Darius_DC's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 26
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Batgirl (2011) #33

Jul 10, 2014

This was a really fun and solid issue. Gail Simone and co. did a great job with pacing, dialogue, and showing some of the best character interaction I have seen in a while. Jonathan Glapion and Fernando Pasarin did an excellent job with conveying the emotions BATGIRL displayed as she was fighting Huntress, or those mercenaries, or Michael Drucker. They really did a great job. All in all, if you love good acion, great character interaction, and the formation of the true Birds of Prey (not specifically named that just yet), then, you will find great joy from this issue. Highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman Beyond 2.0 #29

Aug 17, 2014

BATMAN BEYOND 2.0 #29 may not have had so many reveals like last issue, but, Higgins and Siegel manage to still have some good shocking moments in this issue that was really awesome. Phil Hester had full artistic control over this issue and he delivered with some great artwork and he definitely showed how much talent he really has. With great writing and strong artwork, BATMAN BEYOND 2.O #29 was good way to start this last stretch of issues! Recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #8

May 30, 2014

BATMAN ETERNAL #8 is a great issue. The artwork is detailed, the scenes are paced beautifully, and the interactions among the characters is spot on and engaging. This series is still going strong after two months and issue #8 is no different because it continues the good quality that I would expect from the series thus far. Recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #9

Jun 5, 2014

I loved this issue! BATMAN ETERNAL #9 continues the weekly tradition of great quality I am expecting this weekly arc to have and it help grow the story as far as it can with it being a weekly series and all. With beautifuland immersive art by Guillem March mixed with John Layman's wonderful script and Scott Snyder and James Tynion IV's dynamic writing, issue #9 is one of the best issues of the series! This is a must have and a must read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Eternal #10

Jun 11, 2014

This was a good issue. The action was good. The writing was great, especially with Falcone's explanation, you just felt like you understood what he wanted to do and the way he expressed his thoughts, he can convince the reader that what he is doing is justified. The artwork by Guillem March is always great, he always encompasses you into the action and how each individual character is feeling with his drawings. Overall, this issue is a good read and if you want some understanding of why Falcone is back in Gotham, and what it foreshadows in the BATMAN ETERNAL story, then this is a must have!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Batman: Eternal #11

Jun 19, 2014

I believe that I expect so much good, scratch that great, quality from this series now that anything less would be disappointing for me personally. I have to say BATMAN ETERNAL #11 is by far the weakest issue of the series so far, despite the 3 out of 5 rating. However, it is still a solid issue because of Tim Seeley's script and because of the fact it was a female-centric issue. If you find the artwork good and you love a female-lead issue, then I recommend this issue for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Eternal #12

Jun 26, 2014

Overall, BATMAN ETERNAL #12 is a very good issue and it is return to form after a weak issue in issue #11. It has the same great writing as expected from Snyder and co., excellent art by Mikel Janin, and a shocking appearance by James Jr. that I'm sure no one saw coming. A little bit of disjointedness brought this issue down a peg because I witness this too much but this is still a solid issue. Highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #13

Jul 3, 2014

As said before, even though Batman has had a diminished appearance in this issue, and issues before, the story keeps you entertained. You see Gotham function on its own without Batman always having to save the day as usual. The visuals will keep you entertained and the story, pace, and dialogue will have you enticed. This is another solid outing by Scott Snyder and company. I highly recommend this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Eternal #14

Jul 10, 2014

Another good issue, with Penguin going to his dark side and Jim Gordon contemplating escape, readers will definitely enjoy this issue. It is gritty and gruesome at some points as well and Scott Snyder and the crew kind of pays an homage to “Batman Returns” which is kind of cool in a way. This was one of the darkest issues that we had since BATMAN ETERNAL started and I found it interesting and entertaining. I recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #15

Jul 17, 2014

I loved this issue. Whenever BATMAN ETERNAL goes supernatural, I am always interested. The artwork was amazing, the character interactions were entertaining, and we got introduced to a new character which, more often than not, is always a plus, especially in a story arc such as this. I guarantee you guys will enjoy this issue as much as I did! Highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Eternal #16

Jul 24, 2014

This was a solid issue as usual. You get your dose of action here and there and supernatural experiences. You have the revival of Deacon Blackfire from Batman's villains archive make his New 52 debut in BATMAN ETERNAL, which is always awesome! We have Sergi and Maxwell make a return. You have great artwork by Nguyen and a solid script from Fawkes. I have my one big negative and one gripe, however, I believe that it will not throw off most readers. I recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Eternal #17

Jul 31, 2014

I thought this was another good installment in this arc. Nguyen's artwork was horrifyingly awesome, Fawkes writing was really good, and we got to see some Deacon Blackfire's background! There were a few problems in character interaction and the jumps in logic in Deacon Blackfire's origin was sometimes annoying; however, overall you guys will really like this issue as much I did. I recommend this!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #18

Aug 7, 2014

As I said before, I loved this issue! The writing was superb, the artwork was good and detailed, and the pacing was excellent for a much longer issue. Nothing really felt forced except for that scene with Julia, but, other than that I thought this issue delivered a solid, interesting, and very character driven experience for the readers. Highly recommend!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #19

