Gwen Dylan Stacy's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 38
7.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Adventure Time: Season 11 #5

Feb 18, 2019

If you're a person who has a child that is getting into comics or enjoys family story time then I highly suggest this title for this purpose. Especially since it's quality content that I give a 4 out of five stars, not only for its wonderfully written and illustrated self, but because it lends us a mouthpiece to speak to our youth about important issues without being overly pushy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Adventures of the Super Sons #9

Apr 11, 2019

I'm hoping that everything leads up to Jonah playing an active part in the future. I think that small addition to the boys' team because it would be nice to see some guidance for them out in the middle of impending doom. If anything, I think that this little sidestep from main action is worth checking out, especially since I feel like Jonah Hex a little extra oomph that this 3.5 out of 5 star writing needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Age Of X-Man: X-Tremists #1

Feb 27, 2019

Those who threaten this balance, as we've seen in the Age of X-Man: Alpha comic, are quickly dealt with by excommunication from society. Their counterparts are then taken to cerebro to have their memories readjusted so that little to no remanent of what might have actually transpired remain. It's during a routine crackdown on a pair of these “criminals” that we learn something that shakes the team to their core and leaves them unsure of how to approach the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
American Gods: The Moment of the Storm #4

Jul 19, 2019

I think that the most poignant part of this title is the parallels to what Laura is experiencing. Like opposite ends of the same coin which, again, echoes a lot of the theme in this 4.5 out of 5 title. I highly suggest getting your hands on it, reading it, immersing yourself in it and all the nuances that mesh both story, art, and color together and then telling me if you agree.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Anthem (2019) #1

Feb 20, 2019

Although this title is something outside of my wheelhouse given that I hadn't played the game itself, if you're a fan I always suggest delving into the back history of some of the worlds that you might actively play as a part of. I'll give Anthem's first issue a 3.5 out of 5 stars for the beautiful prose, the elegant action panels that surround you, wrap you up in a world far different from the ones we're part of, and the beautiful bold colors that fill its interiors and make your eyes wish for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batgirl (2016) #32

Feb 28, 2019

You know those issues that you read where a hero is at war with the tension between themselves and someone they're working with out of previous interactions? Well, lads, lemme tell you"this issue of DC Comics's Batgirl is full of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Black Betty #8

May 1, 2019

What did you think of this little 4 out of 5 read? Did it feed your interests or do they lie elsewhere?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Black Widow (2019) #2

Feb 26, 2019

Still, it's good enough that the writing itself should make up for what exactly I had qualms with that really isn't that big of a deal at all. For me, Black Widow earns a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars. I look forward to seeing what Jen and Sylvia and their team do next as my love for one of my favorites rekindles itself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Blossoms 666 #2

Mar 6, 2019

I'd really suggest this title, based on just the banter between the twins alone, to anyone who is a fan of Archie works, or even the tv show itself. Especially if you liked the Chilling Tales Netflix stuff since it will sate your supernatural palette with this 4 out of 5 star read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Books of Magic (2018) #10

Jul 25, 2019

I truly enjoyed this little 4 out of 5 title. It's very much starting to feel like another coming of age story that I'll gladly follow given I know what I know about who exactly Timothy might become. Do you agree?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Care Bears: Unlock the Magic #1

Jul 10, 2019

Outside of the ongoing central conflict, the gang's interaction with Bluster and Robbie also allow adults to touch on deeper thematic issues. Such as how sometimes they way that we see ourselves on the inside might not always reflect that which others see on the outside. This 4 out of 5 star title allows us to confront so many issues that might be important to kids growing up these days while not really intruding upon our adult sensibilities if we're merely reading for our own enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Champions (2019) #3

Mar 8, 2019

I'm not sure if the second bit is intentional but I have a feeling it might be. Especially since a big fight seems to be on the horizon for everyone still left behind. I'd assume that this will either bring the newer squad together or further tear them apart. Especially when considering that training earlier that day had been met with a few hiccups. Distractions. Either way, I suggest checking out what the future holds for this 3.5 out of 5 title. Especially since a lot of the writing for favorites here seems to widely differ from how they'd previously been written.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Champions (2019) #4

