Brett Monro's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 27
7.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
'68 Scars #1

Apr 12, 2012

One of the challenges of doing a Vietnam War tale, is that so many stories have already been told about this period of history that it can be hard to find a new angle from which to attack a series. The zombies add a great hook to a book that doesnt necessarily focus on zombies, but on the characters in the Vietnam War.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bad Medicine #1

Jun 18, 2012

Bad Medicine is an engaging read, but I feel like the first arc was over too fast. It definitely felt like they could have spent a bit more time expanding the mystery than they did. It seems very sudden when the story is over, ending off with a couple of pages of set-up for the next arc. I would have been happier to see the set-up built into the story a bit better. Overall though, a well thought out book that certainly has enough action to keep the casual reader involved. Over time, with a little work, I could see this being a top-notch series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Chew #25

Apr 6, 2012

If putting a comic together is like building a puzzle, then this comic is one of the most finely crafted available today. My only issue with this book is that now I have to go back and find all the back-issues. Great work, and highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dancer #1

May 16, 2012

My biggest problem is the style of the book. Was it originally designed to be a comic or was it a screenplay that wasnt picked up? While the comic medium allows for all types of stories to be told, this one just seems to lack comic-y elements. It is an enjoyable series with a solid hook, but it also seems like a story that will be much better as a trade-paperback as opposed to a monthly read. If you like The Activity, and enjoy action genre comics, then I definitely recommend giving this one a shot; if you like super-heroes, then look elsewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Danger Girl: Revolver #3

Apr 6, 2012

If you enjoy the type of story that they are telling, then you might want to look into picking it up. It is competent story-telling that doesnt take chances. Ultimately, I would suggest waiting for the trade paperback to come out, and then hoping to get it at a discount. Maybe it will include some extra pages that will help connect some of the dots within the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Edison Rex #1

Jul 6, 2012

Edison Rex is the type of book I expect Alan Moore to write, save that it isnt overly pretentious. The perfect blend of the old and the new, without being over-written, and too wink-wink as long as you have read comics for decades you will understand this. This series is great fun, and I love the concept of a criminal genius protecting the earth. Well worth the look, especially for a mere 99 cents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Frankenstein Alive, Alive! #1

May 14, 2012

I have always liked the Modern Prometheus (part of which is included at the back of the comic), and consider Frankenstein one of the great monsters of all-time. This book is a worthy addition to the legacy, with strong writing and fantastic art. My only concern is how they will tread the line between new and old. They have thirteen issues to stay true to the core of the character, while still placing him in new, fitting situations. A very good start…

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
G.i. Joe: Retaliation #3

Mar 27, 2012

If the main goal of this series is to pique my interest in the second movie, then it has succeeded. I found the book to feature much of the same heart that I felt the original comics had, and didn't try and stretch the story too far from its roots. I look forward to the final issue, and hope the destination is as good as the journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla #1

May 23, 2012

This comic isnt just Godzilla; there are other giant monsters in tow as well. The fun has been brought in this book, and I hope that it keeps up. This is a very interesting beginning to a comic that could have been much less; as long as they carry on this path, then they will keep me as a reader. For now, I will have to just sit back in my giant-monster-proof tower and wait for the skreeeee-onnnnnk signaling the arrival of the next issueor perhaps my doom. Gojira!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Grim Leaper #1

May 30, 2012

Grim Leaper is a rare book that can touch on so many points, but still make it seem like they belong together. You truly never know what to expect next, and that is a really good thing for this book. There is a level of dark humor that seems missing in other comics of this ilk. At the end of the day, an easy read that begs to be enjoyed again and again. Its name is Grim Leaper, and I think Im in love.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hardcore #1

May 17, 2012

Hardcore is a really engaging sci-fi, action story. Even though the book tends toward the predictable, the twist at the end is excellent, and really drives the desire to read the next issue. This is a series that definitely makes me want to finish the story, but I currently dont see how it will live on past the first storyline. I hope the initial arc doesnt get drawn out too much, but overall, an excellent first issue. Recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
He-Man & The Masters of the Universe #1

Jul 6, 2012

He-Man and the Masters of the Universe is a much better book then I was anticipating. The story is engaging and different, while the art is adventurous and fun. There is something in here for the long-time He-Man fan, as well as the new reader who knows very little about the Masters of the Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
It Girl and The Atomics #1

Aug 9, 2012

It Girl is a fun read that takes me back to the super-hero comics I enjoyed as a kid, only with a more dynamic main character. I have no trouble recommending this story, and definitely want to continue on the journey with It Girl. Hopefully in later issues we will have the opportunity to explore more of the rich cluster of supporting characters. It Girl and the Atomics may appear to be a throwback, but it is totally 21st century.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mars Attacks #1

