Donald Hudec's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Shoot The Breeze Comics Reviews: 20
6.7Avg. Review Rating

6.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #7

Aug 5, 2017

The art has a very sandy texture, perhaps not my favorite but for this particular story it works.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #9

Sep 12, 2017

This series is fun if youre a fan of the movies. Gerry Duggan really seems to get the family of weirdoes dynamic of the movies. He does a good job depicting the connection and partnership of Rocket and Groot, you cannot help but feel for Rocket when he believes Groot to have died sacrificing himself so that he would survive.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Defenders (2017) #1

Jun 21, 2017

This issue is a great jumping on point for fans of the Netflix series. It has a very Hollywood feel to it. While this introductory issue was not perfect, it was a lot of fun and I expect great things going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Defenders (2017) #2

Jun 28, 2017

Whereas Luke Cage took a strong spotlight in the premiere issue, the second issue focuses much more on Jessica Jones, Iron Fist and Daredevil. Each cast member is given their time to shine equally as Cage takes a backseat. David Marquez is becoming one of my favorite current artists at Marvel. He continues to impress, his lines are at the same time clean and edgy. And Bendis delivers another strong, action packed issue here. He really knows each of these characters inside and out. This is the book, and these are the characters, that Bendis is meant to be writing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Defenders (2017) #3

Jul 13, 2017

Bendis is doing an amazing job of rebuilding the Marvel "street level superhero" world. I love how he has breathed this new enthusiasm into the Black Cat, Diamondback, the Punisher, Night Nurse, really this entire universe of great characters. This is some gold standard dialogue, right here. The danger of the situation is made clear while the ever-present back and forth between the main characters keeps it fun and entertaining. David Marquez continues to impress, he's easily become one of my favorite artists currently at Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Defenders (2017) #4

Aug 12, 2017

I am loving this book. I cannot speak highly enough of it. They have the perfect writer and perfect artist for the cast. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Defenders (2017) #5

Sep 23, 2017

This is a character building issue. While it mostly sets the stage for whats to come next, it still gives us a ton of action along with the information. Bendis continues to show his tremendous grasp on the street level Marvel characters and their diverse, complex personalities. In short, this book is awesome and I hope youll all pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 24, 2017

Overall, it's a pretty good story. Not great, but better than okay. It seems like more of a set up storyline for the big reveal of The Second Hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 24, 2017

Despite a couple of minor hiccups between the storytelling and the artwork, the Blockbuster storyline picks up by the end of this issue. The cliffhanger ending really has me anticipating the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Jul 8, 2017

Nightwing really needs to get a stronger supporting cast. He is a potentially A List superhero, one of the most famous of all history. He's the original Robin! He's a founding Titan! And yet" Defacer, Mouse and Giz? (IS that pronounced Jizz? Does he know what that means??) Anyway, it's an easy, breezy issue. The artwork is solid. The dialogue is okay, but sometimes misses the mark. "And like any good war? It's gonna end with a bomb." I would have liked to have a stronger sense of danger here, even considering the cliffhanger ending, but all things considered? This issue is still a good time.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Nightwing (2016) #25

Jul 21, 2017

It was an okay issue. Overall, not very eventful. Nightwing deserves a better plot, a better supporting cast, a better, more confident girlfriend and a way better rogue's gallery. Blockbuster may well turn out to be a significant threat, but Dick just basically kicked the crap out of 30 villains who are exactly on his level.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nightwing (2016) #26

Aug 5, 2017

Theres some good action here, and the twist ending really shocked me. Despite all of the feels permeating the book, it still is a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Nightwing (2016) #27

Aug 18, 2017

Tim Seeley really knows how to end on a cliffhanger! I just wish the payoffs would be stronger. I am happy to see Spyral, and Helena Bertinelli (Huntress), back in Dick Graysons life. And it was interesting to see Mouse embracing her dark side in her grief and need for revenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #28

Sep 8, 2017

If Tiger King and the Huntress become the new Nightwing supporting cast, we are all in for a great read. If Defacer goes all Swimfan on Nightwing, we also are in for a great read. Huntress is a worthy romantic sparring partner for Nightwing. Ive been saying for a while now that Nightwing is bogged down by a supporting cast that are, frankly, just unworthy of his top billing status as one of the worlds best known superheroes. However, if they start losing their minds to grief, jealousy, greed and despair? I could see them potentially posing a threat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Secret Empire #5

Jun 28, 2017

While the writing here is pretty solid, but a very unusual choice in artists, in my opinion. This sort of epic-blockbuster-summer-popcorn-fest is generally paired up with a more prominent, mainstream artist along the lines of a Steve McNiven, Olivier Coipel or even the cover artist, Mark Brooks. It's not bad, just unusual. I'll be honest, considering the shit-storms that the last few Marvel crossovers have turned out to be (don't get me started on that ending to IvX), I did not expect great things from Secret Empire. I have been refreshingly surprised by how well Nick Spencer has crafted this story thus far. PLEASE, Marvel, don't make me regret saying that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Empire #6

Jul 21, 2017

This issue is just so very dark. There is very little hope here. A lot happens, but the direction is murky.The story is solid, despite the lack of a clear direction. But, again, it's just depressing. "Darkest before the dawn", I hope. The artwork is just uneven and often times just a mess. As I have said in my past reviews, I do not feel that this is on par with so-called "Event Comic" standards.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Secret Empire #7

Jul 28, 2017

Overall, the story is still pretty good, despite any short comings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Empire #8

Aug 11, 2017

I dont want to give away too much here, because spoilers would really ruin the experience. There is so much payoff in this issue. Nick Spencer really plays tug of war with your heart. Just when you think everything might turn out okay, all hope is seemingly torn away once more, only to restore it again. If Disney and Marvel are truly planning on steering away from their alleged Marvel SJW agenda going forward from Secret Empire? Like the politics or not, this is a hell of a sendoff to that era.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Secret Empire #9

Aug 25, 2017

Okay, this issue is not the best written, and it can fall flat if you let it, but if you dispend belief and allow yourself to be swept away in the excitement and big screen popcorn blockbustery-ness of it all? It's a lot of fun to see the heroes band together.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.5
Secret Empire #10

Sep 1, 2017

Steve McNivens artwork is gorgeous, as usual. It is the one redeeming quality to this completely shite story. Cool moments, and they are very few here: Old Man Logan and Carol Danvers calling Steve Rogers out on his bullshit leading to Hawkeye assembling the Avengers, X-Men, Guardians of the Galaxy, Champions, Defenders and more into battle. The TRUE Steve Rogers standing up to his Hydra counterpart. The scene with Thors hammer. The truly, outstandingly bad: The Vanishing Point nonsense. The forced political agenda. The obviously mandated death of Black Widow. Marvel has promised that this will be their last event series for a while. I sincerely hope thats not fake news.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More