Alex Clark-McGlenn's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sequential Planet Reviews: 37
7.0Avg. Review Rating

8.7
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #3

Mar 13, 2019

A solid issue with some pleasant surprises. I can't wait for more insights into how society has changed how these characters deal with the real-life issues they encounter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #4

Apr 14, 2019

While this issue is a downbeat in plot pace, it's an upbeat in character development. For anyone who loves these characters and is excited to see how they deal with the trials of the 21st century.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.3
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #5

Jun 3, 2019

While I'll probably return to Buffy for the next issue, my excitement has been replaced with skepticism.If you're a fan of Buffy, you should and probably will stick with this comic, but you should also be concerned in regards to the direction this reboot has taken.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Buffy the Vampire Slayer (2019) #7

Aug 6, 2019

A marked improvement from a couple of months ago. A solid issue that gets back to good pacing, relatable characters, and solid art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #5

Apr 2, 2019

A twisted and shocking finish to the first arc of DIE. If you like complex characters that drive stories to places you didn't expect (and grew up with D&D) this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Die #6

Aug 6, 2019

A genre-post-modern mashup that delves into the real consequences of fantastical worlds that so often seem to have none. A solid beginning to the second arc of one of the most promising comics today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Die #7

Sep 4, 2019

A close look at the other side of the DIE coin. While Chuck is the most obnoxious character, he's also the one who has the most potential to grow and so learning about him is interesting as well as cringe-worthy. Izzy is a little more straight forward, but her magical powers are so cool readers will want to know where they lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Die #10

Dec 3, 2019

Another intriguing and worthy entry into DIE. One can only be saddened that the second arc has come to an end.More, please.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Dissident X #1

Nov 18, 2019

An interesting take on a near-future world run by corporations. It sadly didn't connect with me as much as I had hoped due to a lack of character motive and a dearth of action scenes. I think those who enjoy works like V for Vendetta would probably find much to enjoy here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gideon Falls #10

Jan 14, 2019

A monumental installment that reveals some groundbreaking connections. The use of panel forms is among the most creative this reader has ever seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Gideon Falls #11

Feb 12, 2019

A must-read issue for fans of Gideon Falls. Circumstances are so changed by its end, readers who miss it will find themselves out of the loop.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Gideon Falls #16

Aug 13, 2019

An issue that gets back to the grounded plot. Perhaps a little overdue, but this reader is glad to have something to hang his hat on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Gideon Falls #17

Oct 17, 2019

Congratulations on the Eisner. This issue proves why they deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Gideon Falls #19

Dec 10, 2019

A nice change of pace that finally gets readers out of the confused multiverse and into a world that has clear objectives for its characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Heartbeat #1

Nov 21, 2019

While I was drawn to this piece by its stellar art, I was disappointed by its lack of cohesion and, at times, the stories premise. An economically struggling girl going to the "rich school," who feels alienated and suicidal is, at best, an adolescent trope, and at worst, downright cliche. While I went in with high hopes, I was ultimately looking for a story that would pique my interest, not just great art. Simply put, I don't think I'm the target audience here. Fans of True Blood and Vampire Academy might like this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invisible Kingdom #2

Apr 24, 2019

A solid #2. It keeps the tension up without feeling tired, complexifies characters and progresses plot with some beautiful art. While there is a blip of contrivance early one, this issue quickly recovers and is very satisfying.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Isola #6

Jan 16, 2019

A reintroduction to the world and characters of Isola. Don't be surprised if you are left wishing more had happened or been revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Isola #7

Mar 26, 2019

An intriguing set up that has a lot of promise for this arc. Hopefully the writers explore the issues presented here full and do not have Rook and Olwyn carry on with their quest without uncovering some truth.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Isola #9

Sep 11, 2019

An interesting installment, but one that this reader hopes lead to more urgency and agency for the main characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Outer Darkness #2

Dec 12, 2018

A fun, yet strange, journey through space... with magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Outer Darkness #7

Jun 13, 2019

A genre-defying, expectation-shattering issue. #7 keeps you guessing, wondering where this will go next. Each panel defies cliches and tropes, creating something wonderful and new.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Outpost Zero #7

Feb 20, 2019

A solid offering for fans of YA, as well as science fiction. One does not need love YA to enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Outpost Zero #9

Apr 16, 2019

A busy issue that is over way too fast and will keep you wanting the story to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.3
Outpost Zero #12

Aug 21, 2019

A rather fragmented issue, yet one that will surely lead to greater things. Just wait for the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Plate Tectonics #1

Nov 27, 2019

A fun and thoughtful memoir. I just wished it had come to some more thorough conclusions or deeper understandings.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Self/Made #1

Dec 4, 2018

A great start to a promising story. One only hopes the philosophical leanings brought up in this #1 continue throughout the run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Self/Made #2

Jan 8, 2019

A deep and interesting story that immerses readers in big concept questions, perfect for our time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.7
Self/Made #3

Feb 5, 2019

A necessary issue for an intriguing comic, but not up to the standards I have come to expect.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.8
Self/Made #4

Mar 5, 2019

While I may read until the end of the arc, Self/Made is not a comic I will continue with afterward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Shadow Roads #7

May 7, 2019

With a growing cast of people (both good, bad, human, and inhuman) and places,Shadow Roads is a must-read for any lover of cross-genre comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Sparrowhawk #3

Dec 19, 2018

A keen and whimsical fantasy that shines a light on ethical decisions in our own world.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Sparrowhawk #5

Mar 19, 2019

A satisfying (though not incredible) final to a fun mini-series that fans of dark (like extremely DARK) faerie tales will enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.3
Starcraft: Soldiers #1

Jan 22, 2019

Just a poorly executed comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Empty Man (2018) #3

Jan 1, 2019

For fans of the original, this ongoing series has been much anticipated. For the casual reader, it fails to stand out from a crowded 2019 comic lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Life And Death Of Toyo Harada #2

Apr 8, 2019

I didn't understand what I was getting into when I began this series. For fans of Valiant, this is probably up your alley. For those who are just starting with the Valiant timeline, this is, perhaps, not the best place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Wasted Space #10

May 29, 2019

A solid, yet ruckus final to arc 2. While it strains believability, it nonetheless delivers on its existential roots.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Wasted Space #11

Nov 5, 2019

Probably my favorite issue of Wasted Space so far. The character-driven aspects are great, and the art takes on some new dimensions, literally.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More