Johnny "The Machine" Hughes's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 176
7.7Avg. Review Rating

10
2000AD #2000

Sep 28, 2016

Whilst the cynic in me balks at the inclusion of so many fan pleasing character and tropes, if you can't indulge yourself on your 40th birthday when can you? Just remember, it is said that life begins at 40!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Man #1

Jun 23, 2016

As with the other toy line books from IDW, I am not sure of their relevance in today's gadget focussed kids and the perpetual need to be plugged into something. The lack of consistent context may well be seen as good thing the all those involved as they try to reset the board and give this long loved and lived war-time hero a place in today's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Agents of P.A.C.T #1

Mar 2, 2017

I am not sure what to make of this book. Team books may well be back in vogue thanks to the Big Two movies franchises that seem intent on throwing more heroes at the screen, than the hero count in a multi-issue crossover storyline. Looking at the ads in the book, it seems that Chapterhouse have some cool ideas. I just had hoped for better execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All New Fathom (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

I was going to say it's a shame that books as good as this, aren't with a big publisher. Firstly, looking at the price point, $3.99 is lot to pay for a comic book and there are number of Big Two books at that price that don't have as much fun or quality in them. Secondly, independent books publish the types of books that the Big Two can't or won't publish. With this book, Aspen and the comic publisher she has inspired is definitelymaking a splash on the comic book racks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
American Gods: Shadows #1

Mar 9, 2017

All in all, this book is an enjoyable read, whether you view it as a re-imagining of the original or are totally new to American Gods. Oh, and by the way, that episode of Star Trek was called "Who Mourns For Adonais?"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Angelic #1

Jul 19, 2017

This then is the main strength of the book; cartoon style art coupled with almost adult language that delivers some pretty mature messages, gender equality and roles to name a couple. In Angelic, Image may well be looking to foster a book that can promote some of the challenges that we face in the real world, to a younger, more impressionable audience in the hope that they can build a better future. We just need to make sure that the target audience actually enters a comic book shop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animosity: The Rise #1

Feb 2, 2017

After the initial wave of books that impressed, AfterShock, for me at least, fell intoa kind of holding pattern. This was always going to be likely as a new publisher looks to make a splash then solidify their place in the market. Reading this book, I am glad to see that this particular publisher is once again putting out the sort of book that gained so many plaudits last year.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #1

Jun 27, 2016

With the amount of comics that DC are pumping out in a month, Aquaman needs to a premium book to escape the following tide. On this issue alone, I think that ship has, unfortunately sailed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #25

Jun 27, 2017

With Aquaman's appearance in the up and coming Justice League movie gaining a lot attention, it's about time that DC got around to showing Arthur Curry and his fans, some love. With Abnett and Sejic on board, it is now safe to go back into the water.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Atomic Blonde: The Coldest City #1

May 17, 2017

As I mentioned, with so many books gaining a film release, I decided to check out the trailers for the movie to give me some context. What I found was an action film, touted a the “next John Wick”, with explosive violence, Hollywood lesbians, thigh high boots and a blonde star. The film looks so dramatically different from this book, that if anyone buys this book after seeing the film they may well face the biggest disappointment since buying The Killing Joke graphic after seeing the movie and expecting to see a Batgirl story. I am all for artistic licence, but could this be seen as a case for the Trade Discrimination Act! Ploughing through this book, I am left weary and unmoved, not the greatest experiences to be had in thecomic book world.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: Empty Graves #3

Jun 1, 2016

It's been a while since I hung out in Baltimore's world. Whilst I can't say I haven't really missed looking at the book, I am glad to see that his quest is heating up. Regardless of the victor in this mini series, I can't help that Baltimore will definitely be a step closer to the final battle against his arch nemesis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bastard's Waltz #1

Jul 26, 2017

Darby Pop are getting into the habit of putting out some thought-provoking books of late. Bastard's Waltz fits their business model perfectly, given that you can't really help but shout for, essentially, the bad guy! At the core of the story is the idea that the characters are true to themselves. It will be fun to see how both John and Ezekiel world views impact and influence each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #1

Aug 2, 2016

This book still has a Barbara Gordon that reads a little too young for my taste. But,overall, the art and the context of the story makes me quietly hopeful for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #12

Jul 17, 2017

I can't blame the fall of the this book on just the current crop of creators. Since Simone left the first time, this book has been in free fall. Not even Simone's return pre-New 52 could reignite the magic. For true fans of Batgirl, Black Canary and the Huntress, please get some top talent on this book, before the lack of anything of substance causes its cancellation and the cries of non diversification are placed squarely at your feet!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey: Rebirth #1

Jul 22, 2016

This is one of the few books that isn't “Rebirthed” from an existing book. Therefore, this is a prime time for DC to claw back some of the female led stories market that Marvel are exploiting so well. Instead, we get a book, set after the first arc of Batgirl's own book thereby minimizing any impacts that may occur in there, that seems to relive its own history, without really learning from it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 9, 2017

Despite a lack of had copies of Batman #24 in the UK and the fact the conclusion was given away by the media and anyone with an itchy Twitter-finger, to dismiss this book as a gimmick would be fool hardy. The quality of the journey is more than up to the destination, even if at this point the destination is actually just a pit stop. I, for one welcome King's attempt to give Bruce and alternative focus, to add a further layer of context to his actions, to possibly even contradict how Bruce reacts with the rest of his supporting cast. Of, course there will be questions; can you really tame a cat? Will this make Bruce more vulnerable? Should he lose Selina, how will this affect Batman and his war on crime? All great questions, to be sure and under King's guidance we will have to see how this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman/The Shadow #1

May 2, 2017

Readers of my reviews and listeners ofThe Definitive Crusade podcast,should know a few things about me by know. Fishnets rock, I am the DC Jeopardy king and I love both Batman and The Shadow. With a crossover like this,the temptation is to over critique as expectations are not normally met. Where this book is different, is that whilst my expectations were not met; they were surpassed. I would urge anyone who feels that current comic books rely on events too much to go and pick up this old school book, with two old school characters, created for the old school reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 2, 2016

After the fantastic Rebirth #1 issue, I was hoping that the main books would continue to create the same level of excitement. It may be then, we have been a tad spoilt. For all the freshness that this book appears to hold, under further scrutiny its polish does indeed tarnish. Moving forward, this book may indeed be a solid starting point for both Duke and the Calendar Man, but in light of last weeks Rebirth revelations, this issue feels like a step backwards. In the past, Snyder has taken one issue characters and moved them front and centre at a later stage. This is may be the course that Kring is plotting, leading to this book having a greater impact then it seems at this first sight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Beautiful Canvas #1

Jun 28, 2017

Co- creators Lindsay and Kivela have wrapped up a story about the duality of a persons nature, in a crime story featuring super powers. I am not sure what is going to happen next, but I will definitely wait and see the bigger picture that this Beautiful Canvas will be a part of.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bettie Page #1

Jul 20, 2017

Reading through this book, I can't help but be reminded of the Jane comic strip by Norman Pett. For those not in the know, Jane was a morale boosting character, popular during the Second World War, who had a tendency to lose her clothes. Both characters tend to get themselves inadvertently caught up in traps through misadventure, although the former manages to do it at the same time as losing her clothes. This then leads to the confusion that I feel about this book. With such a prominent character the focus of the book, coupled with everyone's opinion of the “Queen of Bondage” there will quite a few fans of Bettie that may well be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot: Salvation #1

Aug 1, 2017

Valiant are known for books that push the envelope in some way. Their recent history has set us up for that trend to continue. Therefore, it comes as quite a shock that this book, a possible flagship for the company, resorts to a trope that is instantly recognisable. I am hoping that Lemire's skill will seep through and entice readers past the obvious comparison and into a new take on one of their most popular characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Blue Beetle (2016) #7

