Isaac Quattlebaum's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 34
7.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aliens: Defiance #1

Apr 13, 2016

Aliens: Defiance stays true to the franchise by having a strong female protagonist. I'm rooting for Zula to take down the Alien or take it with her like (SPOILER ALERT) Ripley did in Alien 3 which depressed me a lot as a kid.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aliens: Defiance #2

May 25, 2016

Overall I'm torn about how to feel about this series. If it were a movie then the story would be strong enough to hold my attention and the special effects would distract me from the flaws but because it's a comic book I just expect more. The Alien franchise has a successful formula that is hard to mess up. Comic books rely on strong storytelling and consistent artwork. The artwork is pretty weak overall in this series thus far. The storytelling is enough to make it an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness: Furious Road #1

Mar 2, 2016

I think this issue is a good start for the newest series. I did find it to be a little short but I think that's because Ash isn't featured as much as I thought he would be and the story really picks up when he is revealed. I enjoyed the Mad Max: Fury Road reference with the title. Hopefully they'll reference the film more as the series goes on. The Army of Darkness franchise is a recipe for fun in the hands of a good writer and artist. This looks like it's going to be the start of another entertaining run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness: Furious Road #2

Apr 6, 2016

This issue gave me more of what was great in the first issue: goofball humor and campy horror. Nancy A. Collins has so far penned an interesting that tale that ended with me caring even more about these new characters. It's hard to imagine a world where Ash has lost the world to his enemies but the story being told in this new installment of Army of Darkness is still enjoyable to read for old fans and new fans alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness: Furious Road #3

May 10, 2016

Furious Road has been consistent with its writing and artwork since issue one. The build up from the last two issues was played out perfectly in this one and it feels like a bonus that we get two more issues of story set in this crazy world. The war between the Deadites and Ash is still fresh in this new series because the characters are so well written. I can't wait for their war to continue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Army of Darkness: Furious Road #4

Jun 1, 2016

I think the zombie genre has been done to death in just about every medium but what makes the Army of Darkness franchise work is the humor in it. There's no such thing as being too over the top in a book where nuns haul machine guns and werewolves ride motorcycles. This is cheesy horror at its best. If you're new to The Evil Dead world, then this book is a great introduction. Every issue so far has been excellent and the newest one is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #1

Mar 23, 2016

Overall I'm interested to see where this story goes. I'm expecting more betrayals as the story goes on since the Templar's are known to be devious in their activities. This first issue was executed well and an Assassin's Creed fan will appreciate the Easter eggs from the video game. There's even a bio for the history of the Templars at the end of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Templars #2

Apr 30, 2016

Overall Assassin's Creed: Templar #2 stands on its own rather than because it's part of franchise. The complex writing and stunning artwork make this book rise above other video game tie-ins. My one hope as a fan of the Assassin's Creed games is that Black Cross might make an appearance in a future title. His presence throughout this issue made me a huge fan and I can't wait to see what he does next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #6

Aug 16, 2017

Overall I think that this issue gives just enough to attract an interest in the arc to follow. I'm intrigued to see if or how this alternate timeline will relate to the present. If it ends up being a self-contained story I think it has enough of the essence of the character of Batwoman that it will satisfy new and old fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Chum #1

May 10, 2016

Overall Chum #1 is something that I did not expect to like at first but it has grown on me since I first read it. Everyone can relate in some way or another to wanting to escape from their current life. We may not all go to the extremes that Summer does but her motivations are relatable. Pick up Chum if you want something unique to read and don't be surprised if you're hooked!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cthulhu Williams #0

Mar 16, 2016

In the indie world zero issues are often a version of a preview book so I take this for what it is. Overall I think this zero issue is a good tool to draw attention to the creative team. It's clear from the author's notes and the extra content that this is a labor of love. I hope the creative team learns from this process and is able to continue the series with a full number one issue soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Souls #1

Apr 20, 2016

Overall I'm not sure what to make of this book. It sets up a character that I want to know more about but in this issue I felt like she simply wasn't challenged enough. The obstacles she goes against are pretty simple and easily defeated. As a whole issue Dark Souls #1 was kind of a medium letdown. It's still enjoyable to the average reader even if you haven't played the videogames. My only expectation is that the series will stay true to the genre and because of a lack of more exciting battles it falls short.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Freelance Blues #1

