James Caudill's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 16
8.1Avg. Review Rating

2
Avengers (2018): Curse of the Man-Thing #1

Mar 31, 2021

You know the trope of the man that forgets his wife’s birthday and gets her a gift at the local gas station on the way home? That is pretty much what this story feels like. It is almost as if Marvel said “oh, we have Man-Thing’s 50th anniversary coming up, we really need to put out a book.” The best part about this book is that a writer and a team of artists were paid to do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chariot #2

Apr 17, 2021

I could go on for days about this book. AWA Studios is getting great creators together now for their books and everyone is magnificent. But, Chariot immediately comes to the top of the list for me. Now, stop reading this and go buy the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Crossover (2020) #5

Mar 31, 2021

This issue has set up the readers for the finale of this current volume. Crossover will be continuing and there is an issue that will be dropping soon featuring none other than another great comic book writer in Chip Zdarsky. Hold on tight everyone this series is just getting started. If you haven’t read the first four issues, pick those up before you read this. You’ll need the previous stories to explain everything. You can always trade wait, but I’m sure you can get those floppies as well. Get this book and enjoy the ride. I totally wish I could give you more details about this issue but I think that if I give you anymore, I'll spoil the issue. I certainly don't want to do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Geiger #1

Apr 7, 2021

This is one of those books that the writing is done well enough to keep me interested but the art is what is going to keep me buying it for right now. Image has announced the series monthly through June so far. The only thing that worries me about this series at the moment is John’s recent history of getting books out. If you remember his Doomsday Clock over at DC...that was pretty much a mess. It took two years to do 12 issues. It was so long between books, that I just gave up and got the trade. He also wrote a Shazam book and I really couldn’t tell you when those books came out. I do know that Johns recently did a one shot in the Black Hammer Universe but this is the first series I can remember him on for a little bit. If this book can come out monthly, I’ll continue to pick it up. But if there starts to be a gap, I’ll just wait on the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Harley Quinn (2021) #1

Mar 25, 2021

Between the art in this book by Rossmo, the colors by Plascencia, and the writing by Phillips this is certainly a truly phenomenal first issue for the new run. I can not wait for the second issue of this book and see where Harley goes in this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
James Bond: Agent of Spectre #2

Apr 7, 2021

Overall, I’m sticking with this James Bond book. There have been other stories over the years that I have picked up, read a few issues, and dropped off. But I find this story incredibly interesting and engaging and I’m really looking forward to seeing where James Bond goes as an Agent of Spectre!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Project Patron #1

Apr 7, 2021

I am completely blown away by this book. At first, I was just thinking, okay this is just another Superman rip off and I’ve seen hundreds of those...but then...all of a sudden...it wasn’t. Project Patron is it’s own new, totally unique, take on a superhero story. I for one was very pleased with this book and can’t wait to read the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Rorschach (2020) #7

Apr 13, 2021

There have been some people who have said this has been a slow story in spots and there might be an issue that is not as exciting as the others, but that issue is one that really drives the story forward and you need to have that to really get the story.I highly recommend this story and this is a great issue on it’s own. If you haven’t been reading this story so far, I highly recommend the books before to help understand everything, but I guess you could read this on its own just to see the things that I have hinted at in this review.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Scout's Honor #4

Apr 14, 2021

All in all, this book is truly excellent. The pacing is just right, the story is extremely creative, and the art work is just “chef’s kiss gif here”. I have really enjoyed reading this book so far and I’m just going to say...I was not prepared for where this issue went. That twist...is so delightful and I was not expecting that. Before you read this issue, repeat after Kit, “please just let me be prepared.”

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seven Secrets #7

Apr 7, 2021

I literally cannot say enough about this book. It is close to perfection. A lot of people know Tom Taylor for just killing off their favorite characters but this book isn’t quite like that. Sure, some characters die but that is what they are meant to do as the story unfolds. If killing off your favorite characters is what you expect from Taylor, prepare your mind for a complete trip with this book. It is a hard turn from what you might be used to...but that turn is so incredibly worth it. I absolutely love this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Strange Adventures (2020) #9

Mar 30, 2021

If you are like me and want to see amazing artwork and really good writing, you certainly can’t go wrong with this book by Tom King, Mitch Gerads, Doc Shaner and the rest of the crew. Get ready for a feast of the eyes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Swamp Thing (2021) #2

Apr 6, 2021

As this review comes to a close, to sum up, I really love this book and can’t wait to see where it goes. It is currently supposed to be 10 issues and that is certainly a great way to see if this book will sell. Ram V and Perkins will tell a phenomenal story in those 10 issues. Pick it up now. You won’t regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Teen Titans Academy (2021) #1

Mar 27, 2021

Overall, unless you are just a hugely dedicated Teen Titans fan, I would pass on this and pick up Strange Academy instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Dreaming: Waking Hours (2020) #9

Apr 6, 2021

If you haven’t been keeping up with this series I would highly suggest you catch up on it. There is a reason that The Dreaming: Waking Hours is part of the DC Black Label imprint and the art in this story takes full advantage. The first arc is available in trade but at least go back and pick up issues 7 and 8 to get you caught up to this part of the story. The first arc will introduce you to the characters but you do learn a lot about them in this arc. I really can’t say enough positive things about this book. This is one of my favorite stories from DC right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Other History of the DC Universe (2020) #3

Mar 30, 2021

The Other HIstory of the DC Universe is that important. Book three about Katana is a wonderful addition to this storyline. I can't wait to see the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Women of Marvel (2021) #1

Apr 21, 2021

Please, go buy this book. This issue is so important. Historically, Marvel was kind of a guy’s club with women playing in a supporting role. I mean, when the bullpen consists of Stan Lee, Steve Ditko, Jack Kirby, Neal Adams, Denny O’Neill and others throughout time, it is pretty obvious. Of course, society at that time was dominated by men. But as humanity has shown to be more on a spectrum, these new voices have emerged and they are stronger than ever. I, for one, am loving having superheroines taking a stand in the comics. This issue is certainly going to add fuel to that fire of getting more representation in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More