Mar 28, 2017

For a while, fans have been clamouring for the return of Ted Kord. Now that he is back, I am not sure this is the Kord they wanted. Seems to me, fans want the Blue and Gold team back, rather than just one part of it. Cast your mind back to the new 52; the Justice League International book featuring Booster got cancelled, as did the Blue Beetle book starring Jaime Reyes. What does that go to show you? Blue and Gold are stronger together, than they are apart. Now we have Kord with two partners who couldn't hold down a regular monthly book after trying and failing recently. Could this be the first Rebirth book to be cancelled? Time will tell, but after reading this latest issue. I can safely say that, regarding this book,my ignoranceis still very blissful.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Briggs Land: Lone Wolves #1

May 24, 2017

Briggs land is an interesting read, presenting as it does, a different way of life and potentially how a government would act towards such a viable case for secession. If America is truly the Land of the Free, why can't a group secede? I do have questions about life in the New Land, how do they buy food? How do they pay for stuff? How does their economy work?How do they know about cell phones (mobile phones to us Brits)? These question are mentioned not as means to decry or debunk this book; they are asked as a sign of respect to a creative team who produced a book that has sincerely piqued my interest. I look forward to discovering the answers along with the further developments of this ongoing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Brik #2

Aug 17, 2016

This story isn't a new in any shape of form. Golem's or Tulpa's have been part of comics as frequently as any other type of horror trope. In the capable of hands of all involved, this is book that screams honesty in its characters and their motivations.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brik #5

Nov 27, 2016

Brik has been a surprising read. At each turn, Drew's life has the potential to fall apart, but despite the surrounding despair there are lights that spring hope eternal that entices the reader into wanting Drew to succeed in South Yonkers, where others have faltered and failed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Brutal Nature #1

Mar 22, 2017

For a book that, at first, didn't seem to offer much, the surprises come thick and fast. There is a simplicity to the storytelling, being as this is the first issue. Yet, there are enough questions left hanging to indicate that things are going to get a little more complicated. I am normally quite critical of the current trend of story compression to fulfil the demands of TPB format. But here, I am not sure that four issues will be enough for many readers who may well want more issues of Ich's adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bubble Gun (2017) #1

May 18, 2017

This book has it all; kick ass characters, doomed romance; a possible turncoat; a secret weapon and of course an over top big bad in the shape of Mr Penny. What's not to like in this tech-punk laden world where even the thieves can be the good guys?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Calexit #1

Jul 5, 2017

Comics are meant to be entertaining. The fact that top notch creators such as Matteo Pizzolo and Amancay Nahuelpan, along with Briggs Land creators Brian Wood and Mack Chater, can weave the political fallout of secession and present a different version of the United States into engaging books that can challenge a readers perception, is one of the great flexibilities of comic books. Not everything has to revolve around the cape and cowl crowd.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Kid #1

Jul 28, 2016

Books that throw a curveball into recognisable formats have been a bit of a mainstay in comics since Kick-Ass. As such, they run the risk of becoming as part of the community as the books they are trying to either emulate of take apart, before putting the pieces back together to make a new whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Captain Kid #4

Jan 19, 2017

After the initial hoopla of AfterShock Comics first round of books, the company seems to have settled in to a holding pattern on consolidation. If true, this is a great idea from Editor-in-Chief Mike Marts as the company won't want a deluge of books watering down the overall quality; yes, I am looking at you, Marvel and maybe glancing a little at DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Catalyst Prime: Noble #1

May 3, 2017

Reading the book, I was aware of a certain vacuous experience.Whilst comics are meant to be escapism, I do prefer my character to have something to hold onto. Here, with a man with no past, where is the connection? The connection is going to have to come from Astrid and her mission, which I am sure we will see beginning in the next couple of issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Chum #1

May 11, 2016

Whilst this book may not offer anything new to the whole crime noir genre, the setting help create an unusual juxtaposition between paradise and hell. Under the writing skills of Lindsay and the art of Kivela, I am going to enjoy my visit to Kingsford, it surely meets the definition of a great place to visits, but I would hate to live there."

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Chum #3

Jul 6, 2016

Writing – 3 StarsArt -3.5 starsColors – 4 stars

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cinderella: Serial Killer Princess #1

Dec 7, 2016

As I alluded to, it depends with which part of the brain you use to read this book which will determine your enjoyment. If you take books too seriously (as I sometimes do), then reading this book will only serve to make your eyes roll so hard you will get dizzy. On the other hand, if you have a itchin' for a sassy lassie with a gleefully murderous spirit then you could do worse than check out this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cinderella: Serial Killer Princess #3

Mar 16, 2017

This book, in fact this whole mini series is not going to win any prizes for it's high brow story. Depending on your mood you will either love the crazy or you may well feel that the amount of violence with very little story featuring a half dressed stocking wearing curvy womanis an indictment of everything that could be seen as wrong in comics. For me, the truth lies somewhere in between.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cinderella: Serial Killer Princess #4

Apr 14, 2017

If you have followed this series, even buying just one cover per issue, it would cost you $16.96 for an ending that as mentioned may well leave you feeling like you wasted your time and money. This story would have been better served as a one shot which would have cut down the repetition of certain elements and still allow the story, such as it is, to unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Clandestino #3

May 18, 2016

I have to admit, I wasn't really looking forward to reading this book, yet I was more than pleasantly surprised. Sure, some of the ideas in the book aren't the newest, but somewhere along the line I found myself intrigued in Clandestino's life. For fans of grimy, dirty violent stories that harbour more than a Tarantino edge, then go check it out and hopefully you will be as surprised as I was.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clandestino #5

Jan 23, 2017

For a series that initially surprised me, I am more than pleased to say that my surprise has turned in genuine enjoyment of a very well crafted book, that delivers strong characters through solid writing and consistently good art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Clandestino #6

Feb 15, 2017

It is a wise man that knows when to call time on a series. Too often, characterscan overstay their welcome. By doing so, their existence becomes a parody of all the good stuff that went before. Nahuelpan neatly avoids this by bringing the curtain down in a way that some may expect, but still leaves the door open for further stories of this war torn world. With such skill on show, both in the writing and art department, I am sure that we will see Amancay Nahuelpan's work again very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clue #1

Jul 3, 2017

IDW's Clue hits the rack a week or so after Image's Shirtless Bear Fighter, both ramping the “laugh out loud” elements, proving that there can be some fun had in this oft Dark Forge, Crisis, Secret Empire comic industry. I can't wait for the Monopoly comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Colossi #1

Mar 9, 2017

There are parts in this book that did grab my attention; initially I thought the demise of the nun was going to lead into a metaphor about religion, In the hand, it seems just happenstance sent her on her way. Despite the number of influences inherent in this book, I feel the Mo could have wrung some originality out of this mash-up of used and re-cycled ideas.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dante (One Shot) #1

Jan 30, 2017

Top Cow are one of the most consistent studios in the Image arsenal. Regardless of the lack of freshness you can always rely on the studio to produce a high quality looking book.This is no exception. Will the quality of production over the story content be enough for Dante to hit his peak? Only time will tell if the series is strong enough to compete with some much better books out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dark Days: The Casting #1

Jul 17, 2017

The definition of “Casting” is to pour molten metal into a mould. Taking the obvious metal out of the equation, and applying The Forge, it seems to me that Bruce's actions havecertainly been shaped and forced into the role thatthe Dark requires him to be. Taken on its own, this book is a big improvement on the last issue, in part for the reasons mentioned above and also, because we now know what to expect from the format of the story. It would certainly be advisable to read the pair of books back to back. Finally, as with any prelude book, there are a myriad of question left unanswered, to whet your appetite for the upcoming one shots and main event.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 19, 2017