Feb 18, 2016

For any comic book creator a first issue is a make or break time period. Every page has to be used to push the story forward and leave the reader wanting more. I'm not sure what level these writers and artist are at in their careers but the fact that the comic was composed in a fairly decent structure is an achievement. It's the flaws in both the dialogue and artwork that make this achievement invisible. Out of the outpour of recent indie titles this one just does not stand out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goldie Vance #1

Apr 13, 2016

It's bittersweet knowing that Goldie Vance will only be a four issue mini-series. I think there's potential for way more storylines beyond four issues but if every issue is as rich with story and fun as this one than I'll gladly take what I can get.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #2

May 21, 2016

It's worth noting that another reason I think this series is so good for kids is because of the ethnic diversity. In this issue Goldie is revealed to be biracial, her father being African-American and her mother being white. The issue also touches on the fact that Goldie's parents are divorced. I think these are themes that are handled well in this book. It's more about visibility than it is teaching some moral lesson. This is the reality that a lot of kids have. If you're introducing children to comics or even if you're new to them this series provides high quality writing that any age can enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Arrow (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

*Editor's note: They did cancel the series, we know that so save a tree and skip the comment.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lanterns #1

Jun 15, 2016

I understand that this is just a taste of what we're getting from the new Green Lanterns series. What I don't understand is why DC recycles old plots and has a lack of creativity when it comes to this series. If I pick up a Green Lantern book called Rebirth, it should be doing something different from what I've seen before. I'd love to see a brand new origin story for a brand new Green Lantern. Say what you want about Marvel, but it takes more chances when it reinvents its characters. If DC is betting on a new set of characters to carry this title than they should go back to the drawing board.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Independence Day #1

Mar 23, 2016

To me this first issue is the perfect example of a bad movie tie-in. It has a generic plot and stereotype characters all under the banner of the Independence Day franchise. If you're not a fan of the movie, then this book has little else offer. It feels like just a money grab by the movie studio. Plus, Will Smith does not appear. I understand he declined the next movie, but they couldn't get the rights to put him in a comic book? I'm still looking forward to actually watching the first movie and the sequel but I don't care much what takes place in between.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #1

Apr 20, 2016

Everyone can relate to wanting to explore outside of the world they know and Joyride #1 makesme excited for what happens next. As the characters discover more and more about the unknown the journey will keep getting more fun to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #5

Mar 30, 2016

If you're new to Archie like myself and you enjoy humorous books that take place in a kind of real world then you'll enjoy this book. With so many new comic books going over the top to achieve readership it's refreshing to read a book that relies on being smart and fun. I highly recommend this as a great jumping on point to the Archie universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lucas Stand #1

Jun 17, 2016

Overall I think Kurt Sutter has a hit on his hands. Often times the transition of a TV writer to comics doesn't go over smoothly. But I'm glad that he's maintained his strong voice and ear for dialogue that has fueled his other work. Lucas Stand has a lot of interesting turns that I think set it apart from many of the books currently out. I'm looking forward to seeing where the rest of this series goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mars Attacks: Occupation #1

Mar 9, 2016

Overall this is pretty interesting for a new reader. Ruby is the type of strong heroine I see leading a new resistance against the Martians. I'm not sure if that's the direction that the story is going to go to but even if it doesn't I think there are some interesting stories that can be told within this occupied world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
OZ: No Place Like Home (One-Shot) #1

Feb 24, 2016

This book succeeds at taking a familiar concept and doing something new with it. There is a little bit of catch up that you can do before going into this to get the most out of all the references to earlier issues but for the most part it's a fresh story. For those familiar with the series it is great addition and for those like myself who are new to it it's a great introduction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Saga #33

Feb 17, 2016

The problem with this issue is that it severely derails the confrontation that we've been waiting for. Sometimes these side-stories can build up anticipation until we get back to the main story and in this case it was successful. Although this issue wasn't the best showcase of the dynamic characters introduced it does set them up to be part of an endgame which I hope happens very, very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Samurai: The Isle With No Name #1

Mar 9, 2016

This book would be perfect for someone who is a fan of the anime genre but wants to ease into it. It's also has a lot of elements of the kung fu movie genre. I'm really looking forward to issue 2 of this title and learning more about the different characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Satellite Falling #1

