Alex Clark-McGlenn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 19
6.5Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #3

Mar 13, 2019

A solid issue with some pleasant surprises. I can't wait for more insights into how society has changed how these characters deal with the real-life issues they encounter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #4

Apr 14, 2019

While this issue is a downbeat in plot pace, it's an upbeat in character development. For anyone who loves these characters and is excited to see how they deal with the trials of the 21st century.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Die #5

Apr 2, 2019

A twisted and shocking finish to the first arc of DIE. If you like complex characters that drive stories to places you didn't expect (and grew up with D&D) this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gideon Falls #10

Jan 14, 2019

A monumental installment that reveals some groundbreaking connections. The use of panel forms is among the most creative this reader has ever seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gideon Falls #11

Feb 12, 2019

A must-read issue for fans of Gideon Falls. Circumstances are so changed by its end, readers who miss it will find themselves out of the loop.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Isola #6

Jan 16, 2019

A reintroduction to the world and characters of Isola. Don't be surprised if you are left wishing more had happened or been revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Isola #7

Mar 26, 2019

An intriguing set up that has a lot of promise for this arc. Hopefully the writers explore the issues presented here full and do not have Rook and Olwyn carry on with their quest without uncovering some truth.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Outer Darkness #2

Dec 12, 2018

A fun, yet strange, journey through space... with magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Outpost Zero #7

Feb 20, 2019

A solid offering for fans of YA, as well as science fiction. One does not need love YA to enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Outpost Zero #9

Apr 16, 2019

A busy issue that is over way too fast and will keep you wanting the story to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Self/Made #1

Dec 4, 2018

A great start to a promising story. One only hopes the philosophical leanings brought up in this #1 continue throughout the run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Self/Made #2

Jan 8, 2019

A deep and interesting story that immerses readers in big concept questions, perfect for our time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.7
Self/Made #3

Feb 5, 2019

A necessary issue for an intriguing comic, but not up to the standards I have come to expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.8
Self/Made #4

Mar 5, 2019

While I may read until the end of the arc, Self/Made is not a comic I will continue with afterward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Sparrowhawk #3

Dec 19, 2018

A keen and whimsical fantasy that shines a light on ethical decisions in our own world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sparrowhawk #5

Mar 19, 2019

A satisfying (though not incredible) final to a fun mini-series that fans of dark (like extremely DARK) faerie tales will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.3
Starcraft: Soldiers #1

Jan 22, 2019

Just a poorly executed comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Empty Man (2018) #3

Jan 1, 2019

For fans of the original, this ongoing series has been much anticipated. For the casual reader, it fails to stand out from a crowded 2019 comic lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Life And Death Of Toyo Harada #2

Apr 8, 2019

I didn't understand what I was getting into when I began this series. For fans of Valiant, this is probably up your alley. For those who are just starting with the Valiant timeline, this is, perhaps, not the best place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More