I am sure that there are those out there who will think that this book is the greatest book of all time, possibly oblivious to the fact that for it work, all the other great books had to come first. There will be those that will deride it for being yet another “event book”, hot on the heels of Marvel's current love it or hate it, Secret Empire. The truth, as always, lies somewhere in between. Snyder, at least in my opinion, has always been good at the set up part of the story and this issues, with its easter eggs and nods to his New 52 run is by no means an exception. But now, as with Jim Lee books shipping on time, I have learnt from experience and choose not to get carried away with the hype. Instead, I lay a challenge to the crew of eleven with the cast of many story, the stage is set, now, impress me!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dark Knight Returns: The Last Crusade #1

Jun 17, 2016

Re-interpretation. Rehash. Re-done. Regurgitation. Copy. All of this words can be thrown at this book. Do we really need every last mystery laid bare for us? Does anyone really care how the Robin from an essentially and albeit excellent Elseworld story died? There is nothing really wrong with framing a story in the familiar, but something new has to be thrown into the mix, otherwise there is no point. With everyone knowing the outcome for Jason, it feels like, especially towards the end, that the writers have just thought, "if that's what they want to see, let's show it" and done so with a lack of sincerity or craft.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Nights: Metal #1

Aug 15, 2017

So there you have it, DC's summer starts here, with another part of Gotham destroyed and Batman keeping secrets from his friends. This may sound like a poor setup for such a huge event, but lest we forget, Snyder's storytelling is all about the journey and when the landscape is provided by Capullo et al, who can really complain. Please fasten your seat belts, we are in for wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 26, 2016

The book may well be a preview of future events, but it is done with style, strong characters and a massive amount of heart. Well done DC and well done Geoff Johns.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of Hawkman #1

Oct 11, 2016

DC are in the midst of the final third act of Rebirth, withthe majority of their previously announced books hitting the shops and our wallets. Still, it is good to see that they have learnt their lesson from New 52. Instead of getting an ongoing series, which somehow manages to get cancelled, DC are taking the “dip your toes in the water approach”. This is a great way to whet the appetite of the readers, but to fully the succeed the book needs to be of a high standard. This book isn't there yet, but it is only the first issue. To determine success, the whole mini series will need to be taken as a whole, with this book hopefully enticing you to pick up the remainder of the run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #934

Jun 10, 2016

Whilst this book is heads and shoulders above the Batman book, I do have reservations. I am a big Batman fan. I love the comics and B:TAS and have a great deal of affection for "The Batman" cartoon show. When this story line was first proposed, I couldn't help but be reminded of the episode "Rumours", which features an armoured man taking down Batman villains and the episode "The End of The Batman", which features a duo looking to usurp the Dynamic Duo. Still, there is the possibly that the big bad, who's first appearance may well be Rebirth #1, will add a new level of intrigue to this "new" book, that features old style story telling of the protectors of the Gotham night.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #947

Jan 3, 2017

I have said for sometime, that I am enjoying Detective way more than the main Batman book. To me, there is a lack of pretension and there is a sense of logic that flows. Very rarely do you get something that works just because “I'm Batman”. Others will say that Detective suffers because there is no seemingly importance or impact to Batman, the recent letters to Catwoman being an obvious example. I would argue that Detective's strength is the relationships between the characters, how Batman interacts with them. In many ways it isa more genuine interaction than the one shown between Batman and the Justice League. Amongst the DC Rebirth titles, this book remain one of the most consistently enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse #1

Dec 21, 2016

I am one of the few Crusader who doesn't swoon at the thought of a new Valiant book. That said, I am very impressed with this first issue, enough to hold my "punchline never hits the highpoint of the setup" cynicism in check.. Kindt has trifled with my expectation level. I hope he and his artistic cohorts are up to the challenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Divinity III: Stalinverse #3

Feb 23, 2017

This series has been quite a surprise for me. Maybe the Valiant fans out there will deride me for coming late to this party, and if that's the case, then so be it;I will take the hit. Hopefully, Kindt and his crew will continue to deliver on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse #4

Mar 29, 2017

For a book that had so much potential, I can't help feel a little bit disappointed in the conclusion. With the level of effort that Valiant, as a company, has put into this event. It seems that the things I feared regarding this run, may have unfortunately reared its head, leaving me not quite sure what all the fuss is regarding this series and feeling a little jaded regarding Valiant books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Komandar Bloodshot #1

Dec 28, 2016

For all the great things that are in this book, it is quite a simple story, albeit extremely well told, containing as it does the little snippet of hope. As a companion piece to the main story, it works as it gives us more of a view of the problems that Colin King is facing, which were alluded to in the first issue of the main series. As this series isshowing aValiant universe that is current, there is at some point going to be a snapback. How that is works with the series' that follows depends on the quality of the overall story, aided by the quality of the tie-in books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Echoes (2016) #1

Oct 5, 2016

Echoes; a reverberation of the past. The title alludes to the journey that Martin is going through, but could also be used as a nod to the influences mentioned earlier. That allusion is probably going to be the hardest sell in regards to the book and it is one that is only overcome by reading the book and immersing yourself in Martin's journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eden's Fall #1

Sep 1, 2016

This book is a crime noir type of book that I didn't think I was going to like. The tropes in play are reminiscent of other stories from across all four corners of the media market. So it is to the credit to all involved, that I actually found myself rooting for Samantha and James; that I was wary of the plan and even worried by the cliff hanger ending. Good work in converting a non believer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Eden's Fall #2

Sep 29, 2016

Whilst it is a given that there is more than meets the eye to the town of Eden's Fall, the fact that the outside world shares a level of ambiguity can seem more disturbing. Overall, this book continues to deliver on the promises made in the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eden's Fall #3

Nov 2, 2016

I really enjoyed the first couple of issues. But as I read this book, I am struck by the idea thatafter the surpriseending of issue one, you pretty much know where the book is going. Maybe thenew characters were meant to be the curve balls, but in theend, this story pretty much concluded halfway throughthe second issue. A very disappointing ending to aseries that started so well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Eternal Warrior: Awakening #1

May 10, 2017

A few years back, Valient stormed back into racks of your LCBS too much fanfare. Since then, I can't help but feel that they have run out of steam a little bit, with familiarity breeding something not quite akin to contempt. Their freshness may have seemed greater at the time as the Big Two were mired in their own problems. Since then, with ships righted (and a huge number of books out every week), Valiant's output doesn't seem quite as good as it did. Certainly, the lost Warrior story, told more than once already, is certainly not going to help change that opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Evil Heroes #1

Aug 3, 2016

With this book, Zenescope are showing readers that they can do more than salacious covers and fairy tales both Grimm and not so Grimm. If this I means to get more recognition for their books, then I am a little disappointed that they have chosen to make the stand in such a facsimile manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Executive Assistant Iris: Enemies Among Us #1

Dec 21, 2016

For the most part, I am not sure if I am the target audience for an Aspen book. At times, I think that the maturity of the story is somewhat hindered by the needs of showing the characters in a certain light. Art style not withstanding, coming back to the book, I had hoped for a growth from the previous book. As it is, more of the same might have been good enough if the whole book had the quality of the first part.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Failsafe #1

Feb 28, 2017

Despite the oft travelled road of technology running amok, this book from Vault Comics is off to an intriguing start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #1

Jul 20, 2016

At times, Faith is shown inconsistently by the same artists, the aforementioned aging of the character, shown in the origin part of the book for example. Still this is a minor quibble which doesn't detract from the amusement of Faith's troubles or the energy that propels the story forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
FCBD 2017: Catalyst Prime: The Event #1

May 4, 2017

New universes can be tricky things to create. One false step and the best laid plans end up as big balls of gas! As such, it's a brave step for The Lion Forge to take. That said the quality of the book in both writing and art is serviceable enough that will garner some attention. As with the impact and ramifications of The Event on the characters inside, we will find out all in due time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #21

