Ian Cullen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: SciFiPulse Reviews: 46
9.3Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Army of Darkness/Xena: Warrior Princess #1

Sep 27, 2016

Overall though. This is a fun first issue, which does a superlative job of capturing the spirit of both Xena Warrior Princess and Ash and Army Of Darkness. I look foreword to seeing how things pan out in the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Back to the Future #11

Aug 31, 2016

Having spent pretty much the whole weekend reading all 11 issues of this comic. I am now wanting to have more ‘Back To The Future' and the odd conundrum or two for Marty and Doc to solve. Which is something that seems to be happening as IDW continues on to the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Back to the Future #12

Sep 30, 2016

As a regular reader of this series. I'm hoping that this is truly a one shot because I'd like to get back to the time travelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Back to the Future: Citizen Brown #4

Sep 8, 2016

The art work byAlan Robinson is fantastic. I love the alternate dress code of 1986B and its a load of fun seeing Marty's girlfriend Jennifer in full punk rock regalia. But its the scenes set in the 30's that really show off Robinson's work here. His attention to detail and the specalative look of Doc's invention of the flying car is brilliant fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Doctor Who: The Third Doctor #1

Sep 12, 2016

Paul Cornell does some outstanding work in that he finds the character voices with great ease.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Doctor Who: The Third Doctor #2

Oct 19, 2016

If your a fan of the television adventures of the Third Doctor. Then you can't really go wrong with this comic book iteration. Paul Cornell's love of Doctor Who and snappy dialogue really shines through in this series. So much so that I can't wait to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Doctor Who: The Third Doctor #3

Nov 28, 2016

This book continues to be an event for me in the truest sense of the word. I hope that Titan will give the nod to do more Third Doctor stories and maybe some Second Doctor ones too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Flash Gordon: Kings Cross #1

Oct 27, 2016

Overall though this is an enjoyable start to another Adventure for Flash Gordon and his friends and I look forward to reading the next issue with great anticipation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Grimm (2016) #1

Sep 5, 2016

The art work by M.L. Sanapo pretty solid, but the likeness to the television characters wasn't to great. Which can be bothering on occasion, but in this instance the art was consistent throughout the book. I liked the opening sequence of the robbery.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Grimm (2016) #2

Oct 4, 2016

Again the art work byM.L. Snap services the story, but any likeness to the television characters is not that great, but I do like his interpretation of the characters in spite of this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Hard Case Crime: Peepland #1

Oct 12, 2016

Peepland goes on sale today and is a promising start to what could be an interesting look at crime in the mid 1980s.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hellblazer (2016) #2

Oct 7, 2016

I look forward to issue 3 with great excitement to see where else this mystery will lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Hellblazer (2016) #3

Nov 1, 2016

The artwork by Moritat seemed a little inconsistent in this issue. Specially when the scene changed to Swamp Thing and Mercury in the ROT. I'm not sure if it was the colours or the art generally. But the overall image quality seemed to visibly drop a little when in the ROT. It was a little like going for HD to Analogue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Hellblazer: Rebirth #1

Aug 27, 2016

I have a feeling that I may be reading a few more issues of 'The Hellblazer' in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
James Bond #9

Sep 13, 2016

I look forward to reading issue four of this book as and when it comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
James Bond: Felix Leiter #1

Jan 11, 2017

This is a fairly good start. Not spectacular by any stretch of the imagination, but it's a strong enough start to keep me interested enough to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
James Bond: Hammerhead #1

Oct 6, 2016

As opening issues go. This was pretty solid story telling. I'm sold enough on this to keep my eyes open for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #3

Sep 1, 2016

The closing pages of this issue give us much to look forward to. And I really like Skyfox's simple plan to kick some ass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Lake of Fire #1

Aug 27, 2016

Over all though. This story has got off to a bit of a mixed start. But I'm intrigued enough to come back and try the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
M.A.S.K.: Revolution #1

Oct 1, 2016

M.A.S.K. Revolution is a great introduction to this world and a fantastic jumping on point if you are a newbie like me. I can't recommend this highly enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Masked #1

Nov 25, 2016

For a first issue. This does the job perfectly and it is a comic that I will most likely follow in the months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Mycroft Holmes #2

Sep 10, 2016

Again the action in Apocalypse handbook is brilliantly drawn and laid out and has a certain cinematic quality that makes you want to see this as a movie or even an animated film. Hopefully someone out there with the skills and the passion will one day make the film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Mycroft Holmes #3

Oct 25, 2016

Titan Comics have really found a top class team here and I hope that they get to do a lot more work with Titan in the years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Mycroft Holmes #4

