Tomasi and Bertram have orchestrated nothing short of a masterpiece in House of Penance"a thought-provoking and deeply disturbing masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
I Hate Fairyland #12

Apr 24, 2017

If you haven't read any of this series yet, you're missing out. We're at issue #12, so there's a bit to catch up on. Make sure to head out to your local comic shop and pick up this series! If you have been keeping up with I Hate Fairyland, make sure to let us know what you think! What do you think is waiting for Gert and Larry next?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 20, 2016

This issue exceeded every single one of my expectations. Bendis has got Doom's character down and, with Maleev's creative genius, Victor is able to go to the next level of characterization. In case I didn't imply it enough, I fully recommend this issue to any Marvel fan out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice: Ground Zero #1

Dec 14, 2016

For anyone who read the original Injustice storyline or played the game, this a great series to read in order to get a new take on the entire ordeal. Readers who are new to Injustice will enjoy it just as much, so long as they pay close attention to Harley's storytelling in this issue. Either way, this is a great read for anyone interested in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #1

Nov 16, 2016

I'm sure I'm not the only one who is absolutely pumped about the new Iron Man (Ironheart) being a female minority. Comic books are getting into equal representation, and that is beyond beneficial to not only the industry, but the community as well. Given recent incidents, there has been a lot of hate spread around concerning gender, race, sexual orientation, etc. It's awesome to see that, at least, the comic book industry isn't being fazed by such hate. I can't wait to see what super genius Riri Williams has in store for us! Head out to your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) and pick up this issue"I promise it won't disappoint you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #2

Dec 27, 2016

To any Iron Man fan, this is a must-read book. For a new look at an old character, this is a great series to read. Riri Williams has, thus far, proven to be a worthy successor to Tony Stark. The new Iron Man is well on her way to becoming triumphant, if only she can avoid the enemy fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #4

Feb 20, 2017

Fans of Iron Man, and specifically Riri, you're going to love this issue. Even so, we don't see all too much of just her"it's more of Riri, Pepper, and Tony all together. I'm not sure if I like the focus on all three instead of the title character, but it sure as hell makes for a good story. This is a great read that is going to leave you craving more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #0

Dec 9, 2016

Any fan of Inhumans or X-Men should read this book. Fans of the Marvel Universe alone need to see what chaos is revving up within this so-called "truce." This could be the start to a huge event in the Marvel Universe. If Dr. McCoy and Iso can't figure out how to keep both Inhumans and X-Men alive and safe, this means war.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Giants #1

Dec 7, 2016

This story is perfect for anyone who enjoys not only a moralistic folk tale, but a story with a lot of imagination. Readers of all ages will enjoy this beautiful story of the value of friendship and the comfort of home. This issue was just released today, so make sure to head out to your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Josie and the Pussycats #1

Sep 28, 2016

There is an old Josie and the Pussycats story in the back of the issue to help remind us exactly where this story is coming from. For fans of the classic series, you're going to love this issue as it begins a new chapter for Josie and the Pussycats. For new fans, this is a great read if you want a lighthearted story with some pretty intense themes. This issue comes out TODAY, so head over to your local comic book shop and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #9

Sep 12, 2016

Jughead #9 is an issue that changes up the characterization of a character we've gotten so used to"just a bit, anyway. This is an awesome look at Jughead acting like an actual, normal teenager (like the rest of his friends). I never would have thought to put Sabrina with Jug"North has some really fresh ideas that he is bringing to the series. With a storyline like this, there is bound to be some fun! Keep reading to see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jughead (2015) #11

Nov 30, 2016

As much as I loved this issue and Jughead's newfound friendship with Sabrina, I kind of wish the two had become an item. Yeah, it would have taken some getting used to, seeing as Jughead has never dated anyone, but they were cute. Even their pets balance out! Hot Dog and Salem are just as awesome as Jughead and Sabrina. In any case, I hope we see more of Sabrina, even though she's essentially out of the bulk of Jughead's life. I am, however, super glad that she was brought to the series in the first place. The Archie universe is doing well as a whole, and I couldn't recommend these newer books more. This issue just came out today, so head over to your local comic book shop and give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead (2015) #12