Apr 28, 2017

Despite his status in the Justice League and being a major DC character, I haven't been that impressed with Flash for a number of years. Like Jason Todd, Barry Allen for me, serves the cause better as a fallen hero. This book tries hard and a lot of readers will no doubt love this book. Yet, I can't help but think that the mainproblemthat this book has to overcome is that it follows the high standards of part one, yet ultimately falls a little short. Bring on Batman #22!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Freeway Fighter #1

Apr 26, 2017

If you are interested in Freeway Fighter, head over to the interview section where we catch up with writer Andi Ewington and artist Simon Coleby.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham City Garage #1

Aug 16, 2017

Comic fans, both old and new, sometimes complain that "the more things change, the more they stay they same."This can be a problem for comics and there is an argument to be made for and against books which are continuity laden. Books like Gotham City Garage, whilst not suited to any real longevity, serves the purpose of showing us what could be out there; what could be in the future. I for one applaud the worlds of else when, even if the page count is a tad on the slender side.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grand Passion #1

Nov 16, 2016

With violence, attraction, disenfranchisement and revenge are all the ingredients of a dish best served noir with chefs Robinson and Feister is setting the heat in their noir filled kitchen.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grimm Fairy Tales #125

Aug 31, 2016

I was recently in my local comic shop, shooting the breeze and I discovered that they don't stock Zenescope books, which goes to prove that there is possibly too much product out there for retailers to choose from. Retailers will always gravitate towards the big icon's as those book sell and bring people into the store. Whilst I have not given this book or run the highest of scores over the past year, it has been consistent. Shand's storytelling is a kind of throwback to earlier days, with long running storylines and threads carried over, rather than writing for the trade paperback. Despite the lack of love for Zenescope from the majority of the North East UK, I for one will miss looking through this book.Thanks for the ride, Pat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grimm Fairy Tales (2016) #1

Dec 29, 2016

Detractors of Zenescope may complain that for all the hoopla of the closure of the previous volume there seems to be a lack of ramifications. There may also be some comments about Skye's outfit. In defence of Zenescope, I will say that this is only the first issue of the new volume, so I am grateful that Brusha is trying to keep his (Ouija?) cards close to his chest. As for the outfits, initially I was a little thrown by it to be honest. However, upon reflection, itis not to dissimilar to a certain Amazonian. All in all, I am quietly impressed by the overall standard of Zenescope books, my only wish is that they finally take that next step up in their game and receive more than just a passing glance on the comic book shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Fairy Tales (2016) #3

Mar 1, 2017

The flaws in the writing and the ink/colors seems to give the idea that book is somehow rushed and a collection uncompleted ideas. True, with a focus on threats that will bear fruitdown the line, the story is gong to feel unfinished. Still, with just a little bit more attention to details, this book could've been so much better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Grimm Fairy Tales (2016) #5

Apr 26, 2017

Grimm books are an acquired taste, like the best junk food their packaging tempts and teases, yet this time around, they have left a left a sour after taste.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Swimsuit Special #2016

Jul 28, 2016

The rest of the book is handed over to a variety of artists including, Tina Valentina, Jamie Tyndall, Dawn McTeigue and Nathan Seals, the latter pulling off a reasonable J. Scott Campbell style. Now, some will say that this book is exploitation and demeaning to women. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. For me, a lot of fans like looking at this type of book so who am I to judge. Here's an interesting fact, women can buy and wear a bikini at the beach or on holiday. That bit is part of real life. Yes a couple of images may be considered as over sexualization, but that is very much in the eye of the beholder. If you feel that you are going to get offended by looking at this book, then simply put, just don't buy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 2 #10

Jul 14, 2016

I will always have a bit of a soft spot for Tales of Terror, as they remind me of the EC comics horror books of the past, which was for me in the 70's, the only real diversion from Big Two books. Back then, the stories would give me a shiver. Nowadays, I have a wistful smile, as familiar tropes deliver familiar results.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.2
Grimm Tales Of Terror Vol 3 #7

Jul 13, 2017

I have said on previous reviews, how Zenescope books are a guilty pleasure. In regards to this particular volume, I fear that it is becoming less and less pleasurable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hadrian's Wall #1

Sep 15, 2016

The key factor in this book are ensuring that the main character remains relatable and that the readers care about him. On top of that, the mystery has to be worthy of the eight issues. Too often the punchlineof a number of mystery stories fails to deliver on the setup. I am hopeful that under the guidance of Higgins and Siegel, we are in for quite a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hard Case Crime: Peepland #2

Dec 1, 2016

Titan Comics may be seen as a small publisher when it comes to single issue books, but their recent record shows that they embrace the four corners of comic producing world, not content to fall into just one genre. Regardless of personal preference of the stories within, Titan always put together high quality books.On this occasion, the quality story surpasses their already high production values.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hard Case Crime: Peepland #3

Jan 4, 2017

Overall, this book is still a good read with theburden of the murder beginning to have serious ramifications for a number of people, which gives the reader more than one point of view each with their own importance and baggage. I am very interested how much weight the story can hold before Faust and Phillips start toward what is beginning to look like a confliction of a conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Hellboy in Hell #10

Jun 3, 2016

I haven't read every issue of this last (for now?) run. Surprisingly, supernatural books aren't really my cup of tea. For me, it's the quality of the work that I look for. With this in mind, it's easy to realize that Mike Mignola is a creator on top of his game and whilst I am by no means a huge Hellboy fan, this issue carries with it a resonance that makes the conclusion that much more satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellboy: Into The Silent Sea #1

Apr 5, 2017

A Hellboy story is always something to look forward to. Whilst this true, style over substances would be an easy trap to fall into, without the backbone of an ongoing seriesensconced these one shots, giving a sense of an overall arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Highlander: American Dream #1

Feb 22, 2017

Back in the day, I loved the TV show. To me Duncan Macleod works better than Connor. With a TV show you get to immerse yourself in the characters rich history, being as you have 22 episodes to cover rather than just 90 minutes. With this comic book, it seems that there is still life in the old Immortal. But in this particular case “There can be only one”, may turn out to be just one step too many.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
How To Talk To Girls At Parties #1

Jun 22, 2016

The collaboration of the trio of creators provides a story that covers all the frailties of human interaction. There is a certain sadness prevalent in the book; the sadness of experiences long gone for the girls, the sadness that maybe Vic is pretyy much how Vic will be for the rest of his life. Then there is Enn, who hears poetry, who listens and despite his best intentions, remains alone. Still having been where Enn is, I think he will be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
I, Holmes #1

Sep 1, 2016

This book seems to live on its expectations. That might seem like a bit of an odd statement, but I think I would have liked to read the book without knowing the parentage of “I”. This would hopefully show that Lent has tapped into a Holmes vibe that would have been instantly recognizable. Unfortunately, with the punchline already out in the open, I fear that it's revelation only serves to color our reading experience, painting our favourite versions of Holmes into the cracks to give the impression of who “I” purports to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Intertwined #2

Nov 9, 2016

I like it when Dynamite Comics put out original stuff. For too long, they have been thought of as just a “tie-in” publisher. People tend to forget, that the “tie-in first model” worked well for Dark Horse Comics. Dynamite have a strong stable of books that sparkle with creativity, despite the fact that putting out different types of stories may not appeal to everyone. Still,no book manages to please everyone, all of the time. As such, Dynamite are in good company.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jackpot #3

