Adrienne Crean's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 22
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.7
All-New Captain America #1

Nov 17, 2014

Readers get to witness what seems to be Sam's first or one of his first missions as Captain America. He's deep below ground, attempting to find and get rid of the new dangerous weapon that Hydra has claimed. Immonen is on fire as each page turns faster and faster with more and more action sequences. This is one of the most impressive comics I've read in a while where fast action is kept up with fast dialogue. Immonen makes sure not to give us endless action scenes where you have to assume what each character is thinking, as their being punched in the face, or shot in the leg. Remender works well to deliver the perfect line each and every time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Aphrodite IX #11

Jun 18, 2014

This futuristic comic was beautifully written and drawn to fit that era. It had many different techs, some we can imagine in this day and age, and of course some that just blow your mind with creativity. The action sequences were done carefully and clearly, not leaving you confused as to what was happening, and Sejic had a classic but beautiful way of sketching these characters. One attribute that I loved was the fact that any explanation on past story lines, confusing or not, was recapped by Aphrodite in a simpler manner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Aquaman (2011): Futures End #1

Sep 5, 2014

Of course, if the Dead King has returned, then you know that means Martinez gets the opportunity to create some of the most beautiful aquatic action scenes you'll ever see. There are also some surprise action scenes from someone that you wouldn't expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Aquaman And The Others #4

Jul 7, 2014

Jurgens and Medina do a great job when the action sequences begin, however, I was beginning to think that there wouldn't be any vivacity to look forward to. Although the beginning few pages had plot line importance, I did find myself a little bored with where things were going. Once some POW's and HI-YA's kicked in, the pages turned easily, and I found myself completely intrigued by the story development. The cover to Aquaman and the Other's issue four has everything to do with it's ending. Jurgens plainly states that “They don't know it yet…but THIS is their new teammate.” So of course, that surprise is known at it's ending, but we're still left with confusion and anticipation . I say confusion with positivity, meaning, yes, we are told who their new teammate will be. But WHY? and HOW? are the questions you'll be asking yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #1

Nov 9, 2016

We get to be introduced into a potentially forbidden love affair, that gives readers a break from constant war chatter. We're also able to understand the pride and respect Wakanda has for all its people and the Royal Family. Do we get to see the Black Panther? Not in this issue. Will we soon? I have no idea. Would I love to see The Dora Milaje develop as characters and as warriors, to fight alongside Black Panther? Absolutely, and I truly hope Gay and Martinez can give us something like that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Death of Hawkman #2

Nov 3, 2016

All in all, I feel that this story line is going somewhere. It's giving me a different and possibly new outcome to what we all think about when it comes to Hawkman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Godzilla: The IDW Era #1

Jun 11, 2014

This comic truly was amazing, with great stories and breathtaking art. If you are a true Godzilla fan, there is no way this won't be in your hands. Even those who are looking to have more information about successful Godzilla comics should take a gander.All in all, IDW did right by calling this their Era.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Grayson #1

Jul 10, 2014

This first issue will definitely give you surprises. Like who his female partner really is, and what the leader of Spyral truly has in mind for our caped crusaders. Let's not forget to mention art done by King, who brings realistic detail throughout the comic, and sketches characters beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Grayson #2

Aug 8, 2014

This issue had a lot of actual reading involved when it came to a lot of tech information that readers need to know in order to better understand what real mission could be going on within SPYRAL. At times, it did seem to drag, but was quickly relieved with a humorous pun, or funny insult. Seeley & King did a great job of keeping the serious and mixing it with comedy. Janin had a lot of clean cut art, with decent action scenes. At times, the action seemed to be a bit confusing to understand, especially if you weren't positive on who Dick was fighting with. However, as the issue went on, many things became clear, and Janin's art remained colorful and easy to follow.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Life With Archie #36

Jul 15, 2014

Regular readers are aware that there had been a shooting in Riverdale against homosexuals, and to support the families of the ones lost in that shooting, a fundraiser was to take place. Kevin, the Senator to Riverdale, and a openly gay character feels it's his morale obligation to attend. Bringing in a nice political view on the sore topic at hand. This fundraiser set up the time and place for our beloved Archie to leave the comic world. How and exactly why? Readers will have to find out for themselves in this peaceful yet saddening finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Rasputin #1

Oct 29, 2014

Rasputin #1 did not have a ton of dialogue, but instead, many "snap scenes". Rossmo's art told the story when it came down to it. Normally this would have driven me crazy, however, I thoroughly enjoyed this comic. Grecian seems to be making sure to take the story slow, giving you explicit detail to the life of Rasputin. I didn't find it boring, or dragging, it was a chapter of Rasputin's life, that I am completely excited to continue reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Origins #3