Jan 16, 2017

This is a great issue that brings a lot of fun and nostalgic themes to light: staying in on the weekend to play video games, starting a garage band that you want to go somewhere but are really just doing for the fun of it, being around people you've known forever, youth, innocence, if I go on I might start to cry. Any and all fans of Archie need to read this issue, and most definitely keep an eye out on the CW, January 26th, for the premiere of Riverdale!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jughead (2015) #13

Feb 28, 2017

Overall, I'd say this issue is a success! Well, Jughead's friends are all mad at him, but it's a fun issue to read! I'm not sure what's going to happen now that the gang is infamous, in a sense, but we'll have to keep reading to find out! Head to your local comic shop and catch up on this series as well as countless others from Archie Comics. And don't forget to tune into Riverdale on The CW to see some live action Archie!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jughead: The Hunger (One Shot) #1

Apr 6, 2017

Horror fans and Archie fans alike are going to love this one-shot. I've never read another Archie comic like it, and was sincerely bummed that it was just a one-shot. Archie is getting a lot bolder with its comic books and storylines, and this is no exception. For a great and horrifying read, look no further!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 23, 2016

If the rest of the series is anything like this premiere issue, I'm definitely a fan. You can pick up this issue at your local comic book shop now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kingsway West #1

Aug 30, 2016

Greg Pak is a creative writer with a beautiful talent for storytelling. For his first creator-owned series, he splices the fantasy and western genres together to create a strange yet satisfying story of a man simply trying to be a regular human being again. Will he ever find his wife? Will the Chinese ever let him live peacefully? Will the bounty on his head ever go away? Keep reading to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer 2 #2

Sep 21, 2016

Joelle Jones has crafted an enthralling story about crime, murder, secrets, and societal interactions. This is a great series for any and all crime fiction fans, and is well worth the read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lake of Fire #1

Aug 31, 2016

This is a great story for anyone who likes a good adventure. The language used reflects the time period, so it won't be for everyone, but definitely for fans of the medieval times. The fact that there is a sci-fi aspect to this series blows my mind. I've never really seen the two genres mixed together as much as this, but it works really well. I fully recommend you head over to your local comic shop and give it a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Locke & Key: Small World #1

Jan 12, 2017

In the back of this issue, we come to find that a lot of this issue was inspired by Richard Matheson and The Shrinking Man. It's easy to see the influences, but it warrants a second read just to see if you can pick up on them. This horror series is not only back in the comic book game, but a TV pilot is being written by Joe Hill himself, to be produced by IDW Entertainment. If it's anything like this issue, we're in for a damn good time. Get stoked! And head over to your local comic book shop to pick up the Locke & Key books to catch up on this horrific yet playfully heartwarming series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mega Princess #1

Nov 8, 2016

For a fun story about a princess who dares to defy society's dictations of the "norm," you've got to read this story. With natural dialogue and animated artwork, this all-ages book will bring fun and adventure into your life! Mega Princess comes out tomorrow, November 9th, so make sure to head out to your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #13

Nov 29, 2016

For any Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur fan, this issue is definitely one you can't miss. For new readers, this is the start of something big, so keep reading to see what happens in the rest of this new story arc! Montclare and Reeder have done an awesome job portraying both the childish and genius sides of Lunella in this issue, and it couldn't be more entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Knight (2016) #9

Dec 13, 2016

For Moon Knight fans, this issue is a must-read. If you can, though, please read the first eight issues beforehand. This is an amazing feat for Marc Spector, and an interesting storyline"seeing all of Marc's personalities is quite the page-turning event. To read this awesome book, head over to your local comic book shop and pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Motor Girl #1

Nov 10, 2016

Terry Moore is a very talented writer, artist, and creator. This series is no exception to his creative and imaginative mind. For sci-fi/fantasy readers, this series is definitely for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #32

Sep 21, 2016

Fans of My Little Pony " particularly fans of Fluttershy- will definitely want this issue. For new readers this is an interesting jumping-on point. This issue gives readers a fair idea of what the Ponies are about without drowning them in all the minutiae of a tour of Ponyville or Equestria.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Namesake #1

Nov 7, 2016

It's going to be fun to see how Jordan goes about discovering his past with so many obstacles in his way. In any case, I am more than willing to follow him as he tries to figure it out. This is a great story with an awesome science fiction feeling to it. Sci-fi fans who love adventure, this series is definitely for you. It comes out this Wednesday, so make sure to pick it up at your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com)!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Neil Gaiman's Troll Bridge #1