May 11, 2016

There's not much in this first issue that you can look forward to in the next. The entire book relies on the main character. I'm more interested in the supporting alien characters that are briefly depicted. But our human protagonist Lily is the star of this series. The whole bad girl that wants to be good has been done to death recently and frankly it's not interesting anymore. I feel like female characters don't have to be short-tempered and trash-talkers to be interesting. It's not edgy. It's just lazy. That's what this book relies on and I don't expect much further characterization from this series so I'll take for what it is. At the end of the day I still prefer sticking to Saga for my sci-fi needs. Satellite Falling falls too short to replace it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stillwater #1

Mar 30, 2016

Overall I enjoyed reading this book and I'm intrigued to know more about the town of Stillwater. The characters all seem to be hiding something and there's a sense of doom about everyone. If you like the more psychological side of horror then you'll definitely enjoy it as much as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Twilight Zone: 1959 (One-Shot) #1

Feb 17, 2016

Overall each story serves the purpose of entertainment but the heavier content makes it hard to accept as a Twilight Zone title. These stories all lack subtlety and feel rushed to the climax. No room for mystery or build up. It's almost like the writers don't realize how hard it is to creep out comic book readers. The morals of these tales aren't exactly clear either. The guilty are punished seems to be the running theme throughout the one-shot. The banner and the narration are all that make these stories feel like they come out of the Twilight Zone. Now if they were X-Files then I'd be more a little more fan friendly, but they aren't and I'm not.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unleash #1

Apr 27, 2016

Rape is a very sensitive subject to deal with in any medium. It brings up a lot of strong feelings and when handled incorrectly can be seen as offensive and inappropriate. This book doesn't fall into those traps. Even though this is a comic book I feel like Unleash #1 is telling a survivor's story. Emma is someone who used to be a victim and is now taking her power back. Of course she's doing so in the most violent way, by torturing other abusers. But I couldn't help but root for her the same way I'd root for Dexter Morgan or Little Red Riding hood. Unleash is the type of book that gets under your skin and stays there long after you've put it down.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wynonna Earp #1

Feb 26, 2016

I'm a big fan of supernatural detective stories but they're all basically the same format. Wynonna Earp doesn't stray from that format. It's a monster of the week book which will probably translate into a monster of the week TV show. There seems to be a thin mythology here involving Wynonna's past dark past and her unseen enemy Mars Del Rey. The book served the purpose that tie-in books are supposed to. I'm interested in the TV series. The book is good but the next issue won't be at the top of my list. There are too many other books that do the same concept only better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wynonna Earp #2

Mar 17, 2016

I had my reservations about this title since it is a TV show tie-in but I think the way this issue wraps up opens the door for more fun stories to be told. I'm not sure how many of these issues will be direct adaptations of episodes. My feeling is that if one is more entertaining than the other than I will pick it up or tune in. Luckily the comic came first so the bar is set. We'll have to wait and see if the quality of this book equals or surpasses the quality of the TV show. Either way I had a good time reading it and I'm looking forward to the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Wynonna Earp #4

May 21, 2016

The problem here is when the series tries to inject some moral lesson for the reader. Wynonna decides not to kill zombified kids because she believes that they deserve hope and a future. This sentiment is repeated during the last pages in a kind of syrupy sweet exchange. I have nothing against positivity but the way the dialogue is written in the midst of such brutal action makes it impossible to take seriously. I've appreciated Wynonna Earp for knowing what genre it is and what its limits are. This is a Syfy channel show tie-in. It works way better when it doesn't reach for depth that isn't there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Xena: Warrior Princess #2

Jun 1, 2016

The highest compliment I can give any comic based on an existing property is that it is as good in quality. This new Xena: Warrior Princess series does everything the Xena television show did. There are strong female characters, Greek mythology, and cool action scenes. I'm glad that Dynamite Comics is breathing life into this classic franchise. It's clear that there are plenty more great stories to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Xena: Warrior Princess #3

Jun 8, 2016

If you've enjoyed the previous issues of this series then you'll definitely enjoy this one. The time period is full of danger and author Genevieve Valentine reminds us constantly that no one is safe in the world of Xena. I think it's extremely hard to stay true to a beloved existing property when it's adapted into comic book form, but this series is doing a wonderful job of reminding me what I loved about the TV series all while telling a brand new story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More