Apr 5, 2019

If you've been following this title, this issue is it. You need to read it, if only for the peace of mind. It's necessary if you want closure, much like these characters deserve. It's the blend of story and art lend itself to this charming 4 out of 5 star issue (pausing here to state that Kaldera is now my new favorite character because of this) that will only make you remember why exactly you love these fledgling heroes finding their footing so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Cheshire Crossing #1

Jul 11, 2019

Weir manages to find a balance of bittersweet pangs of youth and sometimes bluntly funny interactions with their cohabiting characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Conspiracy: Denver Airport #3

Feb 22, 2019

As one would assume, it's quite dangerous to go traipsing about in the darkness of mystery with little to no idea as to what is really happening. I won't mention much but I will say that there were a few panels that managed to coax a shocked little gasp from me when I was reading this issue. In my opinion, there is a enough wonderfully written tension to warrant delving further into any upcoming issues. There's enough trauma to perhaps sway someone from one side of something the other. Couple that with the fact that one of things that occurs is such a high-profile event that outsiders from the family itself might get involved and the tension built there gnaws on you enough to check out this 3.5 out of 5 little Zenescope gem.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cosmic Ghost Rider Destroys Marvel History #1

Mar 6, 2019

The biggest question I have for this title is that if Frank actually went back in time to right wrongs, all while acknowleding the fact that his travels created time paradoxes, how will this effect the future and who the man actually will become? Is this perhaps the reason why Cosmic Ghost Rider ends up "destroying" the Marvel Universe as we've known it so far? I can only guess how things will unfold in the next issue of this 3,5 out of 5 surprisingly human little title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Criminal (2019) #2

Feb 14, 2019

The brilliant part of this title is the fact that we're subjected to both sides of Hal's story. We're left to deduce for ourselves about whether or not who he seems to be is actually who he is or if there's something larger at work. For me, the idea of figuring this out along with the gritty realism of the title itself is enough for me to want to continue to read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invader Zim #42

May 3, 2019

The brilliance of this title comes from the subtle walk into metaphor, as opposed to just dropping heavy words into laps of those who hadn't quite understood what might be the true topic of conversation. It's a thought piece not just for open dialogue with kids, but for adults themselves. I think that it's important sometimes for such things to be presented more like a passing thought that's not preachy; more just a gentle reminder that there are other things going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Invisible Woman (2019) #1

Jul 10, 2019

I look forward to more of the eloquence that Waid gifts Sue. I look forward to her journey back to herself and, let's be honest, hope to see more of Adam Hughes' beautiful art gracing the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ironheart #3

Feb 18, 2019

The realistic dialog and ability to openly address the trauma sustained by our protagonist in this issue really are what shines in this issue. It's isolative nature ultimately leaves us hoping that there is a light at the end of the tunnel for those who might feel the same even in real life. I really enjoyed the mix of true to life reactions that Eve L. Ewing writes, along with the wonderful art by Luciano Vecchio. Even the colors by Matt Milla are appreciated, as a lot of the palette in this title reflect the flagship yellow and red that we've come to love in Stark Tech itself. I rate this issue a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars and look forward to seeing how our hero works out all her issues to become a more complete version of herself.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Ironheart #8

Jul 12, 2019

Despite the warning, and possibly to the chagrin of our guest in the title, Riri manages to deduce where she needs to go on the next part of her journey despite the location being secretive (and the effort of her companion to conceal this information from her.) I'm wondering exactly how much the warning she was given will be part of foreshadowing in the future, but for now, I can suggest this lovely 3.5 out of 5 star title to anyone who has been a fan of Iron Heart.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Jim Henson's Beneath the Dark Crystal #7

Feb 20, 2019

Admittedly, there's a little bit of nostalgia in the art by Alexandria Huntington that is punctuated by the colors that Laura Langston drips onto the pages. Somehow, the art itself transcends the pages to become something more. I can literally feel myself watching a movie in my mind.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Justice League Dark (2018) #8

Feb 14, 2019

I think the part that stands out the most for me in this writing is the fact that Tynion so expertly explains to us how magic and science walk parallel lines; that pieces of one resound largely in the other. The balance is integral, especially when realizing that two of the team are more science/logical minded beings. I think that ultimately, this major component is going to become imperative to where the story leads. Especially when considering the need for desire to will things into fruition. Ultimately, we're left waiting to see what order is brought to the team and what this means for Magic itself. I give this issue a 4.5/5 for, not only the beautiful art inside, but the expert blend of magic and science. Do you agree?