Oct 14, 2016

This story is one that I haven't stopped recommending since I was young, and I never will. But now, I have a different version to recommend. Doran's take on this story will leave you dumbfounded with emotion and deep thought. If you're a Gaiman fan, this absolutely has to be in your library. If you aren't, this short story might change that. Either way, check it out at your local comic book shop and let us know what you think.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Occupy Avengers #1

Nov 9, 2016

This is a sociologically and politically-driven story centered on a character with a lot of recent hype. With a new perspective on the Barton vs Banner situation, this series provides a novel and entertaining storyline to follow. It is for a bit more mature readers, but isn't at all inappropriate. At the end of the issue, we get a pretty big surprise that puts Barton and the deputy in some serious danger, so keep reading to see what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Over The Garden Wall #5

Sep 1, 2016

I'm not too sure why the usual protagonists aren't featured in this issue, but I'm not complaining. As much as I wanted to see more about their stories, this issue was surprisingly pleasant to read. I recommend this issue for anyone who wants a light read. For children who are just getting into comics, this is perfect for them to start out, too. It's an adorable, moralistic, and upbeat story that is truly a joy to read through.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet of Daemons #1

Nov 2, 2016

This is a great premiere issue to start the series. Writer Kevin Gunstone has a sophisticated way about writing the script, jumping back and forth from time periods to create a cinematic effect for readers to enjoy. For anyone who likes a story that'll make you think, this issue is a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Plastic #1

Apr 20, 2017

This book is twisted and wrong in the best way. Issue #1 is a really great start to what I think is going to be a very intriguing series. If you're someone who likes outsiders or loves the strange, this book is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Punisher (2016) Annual #1

Oct 28, 2016

This is a great issue for all fans of the Punisher and even new readers, as it is published as a one-shot. For readers of really dramatic, intense storylines, this is one you can't skip out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Reggie and Me #1

Dec 8, 2016

The Archie line of books is really making a big impact on shelves, what with Archie, Jughead, Betty & Veronica, Life with Kevin, Reggie and Me, etc. This is a great addition to books that take a closer look at each of the characters from the iconic series. For both old and new fans, this is a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Reggie and Me #2

Jan 20, 2017

Archie fans, both old and new, this is an issue you've got to read. The franchise is splitting their characters up into different series (i.e. Archie, Jughead, Betty and Veronica, Life with Kevin, etc.), and each is as entertaining as the last. True fans of the franchise need to read all of them and, I promise, this is one that doesn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rise of the Black Flame #1

Sep 8, 2016

Mignola has a knack for blending action, adventure, and horror into one cohesive, entertaining story. Even if the storyline of "kids start to go missing from a town"whodunit?" isn't a new one by any means, Mignola is still going to put his dark, twisted flair onto it and make it a unique series. This series is no exception to his masterful craft, and that's a good thing. The creative team has done a fabulous job on this series, and given us yet another flawless excerpt from the pages of Hellboy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #1

Mar 7, 2017

This series is all Lemire's. He controls it all, and is able to do whatever he wants, creatively, to give us a work of art that is truly his own. Aside from his work on Hawkeye, X-Men, Wolverine, and Moon Knight, Lemire is showing us a lot of talent here. This is a really enthralling issue that is bound to get your attention and never let it go. For your own good, visit your local comic book shop and give this a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Dragon #218

Dec 13, 2016

Larsen has done an amazing job continuing Malcolm Dragon's story, and I cannot wait to see what happens next. For long-time fans, I don't have to tell you how amazing Larsen's work is. New readers: Even though Savage Dragon is at issue #218, it's still worth it to start reading. I strongly suggest that all of you (of age"18+) head out to your local comic book shop and read up on this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Simpsons Comics #234

Nov 25, 2016

One of the biggest names in pop culture history is still going strong with this issue, and I fully recommend it for any and all Simpsons fans out there. Head over to your local comic book shop and give it a read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Skybourne #1