Jul 6, 2016

AfterShock have been around for a little while now. The high quality of their books is without question. However, I am not sure if somewhere along the way, the books have become a little lost. It may be that the initial books had such a big shock value, that now after a few months, we have become accustomed to it. As such, creators are trying too hard to push the envelope, to create more way out stories, which retains a wow factor, may in fact just result in cluttered storytelling. This book, with Fawkes channelling The Matrix, along with a free-flowing art style could actually do with a level of structure, that in this issue at least, seems to be missing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
James Bond #7

Jun 22, 2016

This series remains a bit of enigma for me. The writing is great, from the first page to the last. The art can be ok, but for largess parts doesn't work with the story. I am not a huge Bond fan, but there is enough in the book to keep me entertained. True fans may well feel that this book is fantastic. For me, despite the great writing, there is a lack of cinematography to the art which unfortunately does detract from the overall look and feel of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
James Bond: Hammerhead #5

Feb 16, 2017

Dynamite Comics are quickly becoming my second go to publisher forexcellent books, regardless of the fact that they are not the most well thought of books in the UK (yes, I am looking at you The Travelling Man store in York!). With their solidification of their Bond line, the ongoing re-imaging of some of their more classic characters, Dynamite are certainly creating an aura of quality about their line. Coupled with the fact there are a number of Big Two books at $3.99 price point that don't have even half the quality on show here, should means that the will reap their rewards with a number of new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond: Kill Chain #1

Jul 21, 2017

For their sheer amount of creativity, Dynamite should be getting more respect on the comic rack. They have cross publisher books that cater for various fans; they have older licences that they breathe new life into. They even have Bettie Page! Whilst all that is true, it is the quality of thework that can sometimes fail to grab attention. With their James Bond books, that is never a concern.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
James Bond: Service Special #1

May 25, 2017

Over the last few months I have extolled the quality of the books that Dynamite have been putting out. Now, I am not saying I have changed my mind; one less than excellent book does not a poor range of comics make, unless of course it's Marvel and there is a stream of them. Still, with the previously strong Bond books, I expected more, especially at $7.99 a pop.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jean Grey #1

May 8, 2017

I have only picked up a few X books over the last couple of years. To date, there is nothing that makes me miss the gold old Claremont days. Still, with Dennis Hopeless on this book, the latest of Jean Grey's life stories has more than a fair chance of success.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jupiter's Circle Vol. 2 #6

May 11, 2016

I would have thought that I would be bored by this type of story by now. Examination of heroes, either through their own eyes or a "Jane" character, has been done before. At the moment, Mark Millar himself is taking a slightly different tack on his other Image book Huck. Whilst the method of this dissection is different, the result is similar, the humanizing of this bigger than life characters, which becomes a fascinating and hugely enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice Inc: The Avenger - Faces Of Justice #1

Jul 5, 2017

You have to hand it to Dynamite, they don't rest on their laurels; with the success of a large portion of their books it would be easy for them to just sit back and enjoy the accolades. But, oh no, they continue to publish books that cater to a wider range of the comic book reading populace.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 22, 2016

So far, under Hitch's watch, the League have had to deal with invading Kryptonian Deity Rao (not sayingthat's a recurring theme, seen in DK III for example), aStarro like creature and now this issue. Surely its about time we can get past this particular trope?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Kings Quest #5

Sep 29, 2016

It is such a shame that books like this do not get the attention they deserve, in this mainstream, event driven Big Two world that we live in. Sure, I am as big a Bat-Fan as the next guy, but there should always be some respect to those that went before. I am glad that Dynamite are there to give the reading public a gentle reminder.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #1

Jul 27, 2016

A large part of Lady Killers success was the fact that it was fun eclectic mix of humour, satire and dark violence. The challenge ahead for Joelle is to keep the book fresh. Too much of a good thing can be bad for you. Here, the format of publisher Dark Horse Comics predilection for mini series should help maintain story focus without meandering into repetitiveness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lady Killer 2 #2

Sep 14, 2016

Despite this being the second issue of the second mini series, the credit page states that this is actually issue 7 in a series. I am a big fan of this type of publishing, of which Dark Horse are particularly adept, as it allows for the readers tongue to be wet without overwhelming thewallet or allowing a book to outlast its welcome. This alsoimplies that Jones is plotting for the long haul with each mini series feeding into the next and togethermaking a whole. With such a simple strategy in place, this book shows that to say that Joelle Jones is at the top of her creativegame is an understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lola XOXO Vol. 2 #1

Jul 12, 2017

Minor quibbles aside, such as theidentity of the second big bad, this series is one that offers a likeable character trying to do a simple thing, whilst dealing with the barriers of environment and circumstance coupled with overcoming people expectations of her. Sounds likes a tall order? With a book of this quality, I am sure that Siya Oum is more than up to those challenges as is Lola herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love Addict: Confessions of a Serial Dater #1

Aug 10, 2016

This book is as different from Shadmi's previous work as you can get. This is not a bad thing at all. In fact, with the subject matter being something that we should have had some sort of dealing with, the story is perhaps more accessible. “K” is an average guy with normal everyday needs, desires and problems. It's a little refreshing to see that other people go through the same sort of emotional roller coaster as us. As such, Shadmi has tapped into the very scary situation of a person, or persons, putting themselves out there to be attracted, repulsed and judged by a complete stranger in the hopes that a connection is made in effort to have a partner in this thing called life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Love is Love #1

Dec 28, 2016

It is worth to mention, that ALL proceeds from this book will be going to the victims, survivors and their families via Equality Florida. I have read this book over. I don't think I have felt so much or wept so much at the bravery of the characters within.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Miss Fury Vol. 2 #5

Aug 24, 2016

Still, societal concerns aside, this final issue brings to close a somewhat entertaining first arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mockingbird #8

Oct 21, 2016

“And I'm just calling one last time, just to say I'll miss you baby. Good luck. Good-bye, Bobbi Morse”*

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Night's Dominion #6

Feb 15, 2017

As I have said many times before, fantasy books are not my thing. Still for those to whom this book will appeal, I am glad that there are creators like Naifeh and Bidikar who still fly the flag for this genre.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ninjak #16

Jun 8, 2016

Having only read Ninjak to review, Iam left wondering why this book isn't on my regular pull list.It features a strong story line, an engaging character and a well thought out “long game plan”.However, I think the story of a man without access to his usual means and accoutrements has allowed this story to work better than previous issues I have read. That said, I would be interested in finding out how this little mini saga ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Ninjak #20

Oct 19, 2016

Before I get a whole load of hate mail, let me say, that this is just one book. One bad review doesn't destroy a comic universe, in much the same way a goodreview doesn't create one. There have been a number of quality books from Valiant in the past. Unfortunately, this isn't one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 23, 2017

Image have done it again. They have shown that with the correct talent on a book, you do not have to devolve comics into just the superhero crowd. True, the immortality of this gang could be seen as a super power, but its the ramifications of their “skills” that is going to make this book a very interesting and very enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
One Week In The Library #1

Dec 9, 2016

This comic goes to show how powerful books and stories can befull of good intent, Prince and Amor show the impacts of reading, whether it be the horror of not being able to unread something, to falling into a book and losing yourself. The impact of the stories is somewhat lessened by the conceit at the end. It is as if Prince just ran out of ideas. Maybe he felt that the ideas at the start of the book were too strong, the latter ones potentially not having the same pull. Or maybe he just ran out of pages. Whatever the reason, Prince himself alludes to the doubtsand insecurities about being creative, for that, I have to give him a nod of respect. No-one wants their hard work to be pointed at or vilified. No-one intends to create bad book; this is far from being that. It's book that deserves to be re-read, reflected upon, then read again.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Penny Dreadful #2

Jun 29, 2016

Thestylings of the show can easily be traced back to Alan Moore and Kevin O'Neil's The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen; each look to bring literary characters together, although Penny Dreadful does covet the horror element.The similarities notwithstanding, Penny Dreadful has been an engaging show, with a strong cast delivering some excellent performances. Tie-ins are all well and good, but as a prequel I am not sure it's required. After all, was there really a need for The Phantom Menace? It could be that this runmay lead to the further adventures of Sir Malcolm and the remains of his group, now that the show has been cancelled.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Plastic #1

