Harvey Moreno's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Kabooooom Reviews: 13
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8
Batman / Catwoman (2020) #1

Dec 1, 2020

Whether or not you loved King's run on Batman you should give this one a go. Heck, give the first two a go. If there's one thing he knows how to do, it's turn a story on its side. With a bit of distance between his run and this story, coupled with the flexibility of a Black Label imprint, we should expect some interesting things from this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Cat (2020) #1

Dec 18, 2020

Let me leave you with one final thought: I don't care how good you think the terms are between you and your ex, if she's stealing your car, you have a problem on your hands. Also, fun fact: Peter Parker does not have a driver's license!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blade Runner: 2029 #1

Dec 18, 2020

Blade Runner 2029 is a buckle-in-for-the-ride of a book that keeps you interested from cover to cover with a fantastic bombshell at the end. I cannot wait for the next installment! What are you waiting for?! Go pick up a copy already!

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Dark Nights: Death Metal: The Last 52: War of the Multiverses #1

Dec 31, 2020

The only story I felt was worth the read was Armageddon Blues. This was Constantine vs. Dark(er?) Constantine in a way only they could: getting to know each other over a drink in the only pub in the wasteland of Themyscira. I can't help but chuckle as I think about how much it felt like The Nan In Black going in against a Sicilian when death is on the line. If you feel like eight pages of entertainment is worth $8.99, then I'd say grab this book. Hopefully you'll enjoy it more than I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): The Next Batman #1

Jan 6, 2021

Despite each story proving weaker than the last, Future State: The Next Batman #1 was an overall enjoyable read. There is enough interest here to push forward into issue two, a prerequisite for the success of Future State.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Future State (2021): Swamp Thing #1

Jan 6, 2021

DC's Future State: Swamp Thing #1 is a diesel engine of a story; slow to warm up but powerful once it gets going! Issue Two cannot arrive soon enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Halloween Man #25

Oct 14, 2020

Maintaining a legacy such as Drew's presents new hurdles for all parties involved. How do you keep the story fresh? How do you continue to engage your readers? How do you land new readers with such a rich and vibrant history of characters and lore? This issue does an amazing job of preparing the reader for the story they are about to read with a low-impact "Just so you know"" in the first two pages. So whether you are a seasoned fan looking for a fantastic progression of story or a brand new reader looking for a place to hop in, this is your issue. As someone who has dipped his toes into the rivers of Halloween Man a few times since 2009, I can tell you that I was able to jump into this with both feet, no snorkel, and came out anxious to see where the waters lead next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Her Fatal Hour & The Sending #1

Dec 1, 2020

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: Her Fatal Hour and The Sending will be available at your Local Comic Shop on Wednesday, December 2nd, 2020!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Ice Cream Man #22

Dec 27, 2020

If you have never picked up an Ice Cream Man book, you may be doing yourself a disservice. Reminiscent of shows like The Twilight Zone, Tales from the Crypt, and even Black Mirror, the franchise is a series of one-shot stories with each focusing on a new tale of terror.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
King In Black: Iron Man/Doom #1

Jan 3, 2021

It is refreshing to see that Marvel has learned their lesson by making the King in Black tie-ins relevant without being essential. King In Black: Iron Man/Doom #1 is one you should tie into your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
S.W.O.R.D. (2020) #1

Dec 9, 2020

While I was not the biggest fan of the overall product that was this book, I am left hopeful in the direction of the story. The marriage of mutant abilities to technological advances certainly intrigued me and bought a second issue out of my curiosity. I am a fan of Al Ewing as a writer (owning signed copies of some Immortal Hulk books) and Valerio Schiti is known for some amazing work! My hope is that the story projects through the subsequent books. I'm willing to give it another "Krak"!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Savage Avengers (2019) #16

Dec 18, 2020

Duggan knows these characters well and has a proven track record for weaving a narrative that pushes you to the next book. Conan has had a tremendous development arc since the introductory issue. Hopefully we can expect increased savagery as we push into the King in Black event.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Flashpoint #1

Dec 8, 2020

The Tales from the Dark Multiverse series of stories are creative twists on familiar themes. If you love comics history, and maybe enjoyed The Twilight Zone, then you need to check out this book!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

1st

May

More