Aug 14, 2014

BATMAN ETERNAL #19 was a great issue. It was well paced, very well written, and it had enough action scenes to keep a reader engaged. The artwork faltered, but, the writing makes up for this. We see a lot of character development and plot points begin to move. Plot points such as Red Robin training harper Row, Jim Gordon being innocent yet pretty much stuck in Blackgate, etc. will have you getting too excited for what's to come. Highly recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman: Eternal #20

Aug 22, 2014

Like I said earlier, I enjoyed this issue because of the writing. I loved how all the supporting characters stories were handled by Tim Seeley. I love that a fan favorite in Stephanie Brown finally starting to take a bigger position in this BATMAN ETERNAL arc. I was disappointed by the artwork and I've been disappointed for the last couple of issues and I think it is a problem that can be fixed. However, it still bring the issue down. Ultimately, BATMAN ETERNAL #20 feels like a mid-season of your favorite show on tv. You know how it takes a break, leaving you anticipating for what the rest of the season has. That's what this issue is in my opinion. So I recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Justice League Beyond 2.0 #21

Jun 2, 2014

This issue was good. However, this issue just felt like a filler for the finale. I thought this issue was well paced, nice moments of action sprinkled in, and well written by Christos N. Gage. You will enjoy this issue as filler, it is not as good as I thought last issue was, but, it is not a bad issue altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Beyond 2.0 #22

Jun 15, 2014

JUSTICE LEAGUE BEYOND 2.0 #22 continues this Justice Lords arc in great fashion. Christos Gage continues to give us readers a great story with dynamic character interactions while Dexter Soy continues to make the scenes look great and helps drive home the great dialogue with great looking action scenes. I can tell this series is coming to an end soon, and I do not want it to! It is going to be very bittersweet with his ends, but I feel it is going to end on a high note, and you can not help but be excited for that. I highly recommend this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Beyond 2.0 #23

Jun 29, 2014

What I love about this issue so much is that Christos N. Gage could have made this a filler issue that leads into the final issue, but he chose not to and brought us a great issue! The writing was great, the art was amazing, and every scene flowed so well thanks to good pacing. There is no way you guys will not like JUSTICE LEAGUE BEYOND 2.0 #23! I highly recommend this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League Beyond 2.0 #24

Jul 14, 2014

JUSTICE LEAGUE BEYOND 2.0 #24 is a great and fitting end to a great series. It wraps up loose ends and gives us something to look forward to if Christos Gage and Dexter Soy decides to return to this universe. On a side note, I would like to thank Gage and Soy for giving us such a great comic series. With great action and great storytelling, this whole JUSTICE LEAGUE BEYOND 2.0 series has held a special place on my “comics to remember list.” Anyway, I highly recommend this issue! And my fellow readers, this has been JUSTICE LEAGUE BEYOND 2.0!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Smallville: Chaos #8

Jul 26, 2014

This was a good issue. The writing was great, but, the artwork is a little jarring. If you can deal with inconsistent artwork designs, then, you will enjoy this issue even more than I enjoyed this issue. This issue had a lot of events that sets up for a very interesting final four issues of SMALLVILLE: CHAOS and I can't wait to see how everything unfolds. I recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Smallville: Chaos #9

Aug 3, 2014

As stated before, I liked this issue. The opening and ending scenes were the best parts and the action was okay. I just can't help but feeling that the middle sequences of the issue needed more and the pacing was way too fast, which left me confused about the order in which events were taking place. I recommend this issue only if you want to understand Lex's main objective, so to speak, become introduced to the Weavers, and want to stay consistent with the SMALLVILLE: CHAOS arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Smallville: Chaos #11

Aug 17, 2014

SMALLVILLE: CHAOS #11 is a bad issue. It really is, especially coming off such a good setup issue such as last week's #10. Quite frankly, it is upsetting to see this kind of bad quality with the finale just next week. Usually you would want to finish off strong, and this issue is let down heading into the finale. The story and art was lacking in quality and confusing. I'm hoping next week these guys come back and deliver a really good finale. With that being said, I do not recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Smallville: Chaos #12

Aug 23, 2014

SMALLVILLE: CHAOS #12 ends this arc in disappointing fashion. This whole series really felt like it was setup for what is to come and not its own story and plot development. With overall bad writing by Bryan Q. Miller and and bad artistry by Agustin Padilla, there's no way i can recommend this issue. I hope in the next series, Bryan Q. Miller fixes whatever is plaguing him these last couple of issues, and find a new artist for Crisis.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Smallville: Lantern #11

May 24, 2014

Overall, I recommend the issue because it is action-packed, a little bit too much action at certain points though. It is the second to last issue of this arc so it is best to finish strong by reading the #10, this current issue, and the finale issue #12.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Smallville: Lantern #12

May 30, 2014

As a conclusion to the SMALLVILLE: LANTERN arc, it was okay, but it could have been better. I was hoping for a grander wrap up than what we got. However, it was still exciting, good scenes at times, and wrapped with a good ending scene involving Lex Luthor. I recommend this issue only because it is the final issue in this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Vampire Diaries #26

May 23, 2014

This is a good part two issue of the overall “Burning Love” arc. It seems like part three will have interesting developments that will take place and I am looking forward to it. I recommend this issue only if you read part one first because if you did not, then you would not understand where part two was coming from and why they are being interrogated.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

June

More