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Livewire (2018) #3

Feb 15, 2019

I give this issue a 3.5 out of 5 stars. It was a delightfully different read from what I had currently expected; something that easily challenged me and what I thought I know without being too overly wordy or preachy. I'm not exactly sure what the next issue will bring for myself or Amanda, now that she's confronted her actions from a new angle, but I'm anxious to see how everything plays out. Do you agree?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Man-Eaters #5

Feb 28, 2019

It's a quirky little read from the purveyors of different content that truly sets itself apart from the rest of the content I typically read from them. I really love it, if not only for the story telling and natural ebb and flow of its dialog, but for the cute little real life tidbits in the pages and the splash of Maude's medical form. I hope you'll give this 4 out of 5 star read a try as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Monstress #20

Feb 22, 2019

I really can't tell you how much I loved this issue and all its hybrid mix of manga and comics. For me, everything culminates to find a solid 3.5 out of 5 stars for a title that I'll continue to anticipate with bated breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Oh S#!t It's Kim & Kim #5

Feb 15, 2019

The truth is, for many, this title might fly under their radar, which is sad, because it's one that deserves being looked at. It's light hearted humor and surprisingly engrossing narrative is one that I think everyone can get behind, if they give it a chance, which is why I'm going to give Kim and Kim a 4 out of five stars. Have you checked out this title yet? If not, go do it now and then let me know what your take on it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Old Lady Harley #5

Mar 1, 2019

While it wasn't necessarily my cup of tea, I will say that I was able to easily and quite quickly get through the adventures of Harley and her little band of team mates comprised of Catwoman, Red Tool, and with appearances with some long time allies like Killer Croc. For me, if you're a Harley Quinn fan who wants to see her written with more chances to be human and really understand the depths of her disappointing and abusive relationship with Joker, this little 3 out of 5 star title might just be up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Port of Earth #12

Jul 23, 2019

I highly suggest this 4 out of 5 title, if not just because I think the subject matter is important, but also because it's a intriguing cliffhanger of a read that you'll find yourself dangling on the edge of.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Punk Mambo #1

Mar 14, 2019

This clearly doesn't please Laveau, who seems to abandon Mambo in her time of need to leave her to her own devices; something which she might soon regret. I've got to say it again, Cullen Bunn is putting out some really really great content and the art coupled with his story in this limited 4 out of 5 star issue is enough to really make people who might not be super familiar with Punk Mambo truly fall in love with her.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Rainbow Brite #4

Feb 25, 2019

I think this super fun issue is a solid 3.5 of 5 stars, worthy of a read especially if you're centering family time around such.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Star Wars Adventures #18

Feb 26, 2019

I really enjoyed this 3 out of 5 star issue, as I hope all of you will too, if you manage to get a hold of it, despite all my terrible character bias. Do you agree?

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Starcraft: Soldiers #2

Feb 26, 2019

While it's not really something that I particularly would pick up on my own, I do think that this niche little comic offers up enough that fans of the franchise itself will love delving into it and it earns a solid 3 out of 5 stars from me for all its efforts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Amazing World Of Gumball: Adventures in Elmore #1

May 30, 2019

I think that, like all forms of escapism, there's something blissfully unawares of the outside world when you delve into something that, in its truest form, is meant for those of us who might not be jaded by the world enough to need anything than unadulterated fun of this 4 out of 5 title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Dreaming (2018) #7

Mar 7, 2019

Ihighlysuggest this beautifully written little tale to anyone who might want to know more about one of the beloved characters inside the Sandman title, or for anyone who just really loves prose in general. It was easy to read to the point that I am regretful that there aren't more pages to this lovely 4 out of 5 star issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Girl In The Bay #2

Mar 7, 2019

I suppose I'll find the answers in the next issue of this solid 3.5 out of 5 star read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Vampirella (2017): Valentine's Day Special #1

Feb 13, 2019

If you're looking for a unique, fun little read that sure to hit your feels in just the right warm place, then I suggest picking up this one shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wonder Woman (2016) #64

Feb 13, 2019

While it's good and a very interesting read once you get to the meat of the issue to find out exactly what might be causing this round of spurning from Cale, it's just not exactly my cup of tea.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More