Apr 19, 2017

Plastic is a book about love, the things that someone would do for love mixed with a little bit of crazy and some over the top bad guys. What's not to like?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Raven #1

Sep 27, 2016

Is Raven a top-tier character that deserves to be held inesteem from the higher echelons of DC or is she a has been, that only long-term fans like me have any appreciation for? Judging on this issue only, it seems that Raven the comic book has a certain resonance with Raven the character, in that they are both trying to find their feet.If anyone can steer her back in to the fold, it would be character co-creatorMarv “Teen Titans” Wolfman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja (2017) #0

Dec 14, 2016

I enjoyed this book immensely. There is a sense of fun throughout, that may have been missing on previous runs. The art may attract controversy but you have to applaud Dynamite for possibly recognizing that certain characters do not need to be the implement to impact societal change. Some characters are just plain fun. After reading this new/old Sonja, I am hope that Dynamite continues with their apparent turnaround and you never know, this may indeed be the world for a half-dressed blood sucking sexy space vampire after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja (2017) #1

Jan 11, 2017

This book is a fun read. Let's not forget, fun is the reason why we all fell into the world of capes and cowls. We shouldn't be reading books to hate on them. If this book isn't for you and I understand why there will be haters, then fine give it a miss. For me, regardless of the fact I get to see review copies, the actual book is on my pull list which I guess is one of the better compliments a reviewer can give a book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Sonja: The Long Walk To Oblivion #1

May 11, 2017

It is safe to say, that in today's event based books and multiple reboots/restarts/rehashes that the market is “enjoying” at the moment, this book is something akin to a throwback where one story was told in one issue, far the most part. If you want to take a break from all the chaos of the Big Two, you could do much worse than hang out in Hyrkania and its neighbouring lands for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Team: Double Tap, Center Mass #4

Oct 20, 2016

Coming into the book blind, has served the experience of enjoying this book well. If I had this reaction, as a one of read, then fans of these characters and creators should be in seventh heaven. As for me, I am off to the LCBS to seeing they have trade for the first run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Redlands #1

Jun 29, 2017

Books like this are not usually my cup of tea as I do feel that the whole horror genre suffers greatly from a lack of real surprises. Maybe I am just jaded. Still, that said, I think I will definitely be keeping an eye out for this book and subsequent issues to see if Bellaire and Del Rey can build on a such a solid first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Reggie and Me #2

Jan 12, 2017

I have to confess, I am not a big Archie fan, That said, I have to recognise the quality of intent in this new iteration of these classic characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Remote #5

Sep 16, 2016

I didn't know quite what to expect from this book. Double Take is the comic imprint of video game publisher and distributor Take-Two Interactive and despite the knowledge that former Marvel publisher Bill Jemas brings to the table, using the video game model, where there are a number of writers and artists, tends to clog up the works in comic books. It is a big ask to base a comic book universe on such a small source as one movie, even if it is a classic. At this point, Double Take's ambition is far greater than their finished product.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Revolution #1

Sep 21, 2016

This bi-weekly series has a number of tie-in books including M.A.S.K and Micronauts, each of which are hinted at in the main series. With the mixed opinions the recent books, mainly Rom and Micronauts, received, IDW are doing a smart thing; using this series to consolidate the books with their more popular characters. This can work well, but as last year Swords of Sorrow saga from Dynamite showed, cream will always rise to the top. Still, with Barber and in particular Cullen Bunn writing the main series, IDW have gone some way to show that the combination of the all American hero, the greatest hero of them all, a space knightand a bunch of robots may have more than meets the eye.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Rise #5

Sep 16, 2016

Double Take have created a bit of a rod for their own back, mainly because the source material feels too limited to make a grander, more cohesive whole, if you are not a fan of the film. As such, it would be a hard ask for anyone to have to go watch a movie to get the comic book, especially with the number of other zombie books out there, not even counting The Walking Dead. The guys at Double Take are clearly passionate about their books and with something that wasn't hung on a movie framework, their creativity may be better served.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robyn Hood (2014) Annual #1

May 25, 2016

On the whole, I quite enjoyed this book. With Shand stepping away from Grimm Fairy tales, I would hope that he has more time to write books like this. The trick will be giving each character their own voices, ensuring that the writing doesn't become its own version of the art "house style". Fans of the Robyn and her merry band may be divided by the outcome of this issue but I would suggest that this issue is but one step on their journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robyn Hood: I Love NY #2

Jul 20, 2016

Overall, this book was a lot more fun to read than Robyn's other adventures. The easy jump on point helps, although I am sure that some fans may miss Robyn's supporting cast. Whilst the overall story seems lightweight, I have to say that I am quietly looking forward to the next issue of Robyn in the Hood.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robyn Hood: I Love NY #8

Jan 19, 2017

This book is pretty much standard fare; there is a threat, a warning, a team up and a fight. This could describe any number of books. For fans to pick this up, they need to invest in Robyn and for the most part, due to the energy on show via the dialogue, Robyn may well be gaining some new fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robyn Hood: I Love NY #11

Apr 19, 2017

So, another mixed bag from Zenescope, which is a shame. For Zenescope to move up in the minds and comic book readers and retailers, their product needs to be consistent and not in a consistently inconsistent way that this and other books (Cinderella: Serial Killer Princess for example), have suffered as underneath these constant changes in in art styles mid books, there is a hint of the quality that they can produce.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robyn Hood: The Hunt #1

Aug 4, 2017

Zenescope are aware of their place in the industry and I have said on more than oneoccasion, that their books are somewhat of a guilty pleasure.The may well be those who bemoan the obvious element of the female led book, butI am verymuch a believer that if you don't like a book, writer, artist or even brand of comic, simply do not buy itand walk away.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Second Sight #4

May 19, 2016

By now you should have realized the plethora of quality books that AfterShock is putting on comic racks with a heady mix of dark tales, violent pasts and the promise of more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Weapons #1

May 4, 2017

I have mentioned before that, at times, I don't see the attraction of Valiant Books. I feel that some of the characters have passed their shelf life, hence them vanishing from the comic racks in the past. Still, I do recognize that the Valiant powers that be are trying hard to give their line some momentum with Divinity and the X-O reboot. This book certainly fits the mold of mature superheroes, done in a mature manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sherlock: A Study In Pink #1

Jun 9, 2016

This issue features the writing of Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss so as such, the overall feel of the show is well replicated, from Watson's feeling of being lost in the world all the way to the "lightbulb" moments that occur that have become a bit of a trademark of the show. Reading the book, its hard to judge the writing. With this being an adaptation, if you ae a fan of the show, then you will like the writing here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shirtless Bear Fighter #1

May 24, 2017

For quite a while, Image have been putting out books that eschews the original superhero ideals of the founders of the company. This is massive credit to Image, who have managed to carve out a niche for their books, most of which I recognise as high quality even if I don't always enjoy the stories. With Shirtless, Image have caught my attention with their pastiche of all that has gone before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skybourne #1

Sep 7, 2016

I am of an age where I remember a certain UK TV show called The Champions, which featured three agents who gain super abilities. With this in mind, I was very wary when I started reading this book. That concern quickly dispersed due to the sheer quality of book, with its clarity of purpose and clear strong storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Smosh #2

Jun 15, 2016

Funny books are tricky. Its all well and good, but if you don't get the punchline, then you wasted your time and money. This book is far from a waste of time, but whilst there are quiet funny moments, the loud laughs I was expecting fail to appear. However, the YouTube duo have such a following that there will be a number of fans that will love this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Solar Flare #1