Sep 7, 2016

This series has started by throwing us straight into the action. We don't have too much of a backstory or background information to go off of yet, but with time, I'm sure Cho will provide us with whatever we need to better understand the storyline. For now, Skybourne is a pleasant surprise of a book. I'm willing to bet this series is going to be pretty darn cool, with a lot of historical relevance. For anyone who enjoys a good King Arthur/Excalibur story, this is a great take on a classic that is sure to keep you entertained.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Slam! #1

Nov 15, 2016

For Roller Derby members or fans, you're going to love this series. Readers who aren't too familiar with the sport are going to benefit reading this issue as somewhat of an introduction to the world of Roller Derby. This sport breeds close relationships, and this series takes us through one of the closest there can be. This is going to be an interesting story to follow, so head over to your local comic book shop (comicshoplocator.com) tomorrow to pick up a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Slam! #2

Dec 19, 2016

Derby fans, you're going to love this series. It doesn't glorify Roller Derby as much as it does rationalize it. We don't just see the excitement of the competition; we see the practices, the background and personal lives of the skaters, and more. This is a great series for anyone who has a personal passion they need to balance with everyday life. For a lighthearted read with deeper undertones and themes, look no further!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Slam! #4

Feb 21, 2017

For Roller Derby fans and BOOM! Studios readers, this is definitely a must-read. The series is getting interesting, and I'm hoping both the main characters have a bit more to go through so we can identify with them a little. In terms of their friendship, it has just been rekindled, so the possibilities are endless as to what kind of trouble they can get into together! This is all, of course, only if CanCan doesn't have a massive concussion from that Knockout tackle. But who knows? We'll just have to read and see!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Snotgirl #4

Dec 6, 2016

This issue pushes forth the mystery of what the heck John has to do with Lottie other than be a fan of her blog. It's only a matter of time before we come find out what's really going on here. For a truly fun and even suspenseful read, Snotgirl is the way to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sombra #2

Aug 22, 2016

This is a great issue to move the story forward. Now that Danielle and Conrad have a chance to talk, it'll be interesting to see how they react to one another. While both work for the same team, they have each chosen radically different paths. I'm looking forward to seeing how they work things out or battle each other head on!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Speak No Evil #1

Sep 13, 2016

The creative team has done a fantastic job on this issue. It really grabs your attention and is worth the read. This series is the first to be launched through Gray Bear Comics, an independent company run by the writers of this issue: Justin Corbett and George Tripsas. Along with Gray Bear Comics, Justin and George host and co-host podcasts: Comical (Justin) and Metal Geeks (George). Gray Bear is just getting started, so get ready to see some new projects in the future!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Speak No Evil #2

Mar 24, 2017

This is a really interesting storyline that seamlessly blends action, adventure, and history. I'm curious as to what Silas and Edwin have released. If Tesla was so scared that he abandoned his work, what the heck are these two kids going to do about it?! I'm stoked to see where Tripsas and Corbett take this series. If you are to, make sure to pick this issue up and give it a read! You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 26, 2016

Something you wouldn't expect is that the sisters' house is really vibrant. Marissa Louise's colors help emphasize Leth's creation of an everyday type of witch. This so epically breaks the stereotype that witches are dark, morbid, scary creatures. These women look and act like normal people. This isn't, of course, the first time we're seeing a "normal" witch, but it definitely makes for a good story. For a fun and adventurous read, look no further!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spell On Wheels #2

Nov 23, 2016

The creative team has done a wonderful job creating a linear and simple-yet-entertaining storyline. These three witches don't fit the "witch" stereotype, which is bittersweet to me, personally. When I read about witches, I want a lot of cleverness, slyness, and witchcraft at play. However, in this story, the girls are just normal people; we don't even get to see too much of their powers. It's awesome that the "evil witch" thinking is being debunked, but I sort of miss it"at least the magic. We'll just have to keep reading to see whether or not these girls get control of their items and magic going forward. You can pick up this issue and issue #1 at your local comic book shop now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Waypoint #1

Sep 27, 2016

By definition, anthology series tend to be uneven. A story that appeals to a certain group of readers may not appeal to others. IDW has a very talented and diverse staff of writers and artists. It will be interesting to see what happens when some of these dissimilar yet highly talented storytellers are given an opportunity to share their visions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 23, 2016