Jun 27, 2014

Venditti, Haun, and Lobdell, handled these origin stories with what seemed to be, such confidence and ease. The reading was simple and gave the correct information. I believe any DC reader would have a terrific time with these issues. Let's not forget the other main reason to page turn. Coccolo, McCarthy, and Kirkham's artwork. It fit every characteristic that I look for in comics. The characters were drawn realistically to their backgrounds and varied in all the right places. Scenes with explosions and action where not confusing nor did they make you feel like you were loosing something while taking it all in. I give my two thumbs up for this issue, and I'll borrow the thumbs to the guy next to me too. Well done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Secret Origins #4

Jul 28, 2014

Lastly we end with Damian, son of Batman.Tomasi did a very good job on a story line, however, it focused very little on Damian's origin, and more on the now. I do understand Damian is a child, therefore, how much origin story can there be? I believe more time spent on his training, and getting to know his father, even a story line of a specific mission they worked on together, could have been a better fit for Secret Origins. Again, the story line was indeed well done, I just feel it wasn't up to par for what the series is based on. The artwork done by Bertram I'm sure is loved by many, however, it is not my kind of art. I found myself wondering what certain items or blood stains were as opposed to being blown away by magnificent scenes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Star Mage #4

Jul 2, 2014

De La Torre does do readers the favor of having a good twist in this issue, and even with some mild disorientation, the plot line keeps building. The story itself is one that we've seen but with many different curves and wonder. Cespedes delivers on the artwork, bringing the right reactions to the characters, and bringing in great imagination when it comes to anything dealing with the alien race.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teen Titans (2014) #1

Jul 18, 2014

The whole issue revolves around this problem, and my only disappointment is that I kept waiting for a “Holy Cow!” moment, and unfortunately it never came. Pfiefer does however have something huge up his sleeve, because S.T.A.R. Labs and the Teen Titans kept talking about “She”. A lead female terrorist that somehow orchestrated the entire event, and escaped the situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #35

Jun 20, 2014

Hands down, this is a must have. TMNT Ongoing will continue to be ongoing as long as they keep this kind of work up!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #36

Jul 16, 2014

The comic ends with a disappointing feature which left me saying “Really? They don't have enough to deal with right now?!”. I can see where Waltz will use this story in the future, but for the turtles problems going on RIGHT NOW, I deemed it not necessary. To add to my dilemma with the issue, the Rat King story took major priority over the entire comic. We got a small glimpse of Casey being taken care of by April's parents after the beat down with his father, but not a single blink of the other turtles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #37

Aug 14, 2014

Not a single turtle, or even whisper or a turtle's name came in this issue, and normally I despise that type of work. However, we all know that Shredder for one, is just as important to follow along with as these huge story lines develop. This issue was a definite necessity to the TMNT plot line, as well as a great action packed read. Waltz continues to do things right with our favorite shelled heroes. He even knows how to make you smirk at a villains' small victory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #38

Oct 1, 2014

These scenes were also a favorite of mine because of Santolouco's attention to detail. Every emotion was equally matched with the appropriate facial expression. The talent behind this reminds you that while reading, you feel like you are sitting on the couch with them having this debate. The feeling of being in this world was also matched with everyday items, such as a coffee thermos left behind on the end table.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #39

Oct 16, 2014

We get very little villain action, minus the Foots very own Mutants that are starting a ballsy fight with Hob's growing mutant army. This is where Santolouco brings his all, with fast action scenes that have some of the best colors I've ever witnessed. The action norm for me, is quick movements, and any bright colors added are more of a blur. However, Santolouco brings such crisp, detailed lines to the scenes, that it left me bug eyed with “Wow”.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Mummy #1

Nov 10, 2016

Freire brought dark, gritty, even a bit spooky to each passing page. I felt that you were never quiet sure what was going to happen. Freire has a beautiful way of shadowing, to not give you disinterest to what's being shown, but more of an absolute interest. What do they see on the other side of the shadow? Milligan writes for a truly alluring story. A story that can teach, as well as immerse you into full Egyptian culture.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Yakuza Demon Killers #1

Nov 18, 2016

Powell did a very good job, showing great creativity with different city, and landscape scenes. Also, being able to give that sketchy art effect, yet still having these characters have emotions and detail, are quiet entertaining. Chauhan did not move the beginnings of this comic too fast or slow, yet gave us enough detail, and mystery to keep readers guessing. I believe issue one sets up a great mystery for many readers, and will also throw in some educational lessons of the Yakuza as well.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More