Dec 23, 2016

The writing of this comic continues to be top notch. Raymond Obstfeild has been doing an awesome job of transcribing Kareem Abdul-Jabbar's novel into a comic book and has been helped massively by the brilliant art of Joshua Cassara.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Skybourne #1

Sep 9, 2016

All this said. I'm hooked in enough to want to read the next issue to see where all this is going to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Skybourne #2

Oct 29, 2016

I particularly enjoyed the banter between Swiggy and Thomas at the start of the issue and I love that this world has pre cogs and psychics and such. Love the use of mythology in this book and the fact that Merlin is portrayed as more of a villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Trek: Boldly Go #1

Oct 20, 2016

The writing by Mike Johnson is pretty confident and he seems to have the voices of the characters down pretty well. The art byGeorge Caltsoldas and Tony Shasteenworks well in servicing the story. I loved the visual of Uhura in full Vulcan dress.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Star Trek: Boldly Go #3

Dec 16, 2016

We are left with an exciting Cliffhanger, which again borrows from ‘Best Of Both Worlds', but instead of Picard. It is Spock who will be borgified. Will Kirk have the gumption to fire on his best friend?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Star Trek: Boldly Go #4

Jan 20, 2017

As you recall. I initially complained about this being kind of a clone of ‘Best Of Both Worlds', which it was. But I am happy to say that this final issue kind of changed the story significantly enough for it to be able to stand on its own. Especially given how Spock was used in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Wars (2014) #22

Aug 29, 2016

My guess is the third issue will seeSergeant Kreel and his Elite Squad of Stormtroopers dispatched to mess with the rebels. I look forward to seeing the potential stand off.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Star Wars (2014) #23

Sep 29, 2016

Great issue. Can't wait to read the next one. I kind of want it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Star Wars (2014) #24

Oct 29, 2016

This issue is an epic battle from pretty much start to finish and we get some great art work from Jorge Molina depicting Lukes battle with Kreel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Star Wars (2014) #26

Dec 31, 2016

Hopefully this story picks up a little more next issue because this opening chapter was really hit and miss with me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Star Wars: Han Solo #3

Sep 1, 2016

I really look forward to learning about Han's old friend in issue 4.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Suicide Squad: War Crimes Special #1

Sep 3, 2016

All in all this first issue serves as a fairly good jump on point for anyone wanting to check out 'Suicide Squad', but it will not blow away those that have read the previous incarnations of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Mummy #1

Nov 1, 2016

To sum up this opening issue is very well presented and even includes an article by Hammer Films expert Marcus Hearn who talks about the 1959 Hammer film on which this particular comic book series is based on. Five variant covers are available. All of which are great!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Six Million Dollar Man: Fall of Man #3

Sep 7, 2016

All in all this reads like a glossier high budget episode of ‘The Six Million Dollar Man'. It is great as both anentertaining comic and a piece of 70s nostalgia. Great work! More please.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Six Million Dollar Man: Fall of Man #4

Nov 8, 2016

Dynamite have done a super job with this book and I hope we'll get to see more comics based on the original ‘Six Million Dollar Man' in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Six Million Dollar Man: Fall of Man #5

Dec 5, 2016

I bet that would have gone down real well in the 70's. Perhaps not.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #1

Sep 21, 2016

The artwork by Edgar Salazar is pretty impressive. I loved the panels in which we saw the various vampire characters feeding because they were as graphic as you can get on the comic book page. I also liked his attention to detail with the various uniforms and weaponry of the roman centurions in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #2

Oct 24, 2016

With great writing and art work. This is a brilliant tie in to the series and gives us lots of insight into one of ‘The Strains' most loved, but most mysterious characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #3

Nov 10, 2016

This is a comic book series that is the perfect partner to ‘The Strain' television series and I continue to look forward to each and every issue. Dark Horse have done some fantastic work on this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #4

Dec 15, 2016

Dark Horse have done an awesome job with this series and I hope that we'll get to see more like it in the new year. Perhaps a few adventures with Abraham Setrakian during the 60s when he was hunting the strigoi on his own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #5

Jan 13, 2017

If you haven't read this mini series. Then I recommend you get the trade when it is released. This is a true extension of 'The Strain' series that fans will love. It will be well worth the investment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 24, 2016

It will be interesting to see where this goes in the other issues, which are to come. But for me it is the art work that kept my attention throughout this. Nothing wrong with the writing as such. I just wanted something to happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 #27

Sep 17, 2016

With a movie of ‘Wonder Woman' due out next year. This is a great time to check this comic out for what I suspect is a lighter and more fun take on the iconic character.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More