David Hodum's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 24
7.0Avg. Review Rating

6
Amazing Spider-Girl (2006) #28

Jan 13, 2009

Amazing Spider-Girl is finally coming to an end but it's not going down quietly. Make sure you pick up the rest of the series through issue #30 and give May Parker a hero's farewell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #580

Dec 16, 2008

In summary, I'm giving this comic the highest rating, a five out of five. You could pick up this issue at, literally, any time and enjoy it. In fact, this is a shining example of what a one-and-done issue should be. Lots of reviews might pan it for not advancing any current storylines, but that really seems like it would be digging for criticism. With the recent Mark Waid issues and this current one, I can say as a previously dissatisfied Spider-Man reader that this year Amazing Spider-Man has returned to top form.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers: The Initiative #21

Jan 27, 2009

Come join our merry band of misfits versus the Mighty Clor! They need all the help they can get!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cable (2008) #12

Mar 3, 2009

I really enjoyed the issue but nothing really happens here. A lot of the issue feels like set up for the beginning of "Messiah War," but that's not to sound critical. Fans will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Final Crisis: Resist #1

Nov 9, 2008

Final Crisis: Resist is solid work that gives event tie-in issues a good name. On a final note, I have nothing against Geoff Johns or Grant Morrison, but when is Greg Rucka going to get to write a giant event? Sign me up for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Giant Sized X-Men First Class #1

Oct 31, 2008

If you enjoy classic X-Men stories or even just Halloween stories, pick up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Green Lantern Corps (2006) #31

Dec 18, 2008

Overall, though, another solid addition to the overall Green Lantern Corps series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Guardians of the Galaxy (2008) #13

Apr 21, 2009

A solid issue and worthwhile tie-in. It's hard to create a comic that dances around the events of a major mini-series but still stands on it own.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mighty Avengers #22

Feb 24, 2009

Slott returns the old-school Avengers feel to an Avengers title! Hulk, Stark, Pym, Hercules, Quicksilver. This has it all. The only thing it's missing now are the little headshots on the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nova (2007) #18

Oct 31, 2008

Nova is a great book and this issue gives more clues on what's going on with Quasar, the Worldmind, and a possible glimpse of future storylines. Support the series and pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2007) #19

Nov 25, 2008

Nova is a great book, and hopefully the re-creation of the Corps seen at the end of this issue isn't a rush of any plot-lines.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nova (2007) #20

Dec 23, 2008

Nova continues to impress me on a monthly basis. Make sure you swing by the comics shop this week and pick this issue up. The last page features the most surprising new Centurion I've ever seen!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Thunderbolts (2006) #128

Jan 20, 2009

This issue has ignited an interest in me to continue reading the Thunderbolts. Not only are they a very capable team, but Osborn has a few aces up his sleeve that might help him snuff out any challenges to his power.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Ultimatum #1

Nov 11, 2008

A rough start to this Universe altering event. If you're a fan of any Ultimate series, you're almost obligated to pick it up, but you might want to wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
War of Kings: Ascension #1

Apr 7, 2009

I am stunned (and grateful) that Marvel and DnA can continuously surprise me with the quality of stories in the cosmic Marvel Universe. You HAVE to pick this up to find out what happens to Darkhawk!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
War of Kings: Darkhawk #1

Feb 3, 2009

Darkhawk and his amulet have become a total wild card. Pick up this series to find out exactly what the future has in store for Chris Powell and if the rest of the Marvel Universe will regret not having helped Darkhawk rein in powers until it's too late!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
War of Kings: Darkhawk #2

Mar 24, 2009

If you want to know the backstory for Darkhawk when he drops into the "War of Kings", you'll want to read this story. Darkhawk fans won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
What If? (2008): Newer Fantastic Four #1

Dec 16, 2008

Overall, this was an enjoyable issue. I like stories about possibilities, and the What If? line has always been about drastic change from what happened canonically. If you've enjoyed Marvel's recent What If? output, you should have a good time with this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wolverine: Manifest Destiny #1

Oct 28, 2008

Worth the purchase, but this is only part one of a four issue series, so it won't hold the test of time without the other three. From what I've seen of Jason Aaron's writing, it's very consistent, so try out this issue and if you enjoy it, chances are you'll enjoy the next three.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Force (2008) #13

Mar 17, 2009

X-Force is amazing. What's the one way to screw up sending a lethal strike team into the future to assist Cable? How about pulling them out of a middle of a mission with fellow mutant lives on the line, giving them something to argue about and stress out over the entire time they're gone. Cyclops is going to have hell to pay for this one...

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men Manifest Destiny: Nightcrawler #1

Mar 10, 2009

The departure of one of the major X-Men should have been much more introspective with greater fanfare, but instead it became a weak plot device. Sadly, I cannot recommend this book, even though Nightcrawler is one of my favorite X-Men and Marvel Heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Men: Legacy (2008) #222

Mar 17, 2009

A solid contribution to the Legacy series, but not a stand alone issue. This is just a portion of a story being told in five parts, and the strength of this part needs to be judged when the whole story has been told.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X-Men: Manifest Destiny #3

Nov 4, 2008

If you've read the series thus far, buy this issue as Iceman's story advances, and there are two solid solo stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
X-Men: Manifest Destiny #4

Dec 2, 2008

If you're trying to find stories about the X-Men ensuring the survival of all mutants, look elsewhere. If you have enjoyed the style of the stories so far, pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More