Jun 25, 2012

I originally wasnt very excited about this comic because my biggest memory of Mars Attacks is the movie, which I am not a fan of. I like the fact that this is a reboot of sorts, owing no allegiance to anything other than a 50 year old concept. It is a very easy read and is a lot of fun. Mars Attacks is another great example of a top-notch popcorn comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mind MGMT #1

May 29, 2012

Matt Kindt explains at the end, that he wants people to enjoy reading this comic monthly. Mind MGMT has added material that wont appear in the trade paperback to attempt to lure readers in on a regular basis; I am caught, hook, line and sinker. The bonus story alone is fantastic, and all of the secret messages hidden within the book are just the icing on top. This is one of the primary reasons that I read comics, for the opportunity to find books this good. The only thing left is to visit my local store and make sure they are putting Mind MGMT away for me… Ultra-mega highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Prophecy #1

Jun 7, 2012

This is a setup issue, which gives a clue to what we can expect in later issues of the series. Overall though, if it is a fun read that you are looking for, with a bunch of recognizable comic faces, then this book is for you. I hope this crossover continues to build off the first issue and gives us some solid action to go with its popcorn story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Reset #1

Apr 20, 2012

For fans of Peter Bagge, this will be a great moment, another chance to enjoy the work of a true master of underground comics. For those who dont enjoy his work, then this will be more of the same to them. I, am of the former, and cant wait to get my noodle-armed hands on issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret #1

Apr 13, 2012

The cover alone would make me want to give this book a try, as it is extremely evocative and attention-grabbing. What I really like about this book is the gritty nature of the characters, and the scenarios in which they have been placed. There is a lot being developed in this series, and Hickman has definitely proven that he can deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Supreme #63

Apr 3, 2012

Larsen is taking over full creative on this title beginning with issue 64, so hopefully he can clean up the mess begun with Moores old script and bring the same artistic sense that has kept Savage Dragon around for so long. It is possible, had I read the Moore run leading up to this issue that I would have liked the book more, but as a jump on point, it is almost incomprehensible. A less than auspicious beginning to a book with such a pedigree.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #8

Mar 29, 2012

I enjoyed the story, but wonder if the dialogue problems will be too much for me in the long run. The art style is effective and action-packed, leaving this one as a solid pick-up by fans of the original Turtles run by Eastman and Laird.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Bulletproof Coffin: Disinterred #3

Mar 29, 2012

Highly recommended, for mature readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Massive #1

Jun 18, 2012

The Massive is an excellent start to what looks to be a very worthy successor to DMZ and some of Brian Woods other creator-owned work. The story being told here is, like the title suggests, massive and I look forward to exploring the environmental question throughout the run of this series. It is exciting to read a book as good as The Massive, and I take great enjoyment out of being there from the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Pound: Ghouls Night Out #1

Sep 19, 2012

The Pound Ghouls Night Out surprised me in how complete a comic book it is. Rarely have I read characters as engaging as these, and married with a well-paced art style, it makes for an amazing read. If they do another Kickstarter for future volumes of this title, then count me in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Remains #4

Nov 21, 2014

I think it is really important to give The Remains a couple of reads. While I was reading issue four, I found myself racing through the final pages almost at the expense of the art, but the benefit of this was that when I reached the twist at the end, I enjoyed the reveal that much more as I didn't really see it coming. Afterwards, I spent time going back and truly looking at the art and got a chance to enjoy the wonderful blend of writing and art. The Remains is an excellent read that takes you on an emotional journey through the lives of two young girls. In Cullen Bunn's world, life may go on, but the memory remains. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.5
The Victories #1

Aug 20, 2012

If you like swearing, blood, and a lack of originality (and swearing, did I mention swearing?), then this is the book for you. For those who want a darker themed super-hero take, you might as well go and pick up a copy of Kick-Ass. Despite the occasional attempt to take this book somewhere, there is just not enough real substance to go along with the style.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Think Tank #1

Aug 2, 2012

Think Tank is a very good story with engaging characters. Hawkins has gone out of his way to make the characters real, and not cartoony, and it makes for a quality book. I appreciate that at the end of the book, Hawkins explains some of his thoughts, and the process of putting the book together. If you like interesting stories, and intelligent use of science-fact, then I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trio #1

May 10, 2012

I am a huge fan of John Byrne, but this book feels very dated to me. There is plenty to like within the book, but so much of it seems like a rehash of older work, that I really struggled to get into it. The lack of character development also impacted my ability to care; Im all for starting out of the gate fast, but without something to latch onto, the book suffers. Perhaps it is a slow-burn book that will get better in the future, but for now…

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More