Apr 7, 2017

With the number of disaster books out there, it is increasingly hard to come up with something unique. It is possibly due to the sheer dearth of these types of books, that makes the loss of technology seem a tad original. After all, at least it's not zombie's! Still, Haick and Co will need to be on top form to build on the solid foundations, laid by this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sovereigns #0

Apr 6, 2017

As I have said before, Dynamite are having something of a renaissance; the quality if their books is beyond compare, even if at time they can over play their hand. This book is a great way for readers, old and new, to get to know some of the classic characters of yesteryear, presented with style and vigour.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sovereigns #1

May 19, 2017

Overall, this book again shows how serious Dynamite can be about their comic book output. For the main feature, there is some great writing and strong art. The quality of the second feature is let down a tad by its virtue of being an extended advert, but still possesses bags of charm and character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sovereigns #2

Jun 15, 2017

The Sovereigns is an interesting book, at least the main part is. Regardless of the quality of the back-up, I do like the idea; it feels a like an old school move, which fits with this classic characters. Of course, others may feel that they would prefer the extra pages to be given to the main story. This is the level of interest that Fawkes and co have managed to instill in their readership.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 12, 2017

After seeing the tagline on the cover of an imaginary partner, I was intrigued enough to look over this book, and boy I am glad I did. For me, the book provides a gentle reminder to when “Something Was Drooling Under my Bed” or the “Revengeof the Baby-Sat”. It is good to see that the Bill Waterson's creation have had such an impact on the comic book world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spencer & Locke #2

Jun 1, 2017

The key to this book is to enjoy the homages and try not to think too much about the “how does it work?” True, it may be that in fact, adult Locke is as much a figment of young Locke imagination as Spencer is. Adult Spencer could be a form of PTSD, his missing eye alluding to the fact that Locke himself has “turned a blind eye” to his past troubles. Or it could just be a fun way to pay respect to Bill Watterson's fantastic creations and universe of yesteryear. That said, I wholly expect Moe (or some allusion to him), to be the big bad!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 21, 2017

I totally can see how the two main influences have been slammed together to make a whole and sure, at time mix and matching can work; a cheese and onion sandwich for example or coca cola in southern comfort. However,at least in these examples you can switch to plain cheese or lemonade in your drink. In Spence and Locke you don't have that choice; you are stuck with what you got. Of course, you could always go back to Calvin and Hobbes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spencer & Locke #4

Jul 21, 2017

Admittedly I have flip-flopped on this book,initially loving the Calvin aspectsbefore moving past that an into a harsher stance. For a book that leans onthe strips of yesteryear,acceptance will no doubtdepend on your frame of mind when reading. In the end, Locke is an interesting enough character to carry the story;theCalvin bits have been fun although I doworry about repetition being a problemifAction Labs are looking for any sort of longevity.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Woman (2015) #15

Mar 25, 2017

With Marvel's recent decisions around some of their female heroes (yes, I am still bitter!), I am a tad surprised that they have kept the faith with Spider-Woman. The mix of life issues and superheroes is a staple of old school Spider-Man books and it is good to see that this element of storytelling has not fallen by the wayside. Talking of spider staples, anyone else get the “Gwen” vibe at the end of the book?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Stained #1

Mar 29, 2017

Despite its obvious influences and trope-esque elements, Stained is an entertaining read with a lead that is just interesting enough to pique my curiosity.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Star Trek New Visions: Cage #1

Jul 13, 2016

Straight up adaptations don't interest me. This book doesn't add anything to the Trek mythos. I understand it's a “50 years of Star Trek” celebration issue, and I can see that there is a higher page count than you'd expect. Still, I also think charging $7.99 for this re-tread is a bit steep. If you are a Trek fan who wants to celebrate 50 years of your show, surely there has to be a better way than buying a book that detracts from the original episode quicker than a warp core breach.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Trek TNG: Mirror Broken #1

May 17, 2017

It's always fun checking out how your favourite characters may havechangedoutside of the their naturalworld. In some ways, this book reminds me of the episode Yesterday's Enterprise inasmuch that to the characters in this book, thisis their natural world. Despite my misgivings of this particular deus ex machina getting another run out, I am quietly impressed by the quality of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek: Boldly Go #1

Oct 19, 2016

Reading this issue, I have come to the realisation that I may have been assimilated. I have enjoyed a number of the Trek books, especially when they have attempted something different; the Academy book for example. I still don't see the point of the photo-story book, but there is always Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations, as someone once said. Back to this book, I was very impressed that Johnson has brought character elements into play rather than action on top of action trap that the recent movie seemed to have fallen. As I am not a huge fan of the movies, I totallymissed any pre-releasepress about this book soI was genuinely surprised at the end. All in, good job all round.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #17

May 20, 2017

I have to say, it was the inclusionof Zod and the attraction of Tony S. Daniels that led to me reading this book. Ultimately, my attention in this book will only last as long as these two factors are in play.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #6

Jul 25, 2017

This book is one of the more recent Rebirth books that, if I am honest, I wasn't particularly looking forward to. However, six issues in and my mind has been changed, dramatically. Unlike other books from DC that try to be funny, this one is actually a fun read. Just don't tell Robin!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Jan 2, 2017

DC have really pulled out all the stops with this book by looking to get the best “indie” creators to write a story set within a specific time frame. This means that they have asked creators to work to their strengths, especially with Mariko Tamaki. The end result is a 48 page Book One, that whilst doesn't offer anything new, is a fun and engaging read and is head and shoulders above its ongoing series sister.I will definitely be picking up Book Two, despite the high $5.99 price tag.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sweet Lullaby #4

Feb 16, 2017

The cynical comic book fan will no doubt raise a couple of points. The past and present style is currently getting an exaggerated airing on Arrow, which in turn will lead to comparisons between Young Lullaby and Hit Girl moving towards similarities to Jennifer Blood. Still, these facets do not take anything away from this issue and the run as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Sweet Lullaby #5

Mar 8, 2017

If you are interested to learn more about Sweet Lullaby and the people behind the book, head over to the Interview section for an interview with writer AJ Scherkenbach and artist J. Briscoe Allison.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Assignment #3

Mar 3, 2017

This story purports to be a dark tale, but when you take a step back all you are left with is a revenge tale about a gang of unlikable characters. True, the level of violence and nudity may be a buying point for some, but overall, I am left with a bitter after taste. Surely, we can create comics that feature the gender issue without having to resort to the lowest of expectations.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Belfry (One Shot) #1

Feb 22, 2017

In today's multi-part, built for the TPB stories that seem to require more and more of my hard-earned cash, its great to see that there are still quality one shots being produced that encapsulate the mixed media that are comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Hood: Season 2 #3

Feb 24, 2017

The Black Hoodhas been a consistently impressive comic from Dark Circle Comics. Regardless of the seemingly repetitive trope of the darkness threatening the hero, Swierczynski and co. do well to keep things interesting, even if the last page possibly has an element of “jumping the shark”.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Damned: Three Days Dead #1

Feb 24, 2017

If you are a fan of gangster books, the occult or demonsthere may well be enough of the various tropes on show to keep you entertained. Between them, Bunn, Hurtt and Crabtree have given us a book that is the tip of the iceberg in this particular world, with further extensions hinted at as there are a number loose ends and dark fates that await in the shadows, which may yet still have an impact on Eddie and challengehis Lazarus-like powers, even if not all wounds leave scars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #1

Jan 25, 2017

The Dregs is a clever title for a book that offer so much from a seemingly simple story. Does the title reflect the characters, their part of the world or the viewpoint that society has of them? Either way, this book deserves to escape the dregs of the bargain bin, such is the quality of both the writing and the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dregs #3