This is a great series to follow up the release of the film. Despite mixed reviews about the theatrical version, this series looks pretty promising. For any DC fans out there, this book is worth the read. Check it out, see if you like it, and let us know what you think!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Powers #1

Dec 2, 2016

This is a great story for kids who want to get into superheroes, but aren't quite mature enough to handle stories like Arkham Asylum. For superhero fans who want a story with as much drama but a bit of a lighthearted execution, this is definitely the book for you. DC Comics doesn't have an overwhelming number of all ages comics, but the ones they do have are both adorable and entertaining. Head over to your local comic book shop, give this a read, and keep up to see what Lex Luthor is planning next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tank Girl: Gold #1

Oct 3, 2016

This is a great start to the next Tank Girl story arc. The last left us feeling the feels, but this one has us both confused, stricken with laughter, and curious as to what this group is going to do with so much Nazi Gold"ahem, I mean Tank Girl Gold. Whatever they choose, I'm sure it will be nothing short of EPIC.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Tank Girl: Gold #4

Mar 6, 2017

Being a long time Tank Girl fan, I might be biased when I say that everyone should read this issue. However, it's much better to have read the series before starting at issue #4, so head out to your local comic shop and catch up! Tank Girl is a character that we can relate to, envy, hate, love, and everything in between. It's going to be interesting seeing her team deal with World War II"this is going to be good, so make sure you keep reading along!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tank Girl: Two Girls, One Tank #4

Aug 29, 2016

This is an intense conclusion to the epic series that is Two Girls, One Tank. But don't fret! Tank Girl: Gold is coming in September! Meanwhile, catch up on this series and see what shenanigans our gang of misfits got into! Also, find out which friend Tank Girl decided to save!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Universe #1

Sep 6, 2016

TMNT fans are going to love this series; it's a fun read. However, I doubt it will draw in many new readers with so many other reboots going on. I'm most excited to see what the new villain is like and how they're going to play into all this madness. We'll have to keep reading to see what'll happen!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Clone Conspiracy #1

Oct 14, 2016

We've waited a long time for this series, and I can honestly say that it was well worth the wait. Slott, Cheung, and Ponsor make an excellent creative team, bringing us emotion and action packed into one solid first issue. This is definitely a can't-miss series for any and all Spider-Man fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Deep #1

Jan 19, 2017

This is a great series for fans of the Netflix show, the action/adventure genre, and ocean life. This is a series that will pull you in and never let go. Now that I've read issue #1, I'm ready for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Great Divide #1

Sep 9, 2016

This is a great issue that starts a really unique series. The concept of a virus breaking out isn't new at all, but spreading through skin contact is fairly fresh, and it's a great way to add an element of urgency and danger to the situation at hand. This is truly a great read, and I fully recommend it to any and all of you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Killer Inside Me #2

Oct 4, 2016

None of this should take away from the fact that this is a brilliant and faithful adaptation of a classic.Fans of Dexter, Hannibal,and Patrick Batemanwho want to take it to the next levelneed to read this. People who want to meet a real monster need to read this. People who want to understand what Hannah Arendt meant by 'The Banality of Evil.' need to read this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Visitor: How And Why He Stayed #1

Mar 3, 2017

This science-fiction bit of Hellboy's supernatural storyline is something completely unexpected but incredibly intriguing. For longtime fans of Hellboy and new readers alike, this is the perfect read to get your "From the Pages of Hellboy" fix. The Visitor is bound to witness what his race thought couldn't exist: a demon turned hero. But knowing Hellboy, there are probably going to be tons of obstacles along the way. I don't know about you guys, but I'm beyond stoked to stick around and see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Visitor: How And Why He Stayed #2

Apr 19, 2017

This issue seems like more of setup for the third issue. More than anything, we just learn a little more about how the Visitor has gotten acclimated to life on Earth. I get the feeling we'll explore his past a little more, so now is definitely the time to start really reading this series if you haven't already started! Head to your local comic shop and pick up a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Wicked Righteous #1

Jan 11, 2017

This issue is aesthetically pleasing, intellectually stimulating, and very entertaining. For fans of science fiction and/or post-apocalyptic stories, this is definitely a must-read book. If the rest of the series is anything like this issue, we're in for a treat!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The X-Files: Origins #1

Aug 30, 2016

This issue is a great read for any The X-Files fan. Serving as a prequel to the series, this series doesn't require much prior knowledge of the concept to understand it. This series should be really fun to keep up with. Let's find out just how Mulder and Scully became the unbeatable duo they are!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ultimates 2 #1

Nov 30, 2016

Seeing as the Ultimates are essentially being forced together again, it'll be really interesting to see how they work together. For now, things are way too intense to tell. This series does look really promising, though, with tons of drama, action, adventure, and some epic teleportation! This is a great book for any Marvel fan, and even more so for superhero lovers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #15

Oct 13, 2016

This is a great issue to add to the series. It paints a clear picture, has action and humor, and carries a really interesting storyline. For any Marvel fan, this is a must-read book. Avengers, ninjas, and a skilled assassin? What more could you want?!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Inhumans #1.MU

Feb 10, 2017

This is a good addition to the Monsters Unleashed event, and is published as a one-shot so it doesn't have all too much weight in the event as a whole, but is still a great story for any fan of the Inhumans. Head to your local comic book shop and check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 16, 2016

I'm assuming next issue will be about Rock, so make sure to pick up a copy and learn more about this infamous couple! This series, so far, looks like it might put the criminals in a better light than usual, so this should be a great read. History buffs and crime readers, get your fix with Violent Love!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Violent Love #2

Dec 13, 2016

I'm really interested to see how this story pans out. Daisy is one loose cannon as of now, so it'll be fun to watch how she goes about this whole revenge thing. The frame story also adds an element of intrigue. Why is this story being told to a young child? How will it affect her life? What does she think of it? Crime fans, this is a must-read, so get on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Warlords of Appalachia #1

Oct 11, 2016

The premise of this storyline is one we've all thought about, especially in modern times with our current political problems and authoritative corruption. Connecting a work of fiction to our lives is the best way to grab readers' attention, and Johnson does it well. This series is a great way to look at the consequences of political unrest, "defiant" or "free" citizenship (you choose), and standing up for what one thinks is right. Anyone who enjoys a dramatic storyline with political undertones is going to love this series"a beautiful work of prospect indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #1

Sep 1, 2016

This is a very gloomy, impressive start to the new story arc. I'm excited to see Edward's character develop a bit more"maybe he'll even end up working with the Brotherhood of Ra. The creative team has done a fine job of drawing us in; subsequent issues will tell if they'll keep our attention or not. Meanwhile, for any fan of Mignola or the pages of Hellboy, this is most definitely a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2

Sep 29, 2016

This is a great way to continue the series. The mystery is slowly starting to unfold, and it is just getting good. Witchfinder: City of the Dead is going to be an awesome series. For fans of Hellboy, Mignola, and horror, you can't miss out on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Nov 28, 2016

For a truly epic team-up filled with suspense and intrigue, head to your local comic book shop on December 7th to pick up this issue. Call ahead to make sure your shop orders it, and enjoy the political undertones, action, and a heroic call-to-action that is sure to leave an impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #2

Feb 3, 2017

Both DC Comics and Dynamite Entertainment have done a fabulous job with this second issue. The bond between Wonder Woman and the Bionic Woman is strong and getting stronger, so the looming danger probably isn't going to defeat them entirely. I'm not sure how they're going to get out of the pickle they're in currently, but I can't wait to find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
World Reader #1

Apr 20, 2017

This is a really simple issue to start off what is bound to be one rollercoaster of a series. We only meet three characters in this issue, but they all have strong personalities that will be interesting to watch progress as the story moves forward. For now, head out to your local comic shop and pick up issue #1 so you can keep up with this madness!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
WWE: Then. Now. Forever #1

Nov 8, 2016

Illustrated by: Dan Mora, Rob Schamberger, Rob Guillory, Daniel Bayliss, Derek Fridolfs

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men Prime #1

Apr 10, 2017

Illustrated by: Ken Lashley, Ibraim Roberson, Leonard Kirk & Guillermo Ortego

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 19, 2017

The creative team on this series has done a superb job so far, and I am more than ready to read more. Are these X-Men going to try to get back to their time? Will their "leader" direct them to do good or bad? Will they listen? What threat is next, and how will they deal with it? This is an issue that any and every X-Men fan needs to read. So, what are you waiting for? Get to your local comic shop and pick up a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More