May 3, 2017

For me, a self admitted superhero fan, this book is an odd experience. At first glance, it is easy to dismiss as just another mature book with less than explosive artwork. Yet, it is actually the comic book version of a good cup of coffee. It just needs time to percolate.So read this book; put it down; reflect and read again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Dregs #4

Jun 21, 2017

At times, this series has been a difficult read. In no part is this an indictment on any of the creative team. It's just that the superhero fan in me, expects good to always triumph over evil. Whilst this is obviously an unrealistic viewpoint, a large part of me wanted a happier ending for Arnold. Still, as in life, the best that you can expect is to have to make a decision tempered with the hope that you make the right one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Dresden Files: Dog Men #1

Jun 14, 2017

I am a big fan of Dynamite, their commitment to a diverse range of comics is one of their strengths, competing as they do with Dark Horse and Image. True, their range may stand on licenced books with the quality, at least recently, far outweighing and perceived weakness in having a licensed base. This particular file of Dresden should suitably please the coven of his fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Electric Sublime #1

Oct 20, 2016

This isn't my normal type of book. Still, I am glad that I have read it. The story could be seen as a “where does an artist get his or her ideas from?” The mix between Breslin, who thinks she knows everything and Brut, who does actually know everything is well-defined. It will be interesting to see how the series plays out as we move further into Brut's world.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Few and Cursed #1

Oct 26, 2016

Familiarity doesn't always have to breed contempt, especially when the finished article looks and reads as well as this book. With a slew of female led books falling by the wayside, for whatever reasons, its good to see that not everyone has given up on the, seemingly cursed,idea of strong female characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Greatest Adventure #1

Apr 19, 2017

I understand that Dynamite have to produce books on the licensed character they have. Doinga team-up bookis one way to get the characters back in print without having to run a slew of books, especially as the last Dejah Thoris book was pulled so quickly. Could it be that these characters can't carry a comic book? Time of course will tell, for this issue at least this book has started a pretty solid, if standard adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Joyners #4

Sep 21, 2016

Looking at the book, I immediately thought of The Jetsons.Both have a George, both are set in the future and both feature a family. All that's missing is Astro. However, the vaguest comparisons aside,catching the last issue of a run can be eye-opening and with a book of this quality, it is well worth hitting the back issue rack of your LCS.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Revisionist #1

Jun 1, 2016

This book has a few influences to consider. As mentioned there is the Marty reference, but there are stronger ties to films like Looper potentially and the TV series Quantum Leap. Very much like Doctor Sam Beckett, who stepped into his Quantum Accelerator and vanished, Marty is on his own mission, putting the things that once went wrong, right. Only this time, Marty is using a gun rather than good intentions and a hologram version of Dean Stockwell. The issue is a fun read and unlike the majority of AfterShock's books which feel like mini-series or mini-runs, this actually feels like it could run into an ongoing series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 9, 2017

The Shadow has had an illustrious career from a number of publishers. Don't forget, he actually pre-dates Batman. Dynamite has started this new volume with a less than knowing Shadow, which should help give this long-standing vigilante some knew life.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow: The Death of Margo Lane #1

Jun 1, 2016

This is a book for fans of The Shadow. Whilst The Twilight Zone book may serve as a curiosity and is fun when showing the character living through his own media history, this book serves to show us what The Shadow's world is all about, from different locations across the world to the weed of crime that grows in the garden of New York.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shadow: The Death of Margo Lane #2

Jul 14, 2016

The book's title pretty much gives the game away to some extent. Story wise, there are enough hints that all is not what is seems to give even the newest comic book reader a sense that there may be a switcheroo in the very near future. Still, when the book reads this well and looks this good, you just sit back and enjoy taxi ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Spirit: The Corpse-Makers #2

Mar 23, 2017

If I am honest, I am not a huge The Spirit fan, preferring darkness of The Shadow and his knowing of evil minds. That said, this book has a charm that impresses. It's odd that Dynamite can put out such a high quality book, both in dialogue and art, based on the previous standards set, yet seem to have made a complete mess of some recent reboots.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Things You Shouldn't Remember #1

Jun 8, 2017

Darby Pop seem to have found their niche in the heavily populated worldof indie comics, producing high quality books that walk a fine line between dark humour and flat-out darkness. It will be interesting the see how this mini series plays out, hopefully delivering on the promise of this excellent first issue, giving us a series to truly remember. Now where did I put my wallet?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #11

Jul 24, 2017

Francis Manapul does well as Trinity is a difficult book to get a read on. At times, this book is about friendship, it's about a greater plan with three different Trinity's being tied together and other times it's a defacto Justice League book. Whilst Manapul may not breaking and new ground here, it is a great opportunity for him to earn his chops which will serve him well as his comic book star continues to rise.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Twilight Zone / The Shadow #2

May 18, 2016

I am a little concerned and a tad confused over the length of this min run. Taking the initial selling point, I honestly don't see this idea lasting any more than an extended book, such as a one shot. The repetitive nature of elements of this story don't help as I feel that I have already read part of this issue. Call me old-fashioned, but I like my characters to be in stories that impact them or propel them someplace. As such, I am having a hard time understanding the impact this series will have on The Shadow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vampirella (2016) #4

Jun 9, 2016

This book is a cynical example of story compression, with set up following recap, affectively not giving the reader a lot of new story for their money. On top of that, whilst I appreciate that clothes don't make the woman, I don't mind admitting that I miss the old outfit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vampirella (2016) #6

Aug 10, 2016

I really wanted to dislike this run, but over time I have found myself enjoying more elements than not. Yes, there is the costume and yes the covers are still a little odd when you consider the interior content. But overall, I am pleased to say that this book has crept on to my actual pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vampirella (2017) #0

Feb 1, 2017

Vampirella is one of the most controversial comic book characters around. Whether its her sensuality or her costume or her vivaciousness it seems that no-one really knows what to do with her or how to successfully make a go of an ongoing series. Even this time around, there is another costume change coming. Still, at least with Cornell and Broxton on the books, there is a chance that this book will have a distinctive look. Now if you excuse me, I need to find a recipe for grilled chapeau and cheese.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Vampirella (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

As it is, the constant tags drive me to distraction and do the job of watering down the book, limiting the effectiveness of both the writing and the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 9, 2016

I was unsure about this book at first, even with the draw ofBarbiere. I have looked at it a number of times and can say with certainty, it's a book that gets better with every reading, which allows the first glance recognition of obviousness to be dispelled with nuance and violence. Fans of heist books who pick this book up may feel a little cheated, as there is no real heist in play. But readers will need to stick with it to garner the fullest of enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Dec 27, 2016

This is one of the books that, despite the fact that it features a Wonder Woman that is still popular in my house, doesn't normally grab my attention to be honest. The book works well as a nostalgia piece and the book has been clearly created by those who love both characters, for the fans who share their appreciation.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #2

Jan 25, 2017

As charming as an idea this collaboration sounds on paper, in actuality there is something that just doesn't work. Andy Mangels certainly tries hard and his love for Wonder Woman is pretty obvious for all to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
World of Tanks #1

Aug 12, 2016

So, what you have is a good looking war story, based on a game, where a cynic would say that planes from recent comic books have been substituted for tanks. I am not sure of the purpose of the book; is it to appeal to the players or entice comic book fans to play the fremmium game? If you are a fan of war stories or the game, then the book should appeal, althoughmore for the former rather than the later. I am not convinced that the book will drive an increase of game downloads.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Terrorists #2

Dec 19, 2016

This second volume continues the excellent work from its predecessor, excelling at the things it that the creative team do well. If you are an open-minded sort of person, that likes having conformity challenged and are comfortable with perception challenges, then this book is definitely right up your street. If on the other hand, comics with a clear-cut good and bad guy are more your thing, then maybe it's time to have your perceptions challenged.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More